My Dream Job

You know how you read about people getting their dream jobs..either being chefs in five star hotels, or being travellers and writing for travel magazines or doing their own writings and website, or working on their books..

Everyone, I am sure, has a dream job..

The other day, I was totally frustrated at work..things were not falling in place, I was not getting numbers that I needed, my excel sheet looked like a hotchpotch of confused characters, my brains seem to have frozen beyond a limit, and I was frustrated enough to think of putting in my papers…(yaa I am crazy, I know)

Midst all that, I thought let me take a break and think of something nice and calm…

like how they show in those TV shows or talk about in books, relaxing your mind, imagining calm ocean, a lovely sunset or a green trees swaying in the breeze..yaada yaada..

unfortunately the only images I was getting when I closed my eyes were of numbers with zillions of zeros chasing me down a dark street with my boss standing with a huge sword to cut me into half and a lady with a pink slip in her hand asking me to quit and go..

I shuddered and opened my eyes and decided that this kind of meditation doesnt work for me..

So, I just sat staring at the computer screen, and stared and stared so hard that the numbers on the excel sheet started to merge with each other and I grinned at the screen..I moved my head left and right and it felt as if the numbers were dancing…

The guy next to me stared at me as if I was some kind of a moron and then I remembered I was at work and I was supposed to appear dignified and all that..

Anyways, then I went into my dream mode again…I started wondering whats my dream job like…

I know I can never be a successful SAHM, so may be I should try some other job you know…I thought what was I good at…

EngineeringΒ -Nah! passed out years ago and cant do a simple calculus calculation even if I was given 100 gold coins for that

Dancing – Too much out of touch and too caught up with work etc to re start plus it wont pay me enough to pay for the home loan and stuff

WritingΒ – Nah!I dont have the talent..plus what will I write about and who will read me…

Wish someone would give me money for reading books..but then I will need to review them, something which will involve writing and I know I am not too good at reviewing books..so thats cut off as well

What else what else?

Then I realised I know what my dream job is..its, infact, to be a co-ordinator..you know the person who arranges for stuff in an office..

like type out letters for people, or books tickets for everyone..or arranges for chai/coffee is there is a visitor or gets stuff photocopied and printed and laminated…or even does data entry work..

I like that job…it makes me happy…I wish I could get a job like that…I dont even mind setting up interviews with potential candidates or even calling up people for follow up or arranging for their timings to match with others..

That kind of a job…a job which is repetitive which gives me my comfort zone and in which, I dont have to worry about ‘going wrong’

A job that makes me happy…Well, I havent really done ‘that’ kind of a job, but then how wrong can I go… or how much will it affect me..

I am a very emotional person otherwise…if my boss finds a mistake in my work, I cry…oh well, I used to, now a days, I just snap at RD πŸ™‚

But I get very affected what others tell me..so then I was wondering whether the coordinator job would suit me..??

or or, perhaps I could be a librarian…very few people know that I have a degree in B Lib from IGNOUΒ heheheΒ πŸ™‚ I did it after I passed my engineering and I didntΒ get a job and I was chewing my amma’s brains so much that she was like oh well do a library science course!! and I actually managed to pass it in 1.5 years πŸ™‚

Anyways, then a librarian job would be good na..surrounded by books, cataloguing, searching on the computer is someone wants something, read books all the time..how awesome would that be?

But then I was wondering which librarian’s job would pay me good money…I mean the whole point of my working is because we need the money right? I doubt if I would get a good salary anywhere at all…may be I should try for the Library of Congress in the US..perhaps I will get a hi-fi job there…

and between all this intense thinking about my future, the phone rang and it was the boss asking me to re-re-re-re-recheck some work which wasnt even done by me originally!!!

and the thoughts just dissolved back to the numbers on the blasted excel sheet 😦

So, whats your dream job??

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

104 Responses to My Dream Job

  1. Tharani says:

    I am yet to find my dream job. I am doing my courses in geography, designing and script writing. May be I will find my dream job soon else get struck to this IT job till my life:-(

  2. Arch says:

    RM, I lost my previous comment here! Gah!

    Okay, now there is singapore. It is only 5 hours from mumbai, and is pretty nice. They pay very well for library jobs and have a network of libraries πŸ™‚ I think you and RD should come here and try jobs. R will love this place, too. Okay, I know I am stretching this too far πŸ™‚ but, hang on, okie?

