A Deliciously Driven Weekend

Errr….forgive the title..thats the best I can come up with..

It was a weekend of absolutely AMAZING food..and travel…please dont read further if you are hungry before breakfast or before lunch or even before dinner πŸ™‚

Friday night was one of my old office friend’s wedding…it was in the other side of New Bombay, and going there means coming back is 3 hours which means we decided to stay overnight at my aunt’s place nearby there…

I took the train while RD and R followed later on..they got so late that they went to my aunt’s place directly while I went for the wedding.

It was an amazing Bengali cermony…I mean my former boss and I reached at about 7.15..and then we were just in time for the actual cermony..conches, the lovely way the Bengalis make noise which the cermony is on..amazing…

The best part the food..for the first time in my WHOLE life I ate at a wedding where there was just perfectly adequate choice of food…

Wait before that let me say that my friend looked a dream..total dream in the Bengali bridal wear….she was midst the cermony and boss and I were standing…her eye caught us and the smile she gave…Ah! my heart was so glad…as if she was so happy to see us..and then she starts looking at us and giggling midst the cermony….the pandit wonders whats wrong πŸ˜‰

Anyways, then we had the following food

Starters

1. Mini Pizza

2. Paneer Achari

(I am talking only about the veg starters eh…there were tons of non veg starters as well…what did you expect? A bengali wedding without fish πŸ™‚ )

Then for the main course there was

1. Pasta

2. Freshly cut fruits

3. Salad

4. 4 different types of papads

5. Rice

6. Mushroom gravy subji

7. Dal Makhani

8. Small freshly made rotis

9. Roasted almond icecream

10. Rasmalai

I loved loved loved the food..theΒ  menu was just perfect..not too much food as they usually have at weddings..and it wasnt too oily or anything…perfection!

Then went to aunt’s house..

Saturday

Perima made for breakfast

1. Dosas

2. Green mango coconut chutney

3. Sambhar (small onion)

4. Molaga podi

At about 11.30, RD and my cousin S decided that they wanted to drive down to Mahad….Perima peripa were a bit reluctant but the jamai of the family RD won over the argument and we started at 12ish by car

RD drove for a while and then my cousin S…

It was PURE FUN!!! I have never enjoyed a car ride so much…We finally went for about 10 minutes to Kashid beach (we didnt go to Mahad)Β and came back at about 8…of course the food on the way

Lunch

1. Misal Pav

2. Puri Bhaji

3. Curd rice

4. Fresh lime soda sweet

5. Fresh Chaas

It was fresh desi food and it was YUMMM!

In the evening while returning, we stopped again and had

1. Vada Misal (Its the vada of the vada pav soaked in misal πŸ˜‰

2. Fresh tea

and then at home, since Perima had already made lunch we had it as dinner

1. Sambhar

2. Kootu

3. Moore kuntan

4. beans carrot cabbage subji

5. rice

6. Papad

7. Curd

8. Vadams

and tons of aachar etc etc

R and I just went off to sleep..IΒ  have no clue what the others did!

Sunday

We left early for home…Perima packed the left over sambhar, bread, pakodams, gave me some fresh methi and pudina and what not…she was like Santa claus or something πŸ™‚

Reached home and both RD and I were competing on who was more efficient

Had bread upma for breakfast…washed clothes, cleaned the balconies, cut the veggies, cleaned the plants etc which needed a lot of tender love and care, washed the bathrooms, made pudina chutney, aloo curry, rice (Sambhar was already there) so ate EVERYTHING

and went off to zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Got up to get socks for R for school and someΒ fruits etc…

Had aloo parathas in the night…this turned put pretty yummy and went back to sleep..

I wish we could go to perima’s house every weekend..it would be so much fun πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to A Deliciously Driven Weekend

  1. Correction:
    couches? – Conches I think…

    Man! Even if I have had a good enough brkfast – looking at all that list of food makes me drool still… You stop writing so much about food okie? Just looking at that list makes me feel fat! :-O

  2. Wow, the wedding menu was perfect!! And small freshly made rotis are a rarity–it shows the care that went into planning the feast.

    I’ve attended too many parties here in Chandigarh where I’ve lost my appetite taking a look at the mind-boggling varieties of food on offer and ended up having only some ice-cream.

    • R's Mom says:

      oh yaa….my friend and her elder sister are pretty much perfectionists πŸ™‚

      I know when there is an over dose of menu to choose from, it becomes difficult na

  3. That sounds like such a lovely, fun-filled weekend. I could do with one such now. πŸ™‚

    I want that raw mango chutney… NOW!!! Please to share the recipe if possible..

    I have never attended a Bengali wedding, but have always wanted to. πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Errrr…recipe…lemme call up perima and ask her and will pass it on to you πŸ™‚

      Bong weddings are fun yaar…well..the wedding is okie,…the food is droolworthy πŸ™‚

  4. lifesong says:

    Nice weekend :). You went to Kashid beach … that is my favorite beach around Mumbai and the drive up to there is amazing πŸ™‚ . We go there every year. But you spent only 10 minutes there ?

  5. meeta panicker says:

    okay… so u were a glutton and now have really tempted me to go on a foodie trail…

    btw its conch and not a couch… tho i can understand u might have wanted a couch to sleep in after the hectic day.

    on another note u must try to go to velas with r, she’ll get to see baby turtles being led to sea

    • R's Mom says:

      Arey I am a total glutton πŸ™‚

      yes yes to your second line πŸ™‚

      Velas is it? never heard of it *goes off to google*

      • meeta panicker says:

        http://www.villageofturtles.blogspot.in/

        try this. try fitting it in ur schedule this year… she’d love it and then u can also be a glutton and eat all the delicious food that the villagers make and oh boy we ate and ate
        roti, misal, usal, amti, puranpoli, batata wadas, bhakri , rice, koshimbir, dal, batata bhaji etc etc…
        and beach is really nice and clean and u can play in the water for what seemed ages :d

  6. Smita says:

    Your weekend surely soudns delicious!!!!

