From No Girl to Yes Girl – The Story Teller in Me

R is at an age, when she should have come out of the tantrum, no-no- no- no- I- wont stage..unfortunately, the brat doesnt seem to have come out of it…..

RD: R, come lets take a bath while Amma washes the vessels

R: NO

RM: Lets finish your home work

R: NO

RD: Let me get that book for you to read

R: NO

so you get the drift right? Every question is answered with a big NO!

So the other day, I told her this story in the morning on the potty

R:Amma ek story bolo

RM: What story

R:Aap ko jo acha lage woh story

RM: Crying girl?

R: NO (See, I told ya!)

RM: Okie, then I will tell you no girl ka story

R: No Girl? Yeh kaisa naam hai?

RM: Well, you select a name for the girl

R:Aastha

RM: okie, so Aastha was a very very good girl…she used to go to school everyday, do her homework, eat her food without a fuss, she has loads of friends..very nice, but she had only one problem

R: Kya?

RM: she would always say NO to everyone and everything

If teacher asked ‘Aashta, will you write Z on the board’ she would say ‘no teacher’

If amma asked whether she would do her homework now, she would say no amma

If appa asked whether she would have a bath now, she would say no

If her friend asked her to wait for her before getting into the bus, she would say no

She would just say no for everything

R: hehehehe πŸ™‚ no walli!

RM:Exactly, she was a no walli, always saying no to everything…then everyone eventually started getting upset with her…‘why does this girl keep saying no to everything they thought’Β  and soon her name became ‘no girl’

R: heheheheh!Β  no girl,Β  kaisa funny name hai na?

RM: yes..and then everyone slowly stopped talking to her because she would keep saying no all the time..her mother would tell her, dont say no, dont say no, but she would not listen and keep going on saying no no no…

R: koi baat nahi kar raha tha uske saath?

RM: no…then one day a new girl came to her class

R: Kaun, Aashika?

RM: okie,Β  yes Aashika, and the new girl said hello to everyone….she came to Aastha and said Hi, my name is Aashika, can you tell me your name please..and Aashtha said ‘No’ and Aashika was so surprised..arey your name is No?

Aastha said no, my name is Aastha…and everyone else told Aashika that this girl always keeps saying no. so we are calling her ‘no girl’

Aashika was surprised but she didnt say anything…

R: Phir?

RM: then slowly slowly Aastha started feeling lonely..no one would talk to her, no one would tell her anything…and then one day, when she went to sleep all sad, a fairy came to her dreams..

R: Saachi ki fairy wings ke saath?

RM: yes yes…(Note to self, who on earth told her about fairies having wings…wonders) so the fairy asked her why she was sad

She says ‘because no one talks to me’

The fairy says ‘do you know why?’

She says ‘NO’

and as soon as she says ‘no’ the fairy smiles…and says ‘may be because of this no?’

Aastha suddenly understands

R : interruptingarey woh no no bolti hai iske liye na’ bol ne ka na fairy ko pahelehi’

RM: yes yes..and then Aastha decides to change herself..

Next day, her Amma calls her ‘aastha get up, we are getting late for school’

She immediately gets up and says ‘yes amma’ and amma is shocked..arey she said yes, she usually gets up with a no..and then she says yes to drinking milk, and going to potty and having her bath, and wearing her uniform..for everything she says yes..her amma is shocked…what happened Aastha, she asks…

R: heheheeh! woh sab ko yes bolti hai..hehehehe πŸ™‚

RM: yes, and so Aastha says from today, I am not going to say no to people I know…I will always say yes…

Amma is surprised…wow she says

In school, teacher asks her to write W on the board and she says yes..everyone in the class looks at her…arey yeh kya hua..teacher is very happy..and then Aashika is looking around for a pencil..she forgot hers at home and no one in the class has extra pencil…she thinks ‘let me ask the no girl, she will say no, but at least let me ask’ so she asks ‘Aastha do you have an extra pencil please’ Aastha says ‘yes of course, here take’ at this the entire class is shocked..WHAT ..Aastha is saying yes to everything…baap rey…whats wrong…

and slowly slowly Aastha learns to say yes to everything….everyone loves her and she is everyone’s best friend..and she turns from no girl to….?

R: yes girl..yayayaya!

RM: yes, now shall we have a bath fast?

R: NO!

No use telling the story eh?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to From No Girl to Yes Girl – The Story Teller in Me

  1. πŸ˜† πŸ˜† Smart cookie R is…OMG I can’t stop howling at the last sentence…she knows the power of NO I tell ya :mrgreen:

    Btw can you ask Miss Smarty R to suggest names for my twins? she seems to have an inbuilt talent for names and I need two names pronto!!

