A Dash of Pepper, A Bit of Tan and A R-less Mother’s Day

Happy Mother’s Day and all that 🙂

So R left for Sabari Malai with her father and grandmother on Saturday..yes…the brat finally went..I didnt put it on the blog earlier because I didnt want to jinx it..yes yes, I am superstitious 🙂

Anyways latest update from her father – She hasnt asked for me EVEN ONCE!! So much for missing mothers and Amma venams!!

*Secretly dancing in joy*

They plan to climb the malai on the 17th..please pray R manages it…I had people telling me in the temple that she may be bit too young with not even four and so much to climb so much may be an issue..but as per my MIL ‘God will make her do it’ So there..lets see…keeping fingers crossed..worse come worse, RD can stay down or practice climbing carrying her...in a way good na, lovely practice for the marathon eh 🙂

Anyways, so once R was gone without any problems, I am making the MOST of it..despite having FIL and MIL’s mom to take care of, I have been meeting up with friends through out the weekend…Saturday night met up with a friend from the previous office and what fun we had talking and talking and talking 🙂 Had made dinner for the FIL and G-MIL so came back late

and then yesterday I met up with the absolutely adorable Pepper   and totally delightful Tan  :):)

I had messaged Tan asking her if she can meet up..and she said yes..then I asked Pepper if she can meet us, and she also said yes..without any issues…

until, on Saturday, I get a call from Tan..

Tan: RM, how old is R

RM: errr..going to be four

Tan: Okie cool

RM: no but wait

Tan: Huh?

RM: Arey R is not coming for the meet

Tan: WHAT WHAT!! Why why?

and I tell her about the Sabari malai thing..she is disappointed but is kind enough to agree to meet me

then I realise may be Pepper also is expecting R..and my feelings were right..Pepper was expecting R!!! I had messaged her saying ‘R will not be there, but can we meet?’

She grudgingly agreed with both she and Tan accusing me of Dhoka and something in those lines 😉

Well, I had to make the most of the kid not being there right?

Anyways to pacify them, I thought I will make some fresh molagapodi for them 😉 So I made that in the morning and we decided to meet at 5

I arrived late at 5.02!!! and both of them were there…For the first time in my life, I was the last person to arrive

I call up Tan..

RM: where are you?

Tan: In lifestyle

RM: Oye, I have never been here before, where is that

Tan: Even I havent been here before

RM: *Smacks on head* Where do I meet you

Tan: At the entrance

and as I wait at the entrance, I call up Pepper knowing she is already there..the girl doesnt pick up

I see a pretty girl where a dark military green top with lovely hair waiting with a phone expectantly looking at the entrance…I thought its Tan, but decided not to make a fool of myself..so I call her

She looks down at the phone and picks it up and I tell her ‘Palat, its me in the green t shirt’ We meet up with a yay! and hug each other and decide to call Pepper

She picks up the call

RM: where are you?

Pepper: somewhere in side

RM : Errr…where?

Pepper: I dont know

RM: What?

Pepper: Well I am somewhere inside

RM: Arey we are waiting at the entrance

Pepper:WAit wait I am coming

I see a girl with a stunning figure and amazing eyes with a phone in her hand and I ask her on that phone, is that you, is that you and she is like yes yes yes and we three meet and hug each other again

And then Pepper says she has been at this place a lot of times and yet managed to make us get lost!!

Lesson #1: All three of us are HORRIBLE with directions!

We figure out a place to sit and go talk talk talk talk talk…

Some stuff I remember from the conversation

Tan: Your value is half without R

RM:!!!!

Pepper: We were expecting to see her so much…I was upset you didnt bring her

RM:!!!

I mean boss, they are my friends, and they were expecting to see R..Gah!!!

Anyways, we talked and talked and talked 🙂

Happening #1: Tan introduced us with lovely peri peri fries from McDs…totally worth it..she also shaked the fries in filmy style for us :):)

Happening #2: I tried very hard to get cold coffee for Pepper, but the damn thing was just not available so shared a chocolate milkshake with her 🙂

We of course exchanged presents, me being the kanjoos just giving them molagapodi while they got wonderful stuff for R and Me…but I dont have RD to take the pics so will put them up once he comes back

We finally said good bye after some three hours of continuous talking with Tan extracting a promise that I will get R to her work place for pani puri and Pepper threatening me to get R to her place, other wise….

Well all in all, an excellent Mother’s Day celebration 🙂 So what, if R wasnt around 🙂

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

99 Responses to A Dash of Pepper, A Bit of Tan and A R-less Mother’s Day

  1. Jas says:

    excellent celebration indeed…. even without R, you are mom .. 🙂 so enjoy the moments without the child being around….. I wait for them to come… 🙂

  2. The Bride says:

    See nobody wants to meet us mothers on our onesome these days. Profound Mother’s Day realisation. Sob!

