Why Me – 8

and so, yesterday, I didnt wake up R in the morning before I left because she had slept really late and somehow, things were such that I was like okay let her sleep…

At about 8ish I was in the bus, my nose buried in a love story from Amazon when I get a call from her…Amma, mereko wake up kyun nathi kiya (Amma, why didnt you wake me up?)

RM: Errr…baby you were sleeping na

R: Toh??

RM: Well, so I thought I will let you sleep

R: Kal se wake up karne ka, brush karvanu and then doodh drinking and then you go office (From tomorrow wake me up, brush my teeth, make me drink my milk and then you go to office)

RM: okay kanna

and then I kept the phone down and went back to my book

The office came, I hopped off the bus rushing as usual, and then as soon as I reached office, I remembered that I had to tell my MIL something…

I went up to my desk searching for the phone and to my dismay it was not there…

Gosh this would be number 6 in 6 years :(:(

As such I was at cold war with RD, upar se if I had to tell him that I lost my phone…Darn! I was so upset

I quickly took a colleague’s phone and called up my number…

A guy (AG) picked up

RM: Errrr..this is my phone

AG: Who is speaking?

RM: well, the phone you just picked up is mine..where are you?

AG: Where are you?

RM: At office…are you the bus driver

AG: Who knows who I am?

RM: errr..okay..can you please keep the phone and give me in the evening

AG: I am at Goregaon and I liked your phone a lot and I am not giving it to you

RM: Please sir, this is my only phone…I really like it and I want it back…who is speaking please

AG: How does it matter, your phone is with me

By this time the entire floor is staring at me as I am really loud and worried about my phone getting lost

RM: Sir, I really want the phone back…can you keep it with you till the evening (All the time assuming that its the driver of the bus)

AG: Why should I return it..you dont care about it

Now I am confused on who the hell is talking to me…

RM: Sir, please give me back my phone

AG: hahahah! I am the main security gate guy talking..come and collect your phone..first give me your ext

RM: oh! thank you…

I give him my extension..he calls on my extension and gives me the name and extension of the guy who gave him my phone and ASKS me to call him NOW and thank him..

The meek me obeys.

I call that guy to thank him..

RM: Are you S

S: yes?

RM: Well..thanks for saving my phone

S: oh its yours

RM: yes

S: hahahaha! you are welcome, you are so engrossed in the book that you forget your phone na..

RM: errrr…

and I go down to collect the phone…all the security guys (about 4 of them) are laughing and discussing  my phone losing in detail and how I got scared and all that..

RM: my phone

AG: Arey madam, here is your phone..where is my reward

RM: Well, these guys dont pay me enough to give you a reward so be happy with my thanks

And I come back..on the way back, at least 20 people ask me, whether I got my phone back..

Damn, Why me 😦
*All conversation with AG was in Mumbaiyya Hindi, I just translated it here*

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to Why Me – 8

  1. Osho that muddu R 🙂 and your phone escapades – phew ! Secretly, can I be happy that I get to read such amazing “why me”s ? 😛

  2. greenboochi says:

    I just laughed out so loud that half of my office wing is staring at me… 😆 *sorry*

    Oh Even I felt.. Why RM!!?!

  3. Amit says:

    I had this friend who will forget her phone everytime she visited the washroom. Once, when she was in the US, she left it in the washroom of a gas station and remembered after they were 60 miles from it. Her poor husband drove all the way back to get her phone. I cannot imagine the fumes coming out of him. Your case is very mild in comparison. 🙂

  4. Scribby says:

    hmm well I guess alls well that ends well,yeah? a big hug to you for going through that terror of loosing the 6th one…well I know it kind of cause I’ve lost 6 phones too 😛 😛 did we not discuss how we are like sisters ??? 🙂

    What should I say on R’s phone call,sigh! that sweet bundle of joy…ADORABLE! tell her and yes I’ve emailed you few mins back…right now go and read and pass it on to R 🙂

    P.S. finish off the cold war no? peeeese?

    • R's Mom says:

      Got your mail and replied…

      yes yes we both are so alike eh?

      Cold war – okay will finish off..he has a couple of couriers with him which I need to lay my hands on ehehehe 🙂

  5. Pepper says:

    ROTFL. RM, I’ve been there. And I’d say it’s been much worse for me. Wrote about it here. https://pepperedthoughts.wordpress.com/2010/10/04/what-the/ ..I still go red when I think of it.

  6. Oh, but you got back your phone na, don’t you realize how RARELY that happens. ‘Why-me’ hardly applies here 😉

  7. summerscript says:

    awww..R is a cutie pie!

