Passed!

Yep,Β  yesterday got R’s nursery ‘results’ and the brat has been passed and promoted to Jr.Kg…

Not that it was like any marks or anything..but just generally they has asked the parents to come and get the report card which had her class photo where the brat is looking somewhere into the space! and her skills described in terms of social interactions, etc etc and some words by the teacher for each of the assessment through the year…

Did I mention this is the first assessment I attended personally? The first one, I was in London, the second one, we were in Ahm and RD went on both occasions…..so this one, I had to go πŸ™‚

Here are few snippets of what the teacher had to say about her

R, when you are 30 and cursing your mother for being a pain for losingΒ  your nursery report card, please read this and realise that I took the effort to type out all this just in case I lose the report card…(Errr..chances are high that I lose it πŸ™‚ )

Anyways so this is what the teacher said

Ist Assessment – R has a pleasant personality. She is working to full capacity in all subjects.

IInd Assessment – R exhibits excellent attitude. She is very helpful to her peers

IIIrd Assessment – R has matured nicely this year. She has a good attitude towards school.

There, the brat gets good reviews eh?

Anyways, her skills etc etc are pretty good as per the teacher..and then of course, they showed me her English and Mathematics Paper (She has to write the missing alphabets and the missing numbers and do some counting) It was neat!

Amma, yes yes, I know you are astonished reading this, so was I when I saw it…There was no kaccha mucchha rubbing dirtying..the brat actually KNOWS how to write neatly..though her handwriting resembles that of a Giant Spider trying to catch its prey on the wall while simultaneously doing Salsa on ‘Sita Kalayanam’! …

I asked the teacher ‘Errr…I am R’s Mom’ you know just in case she got confused since I hardly meet them and the brat barely resembles me…

Teacher: yes yes I know

RM: Errr..so this paper?

Teacher: Its hers

RM: This is her paper???? (almost screaming! most astonished)

Teacher smiled and said ‘ it is her paper only, she did everything on her own as well’

RM: errr…okie…*Wondering why the paper is not torn and how come there are not eraser stains all over the place*

so, there, some neatness from the dad’s side is showing up…Gah!

Anyways, then of course I am a teacher’s daughter and I know how important feedback is..so I ask them for a paper for feedback..the teacher starts smiling..I say no I want to give..and then she gives me her diary and I thank both the teacher profusely for whatever they have done for R…like Amma says, a good teacher ensures that the child is ready to go to the class everyday..and in R’s case she was lucky…(Note to self – Start praying that R gets good teachers in the next class as well)

I took her books and her report card and a certificate she got for the second prize in story telling! and rushed to work πŸ™‚

So, the brat is now a Jr. Kg student..heheheeh πŸ™‚ *giggles while typing* (the last laugh is for myself..I cant believe I am a mother of a kid who goes to Jr. Kg..I always thought people whose kids go to Jr. Kg are so old…imagine I am one myself now!!)
===========

And in other news, RD is leaving me and going 😦

He will be in Bangalore for the Bangalore MarathonΒ  …after his run in Mumbai, he seems to be pretty confident this time of finishing and has decided to run for a cause…so he is running for Nanhi Kali – an NGO for girl’s education..

So if anyone of you have some money to spare, could you please go to this link and donate as much amount as you want..Rs.10, Rs.50, Rs.500 whatever…I have also added a widget on the main blog page in the side *Looks proud at this accomplishment* You can click on that and go to the donation page as well

VidyaΒ  got yours, thanks thanks Muah to you πŸ™‚

I assure you the he will definitely complete the run πŸ™‚

And oh one more thing, I am not going with him, neither is R..well may be next year, we could run together πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Passed!

  1. summerscript says:

    her handwriting resembles that of a Giant Spider trying to catch its prey on the wall while simultaneously doing Salsa on β€˜Sita Kalayanam’! — trying really hard to imagine something like this πŸ˜€
    Yayyyy to R!!!!! Party!!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ and Yayyy to RD !!!!

  2. You think people whose kids go to Jr.KG are old? Hehehe πŸ˜€

    And with all the stories you tell R , it’s only apt that she has picked up the talent and is winning prizes for story-telling! Congos to the brat and her mom πŸ™‚

  3. Nithvin says:

    ‘her handwriting resembles that of a Giant Spider trying to catch its prey on the wall while simultaneously doing Salsa on β€˜Sita Kalayanam’! …’ There RM..do you seriously think you could have written like this if not for the ‘brat’..she is bringing out the creativity in you * claps for R* πŸ˜€
    ok, her ‘results’ are something like s’s..assessment actually..the word ‘result’ conjured up images of ranks & marks like we used to have in school for higher classes..but this is just fine..
    will check the link sometime later..RD is going to be here! All the Best to him..and yes, you and R also try to come here sometime soon..

