Some Memories or As They Say ‘Those Were The Days’

Cousin K and I..we shared 5 years of togetherness..she came at an excellent time…I had just entered second year college and she joined BSc did that for an year and joined my engineering college…I have loads of fun memories with her..

Right from ragging our Anna (poor RMB!) to getting scolded badly by Amma (for not informing her about our whereabouts!) to eating out together to going to college together to preparing for our elder cousin’s marriage with dance (and not letting anyone except RMB know about it!) and what not

I think I will look back in life to those five years as one of my fondest memories…
She now stays in the USA with her son and husband and we talk at times…we are not too regular in our communication but I guess the magic of the relation is still there
I went toΒ  meet her in Ahm, when she came down from the USA, where her dad (my mama) stays..we actually didnt sit and talk, but having her around was fun enough…and let me add that the kids had SUPER fun

Few memories

1. Preparing for her elder sisters marriage..so that was the first marriage in the family on Mom’s side after many years..I had just finished graduation and didnt have a job and she was in 3rd year..when Amma went toΒ  school in the morning, we would both practice our dance…It was a surprise to everyone whenΒ  we danced…and trust me dancing in a Tambram wedding is a BIG BIG Thing okie πŸ™‚ we danced onΒ  ‘woh ladki hai kahan’ from Dil Chahta Hai and ‘maine payal hai chanakayi’ a Falguni Pathak song πŸ™‚

Amma was just too shocked to see us dance on stage and she was so so proud of both of us πŸ™‚

2.Going to the music class together..so Cousin K has always been singing…even when she was in my Mami’s womb πŸ™‚ when she joined a music class after coming to Baroda , I joined with her for like 7 months or so…we learnt to sing Sita Kalayanam from that teacher (who is awesome!) and sang it for her sister’s wedding…Most people thought we made a good pair when we sang together πŸ™‚

3. Sneaking in RMB’s clothes for the wedding…So RMB was in Chandigarh doing a course when sister’s wedding happened…he told only me and Cousin K that he was coming..not even our parents..and then he said he wanted a particular kurta to be brought so that he can wear it for the wedding…and oh God the way we sneaked it! you wont believe it..and finally when Amma Appa came to know he was coming, both of us got the shouting of our lives πŸ™‚ Amma was like ‘why couldnt you tell me?’ etc etc…but we being the brilliant sisters squarely put the blame on RMB saying ‘hey he told us not to tell’ πŸ˜‰

4. Getting horribly scolded by Amma the night when I danced in the college fest on ‘Aankhen khuli ho ya ho bandh’ We got really really late when we returned, we didnt have any cell phones and we forgot to inform home because of the excitment and then Appa went in search for us..and what not..Gosh! Amma was at her elemental best πŸ™‚

5. Eating out..it was the most fun thing RMB, Cousin K and I did together…we used to go out and eat chat, and anda biryani and pav bhaji….it was pretty occasional but we did enjoy that a LOT!

6. Cooking exotic flop food at home..we have tried everything from lasagne to pani puri to chow to chop…Amma and Appa were happy guniea pigs to our trials…‘Gold RM Gold..this is as expensive as gold…dont be careless’ Cousin K would say if I dropped even a bit of cheese while grating it.. πŸ™‚ Gosh we have burnt things, almost poisoned our parents and driven Amma crazy with our experiments..

7. Doing sheets..since both of us were in engineering and she was in civil so all the more, we would stay up late doing sheets..she is a perfectionist..her sheets were glass copied like no man’s business…me? I was just about ready to drop off the line as easily as possible..but she used to slog her ass off literally to get the right dimensions…and then we would keep an alarm for 4 AM..poor thing, she would get up, I would pretend to get up and nod off and she would be working hard on her sheets πŸ™‚

8. Going To Ahmedabad – So since Mama Mami stayed in Ahmedabad, we (usually Cousin K and I) would often go there…our bus and train journeys were crazy at times..running to catch at the last moment, meeting strange folks in the train, eating the channa dal masala in train, getting off at the wrong stop..we have done it all πŸ™‚

9. She is size zero and I am size 20..and yet we would exchange clothes..yes, I would wear her loose ones and she would wear whatever was tight for me.. πŸ™‚

