About Spending for Myself and Someone Getting Older

It was a weekend of Β a lot of new stuff!

On Saturday RD has some training and had to go to office at 6.30…now the thing being that, if the guy had to go to office I had to get up and have a bath because R wont let me have a bath when both of us are alone

then a brainwave stuck me! ..so as soon as he finished his bath, I thought, Chalo let me have a bath, but not wash my face and not brush my teeth, so I can just change and go back to sleep for a while.

As soon as I take the first mug ful of water with my still-trying-to-sleep hands, RD knocks…RM RM how long..

I mean boss, you go to work on a Saturday, and dont even let me have a half bath…

RM: Kya hua?

RD: I have to leave and R is awake crying for you

RM: wait wait I am coming in 2 minutes

and I quickly pour the bucket below my neck and wear my clothes and come out…now please note that the teeth havent been brushed and the face hasnt been washed…so that I can go back to sleep

I cant hear R crying..I wonder if RD just imagined it ..when I see him snuggling next to her in the bed with his legs dangling out because they are shoe clad and the daughter wrapped around him tightly πŸ™‚

I tell him to leave and then the brat is up…I mean on a weekend at 6.15..Gah! big Gah! I pretend to sleep but then she decides to explore the contours of my face and my ears and my hair and what not..

R go to sleep rey!

R: Amma, sun up ho jayega, daycare jana hai..get up get up

RM: hmmmmmm

she tries hard to make me get up, but I am still struggling to pretend to sleep..when she says ‘Amma, potty aayi, zor se aayi’

Thats it! I spring out of the bed faster than PT Usha…quickly pull down her pant when she says ‘Main toh mazak kar rahi thi (I was joking)

Now dear blog, isnt she like the biggest brat EVER!!

anyways, so we are now up rising and shining..and do our morning stuff and I drop her to daycare..she just walks in without a backward glance..and I am like yaa whatever!!!!

Anyways then I go home, clean up the house, etc etc etc

Then I decide to go and take out some time to myself…you know where you dont actually CLEAN the house but you do something for yourself

Since I had a full grown moochi and beard, I thought let me go to the parlour and get rid of that…

So off I went there, and people now is where I clap to myself and applaude myself!

I managed to do a clean up on my face (for the first time in 6 years and second time in my life, I did one before the marriage!) , and a pedicure..the last time I did it, I was sure I wont do it again, but I decided to give it a shot and gosh, my feet look clean *rolls eyes*

I spent more than INR 500 on myself and I am so proud of myself πŸ™‚

Getting better and celebrating myself eh :):)

other random stuff over the weekend

– I am getting drying the clothes and the bell rings..and lady and her hubby are standing out and they say, is there a little girl in this house..and I am like, well Β I do have a daughter…and they give me a dabba full of prasad with poori, chole and sheera..its asthami and the north indians celebrate by praying to little girls and there the brat got yummy food…I was so touched by the fact that they actually sought out R and came to give her the prasad on the way to work…I promised to take R with me in the evening and we went to their house for darshan in the evening and had another round of the Β yummy chole πŸ™‚

– As promised to R, instead of the star cake, we had star birthday ka poochkas….just as we started eating we saw a boy may be about 7 to 8 years old screaming Mummy Mummy…we didnt react for a while and then RD asked where is your mummy..one man said, he is with the two ladies gossiping..but they didnt seem to care..and then RD got agitated…he was like do you have anyone with you..one other old lady also asked him…he just kept crying and the two ladies justΒ nonchalantly pointed towards a kirana shop saying, udhar hai...the boy went towards the shop and his mom just stared at him and didnt react..

I am no one to judge…absolutely no one..but I would never like leaving a child unattended on a busy road..R seems really disturbed with the whole thing and ate only 3 poochkas instead of her 12!!!!

– On Sunday, R was called for the navami pooja by another couple…I took her there after my navami pooja (made gud payasam, lemon rice and curd rice for bhog!) and then she saw two other girls older to her and said amma aap jao, Β I will come down…I was reluctant for a minute and then I thought, why not..I asked the couple who had invited her..they were cool about it

So, there people, R SPENT THE FIRST TIME OF HER LIFE ALONE IN SOMEONE’S HOUSE I should be marking this day in red letter πŸ™‚

– Friday night, R and I were surfing channels while RD had gone for a hair cut..we saw some soup someone was making out of masoor dal..Amma, I took this dal for the activity na said the brat…I think she should definitely become a chef πŸ™‚

anyways so on Sunday night, I made the masoor dal soup..errr…lets not dwell on it too much πŸ™‚

The reactions:

R: Amma, mereko aacha nahi laga (talk about being blunt!)

RD: errr…it tastes like dal na..what did you do to it (gulping down as soon as possible to avoid the taste in his mouth)

RM: well, I made it, I eat it!!!