  4. lifesong says:

    Congrats to R on doing well at school and making her mom proud πŸ™‚
    And Kudos to RD for going all the way to Bangalore and running for such a good cause πŸ™‚

  5. Sreetama says:

    Many congrats to R, u & RD for R is a big now! Yes yes RM, R has done everything by herself! Be proud (I know you are a great & a proud mom!) πŸ™‚ And All the best to RD for the Bangalore Marathon! πŸ™‚

  6. chattywren says:

    Congrats to R and a proud RM!! I am almost in tears when I am receiving any feedback related to Big G at school, maybe because she seems to be a very different person there vs. the stubborn child at home I normally have to deal with. Written feedback seems a great idea, will definitely do it too as I need to communicate with the teacher in Dutch and mine is pretty basic.

  7. Ramya says:

    R – second prize in story telling πŸ™‚ sure she has taken something from u πŸ˜‰ by the way hope u really get to bangalore sometime meet us also and run away πŸ˜‰ Congrats to R – the big girl πŸ™‚

  8. RD is leaving me and going!! What dramatics, lady!! πŸ˜›
    Will check out the marathon page… and oh, when you and R are in Bangalore, you HAVE to meet up with us, OK?

    Yippeee at the brat passing nursery!! Kudos to her for getting such a lovely review from her teacher! πŸ™‚

    BTW are there ‘results’ in nursery?? Where is a child’s childhood these days ya? Seriously! In my times, a nursery was just meant for going there and playing!! No? I don’t have any experience with any kid, so am totally clueless in this regard.

    And, oh, I didn’t know there was a system of giving feedback in schools!! That’s a lovely concept! πŸ™‚ I am sure it would mean so much to truly dedicated teachers.

    And… mothers of kids who go to Jr. Kg. are old? :O :O :O Then what are mothers of Std.10 children? Ancient?! :O

    • R's Mom says:

      hehehhe! we are not coming rey..when we do come, we will meet up..there are loads of people I have to meet up in Bangalore…I should take, like a week’s vacation and come there to meet up with my blogger friends πŸ™‚

      Arey not like results rey..just you know general stuff like how they interact, etc etc

      Oh all teachers love a feedback…Please make it point to give it when you get your child πŸ™‚

      My dad used to say, he belongs to the dinosaur era as per my definition of old πŸ™‚

  9. Wow! R got her results?!! Suuper. See, she is a sweet sweet child πŸ˜€ and writes also so well – by the way I want to know how well you write before commenting on her ‘Spider’ like handwriting hhmmmppphh…

    And 2nd prize for story telling? With mom like you – its expected na? πŸ™‚

    Rest – emailed you…

    • R's Mom says:

      Arey I have won prizes for handwriting competitions..which was eons ago..now my handwriting resembles a lizard trying to leap from the wall while trying to play Jazz with a patram and belan πŸ™‚

  10. Ashwathy says:

    Listen, give that kid a break will you?! She is intelligent, smart and far more organized than you are!! πŸ˜›
    And for goodness sake, pls keep those report cards safe. Or atleast give them to your own mother or RD’s mother, who will save them.
    My mother still saves mine πŸ™‚ And what fun it is to now read those!!
    I certainly hope R beats the shit out of you if at all you lose any of her reports 😑

    And in other news, RD is leaving me and going
    Drama queen πŸ™„

    • R's Mom says:

      Gah! She has a good mother thats why she is like that πŸ™‚

      My mom has saved mine as well πŸ™‚

      Errr…I have always been THE drama queen eh?

  11. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Congrats to R for graduating to Jr KG. Any graduation photos??
    And all the very best to RD for completing the Balgalore Marathon..

  12. techie2mom says:

    Hey, Congratulations to the R family for graduating to Jr KG & for getting the prize in the story telling (taken after you, is it)?!?!!!
    My mom had my report cards from nursery, i lost them 😦
    “her handwriting resembles that of a Giant Spider trying to catch its prey on the wall while simultaneously doing Salsa on β€˜Sita Kalayanam’! …” reminded me of one of my professors’ handwriting (one of my favorites & awesome teacher but handwriting – don’t ask!!! when he used to write on the board, we used to feel that an ant is driving a bike on the black board..with his really small, difficult to follow & going everywhere handwriting)
    All the Best to RD for the Run πŸ™‚

  13. preethi15 says:

    Yay !! Congrats to R baby and to the deserving parents !

  14. Pepper says:

    RM, I am unable to donate through that website. When I fill in my amount and details and hit submit, the page doesn’t load. Any other alternative?

