Why I Qualify Not To be Anyone’s Friend

Okie so tell me something…if your best friend from high school and college is pregnant…wouldnt you know?

OF course you would..I mean ANYONE would okie?

But me, the world’s stupidest friend..HAD NO CLUE!!! and yesterday I get a message in the afternoon that said

We have been blessed with a granddaughter. Mother and infant are fine. – SU

The only one with the initials I know, as SU, is my friend’s father in law…

But, But, I also know that my friend has a brother in law who is younger to her and I thought he got married and got a baby girl

But anyways, I thought chalo let me try calling..and I called up my friend’s husband..(Errr..dont ask me why I didnt call up my friend!)ย I dont have an answer to that!

So I call him up and say

RM: Hey

G: Hey

RM: errr…its RM

G: of course I know its you

RM: Errr…so who got a baby??

G: We got a baby

RM: No, I mean who in the family got a baby?

G: We got a baby RM!!

RM: No no, I mean to ask if she is YOUR baby…your’s and N’s baby!!

G: Laughing..yes yes..she our baby

RM: OMG! Oh Sh*t, Oh Sh*t! I had no clue…I mean…you got another baby…I mean..I mean..OMG!!

G is laughing on the phone and I am screaming on the phone and the entire office is looking at me as if I am some kind of a nut!! you know those people they show on movies who shout at the most unexpected of times when there is total silence around!!

I mean, here is N, who got married AFTER I did, who got her first baby AN YEAR after mine! and she got another baby!! I mean, for God’s sake, Another baby!!

and before that of course, I had read on FB, that her sis got engaged…and me being me, the big foot in the mouth, write to her saying ‘How can you get engaged, you are a baby..when did you grow up so much’

She being the sweet one says ‘Well Didi, I grew up’ or something in those lines..

I mean, I am still under shock about her engagement and I get such a message Phew!

I havent been in touch AT ALL..with my friend N..she lives in Mumbai, and yet I have been too busy to even call and ask how are you? I am pathetic I tell ya ๐Ÿ˜ฆ totally pathetic ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

and then there is more..

RM: Errr…so they are doing well are they?

G: yes yes..both of them are fine

RM: oh okie..

and then I ask him ‘ WHY ON MARCH 1ST, WHY NOT FEB 29TH’

G: Errr…well the baby was born today na?

RM: So why not yesterday? (sounding angry)

G: trying to placate me: Well she was admitted yesterday but the doctor asked us to wait for a day

RM: why, why..she could have been a leap year day baby na??

G: I am sure he was wondering what sort of a friend does his wife have: Well..

RM: achaย forget it, abhiย I will meet them okie?

G: of course..

and then I realised I had no clue if she was at her mom’s place or here

RM: Errr…where are they?

G: At the hospital!

RM: Arey, where are they meaning which city?

G: oh! Mumbai only

RM: okieย okie..tell N I will come and meet her in some days okie?

G: okie..

and in the WHOLE conversation, I didntย even realise that I should be congratulating him!!! *Rolls eyes*ย I mean thats the FIRST thing you do when you talk to a new dad na!!!

Thankfully years of grilling on good manners by Ammaย Appa flared up and I said ‘Oh G by the way Congrats!!”

G: thanks rey!

and we cut the call….

I was so so excited…

I call up RD

RD: yes

RM: areyย RD RD RD

RD: yes

RM: Areyย I have such news to tell you yaar

RD: yes

RM: arey you are busy or what?

RD: yes

RM: arey but listen na

RD: yes

RM: N..you know my friend N right?

RD: yes

RM: arey my friend N from college..

RD: yes

RM: arey she got a baby girl yaar..today only..I spoke to G

RD: oh great congrats

RM: I am so excited

RD: yes

I then realise that he is probably in a meeting or something and must be busy..but I HAD to share the news with someone na!! so the first person who came to my mind was RD..so I called him..but with his ‘yes-ings’ I should have realised GAH!

Well..at the end of the post…

two things

1) I AM A MASIย all over again..her 3 year old boy is a cute adorable sweetie..and now a girl…yayayay!!! awesome awesome awesome

2) I dontย think I qualify the title of masi though for being out of touch with her for so long ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

======

PS – I have tried and created a separate page for the stories..please let me know if thats the way it should be..

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

75 Responses to Why I Qualify Not To be Anyone’s Friend

  1. AT says:

    ha ha RM, its not your fault…. You both were out of touch, so how would you know….