That was my weekend, hope yours was good as well

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to About Spending for Myself and Someone Getting Older

  1. anisnest says:

    wowww… treated yourself? good RM.. a pat on your back.. R is a darling.. πŸ™‚
    if Adi wokeup at 6:30 on the weekend I would have went to the other room, locked the door and continued my sleep πŸ™‚

  2. lifesong says:

    Lol on the potty thing πŸ™‚ . R sure knows her mom well….. how to get her out of bed πŸ˜€
    My daughter was invited for Navami Pooja too. She had a good time eating Puri, halwa and Chhole πŸ™‚
    You had a nice weekend… poochkas and all πŸ™‚

  3. Glad to be back.
    I thought you were taking a long break and hadn’t checked your blog for quite some time.
    Just read your last two posts
    Enjoyed the R’sms!
    Be back later.
    Regards
    GV

  4. summerscript says:

    loved the father-daughter snuggling scene πŸ™‚
    R is a rockstar RM πŸ™‚ Tight hugs to her πŸ™‚
    Bath without washing your face??? he he he my cousin did that till he was seven !!! πŸ˜› My aunt everytime had to run behind him to make him wash his face πŸ˜›

  5. I was giggling aloud at the potty thing πŸ˜€ She couldnt have thought about a better idea to wake you up completely πŸ˜€ Suuper. Muuuaaah to R.Give her one BIG huggie from me for the fantastic idea – will ya?

    Hmmm… Even i am always stingy about a parlor visit especially the pedicure and after wards it feels so clean that I wonder where I walked to get it so dirty in the first place! *sounds so dirty*

    We also did the Ram Navami pooja yesterday with juice nd watermelon – with mom around things get done without me having to move a finger πŸ˜€

  6. Swaram says:

    Wowie … what an awesome weekend!:)
    I have been planning to pamper myself at the parlour for so long too! Must make time atleast over the next weekend.

  7. Smita says:

    Even Arnav gets up early on a Sunday nahin to weekdays main he wants me to come & sleep besides him when I have loads of work. Kids have a different kind of internal alarm no?

    And u were planning to sleep afetr having a bath? Aiyyo! meri to neend hi khul jaaye after a bath!!! BTW why such a hurry you could have easily taken a bath after dropping R @ day care, nahin? Don’t tell me you don’t walk out of your home unless u have taken a bath!!!

    As kids we had loads of fun during navratri’s. Poori halwa, getting a coin after eating the prashad and then going to anotehr aunties home. Best part would be when another aunty would come poaching for us & would take us to her place!!! We girls used to be in full demand!

    And leaving a kid all alone on a road is so careless!!! Have seen people leaving their kids all alone on a platform and whenever I see that my blood boils. We have even scolded a mother for doign so.

    LOL @ your soup!!! hota hai hota!!!

    • R's Mom says:

      I know..totally different gah!

      Errr…you are right, I am not too keen about going out of the house without a bath…*Pretty 16th century eh?*

      Heart broken about the soup rey

  8. Ashwathy says:

    I have no clue why you take a bath when you haven’t brushed or washed your face. Why do u call it a bath anyway? Absolutely useless you are! πŸ™„

    ROFL @ zor se aayi hai. She knows very well how to make you leap out of bed like a ninja!! πŸ˜€

    I managed to do a clean up on my face (for the first time in 6 years and second time in my life, I did one before the marriage!)
    OMG!! 😯 I do a cleanup regularly….like once a month!! If I don’t take that time out for myself I go nuts!!! I can’t imagine this is the second time in your life you are doing it!! 😐

    its asthami and the north indians celebrate by praying to little girls
    What on earth is this?! 😯
    With all the talks on female infanticide this one comes as a shocker! Pleasant surprise though πŸ™‚

    RM: well, I made it, I eat it!!!
    Wow, talk about being bossy! πŸ˜› I need to take lessons from you πŸ˜‰

    • R's Mom says:

      OF course its a bath..my body is soaped and I change my clothes..Gah to you!

      R is a total brat πŸ™‚

      Errr…thats what the lady told me…I should do it once a month..one question, when they remove this thing called black/white heads, does it ache? because I screamed so loudly that the real estate agent next door came knocking!

      Arey there is a pooja north indians have..its pretty cool πŸ™‚

      • Ashwathy says:

        Well it does pain to some extent I fortunately do not have too many blackheads. More importantly, the whole idea is that you do it often enough that there are only very few blackheads to deal with in the first place!! πŸ˜› Not twice in a lifetime! πŸ˜› πŸ™„

  9. LOL RM, there’s no way a masoor dal soup won’t taste like masoor dal–you can’t do much with it πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    And what’s with these kids rising- and- shining so early on weekends. I join you in saying a big GAH!!

    • R's Mom says:

      So basically we never use masoor dal okie…NEVER..but R had some activity in school and we had to buy minimum and it was remaining..so R and I saw this recipe and I thought chalo we will make only to make it like ..well…like..well..lets not dwell on that..its too heart breaking!

