In Bombay

– You are lucky if you have a house in the town side

but..

you are luckier if your work place is within half an hour from your house even if your house is a one room kitchen in the far flung suburbs

– You are lucky if you have to take only one bus and one train to work

but….

you are luckier if you have the facility of an office bus

– You are lucky if you get a place to get into the train

but….

you are luckier if you get a place to get in AND STAND in the train

– you are lucky if you have money to pay to the conductor

but…

you are luckier if the conductor agrees to give you change πŸ™‚

– you are lucky if your kid gets admission in a school

but…

you are luckier if the school is affordable and yet good

– you are lucky if you have a house

but…

you are luckier if the house is near the station

– you are lucky if you have a maid

but…

you are luckier if your maid comes on time and cleans the house well

– you are lucky if you have a cook

but…

you are luckier if the cook agrees to your way of cooking

– you are lucky if you can walk

but…

you are luckier if you find the space to walk on the footpath mostly taken over by hawkers

– you are lucky if you have garden in your building

but…

you are luckier if you have a parking space for your car in the same building

– you are lucky if you stop rickshaw as soon asΒ  you get off your building gate

but…

you are luckier if the rickshaw guy agrees to take you where you want to go

– you are lucky if you have neighbours

but…

you are luckier if your neighbours open the door and smile at you once in a while

– you are lucky if you make plans to meet up with friends

but…

you are luckier if you can actually reach on time and carry on the plan without getting caught in the horrendous traffic

– you are lucky if your office in the path of the metro

but…

you are luckier if the metro will get done in this life time of yours!

—-

On RM’s luck:

–Β I felt really lucky when a friend came from far away place out of Mumbai to my office just to give me a packet of yummmyΒ sev and I could spend only 10 minutes with her..but the 10 minutes was total fun πŸ™‚

– I felt also lucky when today morning I was worked up about something and I got a message and I messaged my frustration back and then I got a call immediately asking me if I was fine πŸ™‚

Life sure makes you acknowledge that joy definitely comes in small packages πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to In Bombay

  1. journomuseed says:

    I love the way you have structured this post, Rs Mom…Completely agree with you…Here’s my contribution to the list…you are lucky to own a house in Mumbai, but you are luckier if your parents had already thought of how much property would appreciate and had a 1000 sq ft apartment in a posh suburb (forget town!)

    • R's Mom says:

      Glad you liked it..agree aggree agree :):) arey town is better than a posh suburb…I do get jealous of people who have paramparagat property πŸ™‚

  2. πŸ™‚ Some of these apply in other parts of the country too – like traffic in Delhi-NCR and Rikshaw wallahs everywhere πŸ˜€

  3. ashreyamom says:

    //Life sure makes you acknowledge that joy definitely comes in small packages :)// totally agree..

    wow, a friend of urs came so far just to spend tat 10 min with you.. so sweet..
    so luck series?? second post on luck.. πŸ™‚

  4. summerscript says:

    you are LUCKIEST if the rickshaw guy agrees to take you where you want to go πŸ˜› πŸ˜›
    Hope all is well RM!
    Take care!

  5. Ritika says:

    You should definitely have Indori Sev..I bet you’ll fall in love with it πŸ˜€

  6. Concept of Luck Eh? πŸ™‚ Very well put. Met a school friend on saturday who is now settled in Bombay and she said her workplace is just a 10min 2-wheeler ride and her hubby’s is 1/2 hr ride πŸ™‚ – immediately thought about you and how much you travel…

    joy definitely comes in small packages – Very true.

    Hows R doing by the way? All OK?

  7. Amit says:

    Well, I guess, I am lucky on almost all the points except that my office is a two hours drive away from home. Office bus, yes, but I still feel as if that bus is my second home. Trying to amend that though.

  8. Visha says:

    Aahh….the circle of life and luck in the financial capital of India πŸ™‚

    Small joys, small blessings πŸ™‚

  9. Loved it..and related to it…

    You are lucky if you find a house you like to live but you are even luckier if you can afford it πŸ™‚

    You are lucky if the only issue with the rains is dirty feet but you are even luckier if the house is spared seepage

  10. DI says:

    You, lady , are one of the most positive people ever. Touchwood. It makes me feel better just knowing you! πŸ™‚

  11. Zephyr says:

    This applies to all cities and everywhere in the world. It is called contentment and looking for the small things to make you happy. Love you! Hugggggggggg.

  12. yes it does and we should be happy in those small packages as they last longer then the big packages …

    most of the big packages are filled with waste just to make them look BIG πŸ™‚

    and regarding the metro’s or the buses etc well I have none going to my office 😦

  13. Hmm..you got me thinking here, RM. How lucky is lucky enough? Are we ever satisfied even if we manage to get something in the much-coveted ‘luckier’ category–because even then we are always very aware that someone we know is ‘luckier’ than us.!