    Congratulations on being a massi (again :-))

  2. I really don’t understand why people don’t share such good news with friends, even I have friends who are in constant touch with me but they don’t revel the baby news till they pop out..It really upsets me but I have no right to tell when they should announce the news. I announced the news that I am pregnant with in few days after we got to know. Everyone asked us if I am 3months pregnant and I had to say no I am 4 weeks pregnant ๐Ÿ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      arey no LF..it was my mistake..she did call during my birthday, but I was busy then..and then I didnt even call back ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
      LOL on 4 weeks pregs hehehe ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. RS says:

    Congrats to the Masi …and to your friend as well.
    I was laughing out loud when you said ..why on March 1st?

    And your PS note is so cute.. Please let me know if thats the way it should be ?
    Your blog..your way…no?

    • R's Mom says:

      Hey long time…hope things are fine ๐Ÿ™‚

      Errr…I agree that my blog my way, but I was wondering if there was a better way to do it ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. That was too funny RM… ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ LOL@ the conversation with RD.. happens to me as well all the time.. we get bugged right? After all, we are trying to tell something excited to the first person that comes to your mind, which unfortunately happens to be the husband.. but those yes-ings… Grrrr!

    Its ok, you can still try now and be in touch with her here after… good friendship never fades (from my experience) ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Comfy says:

    Well well RM you are eak dum my type of friend. I am so so bad at keeping in touch but I make up for it whenever I meet my friends because I never let there be awkward moment ๐Ÿ™‚

    Congratulations to your friend and may the baby always stay is perfect health. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Ashwathy says:

    Listen you are TOTALLY pathetic. She lives in your own city, she has been your best friend since high school AND college BOTH…. and yet you have the nerve not to keep in touch with her?? ๐Ÿ˜ก

    I take pride in the fact that I keep in touch with most of my friends, no matter which end of the planet they are in !!!

    A lot of women do that once they get married…lose track of friends. Boss nobody can take the place of friends in your life! Simple si baat hai. You ALWAYS need your friends to fall back on….otherwise life becomes really dull.

    Now go and be a nice maasi and make it up to all of them. Go visit her….and OFTEN, not just now!! Buy some lovely gifts. Keep in touch, call more often. Do damage control, NOW!

  7. Hahaha, I was laughing so hard trying to imagine what G must have felt like, being asked why was your baby born today, why not yesterday, she could have been a leap year day baby na!!! Oh RM!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    Congratulations on becoming a masi all over again RM– so what if you’ve been out of touch, you still love her so much and I am sure N knows that ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. So cute! I could imagine you while I was reading through the post. ๐Ÿ™‚ Had fun!

    I have lost touch with most of my best friends from school and college too. It happens, with all of us in different cities and countries and different walks of life. Most of them are on touch on FB, but that’s different. I might not have known if my best friend was pregnant, too. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Congratulations to the new masi! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Ramya says:

    Arey RM… almost all of us ladies once we get a kid are like this… Pregnancy forgetfulness and conciousness never leave us… but ur conversation with G!!! Thats funny funny funny mam.. am still laughing (with mute) ๐Ÿ˜‰ And RD was good enough to hear it and say atleast yes.. if it had been my darling he’d have directly said am in meeting bbye… So enough of GAHs ๐Ÿ™‚ And when are you going to post R’isms?

  10. ha ha ha …. ๐Ÿ˜€ it happens.. not to worry ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. lifesong says:

    Ha ha RM you are so funny ๐Ÿ˜€ I was laughing all the way.
    Congrats for the brand new niece ๐Ÿ™‚ Go on go and meet her fast ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Arey! RM, Even Im like that only. Get caught up so much with my own everyday routine stuff that I loose touch with what’s happening. I know that its bad but I console myself that I JUST dont have enough time. So its OK, Suddeny there will be spurt of calls and we all end up meeting once a year!

    And go see the little girl and her brother soon ๐Ÿ™‚ Take R with you and tell us what she thought about the chotu baccha. And Ahem *BIG HINT HINT* ๐Ÿ˜›

  13. uma says:

    oh..congrats to your friend!
    Happens RM..sometimes we get busy with life and drift away from even people we considered very close at one point. But you called up to congratulate, so that matters ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Seema says:

    Hahaha… Mmmuahs to you!