  15. Vidya says:

    Yaay! Congrats on the promotion R and RM! Children exist to surprise the moms:) and sometimes they are good:) you must have posted a photo of her neat work so i could have shown to the Vs na?!

    And wishes RD for the run! Have fun, specially with the 2 gals not around πŸ™‚

  16. Smita says:

    Aweosme! Congrats re! You must be one proud mother re!!!
    *hugs* to R πŸ™‚
    Also congrats for becoming a bua! How r mom n baby doing now? pass on my love to your bhabhi πŸ™‚ When are you planning to meet the baby? πŸ™‚

  17. Congrats to R!!!! She’s doing great! and of course she had to win a prize in story-telling..she has RM’s genes in that area..be thankful that she’s like RD in matters of writing then..I used to be that kaccha muccha types..always erasing, over-writing..:-( I hope R does not take after me in that respect.
    So, RD is leaving you, huh??? enjoy madi! ;-))) You should’ve also come!

    • R's Mom says:

      Oh I was horribly Kaacha muccha..my Amma used to tell me, I will never come and stay with you..you are the dirtiest kid I have ever seen πŸ™‚

      hahaha! LOL on the last one

  18. Sangitha says:

    Hey, R! You’re quite the rockstar…congratulations on ‘graduating’! πŸ˜€

    Hey, R’s Mom! You don’t need to run to come to Bangalore or run when in Bangalore – let RD run and you come visit? Might see him (except I don’t know what he looks like) at the run…we’re doing the 10k too.

    • R's Mom says:

      Arey my in laws will be around..so cant really leave them and come eh

      RD will be the cute slightly large guy wearing a red Manchester United T shirt :):)

      • Sangitha says:

        I am going to be asking everyone in a red t-shirt if they’re RD now! Look what you’ve done! πŸ˜€ Am sure he’ll finish. If not, we can make a pact to push each other over the line and take pictures to prove it!

        • R's Mom says:

          hahahah! no no RED MANU T SHirt..thats the key..manchester united wala t shirt πŸ™‚

          Big big hugs to you for running and of course all the best πŸ™‚ Errr…please do take pictures if you meet him πŸ™‚

  19. Pavan says:

    Congrats to R and her proud mom as well πŸ™‚ and happy to hear that this kid is awarded a prize in story telling …. Party time now !!!

  20. anisnest says:

    woo hooo congrats R. proud of you baby.. don’t listen to amma’s words.. she will always say you don’t do this right you don’t know that right.. just continue to perform the same way at school my dear..
    wowww She got second prize in storytelling.. there RM all your storytelling to R has fetched something good πŸ™‚
    All the very best to RD.. Wishing him to complete the Bangalore marathon and participate in many many more in future..

  21. Tanishka says:

    While R has picked up a good handwriting from her dad, she has picked up her storytelling skill from her mum…. πŸ™‚
    R is such a sweetheart yaar… All my parents used to do was keep their head down ad listen to all the complaints my teachers had to make… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Congrats R ad RM… πŸ™‚

  22. Swaram says:

    COngrats to all of u! And the best of wishes to RD πŸ™‚

  23. kinmin says:

    Wow time for celebration in the R household!! πŸ™‚ Congrats to R, and you and RD!! πŸ˜€
    And it’s inspiring to see RD is running the full marathon.. I’ve been training for the marathon relay where I will be running about 5 miles, and that in itself is such a big challenge! So kudos to him!! πŸ™‚
    I just donated to RD’s cause (Prerna), and wish him luck with the fundraising!! πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Gosh you are so sweet…thanks rey so much…Like I said, we both are overwhelmed!!

      All the best to you too πŸ™‚ I am sure you will do super duper well πŸ™‚ So proud of you

  24. Pingback: 10 days to go!!! | Sunshine and Rainbows!

  25. Congrats to R and R’s Mom. Seriously, we as moms don’t give them the credit of being owners of neat handwriting till the teacher tells us. I too have surprises like this when Adi’s teacher tells me he has been obedient and well behaved and fastest in the class while doing assignments. All the best and looking forward to more such very ‘meritorious’ updates about R’s next new session.

  26. Scribby says:

    Aiyyyo!!! she is growing up!! Senior KG already? 😦

    on the other note-I’m so so proud of her,tell her that !!! muwah!

    • R's Mom says:

      oye..Junior KG rey…dont scare me πŸ™‚

      Will pass on the kisses

      BTW:She was asking me when we are visiting Chirpy baby and why we cant go to her bday party πŸ™‚

      • Scribby says:

        I told like before also…she is the wisest one to at least think of coming here….look at you lazy bums,huh!

        by the way forgot to ‘grrrr’ you for describing her handwriting so evil-ly!!! hmmmpf!

Leave a Reply