    Couldn’t agree more on joy coming in small packages πŸ™‚

  14. My Era says:

    Small joys make big memories πŸ™‚
    Loved the post πŸ˜€ hope all is well and you are back to your cheerful,calm self
    Hugs RM

  15. Smita says:

    – My office is 45 mins away from home πŸ˜€
    – I have an employee paid bus which drops me in front of my building πŸ˜€
    – I have learned the art of getting a place in the train but then harbour line has never been very crowded
    – My luck with conductors hasn’t been very good!! Buggers!
    – Crossing my fingers for school!
    – Sigh! House near station = unaffordable
    – Maid? I need to write a post on it. The one who never takes chutti is not that good in work and the one who is good at work is hardly there to work!
    – No cook! No Jhamela!!
    – Ah! Come here and see the hawkers! In fact they have built a brand new sky walk specially for them πŸ˜‰
    – The price that we have paid for our car parking = the cost of the car! Go figure!
    – In Kharghar the only rickshaw that I spot is my son’s toy rick!
    – Neighbours? Well we have Gujju’s and they are good 
    – Sigh! No time for frenz!
    – Metro what?? This life time? Hahaha!!

    I feel I am luky enough by Mumbai standards πŸ˜‰
    What does your luck-o-meter say?

  16. lifesong says:

    I feel I am quite lucky after reading your post πŸ˜€

  17. Nithvin says:

    Luck..that’s one thing I wish for the most for my kid..as I keep feeling that I am not all that lucky and it should not be the same with her..I think you can never get enough of it..
    totally agree with the auto driver and conductor points..I was lucky today ’cause I got a ‘polite’ auto driver who agreed to pick me up from home and drop me at office which is about 20 kms away..Lucky lucky..touchwood!

  18. greenboochi says:

    I am sure many of these things apply to Bangalore as well πŸ™‚ But we are all blessed in a way right? To be feeling content and happy for the small joys… that we have πŸ™‚

  19. hitchy says:

    loved this post… !

    you are lucky if you live in mumbai…
    but you are luckier if you live in a small town like mine ! πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰

    bhagoooooooooooooo !

  20. Awwww hope you are feeling better now.

    Some of these points hold true in Bangalore too – for instance, the distance of the office from home, the autos.

  21. Smitha says:

    I feel quite lucky too, after reading your post πŸ™‚ Even when I had mad travelling time – 3 hours one way – it was a comfortable train ride – ok 3 tube+ train rides away – but it was comfortable. And I used to get me-time to read a book, and daughter had a great day care, where I felt at peace leaving her.

    Feeling lucky has more to do with feeling satisfied, don’t you think? When we are in a happy place, inconveniences seem small and ignorable(if that can be a word), but when we are dissatisfied, everything feels inadequate… I started a post after reading your post on Luck – but did not end up completing – lazy me 😦 But you have said it all so beautifully here πŸ™‚

  22. Scribby says:

    ahem the far away friend wants to know a little bit more about the yummy sev and the 10 mins that went by πŸ˜‰

  23. anisnest says:

    luck reminds me of this saying “opportunity knocks when luck meets hardwork”.. true na.. I am not a firm believer of luck though at times the situation makes me believe in it especially when it decides to dance in front of you and not reach you.. 😦 luck is relative..
    R had come back? hope all is well RM.. take care

  24. Tanishka says:

    Getting a rick and getting place in train is really a task… As far as house is concerned, I’ am lucky… πŸ˜€

  25. Enjoyed this post RM! And yes, there are so many things that can make you lucky! Back in Bombay I didn’t live near the station but at least was lucky to have a train line where there were starting trains. And harbour line wasn’t as bad so would at least get a place to sit often or definitely stand! Parents thought ahead and bought a place in 1989. So was lucky to have that stability and go to a good school. We didn’t have a cook but did have a maid and parents continue to have some good neighbours. And I didn’t mind living so far away from town or having to travel an hour each way for college and longer when I worked at Churchgate.

    • R's Mom says:

      your parents were among the smarter ones..now getting a place even in New Bombay is very very difficult!!

      Harbour line is crowded now a days…i went to a friend’s wedding and I had a bad time getting in and out πŸ™‚ and the tricks are different from that on the Western line

  26. Your posts always makes me so happy…so I guess I am lucky to have a friend like you and will be luckier if you can rub on to me your blogging skills so that i can at least make one post in 6 months :mrgeen:

  27. Sangitha says:

    Tell this to the guy who moved from Bombay to Bangalore and ranted on the blog about how my story of good auto guys is almost a lie….as in he said almost that.

    You’re lucky if you have a nicely done up house, luckier still if you get the time to enjoy it!

    • R's Mom says:

      saachmein? see..bombay rick guys are good okay..but some of them are so so rude and they wont agree to take you where you want to go..its frustrating..happens to me very often in the morning rush and I get so bugged 😦

      I agree on the house thing..thats exactly what my Amma said πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