    I know how horrid it is to stare at excel sheets in the name of market analysis. Did I tell you, I dream in presentation slides πŸ˜›

    • R's Mom says:

      There is something wrong with WP na 😦

      hahaha! RD wants to shift either to Singapore, or Dubai or Australia…I tell him abhi toh stick to India and pay the homeloans πŸ™‚

  3. Smita T says:

    Nice One… My dream job… My last one…. I loved it… I was doing everything I loved there… plus I had you know who to yell at… :)… and it was there I met you.. another big plus…

    • R's Mom says:

      oh you liked the job so much..isnt that awesome…

      hahaha you are kind to me Smita..you know that…I mean, you are definitely one of my inspirations in life..and you know that right?

  4. That was a nice, heart-felt post, RM!

    Actually, I’d love to be a librarian too! You’ve given me a good idea, maybe I should do a B’Lib. from IGNOU too. But yes, a library job is not likely to pay well, and the US congress library is not likely to want to hire me πŸ˜‰

  5. Chaitali says:

    I sail in the same ship RM..
    I am working for a S/W company just to pay my home loans and credit card bills :-p
    I have thought of alternate profession but as u say no job would pay u that high to take care of my expenses.
    There is no other dream job but yes may be after 2 -3 years i mite leave this job and do some share investments.
    Anyways a Big hug.. don’t take tension…be cool πŸ™‚

  6. Bhagyashree says:

    I would love to do that coordinator job. At the moment thou any job would do. πŸ™‚
    Librarian, wow, that sounds good. One of my friend is a librarian and she says her job is chai-nasta job. πŸ™‚
    And you a good writer, don’t know why you have doubts about that.

  7. Nithvin says:

    Err RM, I am reminded of this movie ‘Inception’ when I read this post..you know why? It’s as though you have got in to my brain and written things I have been thinking about every day!’I am a very emotional person otherwise…if my boss finds a mistake in my work, I cry…oh well, I used to, now a days, I just snap at RD ‘ Ditto here, except that I still haven’t stopped crying and also snap at V πŸ™‚

    Co ordinator job is what I want to do too! Just want to get in to a comfort zone and in to a job that requires you to be mostly repetitive… I thought many people would be appalled to do that kind of job until I came across this from you πŸ™‚

    Good for you, you have another degree and can explore something there if at all really needed, no?

  8. RM,
    You won’t believe me….These 2 are exactly the same dream jobs that I have been wanting consistently. You have coined a nice name for the first job description co-ordinator. I was always saying I would love to be some assistant doing all these kinda work you described. I simply love co-ordinating and managing small things in other’s life. From today, I will also want to be a co-ordinator (sounds better ;)). Being a librarian is what I wanted from my school though I still don’t have any degree. Apart from these two, my job choices depend on the book I read or movie I watch. It can vary from being a detective to joining the armed forces to being a chef to anything πŸ™‚ But for now software slavery only will pay the EMIs 😦

  9. Nithvin says:

    And who says you don’t write well? Should I remind you that I have told you more than once that you have such a unique way of writing about regular , everyday things in such an interesting way?
    Or maybe you are like me who need to be re assured every now and then about things I am good at πŸ˜‰

  10. Good one RM.. πŸ™‚ Sometimes even I feel I would do only the repetitive kind of job, so that I dont go wrong at all….. but at the end of day, it bores me out! I want new challenges everyday.. which others fail to solve… I would want to show myself what I can achieve.. though it would be straining…

    My dream job would be open an art store (selling various forms of art) I dont think we have many takers for that in our country.. so.. I might not be doing that at all.. I should atleast be able to sketch and paint to my hearts content… which is a distant dream also.. Sometimes I also feel like opening a confectionery.. which stands out of box… or a restaurant… something like that.. both of these ideas come from my passion for cooking and arts… I would be the happiest – if any of these come true…. πŸ™‚

  11. Orczy says:

    πŸ™‚ Cute post RM! I mean the whole point of my working is because we need the money right?Ironical statement..Do we wrk for a passion or fr money…Is education for learning or to make money???

  12. momofrs says:

    If this post doesn’t make you my soul-sister, I don’t know what does?!!
    I’ve been aching to be a librarian which IS my dream job (expect that it pays peanuts 😦 )
    Will definitely become one when the kids grow a little older.
    But just imagine!! Surrounded by rows and shelves laden with books with no one to disturb you throughout the day!!
    Heaven !!

