Few Lessons Learnt in Life

Never ever interfere between a fight/argument/talk between a husband and a wife..no matter how close you are to them..its really NONE of your business

Never ever think of your children as your ‘budhape ka sahara’ you give birth to them because you WANT them, you shouldnt be putting a burden on them by expecting…

Always save money for the future, no matter what they say about love conquering everything, you need money for basic necessities in life…

Try and create an asset in life and cling on to it as if your life depends on it..because there may be chances that your life may INDEED depend on it

Giving away all that you ever had to your children before you die, may not be a sign of being the best parents, sometimes, it may lead to consequences you may not want to face later on!

– Dont try and settle an argument unless you have heard both sides…infact, dont try and settle an argument you are not a part of

Sometimes in life, its better to live apart and be civil to each other than live together and be nasty to each other

– Its better to die than to live a life which you are cursing all the time and think its becoming a burden on others

Learn to let go, otherwise you will become over bearing

Learn to ignore things that may irritate you (unless you are PMSing) otherwise, it will be difficult to live in a society..

– Never pretend to be someone you are not, in the long run, you forget what you pretended to be and get confused on what you really are

– Try and be polite..but then learn to be firm where you have to be

– Sometimes keeping quiet is the best thing

– What is right to you, may be wrong to another

– Remember to appreciate the other person’s qualities, never dwell on how that person has been bad to you (That would make you a saint, but trying is never bad eh?)

Never do something which you wouldnt want your child to do…they ALWAYS learn more when you set the right example and not by mere preaching…dont want your child to bite her nails, dont bite yours, dont want your child to use the word tum, dont use yourself, dont want your child to shout at you, dont shout at anyone yourself…

Children remember. However, young they are, some things always freeze in their minds. Remember to remember this because there is no one else to blame afterwards, except you!

–  Joys come in small packages, never live life in such hurry that you cease to notice them – Thats an RMD classic 🙂

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

81 Responses to Few Lessons Learnt in Life

  1. Loved all of this RM and each of them is just so majorly true.
    Made a lovely read for the morning 🙂

  2. hitchy says:

    This post should have been R’s Gyaan ! 😀 Subah subah mein aapne hume dhanya kar diya… I agree to almost all of your lessons 😀 no seriously ! no laughter no sneer ! 😀 Honest 😀

  3. techie2mom says:

    Hey a Big tight hug to you….
    your Appa’s philosophy is great & so are your lessons…

  4. Kanchan says:

    “Never do something which you wouldnt want your child to do”.

    There couldn’t have been a truer statement 🙂 It is so easy, but we often forget the guidelines we set for our kids.

    • R's Mom says:

      hey kanchan..long time 🙂

      Seriously, I often do things, I shouldnt be doing in front of R and then when she does it, I preach…I have realised more than preaching, actions definitely speak louder

  5. orczy says:

    RM’s Gyaan!!! Cool..Loved the points
    – Never pretend to be someone you are not, in the long run, you forget what you pretended to be and get confused on what you really are
    – Try and be polite..but then learn to be firm where you have to be
    – Remember to appreciate the other person’s qualities, never dwell on how that person has been bad to you
    – Joys come in small packages, never live life in such hurry that you cease to notice them ‘
    My Joy is too heavy to be in a small package 😛

  6. Very relevant lessons–found myself nodding at all of them. You have a wise head on your shoulders RM 🙂

    The RMD classic took the cake. So true 🙂

  7. The Bride says:

    I agree with of your points and the sentiment in general but “dont try and settle an argument you are not a part of”, I disagree. Sometimes, it takes courage to step in when it would be easier to stay out, and of course, wisdom not to make a further mess. For example, two of my mother’s brothers fell out over a business matter and their families were not speaking. My mother’s brother-in-law in the end mediated peace between them, partly by negotiating a business settlement but also by helping them reconcile emotionally. Through the years, my mother and her other siblings would try to bring the two fighting brothers together.

    With regard to the first point, my sister and I do moan to each other about our marriages and provide a listening ear and advice. Yes, sometimes I do say stuff that is critical of my brother-in-law and urge my sister to stand up for herself. My sister also confides in my mum and my brother-in-law with his dad. It’s possible V cribs about me to his family/friends and they back him up. I think this is ok. Sometimes a person needs to vent or needs support outside the marriage.