10. Going for Garba together..gosh what fun that was..we would wear our chaniya cholis..Amma trusted us enough to let us go together..and we would freak out..one night with her classmates of college, one night with my classmates, one night with common friends…every night was fun indeed! We even went and did Garba in CEPT, Ahm once she went there for higher studies πŸ™‚

11. People mistaking her for RMB’s real sister…RMB and I dont look alike..I look like Appa and he looks like Amma..and then Cousin K looks like her dad..and her dad and my Amma are brother sister..also RMB is was size zero like her..so most people in college and around thought they were the siblings and I was the cousin πŸ™‚

12. This happened when I used to introduce Cousin K as my sister to everyone..so we went one day to our family doctor since I had a bad bad pimple which was oozing puss on my cheeks..I had to get it removed since it was getting infected..so Cousin K being the brave one decided to take me along declining Amma’s offer of coming with us..we went to the doctor..and for some reason the doctor’s wife was there..we were speaking and all that..and the doctor mentioned to his wife that we were sisters..

Doctor’s wife: oh is it?

RM: yes yes..

DW: Whose older?

RM: me me (very proudly)

DW: Oh is it, so how much older are you?

RM: SIX months…

for about 3 seconds, there was no response..the entire place was silent and the doctor’s wife was just staring at me…

Cousin K realised that the doctor’s wife thought we were real sisters..and she burst out laughing so loudly that I thought she went crazy…

No no aunty, we are not real sisters she went..she is my Foi’s daughter…she pointed at me

DW: oh my God! I didnt know what to tell you girls..I was wondering how your parents delivered another child in 6 months time!!

We were laughing so loudly that my pimple broke on its own and blood started oozing out..the doctor quickly cleaned it..and dressed it and all was well

When I got up to leave, I see my Cousin K almost fainting…the doctor caught her and I got panic..

apparently some people cant stand the sight of their loved ones with blood…errr..guess who it was?

We waited for a while, she keep asking me if I was okie (gosh it was only a pimple!) and then guess who drove who home!!!

So much for taking responsibility of taking her sister to the doctor :):)

We have had our fun times together…shopping for our wedding bangles, going to copy notes in the library, doing each other’s hair, bugging our parents, talking endlessly through the night, getting our first pair of dungarees stiched after getting enamoured by Kajol in Kuch Kuch Hota hai, getting wet in the rains on the Scooty, always going around together, her shouting ‘Athai’ from theΒ gate of our house so that the world and of course my Amma knows that she is coming back fromΒ college/music class –Β Β we were more like a pair of Siamese twins than cousins..

We still thank both set of parents of putting us together at the right age where we were free enough to roam around on our own and yet not loaded with any responsibilities…

and of course, I have to thank her for asking RD if he wanted to marry me πŸ˜‰

those were the days, and we sure had so much fun πŸ™‚

This is an entry for the Blog Adda contest hosted by Imlee

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Some Memories or As They Say ‘Those Were The Days’

  1. vethal says:

    I only have 1 line to say ” Will you adopt me in your family ” πŸ™‚
    post is super awesome. u will win another cup for sure

  2. awwwww this is such a cute post. made me very happy to read it. brought back many fond memories of my own youth and childhood. πŸ™‚

    Garba…. shopping…chaat…street food…. roaming – sigh! Gujarat is the place for all that!

  3. sigh! reminds me of my best friend who I have not seen for more than 15 years or so πŸ˜₯

  4. πŸ˜€ Suuper like this post. Such care free days of fun na? πŸ˜€ And now that you have written this will cousin K read it and get nostalgic too?

    What contest are you talking about? Let me go check.

  5. ashreyamom says:

    hey, nice post.. we always enjoy our being with same age cousins.. its loads of dun.. hope you win the contest and get us all books from flipkart.. :).. he he he.. deal done??

