Dear R,

So you turn four and just like last year I feel you are four going on fourteen…

Four is a weird age you know…while you are still a kid, you dont belong to the toddler age where its all cute-ness overloaded and thenΒ  you cant be termed as a ‘child’ because you still dont know a lot of things…

If you speak, you are called a vayadi and if you dont speak, you are called a silent mouse..either ways, four really makes you wish you were like FIVE years old…I hope you know what I mean…

Its been a long journey eh…I cant believe four years ago, you came out a squirmy, screaming kid, with me screaming to the nurse to tell me whether its a girl, its a girl!!

I love you R. saachmein okie?

Like we were talking before you went to Sabari malai, I want you to grow a bit older…because I want to watch FRIENDS with you and enjoy the jokes with you.

And then of course, our pact that onceΒ  you start reading by yourself, you and me, will lie on the bed together and read our OWN books…thats a distant dream, but then we all dream on right?

And of course you went to Sabari malai without me and thankfully, I didnt miss you much and you didnt miss me much either. Signs that both of us are growing up eh?

I think, I will eventually throw away that green frock your K Chitti gave you because I am bored of seeing you in it EVERY alternate day…Wear today, wash tomorrow, wear day after…I mean, beta, you have so many clothes, then WHY only that GREEN FROCK!!!

If you are really a big girl, then why do you want me to lift you in my lap and only then drink your milk?? bolo bolo πŸ™‚

I am thankful for the fact that you are still ever ready to go to school and daycare though there have been some days you want to be at home..but those moments are rare and they pass off quickly πŸ™‚

Like your Baroda Thathi and your Amma, you are never going to need a mike when you speak on the stage…you are so loud that the aunty on the 12th floor of the 9th building from our house often comes asking me if you are in a bad mood!!

I love the way you come and snuggle next to me saying ‘MY Amma’ yes baby, I will always be YOUR amma πŸ™‚ I find it really cute when your Appa comes and hugs me and says ‘My Amma’ and you remove his hand and tell me ‘Amma, aap meri ho na, appa ki mat bano’ (Amma, you are mine na, dont become Appa’s) Well you do the same with your Appa as well, but I am just overlooking that since this post is all about my love to you, etc etc πŸ™‚

You are addicted to the old movie songs that you guys did during your nursery annual day and you go through phases of hearing the SAME thing again and again and again and again and again till your Appa and I are pretty much pakaoed with you πŸ™‚

On the word Pakao, your language is showing some minor improvements, now you talk ONLY BOMBAY HINDI!!! *Rolls eyes*

Appa has got to you addicted to ‘Dance India Dance’ and every weekend is a Ramayan in our house when you sit to watch it and I want you to sleep early!! You love dancing and I can see that clearly

We havent yet thrown a ‘party’ for you on your birthdays, I think its better to give a big one when you are old enough to decide whom you want to call..with your 40 friends at daycare and some 20 friends in the building all who are much much older to you, I dont think your Amma will be able to manage all that…of course the celebration in the daycare will be there tomorrow as it opens πŸ™‚

You are definitely a cry baby, crying at the drop of the hat for everything..thats one thing I hope you learn to stop doing as you grow older…no the nails are still not growing and yes you are still sucking your thumb in sleep when you are disturbed 😦

no you still arent completely night toilet trained and yes you do jump onto Amma Appa’s bed in the middle of the night saying ‘machar bite kare che’

You want to go to Sr.Kg already and have told me that you are sad that you dont know Cursive writing like S didi..well baby, you have a lifetime to learn it and just an year before you get to Sr.Kg..whats the hurry tell me?

You have started bugging us big time for a Chotu baby, and of course, your Appa and I are not indulgent parents..we dont give in to your every wish do we? πŸ™‚

This year has been a gift overload for you from loads of blog masis ..you lucky gal! you have no clue how lucky you are…I am definitely going to do a post later on on WHAT all you got so that, you remember and cherish the love poured on you…such things are rare in life and remember to cherish them and thank the people from the bottom of your heart…you dont need to give back if you cant, but remember to reciprocate in someway or the other…after all friendship of this kind is very rare my darling πŸ™‚

I only wish a lifetime of happiness and love for you, baby…I have no aspirations whatsoever from you. I just want you to be a good human being and independent. I dont care what you become in life as long as you are able to take care of yourself independently. I dont care whether you marry a girl or a boy, as long as there is love and respect in the relation. I dont care if you dont want to marry as well, as long as you have a support system strong enough to take you over hard times.