    This post brought a huge smile to my face after posting my Part 7 post ๐Ÿ˜€

  15. Smita says:

    Congrats for becoming a maasi all over again ๐Ÿ˜€
    And don’t feel guilty re, it isn’t that you will call up and ask all your frenz, hey are u preggers??? I mean that is a news that is shared, right? You know I had a friend form college, we shared accomodation for 2 years in Ahmedabad (our first jobs) and then she moved out to Delhi. Now she is in Mumbai and we used to speak say once in 3 months or so.
    So when I was pregnant and ready to declare I was calling my slect friends & telling them, I even called her, shared her news with me & we spoke for 1/2 hr. Some 2 months later I get an sms from her saying that she has given birth to a baby girl. Now see I spoke to her for such a long time but she didn’t share her news with me jabki it was the perfect time to do so.
    Now who do u blame for such a situation? My fren? Me? (for may not understandign her ishaara’s? Or nobody?
    I wud go for the last option because such occassions call for celebrations not for regrets & guilt ๐Ÿ˜€
    So yay!!! Smile & start thinking for Ahem! the 2nd one ๐Ÿ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      Hugs and more hugs…I can so understand how you are feeling..I would have felt awful as well ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      But then this like, like I told you, its my mistake…I should have called her up ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  16. You know what, RM? Your post has actually opened my eyes! **Searches for the mobile to call J to ask if she is err pregnant**

    You really asked G about a Feb 29th baby?! ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    What’s with these husbands and their ‘yes-ing’?! Sigh.

  17. Smita says:

    I had left a really long comment, is it in moderation or in spam?? Please tell me!!!

  18. Nithvin says:

    How are you supposed to know if some one’s pregnant, unless they choose to tell you *rolls eyes*
    Even I have had some of my (not so close) friends informing after their child birth and I was like ‘didn’t even know they were pregnant!’ Even a mail or message will do to inform the pregnancy, right RM?

    Congrats on you becoming a masi again..LOL at your ‘why was the baby not born yesterday’ comment..I was thinking of you yesterday whan I read an article in TOI about leaplings born this year..

    • R's Mom says:

      Errr…no rey…I should have kept in touch..she did call me during my birthday, I was busy and then I didnt even call back ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      LOL even I read the article ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. Pepper says:

    RM, this is so terrible! I wouldn’t have reacted this way had she been just another friend, but I notice you called her your ‘best friend from school and college’! Best friend and so out of touch that you find out about her baby only after she delivered? Then I don’t know how much you are in touch with your other friends. This is unforgivable!

    Don’t let life go by like that. You do seem to have made a lot of blog friends, that you are now in touch with even offline. You do keep writing about meeting them. I hope you find time to connect with your non virtual friends too ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Ah I know what you mean about it being hard to keep in touch sometimes. I have a friend who lives literally 5 mins away and I haven’t seen her since June last year. It’s hard when you get caught up with life and she’s busy too with 2 kids and work…oh well…

  21. If this is the case you do have a friend in me for sure! ๐Ÿ˜› because I am extremely bad in keeping touch not because I don’t have the time or anything like that. I think it has to do with my severe aversion to that thing called a “Telephone”. I am good at keeping in touch with neighbors or anyone who is at a driving distance but ask me to call up a person and talk to them…….well I would rather curl up under the blanket and sneeze for the entire day ๐Ÿ˜ ๐Ÿ˜ณ

    ๐Ÿ˜† at why not on Feb 29. Sheesh the man must have been pretty decent to give you such a sweet answer. Evil people like me would have given you a lecture on why the kid wouldn’t pop out on Feb 29 ๐Ÿ˜‰

    sigh…now you will have to shop for baby stuffs na??? How will you do it RM considering your special love for shopping :mrgreen:

    • R's Mom says:

      True…even I am a bit bad in keeping in touch via telephone…but I should should!!

      arey dont ask why I did the whole talk with him…now I am feeling so weird about it ๐Ÿ™‚

      All shopping is outsourced to RD ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Sreetama says:

    This doesn’t make you a bad friend RM! Chill! What makes you a good friend is that you called up, asked about their well being, congratulated the father & promised to meet them and share the good news with RD instantly to share your excitement! Keeping in touch is not one person’s responsibility & it should come from both the friends. Now go & meet N & the baby, kiss & make up! Congrats for being masi again! ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. Sreetama says:

    Oh just wanted to share, on a funny note! Yesterday a friend had a baby boy. She is so proactive on FB that she updated her status before going for labour, “God, bless me!” and uploaded the picture of her son today, I mean howcome you get so much enthu to update on FB after 24 hours of delivery!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  24. Swaram says:

    Happens with any of us RM. U r such a sweetheart to have called and wishes G so well ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Hugss and go go see the baby soon! I so wanna read R’s reactions to the baby ๐Ÿ˜›

