For The Lack of Wanting Anything More in Life

Few realisations over the weekend

1. Rains in Bombay are something I am never going to like ever..how much ever I try ๐Ÿ˜ฆ and this is the last time I am ever complaining about it on the blog…so dont run away!

Realisation – I crib too much

2. The gift post is still pending, but R, just for the records, when you grow really old and get into a bad mood remember that on your fourth birthday you got gifts from

Seema Masi
RS Masi (otherwise known as LTT)
SnS Masi
Scribby Masi
Bikram Uncle
TGND Didi??? (She calls you didi for some reason *Rolls eyes*)
Tan Masi
Pepper Masi (Remember that body lotion you gave me, she uses it religiously EVERY morning before going to school on her palms, because they smell so nice!)
Ratzz Akka
Thats a lot considering that you are ONLY FOUR Gah!

Realisation – Love pours in so many ways that sometimes it get so much overwhelming!

– Have you ever heard of Palliative Care. I must admit,ย I never had, until yesterday..my Ahm mama works post retirement for such a centre, and we had gone to a centre right opposite Mount Mary Church for Mama to learnย  how the day to day operations are carried out so that he can help replicate something similar in Ahmedabad…its basically used for cancer patients..and I was so impressed by the place! Spic and span, lovely people, caring staff..and their garden is TO DIE FOR!!

Realisation – there are loads of people doing so much work silently…sometimes, even a small act of love can go a long way..and I got reminded of Swaram ๐Ÿ™‚

– Went to Mount Mary Church I dont know if its a very popular tourist destination but its awesome…its so so pretty, and its serene..one of my friends who married a Christian had mentioned to me that people usually take wax candles of the shape of the thing you desire and lay it there, and then the wish comes true…When we went there, there were candles in the shape of cars, babies, boys, girls, limbs, houses, books, etc etc..for example if you want a baby girl, take a candle of that shape, light it and you will getย  a baby girl..its just a belief okie? I dont know whether it works out or not, but it did for my friend…she got a baby girl :):)

Anyways, so when we went there, R insisted on a candle…Do we really want one, I was wondering when RD said ‘Whats the point of going to God to ask something, lets just go in and pray and come out na)

R still insisted on a candle and we all looked at the various shapes..finally we just got a normal candle shaped as a candle…seriously!

Realisation – Between the three of us, we have everything it seems..or we are satisfied with whatever we have :):)

Thats such a super thing to know ๐Ÿ™‚

– There is this place called Dhanajay or something in Bandra where we had lunch…mama, mami, RD, R and I

– Two plates of cheese toast
– Triple schewan
– Peshawari subji
– Romali roti
– Pudina kulcha
– Biryani
– Veg raita

It was yummmmmmm

and topped it off with a paan ๐Ÿ™‚

Realisation – Food tastes so much yummier when you have great company

 

===========

On a completely different note…..

Yesterday when we were dropping mama mami to our relatives place, RMB called up..

RMB – Oye, kya kar rahi hai

RM – Uff bhai, terese phone pe baat kar rahi hoon

and then he spoke of this and that

RM: Why are you calling

RMB: Now that you didnt tell me saamne se, wish me happy Father’s Day will ya?

RM: Why? *I can be so dumb*

RMB : WHAT!!!

RM: Oh sorry sorry, you became a father, I toh completely forgot (Talk about forgetting things ๐Ÿ™‚ )

RMB:%$^&%!!

eheheheh ๐Ÿ™‚

So wishing all the dads, uncles, etc etc etc very happy belated Father’s day..and for the records, no RD, we didnt get you ANYTHING! you married a kanjoos okie?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to For The Lack of Wanting Anything More in Life

  1. The Bride says:

    Loved that you got a candle shaped like a candle! I grew up in Bandra and Mount Mary is considered special for its propensity for making wishes come true. I never had that kind of faith though and just thought it was crowded so my mum stopped dragging me there. I went back much later as a journalist once when it was empty and I realised there is something about that place, maybe just the collective energy of all those people who visited with their wishes and hope.

  2. Nithvin says:

    Maybe R should have insisted on a ‘baby’ shaped candle and then you and RD might have taken it inside ๐Ÿ˜‰ ok, ok, just kidding..please don’t stop the rains from coming to b’lore ๐Ÿ™‚
    Didn’t even remember about Father’s day, inspite of S’s school sending some hand made badge..
    Nice week-end, eh? good!

    • R's Mom says:

      hahaha! I guess R didnt realise that…I mean if you looked at the candles from her height, (they were kept slightly higher) you wouldnt realise the shape very easily ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hee hee. LOL @ didi!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Love to R!