  13. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Hey RM, all your posts nowadays are just letting me vent out my frustration of my work scenario. Sorry for digressing here.. Work is at its frustrating best and I am contemplating putting my papers every single day!! Somehow I am still holding on.. But for how long I dont know..
    The co-ordinating job which you have mentioned is very alluring and I would love them as well. But HR is the name given to such people in my company (well Junior HR does these things initially before graduating to become a senior HR, who takes up the more important work), and it requires an MBA degree to apply for it. Unfortunately I dont have one. Then I keep thinking that I should become a teacher! So many holidays!!! But then neither am I educationally qualified for it. Nor emotionally. For a short tempered person like me Teaching is far from possible. So the dream job keeps evading me and I am stuck with the only Job I know to do. Be a Software Engineer and lead a frustrated life 😦

    • R's Mom says:

      aiyo Mathangi, big big big hugs rey…I can so so understand what you are feeling and going through..while I am not that frustrated, few days are really bad 😦

      big big hugs…

      I can understand the not wanting to be a teacher ..even I cant do it!

  14. Shweta says:

    I don’t dream about Job.. A Job is a Job is a Job.. I would rather dream about.. Bungee Jumping.. Para Sailing.. Para Gliding.. River Rafting.. Snorkeling.. May be even Diving… a Beach House.. a Chalet in Alps.. Enjoying the Rains.. Walking in Snow.. Soaking my feet at a sea shore in the waves… and the list will go on and on and on.. πŸ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      nope Shweta, I dont agree to you on that..A job is a job but if you enjoy your job, its your dream job..and anything that pays is a job..that ways toh I dream of 24 hours sleep..but thats a dream, it wont pay me…for me dooing something I love and that pays me, qualifies for a dream job definitely…read http://www.unmana.com, she loves what she does and she gets paid for it as well…

      • Shweta says:

        Going by ur definition… I am not sure what my dream job is.. I like what I am doing but i don’t get paid enough so that’s not my dream job and if I think about what would be I would get so confused imagining various parameters and scenarios… until I try them all… πŸ˜€ which I am not sure is possible.. So when I get bugged at work.. I dream about things I mentioned..
        Or may be I can count my time When I was working in Swtitzerland at client site… I would love to work in a culture like that one.. with the pay that kind and not to forget the added bonus of location and natural beauty .. Clean Air and Snowfalls… πŸ˜€

        • R's Mom says:

          Switzerland!! thats super awesome eh?

          • Shweta says:

            Ya.. πŸ™‚ It was Super Awesome.. The Work Culture there and Specially the People they are very warm and very welcoming.. They love Indian Culture.. and are inquisitive about it.. Food here .. weather and all that.. and they plan… everything.. by the time and in seconds.. like the train will arrive at 8.02.03 am.. and u ll change the next train by 8.15.05 am like that (has to be its the country which builds world’s best watches).. i think u would really love it there.. πŸ™‚
            So until I worked there it was just one of the tourist destinations but now its much more than that for me… πŸ˜€

    • Pepper says:

      I agree with you Shweta. I can’t and don’t dream about a job either. Most of the things I enjoy and love will not pay me, unfortunately. So that takes away all my options πŸ™‚
      But hey, in your case, going by the list of things you dream about, perhaps you can consider becoming a bungee jumping/para sailing/para gliiding instructor? Or you can consider managing a beach house for tourists?

      • R's Mom says:

        hahah! I know your feelings about jobs Pepper πŸ™‚

        @Shweta: I think you should just get pepper to be your career counseler or something..

  15. Deeps says:

    Hahaha! Funny girl! Enjoyed the ride with you through your dream-jobs! πŸ˜€ But did we really have to crash land back to reality so soon! πŸ˜€

  16. A Librarian? come come to the US no? I don’t know how much they pay…but here they sit in air conditioned room and you hardly get to meet them thanks to all the stupid computers and gadgets strewn all over the place to help one to find books or check them out πŸ˜₯ I miss those old days when I used to walk up to a Librarian and actually get to talk and discuss with them.

    My dream job?? err am a lazy person by birth and quiet happy as of now with what I do at home. But if you ask me about my dream job it has to be owning a beautiful mansion somewhere in the snow covered mountains and running it as a hotel. I would love waking up everyday smelling the fresh breeze and make sure everything from the kitchen to the laundry facilities are running perfectly. Ohh and how I would love to take a moment and actually talk with every guest we will have. I can take tons of pics of happy tourists for free and give them all free neatly personalized as a scrapbook. And yes I would love to spend my day painting and reading and of course irritating the hell out of the husband as usual πŸ˜‰

    • R's Mom says:

      now thats an awesome dream job…but will you be able to manage it with a family is the question heheeh πŸ™‚

      I think if you ever ever start that hotel, I am going to come and work for you..saachmein!

