When Silence Speaks Volumes

I get up early…and when I get up, not too many people are up..which means that, relatively, the locality is silent…

Few sounds I hear in the morning

1.  The milk boiling…no I swear…have you ever heard the milk boiling…I have…when its absolutely silent, you can hear the milk go gugguguggguuugggg as if its trying to tell its lactose molecules to just go up and lets just turn off the heat on us

2. The curry cooking…I am not kidding..while most of us hear the tadka spluttering, I doubt if you ever hear the curry cooking…you know the kind of quiet sound of phhuuushhhphhuuhhh crackle crackle..phuushhhs…yes..that sound..like a song
3. The sound of a dog barking because someone woke him up
4. The sound of the compressor of the refrigerator starting it self…I find it very soothing for some reason

5. The sound of the alarm clock of the neighbour which is heard very clearly on a silent morning

6. The gush of the flush if someone uses it

7. The water out of the tap which the watchman fills in the tap downstairs as he starts to wash the cars

8. The sound of violin music which starts at about 5.30 in the morning…I dont know who starts it, but its there every morning as soon as I finish making my phulkas I can hear that sound

9. The distant sound of aarti in some temple which is pretty far from the house but in the morning because of the silence around I can faintly hear it at times

10. The pulkas popping up on the direct heat of the stove…the smell AND the sound..both are so lovely

and of course, at times, I also hear RD snoring if the the kitchen door open or R sucking her thumb so loudly that its a sound that conquers all other sounds…or sometimes, I  hear RD murmuring soothing sounds to R as she gets disturbed in her sleep..

Sometimes I  hear the neighbour saying bye to her husband who leaves really early or the sound of a group of old uncles who start their morning walks with Hari Oms

I, at times, can hear the crows cawing in the morning just before daybreak or even the coo-cooing of some bird whose name I am yet to get…

As the morning progresses, the sound level increase as the BEST buses cough their way through the road or the small child in the neighbouring building gets up crying for milk…I can then hear the auto ricks making their way on the road and the aunties walking discussing their day’s work

Then of course is RD’s alarm which is a Malayalam song which I can say the first two lines without a mistake because of the snoozes it goes through *Rolls eyes*

And RD slowly getting up tucking R placing his pillow and my pillow on her either side

and then of course its business as usual…..

My silent mornings definitely have a sound of their own 🙂

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to When Silence Speaks Volumes

  1. This is such a soothing post, RM. It calmed me throughout. 🙂

    I haven’t ever heard milk boiling – but then, maybe, I have never paid enough attention! I have heard the sound of curry getting ready too, and I kind of like it. I love the sound of the refrigerator too – it makes me feel at home and safe. Weird, no?

    I love hearing the birds in the morning, too. 🙂

    Wow @ violin strains! You wake up to someone playing the violin?! Super cool!

    • R's Mom says:

      I guess the sound of the fridge makes a lot of us feel at home 🙂

      No, I think its someone playing a cassette or CD of violin..but I hear it almost every day..I know its not a live one…

  2. Nithvin says:

    So loved the points 1 to 10.. had kind of forgotten them..but I think all these are best appreciated when ONLY you are awake at that time in your house..with anyone else awake & around, it just isn’t the same..

  3. Zephyr says:

    Really soothing sounds RM. I can relate to many of them, only I hear them at all times. My brain can process different sounds simultaneously and does not jumble them up into a noise. So I can appreciate all the sounds unless they are really loud and jarring. Like right now I can hear a mynah bird, my washing machine sloshing water in the drum, the sweeper on the street, my neighbour’s doorbell and my subzi doing all those sounds you have so graphically described. Loved this one, RM and love you too!