    Such fabulous realisations, those! It is great to feel satisfied within your family and not to want for anything more. That is what most people in the world desire for. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      oh yes…thats true…totally satisfied..well it was at that moment..pata chale in the next 10 hours RD and I wish we could go back and ask for something ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. My Era says:

    Woooooow! now that was really a blog-family gift shower birthday for R this year ๐Ÿ˜€
    I totally agree with you on the wonderful work so many people do silently around the world to make this life a wonderful experience ๐Ÿ˜€
    Wow! to the idea of lighting the candle of the shape of your wish…it’s like giving form to your desires ๐Ÿ™‚
    Loved to learn that you guys are so happy and content in your life..may you stay so forever..touchwood ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Bhagyashree says:

    Lovely post, as usual, made my day ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Shweta says:

    * Awww… How Cute for — RMB: Now that you didnt tell me saamne se, wish me happy Fatherโ€™s Day will ya?

    * Thanks for sharing The Palliative Care Link ๐Ÿ™‚

    * I Love the rains.. I wonder why you don’t.. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    * Touchwood on being satisfied with whatever You guys have ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Scribby says:

    somehow I was always in love with Mumbai rains…I know I know the traffic and such stuff but it didn’t seem to bother me even a bit…the only reason I feel is I used to travel to and fro by auto and like I mentioned earlier my office was just 10 mins away from home,so there! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Aww TGND gets to be called didi? is there a logic that all mamma’s are being called massis and such? ๐Ÿ˜› just guessing and trying to enter R’s mind ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’m so proud of your amma!!! Doing such a noble service…I hope to do something for the society when I’m able to…hahah that reminds me too of Swar who has started the journey right away and people like me keep saying ‘when the time comes’, sigh!

    any way, candle of ‘limb’ shape? Brings us to realization how lucky we are,no? and I’m glad your friend wished for a baby girl ..just how many ‘wish’ for one? Kudos!

    of course realizing it and accepting that we have everything is something very appreciable!

    hehee @ RMB’s call!

    Well we too didn’t get the father this side anything but yes we baked a mango-banana cake and Garlic Pull Apart Buns for the day ๐Ÿ™‚

    P.S. looking at my comment, I realize once again-I can write post on your post ๐Ÿ˜› see how inspiring you are ๐Ÿ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      I know I know..last year I remember Nuttie telling me that even she lived like a 1 km or two from work and enjoyed the rains :)So I guess my problem is more with the travelling eh?

      oh may be thats true..but Tan and Pepper are called Masi ๐Ÿ™‚ so there..that logic is not right ๐Ÿ™‚

      I dont know what makes her say Masi/Didi ๐Ÿ™‚

      My Mama rey..not amma ๐Ÿ™‚ yep he is a rockstar ๐Ÿ™‚

      WHAT! I hope RD doesnt read this comment…I didnt even give him the maggi he requested in the night hehehe ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Pepper says:

    Kya RM! I am so mad at you. I told you even last time, I’ve got a little something for R, which I did NOT want to hand to you, because I do not want to miss out on the joy of giving it to R directly. The pleasure I feel when I watch my babies after gifting them is immeasurable. And since we live so close to each other, I thought I’d be meeting R soon. But you don’t get her to me at all! Hmph. Perhaps I should have just given it to you then. Atleast it would have reached her.

    And then to rub it in you write a post like that. *Sobs*

    On another note, Mount Merry church is one of my favourite places in Bombay. I can’t have enough of it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Okie Pepper, so here is the story

      R comes back from the malai and I give her the gift Tan gave and then I tell her that Pepper Masi gave me this..she looks at that cream, and says ‘yeh toh mere liye diya’

      RM: Nahi yeh mere liye hai…she has another gift for you which she will give you when you meet her

      R: nahi Amma, yeh toh mere liye diya hai…mereko school jane se before put karne ko..aap ko pata nahi hai

      RM:!!!

      So, it is hers..got the logic?

  9. Ashwathy says:

    Pah!! U didn’t get anything for RD… you are a disorganized useless creature! ๐Ÿ˜›

    And you came all the way till Bandra and you didn’t even let me know! ๐Ÿ˜

  10. Seema says:

    I would have taught R to pick a baby girl candle… Did she forget her want for a chotu baby?

    Why is RS masi known as LTT? *Rolls eyes*

    ‘RD, we didnt get you ANYTHING! you married a kanjoos okie?’ – LOL ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. Smita says:

    An awesomne post to read on a dull Monday morning ๐Ÿ™‚
    Before I forget regarding your comment on my diet post, Maggie is not fattening if it is Atta maggie and even I am having it ๐Ÿ˜‰

    So many ppl do philanthropy work and don’t even utter a word about it, guess it gives you a satisfaction.