  25. My Era says:

    Let me begin with hugs, for your post felt as if you were too excited and guilty at the same time.
    Now since you and I both are a lot calmer, CONGRATULATIONS on becoming a Maasi yet another time ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ Don’t feel so guilty RM it actually happens with so many of us to get caught up in our daily lives that we fail to stay in touch even with the closest of people.
    Now get planning your visit to meet N and your cute little niece.
    Sending loads of love and blessings for the little darling ๐Ÿ˜€

  26. Bikram says:

    BLess you , you know sometimes when i read your posts it reminds me of ME.. how i react sometimes when my cousin had a baby , I flew to india for 2 days ๐Ÿ™‚ yeah i can react like that sometimes …

    MAde me smile at that way you had your conversation with RD and him Yes-ing …

    and hey all this your best friend having a second baby , after she had the first one a year later .. ITS A SIGNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN …. ๐Ÿ™‚

    ok ok dont shoot me now .. I just thought I write in bold to make sure you get it .. ITS A SIGNNNNNNNNN

    You are a lovely person and I am glad I have a friend like you out there even if its Miles apart , the posts show warmth and what fun it would be to finally meet the R Family ๐Ÿ™‚ the trio of you ..

  27. Swarna says:

    It’s Ok. R’s mom she’s your friend, she will understand you. You are a very sweet friend else why will she keep in touch for all these years ๐Ÿ™‚
    Even I am very bad at keeping in touch. I don’t call people for years together. Can’t help R’s mom.
    Manufacturing mistake ๐Ÿ™‚
    Congrates to the new masi and your friend.
    Swarna

  28. Smitha says:

    LOL! You are my morning dose of entertainment ๐Ÿ™‚ You interrogated the poor man on why she did not have the baby on Deb 29th ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. hitchy says:

    You know I am a small town guy… I shifted to Indore a much bigger city and loathed… even my friends from Bharuch who are in Pune or Delhi or Mumbai… all complain they barely are able to catch up with friends in their city… is it a big city problem ?? going to work and back and after that no time left ???

  30. anisnest says:

    Congratulations Massi… I can feel your excitement :).. do go and see them soon okie?

  31. LOL that really was too much, not the ‘not staying in touch’, that happens I think, but all the guilt and the hilarious reactions ๐Ÿ™‚ So now when is the maasi going to see her niece now?

  32. Sorry, but this is hilarious ๐Ÿ™‚

  33. A sign of the times, perhaps.
    We keep in touch over the net with persons we have never met
    But not with those we have met and known in flesh and blood.
    You know what?
    My internet contacts know more about me than my next door neighbour.
    I have not seen and met some friends living in my city whom I have known for over thirty eight years except accidentaly at a mall or at some wedding halls and I can’t recognise their grown up children.
    This didn’t happen in the good old days.
    News of pregnancies would get around and it was simply impossible to keep it a secret.
    “aunties” could to spot a pregnant woman from as early as a few months.
    They didn’t need to wait for the bulge to show.
    Once seen by one “aunty”, the news would soon be all over town.
    Sometimes I feel networking was better in real life, before the days of the internet.
    Regards
    GV

    • R's Mom says:

      Once seen by one โ€œauntyโ€, the news would soon be all over town.
      – hahahha! I burst out laughing on this one

      Yes you are right…face to face interaction is so much better

  34. Tanishka says:

    I won’t say if its right or wrong RM but even I’ am very bad at keeping in touch with my friends and I’ll try changing this habit…

  35. I can imagine your state of mind. But don’t feel so much guilty RM. Come on it is a good thing that has happened to your friend so just take that extra step, go to her and congratulate her. She and you both were pretty busy that’s it. How are yo supposed to know that your best friend is getting pregnant if she is not telling you? It has nothing to do with you not calling her and so on. I mean you live such a hectic life (almost like a Bollywood star I feel!) and then you should not complain that you are not caring enough for n number of people you should care for! I mean anytime I read your week end blogs, I find it amazing the way you do them all.
    Come on, celebrate being a busy woman and stop cribbing!

    • R's Mom says:

      Well like I mentioned earlier, she did call on my birthday, I didnt call back :(:(

      Almost like a bollywood star – hahahah! you are a sweetie arent you..see me puff up my chest :):)

      Yes yes…I am going to stop cribbing and go and meet my friend and niece ๐Ÿ™‚

  36. Pv says:

    Hi , love ur sense of humour and writing style. Keep up the enthu flowing

  37. aame says:

    Awww that was so funny !!! Congrats to the Maa and Maa-si ๐Ÿ™‚

  38. Pingback: Of Blood Donations and Such | R's Mom

Leave a Reply