  17. ashreyamom says:

    i love my job.. i cant call it as my dream job. but it is certainly a better job than my dream job.. i wanted to open up my own office.but that would mean, taking too much of stress and day and night work. now, i am in a decent job, which pay me well, 9-6 job, weekend off. so, i like the present job. taking about repetitiveness, i get bored and cant work. i work efficiently when there is more stress. like excel sheet blurs for you, for me all autocad lines merge together, i see only lines, as i too get emotional when boss scolds, i cant see my screen properly with tears in my eyes.
    i thought u would want to become a local train conductor and observe ppl in mumbai . thank god, u didnt tell that at least in next janmam, u want to become a rich man’s dog, where u dont have to do anything, but stay a pet to them( tht is what my MIL keeps saying).

    • R's Mom says:

      Well being a rich man’s dog isnt really a job is it? it would be a dream, but not a dream JOB πŸ™‚

      glad you like your work..

      and no, I dont work efficiently under stress AT ALL!!!

  18. Such a cute post RM πŸ™‚ And a degree in Lib also ?! Sigh. Come off here, will ya? S’pore has such amazing libraries. just come off and pls pls bring R πŸ™‚

  19. The Bride says:

    OMG… the Library in my Uni is looking for people, apply here, move to Hong Kong!!! Please note, even the government libraries pay HK$10,000 (at current exchange rate, INR70,000) for the lowest rank of employee… so uni library must be higher. Remember when I wrote about alternative careers and librarian was one? And here you have degree and all. Bah.

  20. My dream job had always been to join armed forces, I cleared the ima exams threw times , each time I got refused in ssb interview, then I cleared the bsf commandant exams but they asked for money which my parents refused because the guy who asked was the one who my grand father had helped to get the job..

    Anyone I ever met who are big officers in Indian army said why am I not applying or I would be selected in first fo.. never happened .. rather they selected a person who refused to go inside a Hindu temple saying he is Sikh and he hates Hindus.. difference was he was the son of of a brigadier…

    I get angry sometimes why dad would not give money when we had enough…but then I think its good had I got through maybe I would have become a dirty corrupt person too…

    But now finally I too have what I wanted or worked hard for and I have another surprise too soon to share, just waiting for it to finalise.. so I am happy and I sleep with a smile at night….

    • R's Mom says:

      but you are nearly doing your dream job arent you πŸ™‚

      I can understand your frustration yaar…but arent you proud of your dad that he refused to give money! I am sure proud of him!

      Waiting for you to share your surprise πŸ™‚

  21. My Era says:

    well for me getting a job is a dream come true (at this stage) but umm…to be honest, I have no clue what my dream job would be, though I’d love to be a photographer…a travel photographer to be precise, but with my kind of picture taking skills that’s not next to impossible it’s beyond impossible πŸ˜† πŸ˜†
    Loved this post RM πŸ˜€

  22. Such a cute post this, RM.

    Reading this, I got reminded of one job interview I attended some time ago. The interviewer asked, ‘What would you want to be in an ideal world? A world in which there are no strings attached at all? No pay hassles. No children hassles. No expectations. Nothing. You decide what you wish to do. What would you do then?’ You know what I would have answered, right?! πŸ˜‰

    I’d love being a librarian too. The sheer pleasure of being amidst layers and layers of (paper) books is enough payment, I say!

    And on being a coordinator, who says we can’t make mistakes while photocopying or booking tickets? FYI, I have been shouted at for making mistakes on both occasions! Heh! Of course, that was when I first began doing my articleship and din’t know a thing about anything. But even then…! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahha! I can well imagine what you would have answered πŸ™‚

      Errr…the chances of mistakes are there for sure, but they are not as grave as making an importing region into an exporting region while forecasting eh?

      • Okay… I wrote a big reply for this in my mind last night when sleep evaded me. But now, I can’t remember a word of it! 😦 Will try to recollect and reply in some time! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        • R's Mom says:

          you thought of my blog and sleep evaded you :(:(

          Gosh lady, people are going to accuse me of causing you insomania πŸ™‚ CH will be the first to bash me up πŸ™‚

          • Arrey.. Sorry.. Sorry… I thought about your blog only because I couldn’t get to sleep. Not the other way around! πŸ™‚ And FYI, the CH was not even home at that time.. You know, how the guy lives in his office, right! 😦

  23. ARP says:

    Hey RM,

    Nice post. I believe there would be very few people in the world who have a dream job. All the rest are stuck up in a job which pays but lacks passion. I am a big “Monk who sold his Ferrari” fan. It stresses on taking some calculated risks and trying out what you like as a job. May be it wouldn’t pay as much to start of with but work would turn into play.

