On Fathers and Stories

So my Amma calls me the other day and tells me that my never-liking-my-daughter-blogging Appa read my stories after Amma held him at gunpoint cajoled him to read them, and actually liked them…

Technically this is a great compliment, but Appa being Appa calls me the next day night (when I am errrmmm kinda sleeping!) and says ‘hey kid’

RM: yaawwnn

RMD: Are you sleeping?

RM: Appa, yes of course

RMD: okie

and cuts the phone…WHAT!!!

Did I tell you ever about his waking-my-child-up-on-time-even-if-the-said-child-is-30-and-mother-of-one habit…yes he does that….he used to call at 7 in the morning on Sundays *this was eons ago when I wasnt a mother…now his grand daughter ensures she follows the tradition and wakes me up even earlier!* 

and ask ‘aacha you both are sleeping kya?’ I mean boss, newly married couple sleep till 11 in the morning on Sundays…but what to tell him 😉

and now its-wake-up-my-child-at-10-in-the-night-and-ask-her-if-she-was-sleeping habit…

anyways so the next day morning, I call him up asking him what happened,

RMD: Nothing

RM: Appa, you called na

RMD: oh yes yes, I liked your stories a lot…will you tell me a carrot, beetroot and onion ka story

RM: !!!!

See, this is what happens when your never-will-read-your-blog Appa starts reading stories…his expectation levels are unreasonable!!

PS – This happened right after I put up the stories, just didnt get the opportunity to post it!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

79 Responses to On Fathers and Stories

  1. hitchy says:

    Hum woh hai…
    jo jahana khade hote hai…
    line wahi se shuru hoti hai…

    Hee haw First ! :mrgreen:

  2. hitchy says:

    Gee.. ! your dadda reading your blog !

    I kinda almost dont want any of my relatives to read my blog !

  3. Woww.. Vasishtar vaayala brahma rishi! 😀 😀

    My grandma has this annoying habit of waking up people from sleep to ask if they were actually sleeping! Sigh. I can understand your phone-plight!

    ‘but Appa being Appa calls me the next day night ‘ – How can a day and night come together? So so sorry to say this. But I really couldn’t resist okay! **Runs before RM comes with a broom in hand**

  4. zephyr says:

    So I am not the only grandparent who likes your stories, see? And did you think about getting them published yet?

  5. hahahaaha 😀 Just like my dad on waking us up… dads are cute… 😛

  6. summerscript says:

    Your appa is a sweetheart RM! 🙂
    Please tell him (and us) a carrot,beetroot and onion story 😀

  7. Cool! So now lets have one story for RMD also 🙂 And yeah – I know about those waking up calls! *Sigh*

  8. Awwwww this is so cute!
    Now I want a carrot, beetroot, onion story too. Pliss to oblige. Hee hee

    I can relate to this post. My parents still call me up early in the mornings, or late in the night – just to check whether I am awake. 😛

  9. Hahaha, will you tell me a carrot, beetroot and onion ka story–he is so sweet 😀
    LOL at him waking you up at 7 in the morning on Sundays during your newly married days 😀

  10. garima says:

    See even uncle who hardly reads your blog also has become fan of your stories.That means you really write well…think RM you can make so much money with this talent of yours 🙂

  11. Lol – your dad is too cute! 🙂

  12. Nithvin says:

    Your appa is so cute RM..so why don’t you write a ‘carrot, onion & beetroot’ story for appa..he is getting as young as our kids 😉

    My dad had this policy of not letting my siblings call us at 12 midnight to wish for new year or birthday when we were newly married..but now that we are an ‘old’ married couple all those rules have just vanished 😦

    I was wondering why you hadn’t approved the comments even till evening yesterday..read your comment on your last post and realised you were busy at work..see you have so many of us watching out for you now 🙂

  13. lifesong says:

    Your dad is so sweet 🙂 So when can we expect the carrot, beetroot and onion ka story? 🙂

  14. Smita says:

    Awww!! He is proud of you re 🙂
    You know even my bro used to do this, when I was single he would call me early every single Sunday and irritate me. Despite all my warnings and fightings when hhe didn’t sudhro I started keeping my mobile on silent! 😀

    • R's Mom says:

      when he didnt sudhro – oye..R ki hawa lag rahi hai eh?

      Arey Appa doesnt understand that logic..he will call on the landline then *Rolls eyes*

  15. Ramya says:

    And pls pls tell me u formed a story with Carrot, Beetroot and onion.. Publish it soon… By the way about wake-up-my-child-only-when-shes-asleep is a habit of all dads.. including my hubby waking up thejas and confusing him with playful tones… DADS NEVER CHANGE 😉

  16. Seema says:

    Abbas and I have been planning to go to Goa for ages. If the plans ever materialize, I’m gonna meet your parents. They are both too too cute 😀

  17. Iyoo now that I know your parents read your blog…am scared to comment 😐 what if they mark in red all my spelling and grammar mistakes eh? 😥

  18. A-kay says:

    So, I am thinking you should probably start a weekly column where each of us can give you 3 (or more) characters like potato, apple etc and you spin a story around it… now, block my IP ok? 😉

  19. My Era says:

    I can so relate to the dad waking me up even now 😀 😀

  20. Vidya says:

    ha ha! but why does appa not like the daughter blogging? and did you cook up a story for him?! Pls post!

  21. Deeps says:

    Lol, that’s so so sweet of your father to have woken up…err…called to tell you that he liked your posts! And he wanted to hear a story of carrot beet root and onion..that was classic!

    You know you should have a separate page with links to all those stories on your blog! It will be a great reference point for all the moms and future-moms, trust me 🙂 🙂

  22. Uncle is too cute 🙂
    AB refused to tell me the story of train and the monkey who was the driver. He said its too complicated. 😦
    Please mereko bhi story bata na 🙂

  23. Ashwathy says:

    This has to be the CUTEST post on your blog in recent times!! 😀 D 😀
    I’m loving it !! :mrgreen: HAHAHA
    So, did you tell him the story? 😛

  24. Bikram says:

    He he he you know my dad haD this bad habit if he was going to visit someone he would go early morning and he did this when he had come to uk, I use to tell him Dad dont people dont like that especially on the weekend .. but he would do it …

    and BY the way your dad asked you something which according to you was some time ago, YOU have not written a story haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa bad bad elders ki baat mante hain.. now when “R” doesnot listen to you . then you will say she is not listening .. you did the same hana ..

    now quick another story on the prefereed ingrediants WHAT say 🙂 he he he he

  25. Tanishka says:

    And you still don’t want to publish these stories, eh??

  26. anisnest says:

    my appa is that “call-exactly-at-2:35-pm-on-the-weekend” type 🙂 the time when you are done with the heavy lunch and almost enter your snoozeland 🙂
    Arey tell him the story I shared na with beetroot, carrot and onion as why we cry while cutting onion 😀
    next time when appa calls tell him that you have a sishyai also theek hai?

  27. Smitha says:

    Your Dad is so sweet!!! And pliss to fulfill his wishes and to post here as well 🙂

  28. Swaram says:

    He he he 😛 😛

Leave a Reply