    What I would not do is step into an argument while it is going on. But even this, I have – on very rare occasions – see a person do this and it has led to an understanding between though fighting. Most of us are not capable of that much diplomacy though so we should shut up in the heat of the moment.

    • R's Mom says:

      okie may be I should have reworded that as dont try and settle an argument unless you are asked to…or unless the argument is completed and there is some sort of cold war going on 🙂

      What I meant in the first point was, unless you are asked to, you shouldnt..in case of you or your sister, you discuss it but your sister doesnt interfere does she? of course you need to vent out…I was talking about trying to interfere when the argument/talk is going on and say okie both of you dont fight…thats so bugging!

  8. Seema says:

    This kind of gyan, we can never get in any of those bulky Life Skill books.

    Standing applause to RM guruji. You rock babes. Mmmmuah to you!

  9. summerscript says:

    Beautiful Beautiful Beautiful 😀
    And Thank you!! 🙂

  10. Nithvin says:

    you have put it down so well RM 🙂 so so true..

  11. Smitha says:

    Love love this post, RM!

    I need to take a printout of it to remind myself a few things.

  12. Jas says:

    I love the ‘Budhape ka shara’ but because I also keep on insisting that… some take it in a positive way and others just think I am good for nothing mommy… 🙂 I love it…

  13. Jas says:

    I love the ‘Budhape ka shara’ bit because I also keep on insisting that… some take it in a positive way and others just think I am good for nothing mommy… 🙂 I love it…

  14. Ah, lovely! Sage, practical advice. Agree with each and every point,Rm. 🙂

  15. These are definitely the lessons to be learnt in one’s life…. good write up RM 🙂

  16. lifesong says:

    LOVED, LOVED this list RM. Superb compilation and thanks for sharing 🙂

  17. Chaitali says:

    What made you to write these things all of a sudden??
    Anyways i agree with them..

  18. Rahul says:

    Words of profound wisdom! First time on your blog and truly impressed:)

  19. Ramya says:

    Life’s lessons shared and makes everyone nod for EVERY SINGLE point… Great share 🙂

  20. Smita says:

    Can I say I nodded away to glory and now my neck is paining??
    Every word that you have written here can be framed and put up as a ready reckoner!
    In fact am unable to think of a proper comment because you have said it all.
    But tell me what triggered this post?

  21. You know which one I like the most – ‘Sometimes in life, its better to live apart and be civil to each other than live together and be nasty to each other’! And I would convert the ‘sometimes’ to ‘always’! 🙂 🙂

    One awesome post this, RM!

    • R's Mom says:

      and SnS is back to the blog world..yayayayayay! *Does a small virtual dance around her desk while eating some sad pottal curry*

      Thanks rey

  22. greengables14 says:

    so many points hit home.. I would so love for some other pple in my life to remember this too 😦
    good one RM

  23. Oh, what a wonderful compilation…these days hubby is trying his best to follow… Learn to ignore things that may irritate you..
    He gets really irritated, when he enters kitchen, and he sees all the mess scattered with me in the center.
    Started by saying the same so lovingly Effect on me ..nothing
    Shouting/scolding; Effect on me ..nothing
    Next, cleaning on his own .. Effect on me — nothing
    Now, He has stopped saying/doing… effect on me– Thinking: why has he stopped noticing…me or my actions..Need to do something..

    Out of all the above .. I really need to work on
    1. Try and create an asset in life
    2. Learn to let go,
    3. Never do something which you wouldn’t want your child to do
    4. Never pretend to be someone you are not — I pretend to be more social …for my daughter. But It’s too-too difficult… 😦

    Wonderful post.. Going to take up 3 copies ..1 put up on my office desk.
    Other one, on my kitchen platform
    Third, to gift to Hubby..
    Hope you don’t mind. 🙂
    Big Hugs to you …for this amazing post

    • R's Mom says:

      Hey how about asking him to help out with the cleaning..pata chale, he does a much better job than you..what say 😉

      you are sweet yaar…Thanks for the compliment

      Its okay to be non social rey…mostly our kids understand if we are not comfortable at a place…I can so relate to ‘wanting to be in the crowd because of the daughter’ I tried earlier, I failed..so I just dont bother…if there is a birthday party, I take her, just sit in one corner or help the host, wait for her to finish and get right back home

      big hugs right back to you

  24. ashreyamom says:

    so many thatuvam’s..that too why so suddenly??
    i liked //Never do something which you wouldnt want your child to do…//.. very true..