I do care that you learn to respect people and care for the environment.

I hope one day, you share the same relation with me that I share with my Amma and Appa. I hope when you grow older, you will realise that your amma is not always-shouting-at-me lady but someone who hopes that you will turn out to be a better humanI hope you think of your Amma as a friend and share with me all your joys and sorrows and worries and problems…I dont promise a solution but I sure promise to always be there to listen to everythingΒ  you have to say…

I doΒ  hope that youΒ  become a good cook though and give me nice nice things to eat everyday.

I love a lot and so does Appa.

Your Loving Amma

RM πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

115 Responses to Dear R,

  1. summerscript says:

    Sweeeeet!!
    Happy Birthday to Rockstar R πŸ˜€

  2. aww it’s her birthday today? I mean June 1st for you guys? Happy birthday to the little darling. Tell her if Mama will send Sakshi Chechi your address she will send some cute pinky and green stuffs okie? πŸ˜›

    Like your Baroda Thathi and your Amma, you are never going to need a mike when you speak on the stage…….. πŸ˜† πŸ˜† I can so well imagine the state of her spouse…err just like how the poor man in the home feels now πŸ˜‰

    loads of muahs and hugs both to the birthday girl and the birth giving girl okie? πŸ™‚

  3. The Bride says:

    Happy Birthday to R. The “My Amma” made me go all awww as did the feed me milk and go. It’s nice when they are still our babies.

  4. Happy happy birthday R darling. May your life be filled with happiness.. happiness.. and more of happiness! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Will call you later in the evening to wish you, okay! πŸ™‚

  5. vethal says:

    u made to work inspite of bharat bandh?

  6. Orczy says:

    So mushy mushy post RM!!! Loved it..Esp loved these lines..
    “remember and cherish the love poured on you…such things are rare in life and remember to cherish them and thank the people from the bottom of your heart…you dont need to give back if you cant, but remember to reciprocate in someway or the other…after all friendship of this kind is very rare my darling ” Happy growing up R..U have a wunnerful mom!!

  7. Nithvin says:

    ‘Wear today, wash tomorrow, wear day after…I mean, beta, you have so many clothes, then WHY only that GREEN FROCK!!!’ LOL !!Green frock obsessed there also? SO S is not alone I guess..
    Make sure to show your Birthday posts to R when she can read by herself..she’s going to love them πŸ™‚
    What special plan for the (not so πŸ˜‰ ) little one’s birthday..

    • R's Mom says:

      hahaha! I am not forcing her to read this blog..if she reads the other posts, she will bash me up..

      no special plans rey…tomorrow bday celebrations at daycare

  8. RM, this is such a beautiful letter. You cannot get more awesome and both of you are so lucky ot have each other and the wonderful blogworld πŸ™‚
    Happy birthday R πŸ™‚ Someday, I wish to see you, hug you and tell you what a fabulous mother you have (though you’d know it better than me).
    God Bless!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Dear R,
    Wish you a very very Happy Birthday! May God shower his blessings on you all the year through and for many more years to come. Have a great day and have a good celebration at your day care as well..
    And RM.. As a Birthday Special, please post some pics of R in her new dresses..

  10. Loved this post, specially this part… //I only wish a lifetime of happiness and love for you, baby…I have no aspirations whatsoever from you. I just want you to be a good human being and independent. I dont care what you become in life as long as you are able to take care of yourself independently. I dont care whether you marry a girl or a boy, as long as there is love and respect in the relation. I dont care if you dont want to marry as well, as long as you have a support system strong enough to take you over hard times.//

    A very happy 4th birthday to R!!