  24. Smita says:

    Ah! My dream job? I want to own a bookstore cum coffee shop cum bakery!
    But before that
    -I need to do a baking course
    – Win a lottery so that I get loads of money with which I can finish the home loan
    – And with remaining money will start my business πŸ˜‰
    If only wishes were horses!!

    But why don’t you try to for change of profile? I am sure it is possible!
    And a librarian? ah!

    • R's Mom says:

      and if you ever own that store, I am ready to be the librarian cum waiter cum server cum taster okay πŸ™‚

      Arey changing profiles may not pay me enough 😦

  25. Sam says:

    RM.. a timely post.. I am just back after marriage break and vacation and you can imagine how much I hate my job right now. in fact any orderly work:)..
    But this is a topic that has been bugging me for quite sometime.. I want to try this and this and this.. so many varied passtimes.. still as passtimes and hobbies.. not sure what is good enough to become a job.. but wish I can find that one soon:)..

    • R's Mom says:

      Congrats congrats and more congrats…errr…welcome here..

      I am a big fan of your writing πŸ™‚

      I hope you find a job of your liking soon enough..till then..keep it going πŸ™‚

  26. Hee hee. That’s an eternal search, RM – a job you love doesn’t pay well, and the job that pays well is something you don’t like, if there is a job you love and that pays well, then they are not ready to hire you. πŸ™‚

    The profile of a co-ordinator that you have described is actually that of an HR executive or HR manager. There are large companies that pay good salaries for such staff, so you could actually give that a shot. πŸ™‚

    My ideal job would be that of a magazine writer, I feel. I have found my direction in work, and I am learning on the job. I do like my job, though I don’t like a few things too, but then it cannot get cent-percent perfect. I need more skills to get where I want to, and I think I am acquiring them, slowly and gradually. Hopefully, one day, I will be there. πŸ™‚

  27. Ashwathy says:

    You did a librarian course after finishing engineering??? 😯 U gotta be kidding me!!
    U r a species in itself! πŸ˜›

  28. summerscript says:

    I thought and thought and thought, I don;t know what my dream job is. But at one point of time I wanted to be
    – a doctor (when I became an engineer) πŸ˜›
    – some job in deep deep ocean like may be counting the number of dolphins!?! (when I read Life of Pi)

  29. AaeKay says:

    I’m in college doing Aeronautical engineering! My dream job is to be a pilot and a writer. I am currently working on my book and it will be out in 2013 and I am going start my flight training from next year!! Wish me luck RM!! πŸ™‚
    And awwww, I’ve heard libraries in Australia pay really well. Maybe you should make a career shift. I hate numbers, so I sure can understand! Software jobs are only for the money na RM?
    Hugs!

  30. Mermaid says:

    i understand ur sentiments exactly..i would be happy with a repetitive job too..sometimes i wonder if am just not the go-getter types..i see everyone around me and they all struggle so much to go up in the ladder…though i worry that i am not reaching those heights i dont strain too much to work hard towards it either

    • R's Mom says:

      hey welcome here πŸ™‚

      I am definitely NOT A GO GETTER..there cant be two more different human beings married to each other than RD and I..RD is so much of a go getter that he manages to get all the awards in his company in a span of 2 months..and here I am, tugging along!!

  31. sudhagee says:

    Though i like my current job, my dream job is far removed from what I want to do. I would love to work with the UNESCO World Heritage Group and travel from site to site, country to country, continent to continent, documenting, inspecting, travelling, indeed living out a dream. And writing it all out. Sigh… πŸ™‚

  32. RM, it’s like you took the words right out of my mouth! If only someone could pay me to read, all day…(sigh). That would really be a dream come true. I’ve often considered the Library Sciences, and even have a few friends in the program. But I have a feeling that if I had to read for WORK, it would take all the fun out of the reading. Because reading for school definitely sucks the life out of even the most amazing books.

    • R's Mom says:

      hey welcome here πŸ™‚

      I dont think you will dislike reading if you really love it…reading in school is different rey….people FORCE you to study..in this case, you can read what you want eh?