    • R's Mom says:

      Errr….you must be kidding…twins and names from R..she will come up with really weird ones…nope, I am not helping you in this one πŸ™‚

      Hope things are fine otherwise πŸ™‚

  2. Jas says:

    arey wah kya story hai..Even I wanted to know with the same curiosity as R…. so is taraan No girl Yes Girl ban gayi.. πŸ™‚

  3. Hahaha..I am sure the message went home, just that kids this age are kind of programmed to say no to everything and to test their limits. This too shall pass, RM, trust me πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      I hope so SH, I so hope so…most days I am totally frustrated…how have you been πŸ™‚ hope the vacation got you all bright and happy πŸ™‚

  4. vethal says:

    ha ha super climax eh πŸ™‚

  5. Ashwathy says:

    RM: yes, now shall we have a bath fast?

    R: NO!

    ROFL!! πŸ˜€ You have my sympathies….

  6. hehehehehe

    Such a lovely story! πŸ™‚
    No Girl? Yeh kaisa naam hai? and Kaun, Aashika? and arey woh no no bolti hai iske liye na’ bol ne ka na fairy ko pahelehi’ and heheheeh! woh sab ko yes bolti hai..hehehehe – R is such a coootie chootie!
    I think she is already the teenager saying NO πŸ˜› when she grows into a real teen, you will ahve a fabulous time. let me see what stories you will tell her then πŸ˜›

  7. Ha ha! What a nice story! πŸ™‚ May be, you should’ve factored in the chotu baby some where in this story and then, R would have immediately said yes! What say?! πŸ˜‰ **Runs**

  8. chipmunk2890 says:

    ha ha ha ha funny πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ couldn hold my laughter πŸ™‚ i too tot same that R ll say yes πŸ™‚ but nice twist from her πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›
    between every time u tl a story she comes up with a new name πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ unlucky me i m not in mumbai 😦

  9. My Era says:

    Now that’s what I love about R, she enjoys the story with full participation but doesn’t let herself get swayed to belief that stories are non-fiction πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›
    On a serious note, there was a time I too was a no girl but I have changed over the years…though it took a lot of effort on part of my friends πŸ˜‰

    • R's Mom says:

      you got it right ME..now I dont know whether I love that about her or not heheheh πŸ™‚

      did I tell you earlier, I love you…you give me hope lady, you give me so much hope!

  10. That was a darn cute story, RM! πŸ™‚ Love the way you teach R lessons using stories. I hope I have half as much patience as you when we get around to raising kids!

    LOL @ ‘No use telling the story’

  11. ashreyamom says:

    ha ha ha.. so,”NO” comments post RM.. R is really cute.. u better try some other trick ok.. πŸ™‚

  12. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Oh! I was over happy in the beginning that after hearing the story R is also going to become a yes girl and I can try it on my son as well. Alas the story has not helped you here. Hmm let me still give it a shot on my son.. May be it works.. Waise, cute story and cuter names (Astha, Ashika).. Dont know where R comes up with such nice names..

  13. greengables14 says:

    NO..i dont like it when u go on break.. and YES i missed u πŸ™‚ so welcome back..adn thats a gr8 story..had quite the impact on me as u can see πŸ˜‰ R is sooooooooooooooooooooooooo cute..pls give her a hug from me…

  14. Sugar says:

    hahaha!!!. That was super cute . But the climax bowled over me. R is such an intelligent gen nxt gal, not falling to mommy stories .. hahah I’m in awe with R.
    P.S a newbie here. Just stumbled ur blog by chance but R is making sure to make me stay..:)

  15. DI says:

    I don’t know about your story telling to R, but I sure do love your story telling here! What a climax πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Ofcourse, due credit to the star of show, R!

  16. ARP says:

    Great story RM πŸ™‚ I was reminded of the Jim Carrey movie “Yes Man” πŸ˜€ Its one funny movie.
    Not just kids adults are also stubborn and “NO PPL” at times.

    Cheers,
    ARP

  17. uma says:

    Loved the story, RM…and lovely names too- Aastha and Aashika..
    had a huge smile pasted on my face at the last line…because the situation here is quite similar. You know what, RM, I have started offering choices to R when he refuses something..for e.g. will you stand on stool and brush your teeth or do you want me to hold you while you brush? both the options lead to what we finally want but they get the impression that it is out of their choice. So far this strategy has been working in 9/10 occasions. Maybe you can try this out too?

  18. aingggg what do you mean come out of the age of saying NO.. not fair I am old and I still say NO so I am sure “R” has a long long time to go before she gives up on NO πŸ™‚

  19. Sreetama says:

    Take lessons RM! R doesn’t like taking hints it seems! πŸ˜€ But on a serious note, one should also say No at times as saying yes always and being a good person will eventually make your life miserable. Sorry for a completely different point… But your story is rocking! πŸ˜€

  20. Scribby says:

    this girl R is a sweetheart…a rock star..a cutie pie..kya kya naam du!

    lol @ fairy ko pehle hi bolne ka na πŸ˜› smarty!

    I love her creativity of giving names to characters…

    So did you find out who told her about fairy with wings? πŸ˜›

  21. Pingback: Thursday Tales – From No Girl to Yes Girl | Indian Moms Connect

Leave a Reply

