Guaranteed To…

…..Bring a smile on your face

– Your brat finishing NINE pani puris and looking at the uncle and saying ‘Thank you uncle, bahut mast tha’ and uncle blushes and gives four sukha puris instead of two *and RM was kind enough to share two of those with her kid*

– A rickshaw wala happily narrating you a story about how kids love the pink coloured seats in his rickshaw, after your pint sized tells you ‘Amma, yeh rick mein toh pink colour hai, mereko bahut like hota hai'(amma, this rickshaw is pink in colour and I like it a lot)

– A conductor being kind enough to come and ask you if you wanted change remembering that yesterday you had asked him for it and he didnt have enough to give it to you πŸ™‚

– Your friend’s father telling you ‘tu har baar dekhta hoon patli hoti jaa rahi hai’ (Everytime I see you, you are getting thinner) only for you to smile then and later realise ‘Imagine howΒ  fat(er) I was in college’

– Your daughter looking at the tiny feet of a 6 month old and saying ‘Amma kiske toes itne small kyun hai’ (Amma, why are her toes so small)

– For the first time in 30 years, seeing the nail of your smallest finger of your right hand grow! *Yep, I bite my nails :(*

– Seeing a father carry his small baby in his right hand and hold the hand of his older child with his left and very sweetly explaining to BOTH of them that they have to wait before they can cross the road!

– Seeing your child’s friend’s father lift her sky high and make her look at the ant/insectΒ  on the tree just as she insists he indulge her the same way he was indulging his son πŸ™‚

– WatchΒ  your child look in wonder at a real nest πŸ™‚

– Listen to your child tell Mr. Zevanti, Mr. Tulsi and Mr. Kadipatta to watch her gulp down the milk and listen to her Amma just like she listens *Rolls eyes*

– See a three year old guy shy away whenΒ  you ask him for a kiss πŸ™‚

– Seeing your kid jump up and down chanting ‘bhindi, bhindi, bhindi’ when she sees that I am making bhindi roast and rotis for her *She sure is obessessed with it!*

– Watching your college friend’s child and your child interact with each other even though they havent met earlier, as if they are the best friends ever πŸ™‚

– Hearing your child look at a picture of Asha Parekh and Shammi Kapoor and say ‘Amma, yeh toh o mere sona rey wale uncle aunty hai’!!!

========

And then of course, start your weekend with a Rism!

I am busying tying the brat’s hair today morning as we are having our usual race against time..and as usual the brat is reading the books which have been left from the previous night’s reading..

R is ‘reading’ the hungry caterpillar wala story and I am pretty amazed to see her identify the fruits and food and all that….

When she comes up with this..

The English says something in these lines ‘The caterpillar had a stomach ache’

R: The caterpillar ka pet is dukhing!!!

RM: What!!!

and then the English in the book says ‘And he turned into a beautiful butterfly’

R: And he banaoing a mast butterfly!!

This girl’s language is sure going to drive me crazy…

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Guaranteed To…

  1. Varsh says:

    He he…sure brought a smile to my face πŸ˜€

    And R is sure amazing…Zephyr Aunty asked me to read your blog. It sure is interesting. πŸ™‚

  2. They all definitely brought a smile RM πŸ™‚ I guess all we need to do is “stand and stare” πŸ™‚
    R R R R – I cannot get enough of her. I feeel sad after finishing your post because I know I have to wait a whole day before reading another !
    Shammi and Asha Parekh heheheheehehe
    R is like a super model for the multilingual India ! πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Arey R is a total brat rey…she is cute at times but there are surely times when she is capable of making me pull off all the hair in my head and hers!

  3. /And he banaoing a mast butterfly!!/ This didn’t just make me smile, it made me laugh out loud πŸ˜€

    What’s with kids and bhindi, RM ? All kids seem to love it. I loved it too as a kid but now I find it just about okay.

    LOL at the three year old guy shying away from giving a kiss πŸ˜€

  4. summerscript says:

    πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Super post!!! Loads of love to you and little R πŸ˜€

  5. ROFL @ ‘pet is dukhing’! So darn cute that is! πŸ™‚ It must be super fun having R around! πŸ˜€

    Such a cute cute cute post this, RM. Indeed brought a smile to my face. πŸ™‚

    What is Zevanti?!