  25. Manasi says:

    Real pearls of wisdom.. Thanks for sharing.. loved each and everyone.. 🙂

  26. Sreetama says:

    Awesome post! Totally loved it! You are one heck of a practical woman & I simply admire you!

    • R's Mom says:

      hahah! please I am a very non-practical woman..ask RD he will tell you 🙂 He will be like you are too emotional 😉

      Glad you loved the post 🙂

  27. veyr true SO very true .. actually by interferring we sometimes make matters worse ..

    I am nodding at all points .. glad you put them now some idiots like me can learn valuable things and hopefully not make the mistakes ..
    thank you

  28. Loved this post. I agree with Hitchy above, you could call it ‘R’s gyaan’ 😀

  29. Ashwathy says:

    Try and create an asset in life and cling on to it as if your life depends on it.
    Unfortunately that’s what a lot of parents do to their children 😐 What exactly did u mean by this one?

    dont want your child to bite her nails, dont bite yours,
    Ahem!!! 🙄 Do u want to me start my next round of scolding? 😛 😛

    What brought this post on? 🙂
    Agree with most of them. This one should be framed. Looks like u learnt quite a few lessons along the way….

    • R's Mom says:

      Do it for yourself, not for your children…. 🙂

      Errr…yes yes thats when I realised that I should stop biting..now my nails have grown a bit 🙂

  30. My Era says:

    I’ll add a line which you should add to this awesome list’s bottom….follow these life lessons or life has it’s ways of making you learn them 🙂
    you rock RM 😀

  31. Shweta says:

    There is Beauty in Simplicity and you proved it right here.. 🙂
    All of the above points are so apt and yet so simply put.. Loved it !!

    Though I am not sure if I would agree with this one –> Its better to die than to live a life which you are cursing all the time and think its becoming a burden on others. May be it would depend on the situation.

    And So so so agree with this one –> Never do something which you wouldnt want your child to do, generally parents follow –> *Do as I say not as I do* RULE..

    • R's Mom says:

      The one that you are not sure you will agree to – RS wrote me a sweet mail telling me the same thing…I told her that I didnt mean it as sucide, I meant is more as in case of terminal ill people 🙂 I may be wrong of course

  32. anisnest says:

    wonderful.. though many think in these lines only very few like you can write these points so clearly RM.. a beeeg round of applause.. If I may add
    “Respect self and Respect others”
    “Don’t judge anyone before you walk on their shoes. You never know the path they have come across”
    “Respect time both self and others”
    I read this recently in FB and likes it “LISTEN has the same letters SILENT” cool na?
    To listen you should first learn to remain silent.

  33. Amit says:

    You can start your own channel and it will be a hit. 🙂
    You can call it “R lagaye Paar”. 🙂
    I liked all of them except – Its better to die than to live a life which you are cursing all the time and think its becoming a burden on others.
    I think death should never be an option. Its the easiest way out.

    • R's Mom says:

      hahaha! LOL on the title 🙂

      I think I should have made it clear that what I meant to write was relevant to someone who is terminally ill or something..again its just MY opinion, I may be wrong

  34. Visha says:

    That was a nice collection of gems RM…

    Dosage of Rism and RMism in the morning to keeps us laughing and smiling 😉

    Yahoo…I de-lurked at last 😆

  35. Deeps says:

    Very relevant lessons, RM, agree with all that you have said! RMD classic is truly classic 🙂

    Super post!

  36. Sangitha says:

    Sagely, R’s Mom….see career change to God Woman from engineer coming up! 😀

    Agree with most, with some being case by case. Now if only I could do the ‘sometimes keep quiet’ thing…..

  37. NBose says:

    Good gyan RM.. 😀

    They are so realistic …almost saying yes throughout the post.

Leave a Reply