    We just relaxed and enjoyed Mom ke haath ki egg curry! Yummy it was!!!! πŸ˜€

  7. uma says:

    I think I’ll shift into your house just for these fun-filled and packed weekends..:-)

  8. Sreetama says:

    Wow! Nice to know that u enjoyed in a wedding! It’s fun i tell you! And your post couldn’t have been titled better! πŸ˜€

  9. Ashwathy says:

    Hahha long live Perimas!! πŸ˜€

    I went to my first Bengali wedding last year so I quite understand what you mean by tantalizing menu. *slurp*
    I also took a trip to Kashid the year before so yep your excitement is undestandable πŸ™‚

  10. Swaram says:

    Woww a delicious weekend indeed. But no R-isms in between !?! 😐

  11. Mere ko bahuth envy…..reading about all that food you had πŸ˜₯ I wish someone would feed me non stop the entire weekend or even the week 😦

  12. A Deliciously Driven Weekend?
    Or
    A Menu Driven weekend?

    Between Friday and Monday morning you consumed:

    Mini Pizza, Paneer Achari, Pasta, Freshly cut fruits, Salad, different types of papads, Rice,Mushroom gravy subji, Dal Makhani, Small freshly made rotis, Roasted almond icecream, Rasmalai, Dosas, Green mango coconut chutney, Sambhar (small onion), Molaga podi, Misal Pav, Puri Bhaji, Curd rice, Fresh lime soda sweet, Fresh Chaas, Vada Misal, Fresh tea, Sambhar, Kootu, Moore kuntan, beans carrot cabbage subji, rice, Papad, Curd, Vadams, tons of aachar, bread, pakodams, fresh methi and pudina, upma , and aloo parathas

    Your name is being entered in the GV’s book of World Records for the widest variety in food consumed in the shortest time

    You forgot to mention two things.

    1)What was your weight on Friday?
    2)What was your weight on Monday?

    Just curious (and also jealous)

    Regards
    GV

    • R's Mom says:

      WHAT!!! did I eat so much…hai bhagwan…I didnt even realise till you put it all together…

      Errr…answer to your questions

      1) I could get my jeans to button up with great difficulty by holding in my paunch all the time
      2) I came back home in my pyjamas πŸ™‚

      • Seema says:

        After Ashwathy, I now look forward to read comments from Vishvanaathjee in your blog πŸ™‚

        Loved your answers πŸ™‚ Be careful, next time you might have to come back in your Periappa’s lungi if Pajamas don’t fit you πŸ˜€

  13. vethal says:

    awesome !!! lucky girl to have such loving family ( perimaas etc).. I have some that only know to bitch 😦

  14. Make me drool and feel all envious why don’t you! 😦

  15. Bikram says:

    My god how can someone eat that much in a weekend .. you are making me so jealous now I thought it was me who cud eat that much..

    πŸ™‚

  16. Meenapriya Thulasiprakash says:

    I am jealous to the power infinity. I am a regular reader of your blog since last year. I am now in Japan for a short business trip void of any edible item I could think of and you post all these 😦 😦 😦

  17. My Era says:

    I am so glad I too had almost ( I say so because there are many food names in your list I have no clue what they are like Molaga Podi) all you ate over the weekend w/o going to any wedding πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Love your action and food packed weekends πŸ™‚

    πŸ˜† πŸ˜† @ your aunt being santa claus

  18. Looks a super fun filled weekend RM πŸ™‚

  19. Tanishka says:

    Drooollling…. Bengali food is very yumm and I can say that coz two of my flatmates are bengali and whenever their mom’s come to our place we get t eat some awesome food… πŸ™‚

  20. MaybornGemini says:

    Oh!!!! I want your perima now….

  21. You really had a great weekend … considering what a foodie I am, this was a perfect weekend πŸ™‚

  22. Smitha says:

    As if your regular weekend tales are not tantalizing enough, you had to write more about food this time πŸ™‚ I would give an arm and a leg to get to all that food πŸ™‚

  23. anisnest says:

    I wish you show us the way to perima’s house too πŸ˜‰ Sighhh ok just because you wrote all this I am writing my part.. I made Kadhi for the first time on Saturday (that was lip smacked by the other two species at home) and made chicken biriyani for Sunday’s lunch ***sticking tongue out***

  24. hitchy says:

    Hopeless post this… :-/

  25. Seema says:

    To make you any jealous, this is what we had during our weekend:

    Saturday:
    BF – Rava Semiya Idli and Pudina Chutney
    Lunch: Veg Fried Rice, Gobi and Paneer Manchurian
    Dinner: Rice, Dal, Omelette and left over lunch

    Sunday:
    BF – Paratha and Chhole
    Before lunch – Watermelon
    Lunch – Rice, Dal, Pui Chingri and Shorshe Dharosh
    Evening – Bhutta
    Dinner – Home Made Pizza, left over lunch and fish fry

    Only thing is everything was made by me 😦 How I wish to hog on food cooked by someone else 😦

    • R's Mom says:

      Seema forget Abbas bhai..you just marry me yaar…I swear I will do all the cleaning work as long as I get fed such lovely food…you are a rockstar *Falls at feet and asks for blessings*

Leave a Reply

