Rictionary Part 2

Has been in the drafts for long enough now πŸ™‚ I am out of topics to write!!!

Nikalofy

meaning: remove
Languages used : Hindi + English
Usage: Amma, you have to nikalofy the buttons of mera shirt na? (Amma, you have to remove the buttons of my shirt)
Speakofy

meaning: Speak
Languages used: English
Usage: Amma, main Hindi hi speakofy kar rahi hoon (Amma, I am speaking Hindi only!)

Wearao

meaning: wear
Languages used: English and Hindi
Usage: RM: R, wear your shoes
R: No Amma, you wearao me! (no amma, you put it on for me)

Bhagwan help me will you!
Tithify

meaning:Scold
Languages used: Tamil + English
Usage: Amma, appa ko tithify nahi karne ka (Amma, dont scold appa)

Manje Shu

meaning: What does it mean
Languages used : marathi + Gujarati
Usage: Amma, troll manje shu? (amma, what does troll mean?)

One liners!

Amma, zara yeh door ne tithe change karishu?

Amma =Β  Tamil
Zara yeh = Hindi
Door = English
ne = Gujararti
Tithe = Marathi
change = English
Karishu = Gujarati

What she actually wants to say – Amma, should we shift this door from there to here?
Why she wants that – Just like that
How does Amma react – R, tera language uff
I must admit that the above list is a continuation of what I had written earlier in part 1..now the brat doesnt use so much of the mixture language..the Sabari malai trip resulted in her actually speaking sentences in Tamizh so much so that RD thinks she speaks good Tamizh (Trust me, she says two words in Tamizh and the father celebrates!)

I hope her language improves eventually πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to Rictionary Part 2

  1. hitchy says:

    Priceless memories in that post !!!!! πŸ˜€

  2. hitchy says:

    one of my son’s most laughable line is “Chalo aapde Kheliye” πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  3. hitchy says:

    wearao !!! aah the gujju pehravo !? πŸ˜€ I loved that the best !

  4. Swaram says:

    Classic classic classic! I’m luving it πŸ˜€

  5. Ashwathy says:

    Kids imitate adults. You improve, and she will automatically do so πŸ˜›

  6. Chaitali says:

    Hey cool dictionary.. oops rictionary..

  7. Nithvin says:

    Aiyoo, R’s language is so complicated! but cute nevertheless πŸ™‚

  8. Journomuse says:

    It is amazing how kids learn to speak all the languages they hear around them. My cousin’s daughter whose mom is Gujarati, speaks with him in English, with his mom in chaste Malayalam and does laad-pyaar with her Mom in Gujarati. Apparently she is yet to pick up Marathi because she stays in a purely-Tam neighbourhood in Sion and goes to a convent school!! πŸ™‚

    A few from my childhood lexicon –
    Kamathifying – Mal-glish- shutting/turning it over- why are you kamathifying the plate?
    Going for cheththal- Mal-glish- leaving to have a good time
    Suladikkafying – Mal-glish – Pausing a game when you want to by saying Sul…;)

    • R's Mom says:

      hahah! A lot of us do that na…combining mother tongue and English..in her case, she combines two different languages which are not even her mother tongue !

      Your cousin’s daughter is awesome yaar…R can never speak one language..its always a mixture!

  9. summerscript says:

    I want to hear R’s konjum Tamizh!! πŸ˜€

  10. AaeKay says:

    I love R! And this post! πŸ˜€
    I used to say a lot of such stuff when I was young. When my bro kicked me, I used to say “Nadakardu ala midhikaran” meaning “He’s kicking me with what he uses to walk!” πŸ˜€
    And I used to say “Crop jam” for Traffic jam!!!!! πŸ˜€
    My family still teases me πŸ˜€ You should do a weekly series, so that her cousins can tease her later in life! πŸ˜€
    Hugs to R and you! πŸ™‚

  11. lifesong says:

    R is turning out to be a true Mumbaikar πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  12. Varsh says:

    ROFL πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Let us hope R will find many such mixed language speaking friends (or she manages to train some of them) so she won’t have to change or improve πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

  13. LOL

    Super fun this was to read! πŸ™‚

  14. kayemofnmy says:

    Hey R’s mom, That is so inventive. Do you know what she’s doing – she is code switching. This is what all Indians do as they think in at least two languages, if not three. That is also why speaking in only one language takes us some getting used to.