  11. Ashwathy says:

    either ways, four really makes you wish you were like FIVE years old…I hope you know what I mean…
    Obviously she will have no clue what you mean πŸ˜› coz she is not five yet!

    If you are really a big girl, then why do you want me to lift you in my lap and only then drink your milk?? bolo bolo
    U r grateful that she still wants that πŸ˜› Admit it!!

    On the word Pakao, your language is showing some minor improvements, now you talk ONLY BOMBAY HINDI!!! *Rolls eyes*
    Considering the kind of atrocious language she has been learning from you, anything is an improvement ! πŸ˜›

    I love a lot and so does Appa.
    I love YOU a lot ! πŸ˜› Don’t make mistakes like this, in such a heartfelt post na!

    Loved the last two-three paras… πŸ™‚ Hugs!

  12. garima says:

    A very happy birthday R.RM it was such a beautiful letter .i so agree mum and daughter having relations as good as a friend.i agree mum is always a best friend.lovely letter .god bless R : -)

  13. Jas says:

    A very happy birthday to R and what a lovely letter. I am sure she will cherish it in the years to come. Btw, this obsession with clothes is not restricted to just your child. My son was obsessed with a green shirt that he wore every day without fail for a long time (he is 4 years old).. and I was thinking the people who meet him will think the mom is so frugal with the kid. Now the obsession has shifted to blue shirt 😦

    • R's Mom says:

      thank you thank you Jas for telling me about your son πŸ™‚ Muah to him and tell him that this masi loves him for loving his shirt πŸ™‚

  14. Awwww awwww awwww awwwww
    This is such a beautiful letter, Rm. The love just shines through it. I had tears in my eyes reading it. Deeply touched.

    Big hugs and loads of love to the brat on her birthday. Would love to meet her before she lets go of her lovely, cute khichdi language. πŸ˜€

  15. Swaram says:

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    Happy happy budday R πŸ˜€ Muahss! And hv a wonderful time now and always! And pls to invite me also when u cook for Amma πŸ˜‰ Psst psst, no chotu baby as gift kya? πŸ˜‰

  16. Bhagyashree says:

    Thats such a sweet post. And I wonder when will I tell my thoughts so clearly to my son.
    On a different note, your posts always make me happy. Thank you

  17. ashreyamom says:

    happy b’day R.. hope you listen to your mom and her dreams..( atleast 80% πŸ˜› ok..)..

  18. varsha says:

    Happy birthday and God bless you R

  19. Such a beautiful post…. A Very Happy Birthday to R πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Here is wishing R all the happy and fun things through out her life.. πŸ™‚

  20. lifesong says:

    A very very Happy B’day to R πŸ™‚ Wishing her a great year ahead.

  21. AA_Mom says:

    Happy Birthday R. Hope you have a wonderful and playful year ahead!

  22. Smita says:

    It’s her birthday today??
    Happy Birthday R!!!
    Make your Mumma get you to meet me, the Golgappa’s are waiting for you πŸ™‚
    And do all the good things that your Mumma has written in this heartfelt sweet letter πŸ™‚
    Loads of love & millions of hugs & never ending kisses to you princess!! πŸ™‚

  23. RS says:

    Happy Happy Birthday R..
    Have loads of happiness and enjoyment.

  24. Nachu says:

    I have been lurking here for long and finally thought of coming out of it. Feels like I know you guys for ages now.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY R. Have a great fun-filled year ahead. Hugs!!

    >>Like your Baroda Thathi and your Amma, you are never going to need a mike when you speak on the >>stage…you are so loud that the aunty on the 12th floor of the 9th building from our house often comes >>asking me if you are in a bad mood!!
    err.. The aunty in 9th building does not hear RM’s voice :P?

    • R's Mom says:

      hahah welcome here Nachu..sweet of you to delurk

      Thank you for the lovely sweet wishes..

      Errr..the letter is about R na..RM ki toh baat nahi hui πŸ™‚

  25. santhi says:

    First comment here…today i want to wish R a very happyyyyyy birthday…

  26. VJ says:

    Happie budday Little Miss.R
    May God bless you with loads of happiness and good health !!