    And hey, congrats on becoming an athai! 😀

    • R's Mom says:

      Your brain is super…I always jumble up sounds and hear just a noise over all in other times..except the mornings 🙂

      Glad you liked and thanks for the wishes 🙂

  4. summerscript says:

    I totally loved this post RM!!!! Awesome post!!!
    I hear
    1. whistle of distant train (I hear it rarely though)
    2. Sound made by milk which is about to pongify
    3. Tring tring cycle bell of newspaper boy
    4. The boys in upstairs walking down so fast that most of the time I think someone is rolling down.
    5. And of course the birds singing kroo kroo kroo kroo kroooo
    These sound make the morning time so beautiful and peaceful.
    Just loved this post 😀

    • summerscript says:

      My head was going vroom vroom due to so many unconnected thoughts,this post made me smile. I wanted to come back and thank you!! 🙂 love you 🙂

    • R's Mom says:

      1. you do..awesome!
      2. Yaa yaa..that sound only
      3. Our paper guy comes in at 8..Gah!
      4. hehehehe 🙂
      5. Birds are lovely na 🙂

      Glad you liked..and love and hugs right back 🙂

  5. Amazing post this RM! I have goose bumps reading this – dont ask me why. How wonderfully you have articulated all these sounds. AFter reading this I realised the sounds I hear as I wake up at 5 in the morning – the first Namaaz of the day at the nearby mosque, the sound of mantras during festivals at the temple near by, the dogs barking – the flush, the alarm, the baby whimpering at the neighbours house – all of it. Never gave it much thought but now, I can remember all these sounds 🙂 Suuperb post.

  6. lifesong says:

    I could imagine hearing all these sounds as you are working in the morning by your narration 🙂 . I think you get up very early. If I were to get up at 4 am or so then the sounds I would hear would be crows cawing (and lots of them), Cuckoos cooing, Dogs barking/fighting, sound of crickets (I think all creatures are nocturnal at our place 🙂 ), the milkman’s truck arriving maybe, sounds of hymns/chants from my neighbor’s house,… But I get up at 6 and by that time nearly the whole world is up and there are so many sounds …

  7. Oh I know you’re not kidding–I can hear the milk boiling and the curry cooking too 🙂

    //And RD slowly getting up tucking R placing his pillow and my pillow on her either side//
    Aww that’s exactly the way it is in our home too, same pinch!!:-). Just that we also have to check on her every five minutes because she sometimes manages to fall down despite the pillows*shakes head*

    • R's Mom says:

      Awesome!

      Errr..so does R darling, so does R 🙂 so dont you worry about the falling..now I think its just a way to increase their bone immunity!!!

  8. sk says:

    very thoughtful post. I can totally relate ! Good blog you have here!

  9. orczy says:

    Am jealous of u RM…Am not able to open my eyes even at 6:30..Sure i miss out most of the sounds

  10. orczy says:

    Am jealous of u RM..I find it hard to get up even at 6:30 and these days Joy gets up b4 me 😦

  11. ARP says:

    Amazing observation and recalling RM 🙂 I love the morning silence but I very rarely get up that early. Nice blog.

  12. Superb post RM… made me realize I am not paying closer attention to many of the things around me.. mostly because of the work stress… but if I start concentrating on these simple pleasures, life would be so calm and S would be spared some scoldings 😀

    • R's Mom says:

      Arey take it easy darling..let it not get too much on your head okie?

      Errr…despite the small pleasures, I still scold RD and R …so there you go 🙂

  13. techie2mom says:

    Wow!!! you are seriously so awake so early in the morning that you can notice so small sounds!!!! if i have to wake up so early, i’ll be sleepwalking & even if somebody called me, i won’t be able to hear (except Zini of course – selective listening ;))!!! *Salutes*
    “I hear RD murmuring soothing sounds to R as she gets disturbed in her sleep..” 🙂

  14. Deeps says:

    First and foremost I want to know which malayalam song does RD have as his alarm tone 😀

    Your point no 10..the smell and the sound of phulkas popping…I love it too!

    I can so relate with you RM when you say silence speaks volumes! I have been waking up very early thanks to Namnam’s new school schedule( god I so am not a morning person, feeling so sleepy just writing about it 😦 ). But the good thing is that I get to witness the early morning fresh breeze that brushes inside my house as soon as I open my kitchen window early in the morning. Then I get to hear the roosters, and yes I can hear milk boiling too..in fact the milk that I boil is so smart that it goes a step further and spills out and falls on my hot-plate and gives a ppphrrrssssshhh phrrrrsshhhh sound to wake me up from whatever li’l slumber have left in my eyes 😉
    I loved this post!