    How do you make bhindi sabzi, RM. I want to try out a variation – I make a very simple one at home, with just turmeric, red chilly powder and salt.

    • R's Mom says:

      Zevanti is a flower like sunflower..its a plant….I guess you will need to google it to figure out what its looks like!

      Arey bhindi I make the same way

      Cut into pieces (not big ones not small ones, beech ka size)

      Take oil in the bandli…and then put some mustard, haldi and heeng…then put the bhindi and then hilao it properly..dont cover it..put extra oil if you think its going to chipkofy to the bandli..then you can add some dhana jeera powder and salt to it…dont hilao too much..just thoda sa…and then you can chilly powder if you want..I dont add because of R..and then one trick that MIL taught me was that if its getting too sticky..switch off the gas for a while and then restart in some more time…

      In the mornings, I usually dont have so much time, so I just add some extra oil πŸ˜‰ its pretty simple rey πŸ™‚

      *Pats self on back for giving a recipe, Seema, ME, Smitha, Ani, you can be proud of me*

  6. hehehe I like the way R says ‘mast’ πŸ™‚
    The post really borught smile..great way to start the day…

  7. DI says:

    I love Risms! πŸ˜€ Banaoing a mast butterfly is sure better than the original version!
    I have a strong feeling this one’s going to turn into a maha-storyteller, thanks to amma’s creativity and her own πŸ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahah! I hope she becomes like a children’s story writer or something…*See see what aspirations I have for the kid who is just about to turn four!*

  8. I love love Bhindi too…just like R πŸ˜› Mere ko bhi banake khilaofy okie?? πŸ™„

    All the incidents really made me smile so silly… πŸ™‚

    And he banaoing a mast butterfly…….. πŸ˜† πŸ˜† are let her please talk like that no? in a year or two she will grow up and stop talking like this an then we all will miss it so much πŸ˜₯

  9. Swaram says:

    I luv luv luv the language she speaks! I want to meet her RM πŸ™‚

  10. Nithvin says:

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ – one for the smile post, one for Rism and one for RM for writing this.

  11. ashreyamom says:

    “See a three year old guy shy away when you ask him for a kiss :)” is super cute..

    hey i liked R’s language the best.. it reminded me of my college days.. we use tot alk like that.. like i am samachifying( cooking), poorikifyling( picking) etc etc.. it is called as tanglish( tamil+english).

  12. Smita says:

    lol @ the Risms!!!
    And u surely are lucky as far as conductors are cocnerned, I always get grumpy ones who never have change and sometimes give me 2 ticket when I had asked for one and then insisting that I had asked for two. ha! may be he feels that for my size I wud need 2 tickets πŸ˜‰

    R loved paani puri? us hud get her here, I make lovely chaat at home and she can gorge upon it. Come one RM come jaldi!

    Pssst can u intorducte me to that uncle of yours? I need a boost to my confidence too!

    • R's Mom says:

      oh yaa…I should get R to your pani puri wala..arey Smita everytime she eats pani puri I get reminded of you πŸ™‚ and she actually relishes it….

      if you make it at home, R will be your fan for ever πŸ™‚

      hahaha! if it makes you any happier, the uncle lives in Ahm…make a quick visit there

  13. Confused D says:

    hehe…!
    Every single point bought a smile on my face πŸ™‚

  14. R is so so cute… loved her R-ism πŸ˜€

    and this post definitely brought a smile on my face πŸ™‚

    happy weekend RM πŸ™‚

  15. greengables14 says:

    I bite my nails too πŸ™‚

    R is sooooooooooooooooooo cute… I really want to meet her.. thanks for making me smileeeeeeee wideeeeee πŸ™‚
    -Suba

    • R's Mom says:

      oh you still do..thats a habit I am just not able to stop 😦

      hahahah! if you meet her, you will get so fed after a while that you will want to run away πŸ™‚

  16. Zephyr says:

    That was one super compilation. Loved everyone of them. Both R and RM are guaranteed to bring a smile to one’s lips πŸ˜€ Bless your heart for seeing so many things in the ordinary that make you happy.