  27. AaeKay says:

    Happy Birthday R!! πŸ™‚
    Lots of hugs and kisses!! Wear a green frock on your birthday also ok? πŸ˜€
    And when is chottu baby coming R? πŸ˜€

  28. Sushama says:

    Hi RM,
    I am a long reader of your blog but never actually commented. But today’s a special day.
    Wish R a very very happy birthday…
    My daughter is year and half younger than R. So whenever I read anything about R. First thought came in my mind is this is what I have to face in near future.
    Loads and loads of hugs to R.

  29. NBose says:

    Happy B’day R….wish u loads of happiness & good health….:-)

    Ohh RM, Mishti’s b’day is tomorrow…. these Gemini kids know how to keep us on our toes, tail or whatsoever…. πŸ™‚

    I loved the last two para of your post….. GOD bless the li’l lady ……Hugs to u RM for penning such a nice post…

  30. Many many happy returns of the day to soooooper R.

    Lots of love and hugs.. a very happy birthday..

  31. greengables14 says:

    happy happy birthday R kutti… may all your dreams come true and may u get everything you want out of life :)) I also want to meet you and hear ur cute kichdi language…and u can play with a chotu tambi also.. what say???

  32. Chaitali says:

    Coincidentally its my cousin b’day today.. and he is 10 yrs old today..
    When i wished him.. he thanked me n i felt like he should remain as kid, for that i liked the innocence in them…
    I wish R a very Happy B’day and a big hug to you RM for being a adorable Mom..

  33. Deeps says:

    Awww that is so so so so sweet a letter, RM! “I hope one day, you share the same relation with me that I share with my Amma and Appa. I hope when you grow older, you will realise that your amma is not always-shouting-at-me lady but someone who hopes that you will turn out to be a better human…I hope you think of your Amma as a friend and share with me all your joys and sorrows and worries and problems…I dont promise a solution but I sure promise to always be there to listen to everything you have to say…” Amen to that, RM! I could so relate with you in those words!

    Happy B’day R! Heres wishing you life’s very best, sweetheart! May God bless you!
    Loads of love and hugs coming your way πŸ™‚

  34. Shweta says:

    A Very Happy Birthday to R and RM and RD.. πŸ™‚ As its ur bday as a mum and RD’s bday as a Dad too.. πŸ˜€
    Wish R Loads of Happiness.. God Bless her with Good Health and a Good Heart.. πŸ™‚
    I wish her dreams and smiles.. Wings of Ambition and Roots of Wisdom πŸ˜€
    and HUGE HUGE Birthday Cake… πŸ˜‰

  35. Happy Birthday R and many happy returns of the day R, RM and RD πŸ™‚ Wishing all of you loads of happiness πŸ™‚
    LOL at the idea of chhotu and motu birthday cakes πŸ˜€
    And what a wonderful, heartfelt letter, I am sure R is going to cherish it for a lifetime.

  36. Scribby says:

    Aww @ aap appa ke mat hona,aap meri amma ho!

    these Chirpy and R have so many things in common…I’m slowly realizing it all…the love for dancing for starters πŸ™‚

    hhahaha @ macchar bite kare che πŸ˜›

    you know since I’ve met her I can so imagine she speaking things that you write..and it makes it all the more cuter now πŸ™‚

    I stand tall with R demanding a chotu baby…baby baby baby..*screaming in unison-me & R on the lines of hamari maange puri karo

    I so agree with you on “no expectations except to be a good human being and independent”

    the last few lines are so senti….and so direct dil se! RM you rock mommy πŸ™‚

    Hugs to both of you my darlings!