    On the phone incident :- hahahaha..
    “AG: I am at Goregaon and I liked your phone a lot and I am not giving it to you
    RM: Please sir, this is my only phone…I really like it and I want it back…who is speaking please”

    The conversation is hilarious RM! 😀

  8. Bhagyashree says:

    🙂 My losing things was the talk of Goregaon when I was working there; so u got company 😀

  9. Journomuse says:

    Poor little R’s call is being portrayed as the culprit for the mobile scare!! It’s your book Mama R that caused all this distraction..:) Ohhh btw, the more I read you, the more I’m sure of your ‘Kumbh ka Mela’ theory..though to date, I’m yet to get my phone or for that matter anything I lost back!! 🙂 Here’s my post of woes – http://wordysketches.blogspot.com/2010/04/case-of-mysterious-disappearance.html

    • R's Mom says:

      of course, because she called, I took out the phone na :):)

      Gosh, pretty craze in your case na 🙂 I was laughing when I finished reading it 🙂

  10. Smita says:

    ha ha ha ha I want the original transcript of your coversation the guard!!! They made a semi bakra out of you 😀
    A fun begining to the day I hope it only gets better better & better 😉

  11. Jas says:

    ha ha… security guards playing a prank… 😀

  12. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Nice read to start my afternoon RM!! Cant help finding a smile escaping on my lips.. And R is so sweet na.. She wants to wake up before you leave.. I have seen my son also doing it.. If I leave for work before he wakes up, he will say why did you go before I could say Good Bye 🙂 Sweet Na.. God Bless for such tiny mercies 🙂

  13. Ha ha ha.. Sorry to laugh at your expense! 🙂 🙂 But, shouldn’t you be happy that at least you got back your phone?! 😉

  14. Arch says:

    RM, ain’t you cute? He he..okay, now be careful with the phone 🙂

  15. Thheeehehehehehe. HUGS to R! And how absent minded can you get that you didnt put the phone back in your bag – is that such a good book?

    pssst – which book?

    • R's Mom says:

      arey I dont even know the name of the book..some book I found free on Amazon and since the library guy had not given any new book, i was reading it…I usually download only free romance novels from Amazon.. 🙂

  16. Jo says:

    RM.. I was just holding my breath as I read this, to see whether u got it or not. Thank god! And R is so chweet.. 🙂

  17. Deeps says:

    God bless people like S and your security guard! Had it been Delhi I would have lost all hopes of ever getting reunited with my phone! 🙂

  18. vethal says:

    i recently lost my purse with credit+debit+pan+cash:-( u r lucky dear

  19. LOL @ the phone conversation. I could almost see you talking over the phone in my mind’s eye. 🙂

    All’s well that ends well. Glad you got back your phone. That was quite a scary experience, though!

    Awwww @ R’s call. So cute!

    You travel in your company bus, is it?

    • R's Mom says:

      in my mind’s eye – I love that expression 🙂

      Oh ya..in laws are here na..so dont have to drop R to the daycare since its closed for 15 days..so get the company bus *touchwood, touchwood and more touchwood*

  20. ahem I have never ever lost a phone in my life :mrgreen: and that is because I hardly take out my phone out of my bag 🙄 sheesh doesn’t that show how much i hate talking over the phone? 😥

    😆 😆 at the condo…so even the security guard knows that you are one hell of a RM to talk to na? 😉

  21. ashreyamom says:

    ha ha ha.. lucky u, u got the phone back.. i liked the security guy’s replies.. super smart with quick replies.. 🙂

  22. 🙂 alls wells that ends well
    you got your phone back and some people pulled your leg Funny funny 🙂 but it put smiles on so many people and now on us the readers tooooooo…

    Well done RM 🙂

  23. My Era says:

    I can so imagine how worked up, worried and panicked you must be while talking to the security guard all the while he must be laughing and enjoying like a crazy.
    Glad that you finally got your phone 😀

  24. Sreetama says:

    Hahahahahaha! Had a hearty laugh after reading this post RM! You are amazing and so are the people around you! The gentleman’s sense of humour is superb I say! And pat on your back for the superb reply on why they don’t deserve an award! 😛 And R is such a sweet heart! She must see you after waking up each morning. Giving tight hugs & kissies to the soon to be 4 princess! 🙂

  25. Sreetama says:

    I meant reward! 😛

  26. DI says:

    Hahha! Too funny! It is indeed a why RM situation! 😛 Now you will be a little more careful with your phone (hopefully!)

  27. anisnest says:

    all is well that ends well.. happy that you got your phone back.. Once appa left his phone in a bus that too public bus and then travelled from one end of chennai to another to collect the phone.. the person who saved the phone was a sweet fellow..
    is it holiday for R now? she is a darling to ask you to wake her up.. mine would prefer sleeping 🙂

  28. Tanishka says:

    I wish I could also join the guard gang for sometime… 😀 😀

  29. The Bride says:

    Why you? You are such a special person that even when you lose something, some nice soul finds it and returns it to you. Lucky you!

  30. Ashwathy says:

    ROFL!!! 😀 😀

    I m glad this has a happy ending though!!

    Number 6 !! 😯 If I were RD, I’d never buy you fones again!!! 😛

  31. Pingback: Why me? « for whom the bell tolls

  32. Good thing you got your phone back…maybe after this experience, you are less likely to lose it?? 😉 I had to laugh though at some of it…and some parts I got annoyed…when the guy said he liked your phone and was going to keep it I went WTF…who does that?! :S But all’s well that end’s well…

Leave a Reply