  15. Well, I could get speakofy, nikalofy and wearao (how sweet :-D) but I couldn’t have made sense of tithify, manje shu and tithe change karishu without help from you πŸ™‚

    BTW, what is the difference between Tamil and Tamizh, RM? And how is Tamizh pronounced?

    • R's Mom says:

      Arey its the same thing…It should be pronounced of Tamizh…but the anglicized version is Tamil..I learnt the spello I think either on Apu’s blog (Aparna of Womensweb) or Sugar and Spice’s blog..not very sure..the right spelling is Tamizh! Its difficult to tell you how Tamizh is pronounced…call up Aparna and ask her, she will tell you correctly πŸ™‚

  16. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Hey its cool that she knows so many languages na!! Jack of All trades!! Its amazing that small kids can pick up languages so easily.. 3 Cheers to R!!!

  17. ARP says:

    Rolling with laughter … R has such a rich vocabulary of varied languages. RM you sure must be proud of her. Why not introduce French, German to her πŸ™‚ The our R will speak a global language.

  18. Visha says:

    Readofy this post to R as soon as possible

    Risms on a Friday morning… what else is needed… πŸ˜‰

    she already speaks 5 languages…even though it is a mish-mash…cool R πŸ™‚

  19. ashreyamom says:

    ammadi.. u must have had trouble elidifying(writing-Tamil), what R, samcharing( talking na- Malayalam) .. R is super cute..

  20. techie2mom says:

    LOL!!!!! Rictionary πŸ™‚ This is really hilarious….
    Zini too has her own lingo though not on this much large scale πŸ™‚
    I am sure R’s language skills will be great, don’t worry…

  21. Smita says:

    She is a complete sweetheart and I am sure we will get along well because I also usify this language πŸ˜€

  22. this is good language .. All in one that means she can stay anywhere and get along with anyone ..

  23. Lol – so cute – cant wait to meet her

    At least she knows so many languages. 30 years of existence and the only one i can say i speak well is English. When i speak Hindi – the husband laughs, when i attwmpt to speak, the whole state of kerela laughs…and ummmm the rest you can imagfine!

  24. Eventually I think she is going to be able to speak fluently in five languages.

  25. MerryGirl says:

    Reminds me of Scribbys post “Mother tongue only?”. Haha.. See how many languages can R handle at this young age.. She will master all of these soon.. πŸ™‚

  26. chattywren says:

    Fun post! Kids aim at getting the message across loud and clear and R uses the sum total of languages known to her:)) My kids do that too – good idea to note it for posterity!!

  27. Tanishka says:

    I’ am sure she would learn and when she would stop talking like this we would miss it a lot… Till then, enjoy rictionary…. πŸ˜€

  28. anisnest says:

    wooohhh hoooo she speaks sentences in Tamil.. I am celebrating too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ she is a multi-lingual star.. her language will soon improve.. no worries RM

  29. anisnest says:

    Yayyyyy RM you won the mango book at Tulika.. go, go and check… Congrats and I am so happy for you and R.. what you will read the mango book to R na?

  30. NBose says:

    I wonder what R would think when she reads this post once grown up πŸ™‚

    Good mix of all… but sounds really cute na!!!

  31. Jo says:

    Wer r u RM? Miss u.. 😦

  32. Ritika says:

    Me and my sister had this lingo by adding S to everything !

    “Whats the problemos sisters” πŸ˜€

  33. Scribby says:

    wearao-the show stopper πŸ™‚ Hug her for me okie πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