    Food I feel has a character of its own and it derives it tastes depending upon things like the mood of ppl who are eating it, place where you are eating it, the spirit with which its eaten and the thought with which its eaten that is why there are times when even bland food starts tasting yummy….(This gives me an idea about a post ;))

    And that sense of satisfaction that we have everything is so rare, feel blessed that you feel that ways, I to am still in need of many more things in life ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Your bro is cute!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Zephyr says:

    I love your good humour and way of accepting things in life looking at the positive aspects. So crib away about the monsoon, we will listen patiently ๐Ÿ™‚ Hugs to R.

    • R's Mom says:

      Why are you online? Arent you supposed to spend time with the brightest cutest star on the other side of the sea?

      But, thanks for the love ๐Ÿ™‚ you are my rockstar ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Amit says:

    Things shaped candles are such an amusing concept. Are there any money shaped candles? ๐Ÿ™‚
    And everyone is going to spoil R with so many gifts. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      I didnt see that..money shaped candles..it didnt even strike me to check that out..next time I go, I will figure out and let you know ๐Ÿ™‚

      R is already a spoilt brat ๐Ÿ˜ฆ thats another post when I gather courage to write it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  14. Unclee I am not that budha.. May be I shud change my name to the boy next door ๐Ÿ™‚ ..
    Oyeeeeee R dont do that I thought we had a pact. I had to teach you lot of pranks , ab uncle ho ke yeh kaise hoga…..:-P

    I loved one line Rm, where you say you three are satisfied with all now how many can say that .. God bless..

    And yeah happy fathers day to Rd…

    • R's Mom says:

      Ooops…but thats how she calls you…errr…that doll that you sent, now its got no hair, one leg and arm are missing and the clothes have gone haywire.. :):) we love the memory game though…like I told you in the mail..it came in at the RIGHT time ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. ashreyamom says:

    lol.. lots of realizations.. ๐Ÿ™‚
    R forgot about baby boy candle?? Rahul is the name na.. :P.. this gave my mind a spark.. RM, u should have got a candle of local train.. then u will have separate compartment for u to travel without the crowd na.. or a book library..
    hmmm u didnt get for RD for fathers day.. did u atleast wish him?? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  16. Such beautiful realizations. I know what you mean by palliative care. Been there and yes, it does make you feel thankful for the li’l joys in life that we so often overlook easily. almost as if you are jolted out of a state of taking-everything-for-granted.
    R is such a cutie pie RM. May her happiness multiply along with the gifts ๐Ÿ˜›

  17. Chaitali says:

    RM u have gifted “R” to RD, its a lifetime gift to become a father :), so i don’t think u shuld gift him anything else ๐Ÿ˜‰

  18. techie2mom says:

    The best realisation was : “Between the three of us, we have everything it seems..or we are satisfied with whatever we have”……..Great!!!!!!
    And every weekend you have to have some yummy food, RM??? And then post it here and torture our poor tummies?!?!?

  19. nikitaspeaks says:

    – I totally agree on Mumbai Rains ๐Ÿ™‚ I know Tan and Scribby will never do.
    – I loved – “Between the three of us, we have everything it seems..or we are satisfied with whatever we have :):)” That is such a beautiful line RM and that is just not a line, reality of your life., that makes me super happy. What amazed me was R choosing a candle shaped candle being just a kid, you two must be great parents to raise your daughter like that, and yes she is simply adorable.
    – Did I tell you I luuuuuuuuvvvv your blog like anything, that’s the first thing i do when i open up my laptop in the morning.
    – I simply love the way you write – direct dil se, without any inhibitions.
    – I adore you calling your darling daughter a brat ๐Ÿ™‚
    – and how much it bothers you, i love R’s mixed language, it is so sweet.

    • R's Mom says:

      oh you agree to me..awesome!

      Errr…R wasnt given a choice about the candle…I told her thats all we could afford heheeh ๐Ÿ™‚

      *Blushes at point 3* thanks for being so nice ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Smita T says:

    Even we didnt get anything for N’s dad… infact he had asked N for Bourbon (the biscuit not the whiskey ) …. which N refused to buy and told me that I have to get him and me watches… since I am kangaal… I told him I can buy only Bourbon that too on the card given by ND… so ND has ended up in buing a gift for himself on Father’s day… ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Such a cute post RM.. yes the realization that you are content with whatever you have is such a huge thing!! God Bless the family and may you have the same happiness and smugness throughout your lives..

  22. Sreetama says:

    Awwww! So nice it is for you guys to realize that you want nothing else from life! Isn’t it the most peaceful thought? But ya, like seema, i too was curious, why didn’t R pick up baby girl candle? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

