Of Uju-ally’s and Practical Mathematics!

R and I are fighting to sit on the bean bag..

anyways we settle down with her beside me while part of my bum is outside the bean bag πŸ™‚

R tells me about what she has done in the daycare which is a rarity because she NEVER volunteers information

R: Sir has got a camera to see if we do masti

Her daycare has installed CCTVs to keep a check on the children

RM: Who told you?

R: G teacher ne bola..we do masti, sir see, we scolding

RM: oh okie..so what do you do if you dontΒ do masti

R: AreyΒ we do excercise

RM:!!! errr..okie and what excercise

R: AreyΒ what we uju-ally do na that one

RM: WHAT?

R: AreyΒ amma, wohΒ jo uju-ally we do

RM: What is uju-ally

R: amma, uju-ally, uju-ally

RM: *enlightenment* oh you mean usually??

R: yes yesΒ uju-allyΒ uju-ally

RM:!!!!

========

So R and I arrive a bit early at home and we are talking…I think I should teach her addition….you know generally…actually its more of counting..

So I tell her…R if I have 2 bean bags (showing two fingers) and appa gives me one more (showing one more finger) how many we will have?

R counts slowly ‘one, two, three’ Three Amma she grins

very good..and so we go on with permutation combination of additions till 6…

She makes a lot of mistakes in even counting my fingers and I decide may be teaching addition is not a bright idea…anyways whenever she makes a mistake I tell her to recount and after a couple of attempts she gets it right..

With my limited mathematics knowledge, I am more than happy…

anyways, then , I show her my two fingers and say ‘Lets say I give you 2 chocolates and Appa gives you three chocolates (showing three fingers with my other hand) how many chocolates will you have then…’

R: looks at me intently: two she says

RM: Β R, two kaise, count karoΒ vapis

R:NahiΒ ammaΒ two hiΒ hoyega

RM: R, count properly ooonne, twwooo..I start

R: bas, phir over

RM: how come, there are the other three na?

R: areyΒ wohΒ tohΒ main eat karΒ loongi na

RM:!!!!

PS – No I havent read her any Suppandi tales yet πŸ™‚

Β 

====

Tutor Tuesday on IMC – go check

 

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Of Uju-ally’s and Practical Mathematics!

  1. My Era says:

    Wow! R is just 4 and she has been trying to use words like usually in routine…that’s awesome grasping power πŸ˜€
    @ counting chocolates: Now that’s Math with lot of practical wisdom πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜†

  2. Jas says:

    ha ha πŸ˜€ uju ally is really enlightening. and ‘woh to main eat kar loongi’… cutipie.

  3. Amit says:

    Children pick up stuff from so many random places. πŸ™‚
    I have this two year old nephew who has somehow connected his life to “lotions”. He alwasy need a lip balm in his hand and address it as “loton”. We were watching a movie a few days back and he was busy applying loton on everyone’s lips throughout the second half, after he got bored of the popcorns. Sigh!

  4. Sujatha says:

    ha ha.. I really enjoyed reading this post… cun’t control laughing πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  5. hitchy says:

    There is a supandi in all of us… trust me… !

    The usually had me giggling… seriously couldnt figure it out till the end ! πŸ˜€

  6. lifesong says:

    “arey woh toh main eat kar loongi na” ROFL on that πŸ™‚
    And wow RM you are maintaining 2 blogs and posting daily *salutes RM*

  7. Seema says:

    Shower her with lotttts of kisses from Seema aunty okay?

    Bohoth pyaar aa raha hai uspe 😳

  8. Ramya says:

    Really RM… Its so much of fun and relief when we really connect the kids’ words to real words… can u believe thejas says TI for CD πŸ˜‰

  9. ashreyamom says:

    //amma, uju-ally, uju-ally// is super cute.. so now i know how supandi tales have evolved.. in fact i was expecting R to say that only two, as u wont allow her to have more than 2 chocolates per day..

    • R's Mom says:

      Errr..she was just taking a chance with an additional chocolate na..nope, I dont even give her 2 a day..its usually once in three days πŸ™‚

  10. uma says:

    wow..I love R tales..she’s is riot..:-)
    Lol on ujju-ally and on supandi tales…hahaha…

  11. Uju-ally – hehehehehehe ! I guessed itm ust have been that given the context. oh, when will i hear her speak?! 😦
    Math and beanbags – cuteness πŸ™‚

  12. Was laughing uncontrollably at ujju-ally! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ And what a smart-mathematician you’ve got!