    • R's Mom says:

      Err…its a prayer that goes like ‘Chetti mandaram tulsi…’

      I think it falls in my top 10 smells of the world 🙂

      I am absolutely NOT a morning person..just today morning, RD was trying to tell me something and I snapped at him so much that he just left for office 🙂

      Err…the milk boiling over..lets not talk about it..between my mami and me, we have a competition on who can do it more number of times 🙂 I hate the cleaning part of that..ufff! damn irritating

      • Deeps says:

        Aww chetti mandaram tulasi pichaka malakal chaarthi…you took me back to my childhood days RM..I grew up listening and chanting this prayer! 🙂

        • R's Mom says:

          oh seriously? I think so did RD…his family speaks malayalam flawlessly..and they listen to a lot of malayalam songs…so I guess he knows it well! ME? I just pretend to understand and nod my head all the time 🙂

  15. Ashwathy says:

    I LOVE this post 🙂 Simply love it !!
    I can’t believe you actually remember and record these sounds separately!!

    The part you highlighted…about RD murmuring to R to soothe her sleep… made me turn to mush.

    Phulkas at 5.30am!! 😯 That part made me have a heart attack! Yeeaagh! I open my eyes with difficulty at 8am!

    BTW I dare you to write down those two lines of the malayalam song without mistake. And WITHOUT googling it or looking at the CD/cassette etc.! 😉

    • R's Mom says:

      Glad you like it Phew! *Virtually sweeps the sweat of the brow*

      hahaha! I make phulkas for RD and mera lunch rey 🙂 and if R has her famed bhindi subji day..then I make for her as well

      Err…it goes like ‘Chetti mandaram tulsi…’ *Malayalam is difficult to write in English 🙂 *

      • Ashwathy says:

        He has THAT song on his mobile? 🙂 awww how sweet…

        Chetti mandaram tulasi pichaka maalakal chaarthi
        Guruvayoor appa ninne kani kanenam

        See? Malayalam is not difficult to write in english provided u put in some effort 😛 🙄

      • hee hee i think its Thechi mandaram thulasi.. as in thechi poo 🙂

        missed commending here Rm..wordpress was not letting me comment on any of the blogs.. i must have created some 10 ids..:( donno wat the prob was… finally succumbed to using my FB acnt.. I was reading all ur posts of course 🙂

        and congrats on becoming an AThai.. 🙂 best wishes to RMB and Bhabhi

        • R's Mom says:

          oh its Thechi is it?? *confused* will ask RD 😉

          Aiyo I am not a big fan of you using your FB account..dont do it…I know you are reading..so chill and you dont have to comment…Couldnt you open a temperary wordpress account and log in

          loads of people have trouble commenting because of this new login policy of WP!

          Thanks for your wishes

          • greengables14 says:

            it is Chethi.. My bad..looks like I have been singing it wrong all the time.. **looks embarassed**

            managed to comment with wordpress at last…Yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

  16. Smita T says:

    Lovely Post… it got me thinking…. Back in Pune I used to hear Lion / Tiger roaring in the night and the train whistle early morning… the train station is really far off… but sometimes when I used study really late I could hear the train whistle…. one more thing… I could hear my school’s national anthem in my home… used to really feel nice after I was out of school 🙂

  17. Hmm that is BLISS .. dont you think. The one thing i miss the most here is the birds making that early morning noise when they leave their nest for the daily chores …

    back home all that you have described is awesome.. We did not have a R.. But my sis was funny and my dad’s Ladli, she would make such noises when asked ot wake up , I use to laugh.. we would tease my dad that dahej main we will have to send papa with her…

    the rushing in the kitchen, mum running getting all ready as the HANDSOME beta had to go to college , so doodh shoodh and paranthe sharanthe 🙂 he he he had ot be on time ,,

    wow the post brought so many memories RM.. feeling happy and sad too .. the good old days .. Sadly cause those days wont come again ….
    beautiful post …

  18. Deepsu says:

    Hey..RM ! Refreshing post !!