      Big hugs darling

  10. garima says:

    Hehhehe I love this R,so cute she is.Oh that navratre celebration reminds me of my childhood where we would go not to enjoy food but to collect money πŸ˜‰

  11. techie2mom says:

    when she says β€˜Amma, potty aayi, zor se aayi’ LOL!!! But Amazing, how does she think of such ideas???!!?!

    i can relate to ur parlour situation completely. most of the time i too get fully grown muchhee & beard before i get them removed 😦 but 1 good thing is there is a sweet lady who comes to home to do the parlour stuff, & she is sweet enough to adjust to the sleeping time of my 2 year old zini. and yes, when they remove the black heads it hurts a lot :((at least to me).

    BTW, this ashtami puja is called kanjke in north. little girls are considered Durga during Navratri hence they do puja to little girls. Children really enjoy this, they get nice chole, puri & halwa, get gifts, chocolates, juice & what not. But not all of those who are performing this puja respect girls . i have seen a few people who don’t want a girl child but they are performing this puja. they really don’t respect the girls, but still they are praying to little girls, god knows why.

    you make so many prasadam!!! so don’t feel heartbroken about the soup, as for every not so tasty soup, you have been making 3 yummy prasadam (statstics says!!)

    have a gr8 day πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Your lady is really sweet rey..even my Amma had one in Baroda..abhi in Goa she is still searching around πŸ™‚

      Hey Thanks for the info on the pooja..I didnt know that….

      Awww…you are so sweet..thanks rey

  12. ashreyamom says:

    bath thing reminded me of my college days. tat time it used be sprinkling water on body either because we are late, or its not my bathroom timing or no water. πŸ™‚
    potty scene is really hilarious.. R knows how to wake you up.. smart girl i say..
    parents not attending children, reminds me yet another bike Advt.
    wow.. u managed to pamper yourself. good.. u need to do it once in while..
    i have learnt a lesson long back. never try what chief show on TV.. u will never like the taste.. u always need to modify it, for it to taste better.

  13. Tanishka says:

    R just knows how to get her mommy on her toes… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    She is a sweetheart… πŸ™‚
    During my childhood even I used to go with my friends for aloo puri n chola puris…. No one treats us now… πŸ˜›

  14. lolz at the Brat and her brainwaves πŸ˜†

    I think I am exactly like you when it comes to going to the parlor……bole toh in my entire lifetime I have been only once to the parlor to get my face pampered that too because people kept on telling me that on my own wedding day I should not look like a gorilla πŸ˜₯

    Thank god for a neighbor who does threading….or else I would look like the man in the relationship with my mustache and kroorsingh type eyebrows πŸ˜›

  15. Seema says:

    Children are Murphy’s ambassadors re. The day when you really badly terribly wanna sleep, they are wide awake at their earliest best πŸ™‚

    About your headless bath, I second Ashwathy… Why do you call it a bath anyway? πŸ™„

    ROFL on ‘sun up ho jayega’ and the other day she said ‘Uncle aunty down ho gaye’… Awesome!

    Again ROFL on ‘anyways, so we are now up rising and shining’ – without brushing teeth???!!!

  16. Seema says:

    If you had to use up the Masoor Dal, you could just make dal or sambhar out of it na? If it was too meagre, you could have mixed it with whichever dal you use daily πŸ™‚

    For all the spanish omelettes and Rajma curries that he makes for you, you give him masoor dal soup that he has to gulp down ASAP to avoid the taste in his mouth!! :LOL:

    Hey by the way, long time you made burger on Sunday eh?

  17. Seema says:

    Three ‘Gah’s in a single comment… (How I love pulling your leg!) πŸ˜†

  18. LOL @ It tastes like dal na?

    That sounds like such a fun-filled weekend. Yumm foodstuff! πŸ™‚

    R sounds so cute, and RD too – your descriptions are too cute. ‘Feet dangling out of the bed’ and ‘I was kidding!’. Enjoyed reading the post!

    You treated yourself?! Wow! I manage to do that sometimes, but I can imagine how difficult it must be with a brat. Kudos to you!

  19. TheBurntMap says:

    ..she just walks in without a backward glance..and I am like yaa whatever!!!!
    LOL!!! Brat is a rockstar!!

  20. Chucky is also doing these potty tricks with me..YAY for the parlor πŸ™‚

  21. Vidya says:

    Lol! How totally R-ish to give a false potty alarm and shake you out of the slumber:)

    Good you treated yourself! Truly deserving:-)

  22. Scribby says:

    treating yourself like this [500/- rs πŸ˜› πŸ˜› ] in a long time really feels great no? Reminds me I’ve to loosen my purse strings and snatch some time out my clock πŸ™‚

  23. Kavitha says:

    you sent RD for a hair cut on FRIDAY, that too in the evening??!!! you are definitely not a tambrahm… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