  3. vethal says:

    what about food for the kid . would she get decent ones in temples? anyways prayers .. it is told you don’t question anything related to aiyappa !!

  4. vethal says:

    that must have been good amount of chastity from ur side R’s mom. u can chose to delete this msg 🙂

  5. Awesome post this was RM 🙂 I love reading about blogger meets :)) What fun this sounds like RM ! A fabulous way to celebrating Mother’s Day ! 🙂

  6. aaah; tht was a wonderful way to enjoy mother’day 🙂

  7. Swaram says:

    I am waiting waiting to hear that R did it .. am sure she will 🙂
    And whoa … what fun u hv been having RM! I was on a blog friends meeting spree once, but it has been so long now since I hv met anybody 😐 Looks like I should make a trip somewhere 😛 😛

  8. garima says:

    Wow you had a blogger meet sounds like so much fun…R was not with you,Tan and pepper should have sue you 🙂
    Wishing R,RD and your mil a happy and safe journey to Sabrimala…And ofcourse a very happy belated mother’s day 🙂

  9. Wow! That sounds like super duper fun! I am J now. 😀

  10. Are you like planning to make some Guinness wala record kya? meeting bloggers at an alarming rate? 😯

    Oh so you met Pepper? err hope she didn’t warn you against meeting me no? 😉 She was the only blogger who was at a driving distance…sniff…sniff… now she is miles and oceans apart 😥

    Waiting eagerly to read updates about R’s trip.

    PS akka Warning: never ever even think of meeting me without R in tow okie? 😡

    • R's Mom says:

      I know Saks..this year has been fantastic in my blog life…I have met up with so many 🙂

      Err…Pepper just mentioned she met you..baadmein she didnt say anything 🙂

      I doubt whether I will ever get a chance to meet you..with you in pardesh and me never ever going to get a chance to come there and you never coming to Mumbai..kidhar are we meeting?

  11. wow! a fun weekend as usual…so nice that you’ve met so many blogger friends 🙂

  12. Pepper says:

    What fun it was! Thanks so much for the molaga podi RM. You’ve no idea how much I treasure it 😀 I can’t believe you made such a big deal about the coffee! Lol!
    It was such a pleasure meeting you. Now I know how much you lie to the blog world by calling yourself fat!

  13. Loved reading about the meet!!! Wonderful celebration … 🙂

  14. Hmm, you surely have been making the most of R being away!! What fun it must be to meet blogger friends! *sigh*
    Hope R manages to reach the shrine without RD having to carry her. 🙂

  15. lifesong says:

    Sounds like a nice bloggers meet on mother’s day. You guys had fun 🙂
    And R is having fun too 🙂

  16. Visha says:

    Hope R and RD and RGM finish the trip safe and sound 🙂

    Whatay meet re!! Mast, mast, ekdum mast….hope you have many more meets like these…..

  17. falakranderian says:

    That is an amazing way to spend Mother’s Day … I know look forward to ur post where you will mention R did it and surprised everybody…

    P.S: the Peri-Peri fries are indeed super yum… slurp slurp

  18. Nithvin says:

    Hiya RM! So R is already on her way to sabarimala..good! I think RD and your MIL are going to have the time of their lives with R..I can only imagine 🙂 But maybe she is not like my brat who doesnt walk for more than 10 minutes and just refuses to budge after that..got back from a vacation in Kerala over the week-end and had these experiences of the brat refusing to climb or walk after 10 minutes..All the best to RD and MIL and loads of wishes to R..

    • R's Mom says:

      They are going with a group..so hopefully life will not be tough for them 🙂

      Arey even R is like that…this is more fun for her thats why abhi tak no natak 🙂

      you had a vacation..super nice 🙂

  19. ashreyamom says:

    wow.. best celebration.. nice to meet up.. when i had to meet a friends like that i had a prob… i spoke so much on phone to her.. but directly i couldn’t talk much.. only in second meeting we felt comfortable with each other..

  20. Wow! Enjoy the break! 😀 So much funnn!!!! Im so J! Im sure even after 3 hrs the conversation didnt stop na? Anndd im really curious to know what u spoke about 😀

  21. NBose says:

    Wow…it sounds so nice meet up blogger friends….mast fun hmmmm 🙂

    O Babba…..R went without you….that is so good….when you say she has to climb, do you mean stairs?? err sorry I don’t have much idea abt Sabari Malai…..