    • R's Mom says:

      oh yaa..remember that guitar and both of them were dancing hehehe πŸ™‚

      Errr..the chotu baby is a long term plan babes πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the lovely lovely lovely gift you sent πŸ™‚

  37. Sreetama says:

    Happy happy birthday darling R! I started reading your blog when she was soo small & today she is all of 4! Seriously, she is growing up fast! I’m glad that she likes reading which you had wished in your previous birthday letters for R! This letter is soo cute & touchy! You are a wonderful mother! Loads of best wishes for her! May she gets a generous supply of good food, good books & chhotu babies in this year & the ones ahead! πŸ™‚

  38. My Era says:

    A very happy birthday to darling R and lots of love to you RM πŸ˜€
    Loved this beautiful letter πŸ™‚

  39. Pepper says:

    Happy Birthday sweetheart. πŸ™‚

  40. Jo says:

    HAppy happy growing up to Amma and R.. πŸ™‚

  41. Smitha says:

    Sweet! Wishing R a very Happy Birthday filled with sugar, spice & all that is nice.

  42. Journomuse says:

    You get so many responses, there are times when I feel my shout at might just get lost in the crowd…But some day the little one is going to cherish this post, RM..:) Loved it and hope the little one had a happywala day!! πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      aiyo of course not…each comment is important to me rey..and each comment on this post is filled with so much love…I will never let such a lovely comment get lost in the crowd!

  43. anisnest says:

    happy birthday to you
    happy birthday to you
    happy birthday dear R
    happy birthday to you

    May you be blessed with all the happiness in this world kanna.. have a blasting day kutti.. take care.. loads and loads and loads of wishes, hugs and muahs coming your way from Ani maussi..

  44. vidya says:

    happy bady dear R……wish u loads of happiness and fun…love her wanted to see u dear..i still remember when u delivered R and i used to ask D hows she…kind of nagging him…4 yrs flew…

    • R's Mom says:

      Vidya, edited your comment a bit for the obvious reasons of not wanting names in public πŸ™‚

      Thanks a ton for all the wishes πŸ™‚

  45. Comfy says:

    I logged in to WP after forever only for this. I knew I would get my awww-full-of-love post today. R baby we love you sooooo very much. Happy Happy Birthday. Drive Amma crazy OK! πŸ˜€

    Psk RM, the cry baby phase still going strong at 4 enh? There goes my dream of Buzz getting better any time soon 😐

    • R's Mom says:

      Awww you are such a sweetheart..thanks comfy for the lovely comment, super duper email which I am going to save till R grows up so that she realises the love thats showered on her all the time

      and oh yaa 😦 that cry baby phase seems never ending eh?

  46. Ramya says:

    Sorry am delayed in wishing….. Many many many happy returns of the day to R kuttima… Do do send the wishes to her and also my tighhht hugs πŸ™‚

  47. Jazz says:

    Omg how did I miss this ?! A very happy birthday dear R, may God bless you with a great life filled with happiness ahead.

    And what a lovely post, I wish to do this for my future baby too. πŸ˜‰

  48. Arch says:

    RM, I read this post twice. Esp, the bits on your thoughts for her future. Very prettily put. Happy birthday, sweetheart πŸ™‚

  49. Tanishka says:

    Belated Happy Birthday Sweetheart… Everytime I read about you, I miss my childhood, the way i used to behave with my mom… And you know what I still sit on my mom’s lap when I go home, coz I love to be my mom’s baby… πŸ˜€

    Wish you a fun filled life with lots n lots of happiness… πŸ™‚

  50. I’m late to the party but belated birthday wishes to R! And what a heart warming post RM! I’m sure R would love to read this one day…preferably when she is a teen and going through mood swings…to see how much you love her! πŸ™‚

  51. Sangitha says:

    Happy birthday to R! And congratulations to her mom for being her mom the way she has! Big hugs. And a lovely post.

  52. ARP says:

    I am a full 4 days late to wish 4yr old dear R on her b’day. “Belated Wishes” dear R. Lots of love and hugs to you.

  53. Smitha says:

    A very, very, very belated Happy Birthday to R! Loads of love and hugs to the little darling! I’m sure she considers herself a very big girl now πŸ™‚ A big four year old πŸ™‚

    I don’t know how I missed this post! I’ve been missinf posts left right and centre these days, and I had to go and miss R’s birthday post!!!!!

    Lovely letter, RM! R will love reading this when she gets older. She is such a darling! May all that you wish for her come true!

Leave a Reply