  6. Deboshree says:

    What a super, duper, fun post! I had a blast reading the narrative and can just about fathom how much fun living these moments must have been for you.
    All the best for the contest! πŸ˜€

  7. That was a wonderful account RM !
    Loved reading this. and wow, this contest looks interesting, I think I’ll give it a go too πŸ™‚
    Thankee RM πŸ™‚

  8. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Hey.. such a lovely compilation! I loved reading every bit of it.. I really got transported to my younger days when I had so much fun with my cousins..
    In my Hubby’s famile, the cousins are not very close, however in mine they are. So I keep telling these stories which are not even close to yours, cuz we never stayed together. All my interactions were mostly during summer holidays when we usde to gather together.
    My Hubby would never believe that cousins can be so close! I should make him read your blog πŸ™‚
    Thanks for such a beautiful post RM πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Glad you enjoyed…oh we cousins are really really close…infact even on my dad’s side I am close to my second cousins as well πŸ™‚ thanks to our parents being so nice and letting us have all the fun πŸ™‚

  9. ARP says:

    Amazing post RM πŸ™‚ i enjoyed it throughly. I had been on a vaccation and missed reading your posts there too :). Lots of love – ARP

  10. techie2mom says:

    Wow….So sweet!!!!! Hey you danced at your college fest, cooooool…..
    & drawing sheets…. you reminded me of my college days..the submission used to be around Navratri days, so 1st we used go to Garba then come back & work on drawing sheet till morning πŸ™„

    • R's Mom says:

      hahaha! no I dont think Cousin K and I ever did that..going for Garba and coming back and working on the sheets…we used to wrap up everything and then leave πŸ™‚

  11. Shweta says:

    Wow.. This one is so sweet… all the Good ol’ memories πŸ˜€ Connecting with someone other than urself and then realizing you r no different.. and even if u r.. u love it as well.. as u get to try new stuff u never thought u would.. πŸ˜€

    I Share such a relation with one of my cousin.. she is married, with a baby girl now.. we don’t get to meet often.. though the essence of the relationship we share is still there.. We even have a song dedicated to ourselves.. from the movies Golmal (title Track – Female version) we would go on drives with that song playing on full volume..

  12. Deepsu says:

    Its really nostalgic…I It reminds me of my cousin Priya ..We both did lots of hangouts togeter…

    and thanks for letting me know about the contest..Let me also give a try..;))

  13. Deepsu says:

    Can we add pics in the blog for the contest….???

    Pls do stop at my blog…http://rollypollydollyhansu.blogspot.com … i am writin abt my kid s actions from she is 9 months old now till now…Hope u ll love it;) Njoi Maadi

  14. Smita says:

    Ah! This was a fun read, good memories always have such an effect no?
    Your dancing in the wedding reminded me ofmy own coup. I was closet dancer and really started dancing in open in hostel. There was this cousin who was getting mrrd and I arrived there from hostel, we were all celebrating and then this song was played “kisi disco main jaayen” and I danced on it copying the steps to T. That was the day and there isn’t any mrrg where I am not forced to dance πŸ˜‰ Needless to say my Mom was shocked, surprised & proud πŸ™‚
    The bond u share with K si special!
    LOL @ Docs shock at 6 months ka diff πŸ˜€
    People!
    Lovely post!
    Hope she is reading it!

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahah!! Thats so adorable..infact I forgot to add that the same cousin and I danced at my wedding as well..in aaja na chule meri chunneri sanam πŸ™‚

  15. Swaram says:

    Super-duper post. loved reading this RM πŸ™‚ Hugss! Some relations are like that no? Distance and not being able to talk for hours don’t matter at all πŸ™‚
    Gud luck for the contest πŸ™‚

  16. Nithvin says:

    Super Cute that was…Just couldn’t stop laughing at ‘I am 6 months older’ line at the doctor’s..too good πŸ™‚

  17. anisnest says:

    Awwww… you both were the real soul sisters.. triple like no no infinity like this post.. so much good memories.. feeling all nostalgic..
    all the very best for the contest RM..

  18. Tanishka says:

    Very sweet post RM… Best was doctor’s wife… πŸ˜†

  19. Ashwini says:

    Hello, very nice blog, feels good to read. We are glad to have your entry and we wish you all the best for the contest.
    – Ashwini
    Team imlee
    http://www.imlee.com

  20. Pepper says:

    Your laugh made your pimple break? LOL πŸ˜€ Wow!
    Laughter is truly the best cure! Here’s to more such fond memories with your loved ones.

Leave a Reply