    I also hear the milk boiling , curry frying sounds…

    I agree the fridge sound somehow comforts me when am alone at home….its superb that u pointed out tat and we all could relish it actually….

    mm mm

    I strongly agree with the point when our cooking is almost over and my hubby wakes up with so much difficulty as if its tooooooooooo early that i woke him up….

    Njoyed reading thru…

    finally i posted for the imlee contest yday night …thanks for that 😉

  19. Smitha says:

    What a lovely post, RM! It evoked such strong memories of living back home.

    Reading this post, at 6, in the morning, made me realize that I live in such a sterile environment 😦 I wake up to birds twittering outside my window – that’s it – no other sounds. Yes, downstairs in the kitchen, I can hear my own fridge- buts that’s it! No other noises, until it’s 8 – then we can hear some cars pulling out of the drives…

    • R's Mom says:

      oh yaa..in London as well, when I woke up early when I stayed at my friend’s house, (he and his wife were sleeping and I didnt want to disturb them) I realised there was no noise around at all…pretty difficult for someone who spent 6 years in Mumbai 🙂

  20. chattywren says:

    Lovely post RM! Sounds of Silence! v. evocative! enjoyed reading!

  21. I love it when you can hear sounds that no one else does during the day…I used to have times like that back during college days when I’d stay up late studying till like 3 or 4 in the morning. I remember hearing the watchman knocking his stick on the ground, the odd dog barking on being woken up, the milk boiling when I made myself a cuppa…it’s something quite extraordinary…

  22. Pepper says:

    This is going to be one of my most favourite posts RM.. So so beautiful. I could actually savour every bit of it. Thank you 🙂 You’re a wonderful person, don’t ask me why.

  23. Shweta says:

    You reminded me of my childhood when we used to wake up to such sounds and few of those I still remember and miss.. Its the sounds of sparrows which we don’t get to hear due to all the high rise buildings and telecommunication towers.. and the other one is of Prabhat Feri.. Its a kind of small procession that starts from gurudwara early morning and heads back to the same or some other chanting the name of god.. Its very soothing to wake up to… This generally happens at the beginning of winters..

  24. hitchy says:

    I love morning too… although I dont get up as early as you but I do get up at around 6.30 ! to help dress up my son and drop wifey and him to school… unlike you we live in a small town and there is a field next to my house, (agri-university is next to my house) no I dont live in such a remote land 😛 and we have amazing chivalry of birds that we hear every morning..

    • R's Mom says:

      oh I love the place you stay Hitchy…I would do anything to live in Gujarat..well except for leaving RD..because the guy is too much in love with Bombay 🙂

      It must be amazing to live next to a field na 🙂

  25. Gah!! you are avery very bad influence…did I tell you that? Since I started reading your blog I have been waking up at 4 am and walking up and down the corridor like a lost ghost!!! Oh and the only sound I can hear at that time is the floor creaking because of all that walking I do 😥

    You are an awesome observer I swear!

  26. Vidya says:

    This sounds like that morning scene in my fair lady (?) when the noise grows quietly on the busy London morning:) Wonderful.. and pretty much a scene from my home at chennai.. a few sounds are diff though.. the cycle bell of the paper-wala, dhoodh wala ringing, the guy selling keerai.. 🙂

  27. ashreyamom says:

    at my house, we have this weird milk-cooker, which makes a irritating sound, almost like cooker whistle non-stop bussing. next would be the lift door “open-close” or “: please close the door” sound coming. then followed by kachada wala whistle and drinking water whistle( as we have separate tap in kitchen and drinking water is let only once a day for few minutes. then school auto and school bus honking . suparabatm from neighbors house. too many sounds. actually an alarm for us. we close all doors and windows so that my baby doesn’t get up.. everything is distinct heard, as we have one hour power-cut in the morning.

  28. Swaram says:

    Lovely post RM! Morning do come wth their own sweet sounds 🙂

  29. Scribby says:

    sounds of morning 🙂

Leave a Reply