    • R's Mom says:

      no no Sabari malai is this hill/mountain on top which there is a shrine..so she has to climb up the mountain..there is a road and all that but its a bit long

  22. What a lovely way to spend some time. And I am sure R will do it on her own for sure .. wait till you hear all about it when she comes back ..

    Happy mothers Day yesterday-today -tomorrow and every day …

  23. Seema says:

    Wow! Lotts of good wishes and waiting to read rest of R’s Sabari malai expedition…

    You are on a roll babes. Meeting so many bloggers eh?

    We all know now how much you blow your statistics out of proportion 😀

  24. My Era says:

    Sending tons of wishes for R making it on her mission 😀
    Secret learnt: RM is not at all fat (courtesy Pepper’s comment) 😉
    Loved seeing you catch up with blog buddies….it must be awesome fun 😀 😀

  25. greengables14 says:

    wow.. sounds like u had good fun.. would love to meet u next time u r in Chennai 🙂 coz me coming to Bombay is a remote possibility :(…

    Hope ur MIL, RD and R have a safe trip to sabarimalai.. 🙂

  26. Smita says:

    I love Arnav, I do but would do anything to get a day off and since you have got one, I envy you 😛

    That said, you girls surely had fun! Good that u decided to meet up and sad that you decided not put any pic! 😛

    and lol @ half value without R 😀

  27. indianscrewup says:

    Hope R enjoys enjoys the whole trip 🙂
    And you two 😉 Any more plans ?

  28. indianscrewup says:

    Hope R enjoys enjoys the whole trip
    And you two Any more plans ?

  29. indianscrewup says:

    Hope R enjoys enjoys the whole trip 🙂
    And you too 😉 Any more plans ?

  30. Ashwathy says:

    😐
    Remind me never to talk to u again…

    • R's Mom says:

      I wrote a BEEEG Sorry wala email to you and explained the reason…sorry sorry sorry sorry sorry sorrysorry sorry sorrysorry sorry sorrysorry sorry sorrysorry sorry sorrysorry sorry sorrysorry sorry sorrysorry sorry sorrysorry sorry sorrysorry sorry sorrysorry sorry sorry

  31. Deeps says:

    Awww mela shona baby! R has gone to Sabari-mala! Oh she will be fine RM, dont worry at all! I had gone when I was 11 years old and the memories of the journey and the darshanam are still vivid in my mind. Will wait to hear more about her visit. Give R-kutty( wish I had known her name, feels a bit awkward to say R-kutty! ) loads of tight hugs from me & namnam and tell her this aunty is very proud of her 🙂
    And you met Pepper and Tan…*jealous jealous jealous! Just that! 😈

  32. indianscrewup says:

    My comment disappeared somewhere 😦
    I hope R has a great time and I hope you too have a great time ,any more plans ? 😀

  33. anisnest says:

    wowww.. belated happy mother’s day RM.. looks like you had the wonderful mother’s day.. 🙂 enjoy your personal time..

  34. Tanishka says:

    I had soo much fun…. 🙂 Thanks a lot for the molaga podi… And I hope you remember your promise…. You better get R to my office soon….

  35. Haha…I can imagine others wanting to see R…what did you expect when your blog is filled with adorable stories about her?? It’s like a package deal RM! 🙂 Meeting fellow bloggers is interesting, isn’t it? I’ve only met one so far and it felt like we’d known each other for years! And hope R enjoys her trip and you enjoy your time to yourself!

  36. summerscript says:

    where are you ? no post today?

  37. Scribby says:

    okay so I’m waiting to read that chota sa meeting account too sistah 😀 where we could not scream :p

  38. Sangitha says:

    R will do great and want to go again soon. I went as a young kid with good family friends and it was very doable even then. Everyone helps and there are (were) enough resources for people visiting…this temple has been hosting people for so many decades now.

    Happy Mother’s Day!

  39. ashreyamom says:

    hey RM, what happened to u? no post? is everything all right??

  40. RS says:

    Hi…Happy Mothers day. All the best to R for her journey.
    No post today. If I dont see one, I check to see if it is a national holiday in India.
    Hope things are fine with you

  41. Smitha says:

    R is away! Oh dear! We’re going to miss her and her stories 😦 How long are they going to be away? I am sure she will be fine, I’ve heard that tiny children and frail old people somehow seem to get the strength to climb the malai.

    And you got to meet Pepper and Tan! Lucky Lucky, Lucky you! You know, Pepper used to live where I live now – and we got to know after she moved away 😦 My luck!

    • R's Mom says:

      Arey they are back this Saturday 🙂

      Gosh thats real bad luck that you didnt get to meet Pepper 😦 May be after you come to Bangalore, you can make a picnic to Mumbai..then you get to meet a bunch of us?

  42. Aswathy says:

    I so very loved d title.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