  13. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Are R tho ek dum Jhakkas Hai.. She is such a darling na.. Obviously, itne sare chocolates agar doge tho woh count karte nahin baithegi, use khayegi na πŸ˜‰
    Umma to her..

  14. Ashwathy says:

    Fighting to siit on the bean bag?? Shame on you!! How old are you anyway! πŸ™„ πŸ˜›

    R tells me about what she has done in the daycare which is a rarity because she NEVER volunteers information
    I hope this practice gets changed as she grows older…

    Uju-allay!! Gujju version hai kya!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Hahaha!!! She’s far smarter than you!! She knows what to do with chocolates…. eat them, not sit and keep counting them! πŸ˜›

    • R's Mom says:

      Gah! you tell me when you get a kid and then you guys fight for the bean bag…of course I will fight for it πŸ™‚

      I hope so too Ashwathy..she never tells me what happens in school or daycare..despite of me trying to cajole her like crazy 😦

      I think you are right..ekdum Gujju version hai πŸ™‚

  15. Shweta says:

    I am not leaving comments on your blog off late but that doesn’t mean I don’t read them.. πŸ˜€
    I am as regular as I used to be.. but I don’t want to say cute things about R as am a bit superstitious about it that R ko nazar lag jaegi.. u get the drift na..

    and not to mention.. I still wait every morning for ur blog and to start my day.. πŸ˜›
    and Monday morning is even more special… for obvious reasons.. πŸ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      Aiyo what nazar and all yaar…you guys love her so much that only your blessings will be got by her πŸ™‚

      Thanks for delurking today πŸ™‚ Glad you are reading the blog

  16. Sreetama says:

    Such a sweet post! When I first saw uju ally, I thought you are chanting some African mantra! πŸ˜› R is learning additions! Wow! I learnt them only when I was in Class 1! Kids are so smart these days, especially R!

    • R's Mom says:

      heheheeh πŸ™‚ African mantra…

      Errr..R is not learning addition..the brat cant even say 1 to 20 without mistake…I was just pretending to teach her..only to get the chocolate eating part!

  17. chattywren says:

    So Cute! Had me chuckling over my morning cup of tea, which is when I read your blog! Love to R and great you are capturing stuff she says and does on a daily basis!!

  18. Vidya says:

    ROTFL! Ujju-ally, i leave a comment as soon as i finish reading the post.. This girl has had me in splits!! πŸ™‚ And look at the amma fighting for the bean bag!! You make her sit on your lap na, so she gets to sit on a bean-bag on a bean-bag πŸ™‚ *runs away*!

  19. greenboochi says:

    LOL on Ujju-ally… so so cute…. πŸ˜€ You know, I kept repeating the word 4-5 times now… seems funny but cute πŸ˜€ now, I will get reminded of R whenever I hear or say “usually” πŸ™‚

  20. And she is clever too ab kha lengi to why spend time counting ujj ully I bont also or either.. ah now I am confiused.. R se training lene ka mere ko..

  21. N says:

    Thought it was R’s uj-ual merry-mix lingo…

  22. ROFL @ ujju-ally. It had me guessing till the very end! πŸ™‚

    And LOL @ woh toh main eat kar doongi!! πŸ˜€ Super cute R is!

  23. Tanishka says:

    lol at uju-ally…. But she is trying… I’ am sur she’ll learn very quickly… πŸ™‚

  24. Swaram says:

    Ha ha why do u need to read them when u hv ur own Suppandi! Hugs to our sweet Suppandi πŸ˜€

    And yay! I figured out usually in the first line wonly πŸ˜› So, R and I mite actually get talking well he he πŸ˜›

  25. techie2mom says:

    When i read heading, i thought Uju-ally might be name of a Tamizh cuisine πŸ™‚
    You don’t need to teach this basic maths to R, she is already on an advanced level πŸ˜‰

  26. Scribby says:

    ujju-ally I come here in the mornings but today was not any ujju-al day hence got late πŸ˜‰

    At first when I read the title on the reader I thought R was trying to say something related to ‘Hajji Ali’ πŸ˜€ nevertheless I was right in a way that ujju-ally is something from the Rictionary πŸ™‚

    hahaah @ woh toh main eat kar loongi…olleeeee πŸ™‚

    I love this girl!

    • R's Mom says:

      hahaha! R is yet to be initiated to Hajji Ali..we should take her there…infact even I havent been there πŸ™‚ *Note to self – Talk to RD about a trip to town*

Leave a Reply