  17. My Era says:

    R is a sweetheart, absolutely love her cute remarks and the sweet ways she never fails to bring a smile to every face she comes across be it us (readers) or the rickshawala with pink rick seats, or the conductors of your bus, panipooriwala….the list is endless πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Tight hugs and kisses to the little darling and love to the bhindi roast-maker mom for I too love Bhindi πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      You like bhindi too..yayayaya! make sure you give Pari loads of bhindi…then R and she can meet up sometime and it will be easy for you to cook..only bhindi..errr…what? I am not cooking with you around if we meet, you are the rockstar cook okie πŸ™‚

  18. yesssssssssss 9 of them yummmy yummy πŸ™‚ way to go little R.. nice one
    loved every point πŸ™‚ made me laugh and smile a good start to the friday morning I will say ..

  19. Seema says:

    I have lotttts to put in a single comment. Will come back and do it from home. You know why! 😦

  20. Deeps says:

    Awww that sure did bring a smile to my face! And you bite nails….same pinch same pich same pinch RM!!! πŸ˜€

    R is a cutie-patootie! Pet dukhing, mast butterfly banaoing… πŸ˜†

    • R's Mom says:

      you bite your nails..saachmein?

      I cant believe it somehow..you seem to be such a..well…such a matured person on your blog πŸ™‚

  21. Ashwathy says:

    *and RM was kind enough to share two of those with her kid*
    Excuse me???? The puris were given to HER, u mean SHE was kind enough to share with you, you ungrateful creature!!! πŸ˜›

    A conductor being kind enough to come and ask you if you wanted change remembering that yesterday you had asked him for it and he didnt have enough to give it to you
    OMG, such people actually exist!!! 😯

    *Yep, I bite my nails
    Ewwwwww! 😑 And u call urself my sis??? Shame on you!!! Get rid of this dirty habit, NOW!!

    Seeing a father carry his small baby in his right hand and hold the hand of his older child with his left and very sweetly explaining to BOTH of them that they have to wait before they can cross the road!
    Awwwwwwwww πŸ™‚ I melted hearing that one! And the next two as well ! πŸ˜€

    You have a bhindi freak in the house eh? πŸ˜› So do I ! πŸ™„

    Watching your college friend’s child and your child interact with each other even though they havent met earlier, as if they are the best friends ever
    Sigh….some day πŸ™‚

  22. Risms are so cute! Banaoing a mast butterfly had me in splits…super duper cute:)

  23. Risms are so cute! Banaoing a mast butterfly had me in splits…super duper cute:)

  24. anisnest says:

    I absolutely love your Guaranteed posts RM.. absolutely.. loads and loads and loads of love and hugs to cute R.. hey can you pls mail me the bindhi roast recipe? do you make it for all? how do you cut them re? I only buy like 5 or 6 per week and make them Adi but somehow she is not liking my way..

  25. Tanishka says:

    lol at Rism….

    R loves pani puri… You should come with her to my office… I’ll take you to a place where we’ll have awesome pani puri… πŸ˜€

  26. Deeps says:

    Here to tell you that I am getting withdrawal symptoms! 2 days of no post-alerts from you and I feel something amiss! πŸ˜€

  27. Aaaaa! Risms after such a long time πŸ™‚ Suuuper post…

    Listen to your child tell Mr. Zevanti, Mr. Tulsi and Mr. Kadipatta to watch her gulp down the milk and listen to her Amma just like she listens – πŸ˜€ I am listening to the same kindof words here too – Does she then look at you to confirm you are listening to her saying all that? πŸ™‚

    Hearing your child look at a picture of Asha Parekh and Shammi Kapoor and say β€˜Amma, yeh toh o mere sona rey wale uncle aunty hai’!!! – now where did she see this?? Bolo Bolo

    And you bite your nails – ha! Good… I do too – dont bother – just dont do it infront of R otherwise it will become difficult to discipline her later πŸ™‚ Thats all…

  28. techie2mom says:

    – Listen to your child tell Mr. Zevanti, Mr. Tulsi and Mr. Kadipatta to watch her gulp down the milk and listen to her Amma just like she listens
    AND
    R: And he banaoing a mast butterfly!!
    LOL…LOL…LOL…Can’t stop laughing πŸ˜€

  29. anisnest says:

    thanks RM.. I almost make the same way but somehow Adi is not liking it :(.. will keep trying..

Leave a Reply