      • True, but I find that when there is a deadline or any other sort of requirement (other than enjoyment!) associated with reading, it takes all the life out of the text. Though of course, if they just have me a pile of books to read, with no requirement but to read them (while curled up in my bed with an iced tea) that would be Heaven.

        • R's Mom says:

          hahahah! my favorite reading posture would be ‘lie on a hammock with a huge packet of chips, tons of juice and read and read’ Ah! thats like my lifetime dream

  33. Scribby says:

    you are one crazy lady while imagining things I tell you…lol @ boss after you with a sword and lady with the pink slip πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜› ROFL!

    numbers merged and dancing in front of you on the screen? are you sure you are not unwell πŸ˜‰

    • Scribby says:

      before I could finish typing the entire comment,it got published,may be the WP wants me to cut it short,which I’m not going to πŸ˜‰ lol

      so coming back to your post: B.Lib? seriously? how many more qualifications do you have in your kitty? tell tell !

      Basically you want to become an HR Administrator πŸ™‚ me thinks πŸ™‚

      oh and now that you’ve mentioned I think having a librarian’s job in your late 40s-50s is not a bad option…children settled, there is nothing much to achieve in life,like running for the bread and butter types…you know the phase where you do what you want to do for yourself and use your time like you wish to? yeah…that phase being a librarian would be awesome…being between the books,what else one needs,eh?

      see such a long comment I write every time πŸ˜› WP is going to ban me from your blog or may be you’ll πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    • R's Mom says:

      Arey I was just so stressed uff!

      WP is going crazy for sure!!

      I think I am ready to do librarian’s job even now…I dont want to wait till I turn 40 πŸ™‚

      I would never ban you from my blog..gah!

  34. techie2mom says:

    Wow, being a librarian seems great, only if it could pay well…
    But seriously, i don’t know what’s my dream job…some people actually are so aware of what they want from life, and i am not one of them 😦
    when i used to study electrical engineering, i used to think that working for the power utility was the best, so i got the job there…but i didn’t like working there…then i thought that being a lecturer will be nice…i partially liked that (liked the free time i used to get to read novels, but didn’t like to prepare for the class), then i thought it will be great to work in R&D, so i got a job of R&D, again i liked this one partially, i liked learning new things & the work culture of the company, but didn’t like the pressure of deadlines & performance. So i thought i will enjoy spending time at home doing nothing..but i have realized that i can’t do it forever…but at the same time i can’t think of going back to my previous job where i can’t see Zini for the most of the time in a day…
    so, for now i am taking one day at a time & not thinking much about the future or the dream job!

    • R's Mom says:

      oh dont worry, even I dont know what I want in life..this was at THAT time when numbers were dancing in front of me πŸ™‚

      taking one day at a time -perfect solution for me as well πŸ™‚

  35. anisnest says:

    hmm I always fantasize that my dream job is to be a teacher where I get to spend more time with kids though I am not sure about how well will I handle it and as you said whether the main motive (money) of working will get solved.. 😦 may be I will do teaching and dancing in my retirement life.. πŸ™‚

  36. hitchy says:

    My dream job would either be as a 12th man carrying drinks to the players or being a coolie with the Nat Geo guys… ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ :mrgreen:

  37. Such an honest post RM! I day dream a lot about my dream job too!
    My dream job has always been to be a national geographic photographer from a very young age. Leading a nomadic lifestyle is my fantasy. Not settling down at one place. Moving from place to place, exploring the culture, nature and people. Maybe this fantasy gets heightened because I am stuck at my desk writing code. (which in itself is not so terrible ;)). πŸ˜€

  38. I did a post like this sometime earlier in the year…but one where I also said if money was no bar. I think I would want to be a writer if someone put my current salary still in my account each fortnight. But apart from that, I think I am doing my dream job anyway. I love it except for the politics in the work place. As far as the client work goes, no two clients are the same and I find it challenging and worthwhile despite the fact that it can be draining at times!

    I worked in a library during my uni years here and enjoyed it…wouldn’t mind working as a librarian or a bookstore owner too. πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      I think you love your job..thats the kind of feeling I get when I read your blog..and of course the post on appreciation would have made you love it even more na..

      Arey PB, there is politics everywhere you go, work, family, friends…honestly I seriously believe in that saying that goes ‘three is a crowd and will result in politics!’

      you did a librarian’s job..isnt that awesome!

      and for me, a job definitely has to have money, otherwise, it becomes a hobby na?

Leave a Reply

