The StoryTeller in Me – This One for ScribbleHappy

Disclaimer: Extremely childish story follows below..read at your own risk πŸ™‚

ScribbleHappy’s (Β http://musingsofanunknownindian.wordpress.comΒ )little one asked her for a story of Chilka (Skin/peel)

That got me thinking *Not that I need a lot to think* so yesterday when the brat was refusing to have a bath, I told her that I will tell you a story and you should have a bath..yes yes, bribing and all that 😦

So, here is the story

Once there was a little girl (LG) who used to do a lot of natak to eat fruits and vegetables..

R: Main? (asking if she does natak)

RM: Errr…you sometimes do natak okie?

R: nahi, main toh very good girl che…(No, I am a very good girl)

RM: yaa right! anyways so she never used to eat fruits and vegetables..her Amma used to keep telling her, arey eat arey eat other wise how will you get strong…

but she never listened

one day, her amma went to the market and got red juicy apples…LG asked, Amma yeh apples red kyun hai?

Amma said ‘Because their cover is red’

Little girl said ‘I want red, I want red’

Amma was very happy and she washed the apple and cut it when the little girl said ‘Now I dont want, its fruit, yuck!’

R: kyun amma?

RM: kyun ki she was a natak!

R: but main toh fruit eating na?

RM: you toh eating everything under the sun..

R: hehehehehhehehe

RM: anyways, as soon as Amma, decided to cut the chilka of the apple, a voice said ‘dont cut me dont cut me’ (make scared voice)

Amma, said ‘hai who is this?’

LG got scared

R: Amma, yeh Maago bola kya? (Maago is the character that R is scared of !)Β 

RM: no no, it was the chilka.

LG asked her Amma ‘ Amma who is speaking?

Amma, said pata nahi beta, let me check...they looked around the house but they saw no one..

Again they heard a voice ‘dont cut me dont cut me, I am the chilka of the apple’

LG said ‘amma amma chilka is speaking???‘ Amma was also wondering how that is possible

Chilka said ‘LG LG you have to eat me as well’

LG: kyun?

Chilka (C): because I am good for health

LG: But I dont like you (make a face of not liking)

Chilka: but but have you tasted me?

LG: no

Chilka: then how do you know whether I am tasty or not…

LG thinks about it and then says ‘I doooonnnnt know (R has this typical style of saying I dont know in a sing song manner, so I imitated that!)

Chilka: Acha, you know something, we chilkas are always thrown away but we are the ones with loads of vitamins and minerals, if you eat us with the fruits and veggies, you will become strong and can run fast and play more and dance nicely

LG: Saachmein?

Chilka: yes yes..acha lets play a game, you name the fruit/vegetable and then I will tell you whether you can eat the chilka or not?

LG: wow! game playing…yayayayya! I love playing games…okie…lets start with you..Apple?

C: yes

LG: Mango

C: yes

LG: Grapes

C: yes

LG: Pineapple

C: no its too kadak Β na

LG: Tomato

C: yes

LG: potato

C: yes

R: Amma, you cut skin of potato kyun?

RM: errrr….errrr… (stupid story I think in my mind) okie I will not cut

R: yes dont cut, Chilka said no na ? (She is pretty stern about it)

RM: okie okie..now you be little girl and I will be Chilka and you name all the fruits /veggies you know and I will let you know if we can eat the chilka or not

R: Brinjal

RM: yes

R: water melon

RM: no

R: sweet potato

RM: no

and so it went on…..easy way to teach your kids the name of fruits and veggies eh πŸ˜‰

and then R was putting on her shoes and she was like amma, phir kya hua?

RM: Well, then the LG had loads of fun playing this game with chilka and she promised the chilka that she will eat loads of fruits and vegetables with and without their chilkas everyday…

Chilka said I will come and check okie?

LG said but I am eating you as well

Chilka said, thats okie..eat me, but I will still come and check

Amma, thanked Chilka for the help and the little girl ate fruits and vegetables everyday and became a strong girl

baas, story khatam πŸ™‚

Errr…ScribbleHappy, I dont know how much your little one will like this, but I found it really helpful for R to learn the names of new fruits and veggies πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to The StoryTeller in Me – This One for ScribbleHappy

  1. Jay says:

    That’s one nice story, RM! πŸ˜€

  2. anisnest says:

    hey wassup? so early to work?

  3. anisnest says:

    wowwwwww RM.. seriously I am falling at your feet.. a sashtang namaskaram my lady.. I have now started your technique at home.. all credit goes to you and you wonly… Last Sunday when I was applying oil on Adi’s hair I told a story about tiger and duck where tiger has rough hair and duck has silky hair.. then duck educated tiger that if we apply this special coconut oil and take nice hair bath then the tiger’s hair will also become silky.. πŸ™‚ :).. – by your proud student

    • R's Mom says:

      Nope Jay bet you by about half a minute πŸ™‚

      hahahha! Please rey dont make me blush and all that…

      I loved that story…I am going to try that on R during our usual Sunday hair bath fight πŸ™‚ thank you – proud guru πŸ™‚

  4. Awww RM you are so sweet!! And you sure are as good at keeping your word as you are at spinning tales. What a story!!I am sure my LG will be delighted :-D.

    You know RM, when she asked for the chhilka story, I thought I’ll try to do an RM and see how far I go. I hit a dead-end soon enough and had to request her to kaam-chalao with the stories I know well.

    She’ sure to be very pleased to hear the chhilka story finally–I’ll tell her it’s all courtesy RM Aunty

  5. summerscript says:

    “RM: you toh eating everything under the sun..
    R: hehehehehhehehe”
    Loved this conversation πŸ˜€
    I loved this story πŸ˜€

  6. Superb idea RM…. what an innovative way to make the kids eat all veg n fruits.. and also get to know them the names.. this is not a proper story.. but i still like the narration πŸ™‚ one question.. why sweet potato with no chilka? I always use sweet potato with the chilka.. the skin is too thing actually and tastes good πŸ™‚

  7. vethal says:

    First of all kudos R’s mom. you work too but you are able to switch off all that and also spin a story for ur kiddo in the morning rush.. I admire u seriously. how do u manage to do. I need a post .

  8. Nithvin says:

    Smart way to teach kids names of fruits/veggies.. story bhi..learning bhi πŸ™‚
    My DD (darling daughter) ‘S’ {clear now ? :)} comes with weird requirements for stories now a days- bucket & mug, bucket & towel, tiger & school, giraffe & zebra.. her permutation and combination is endless..hope it doesn’t get weirder..will have to rack my brains harder than..

    Also RM, though we all know that the skin of veggies/fruits are loaden with nutrients, I read a lot now that it is better to scrape the skin of some like apples, carrots because of the all the pesticides that are being used ..so I usually peel the skin of apples, carrots for this reason..might not be necessary if you are going for ‘organic’ ones though..

    • R's Mom says:

      yes yes..clear clear πŸ™‚

      baap rey..S is really intelligent!!!

      Well I read about that too..but I somehow feel if you wash very well, its better to eat fruits with their skin on πŸ™‚

  9. Seema says:

    I was in splits at ‘RM: you toh eating everything under the sun.. R: hehehehehhehehe’
    R ki Amma, I’m gonna spank you for all the nazar podufy (OMG, did I just say that? I put 3 languages together… where did I learn it? :roll:) you do on R’s eating habits… Grrr!

    You better stop these hypothetical stories before R begins thinking that she has a 3 year old for a mother :mrgreen: She is quite mature na? But anyways, I like the way your stories have things to learn for kids and a good moral attached to it.

    Like R says ‘I doooonnnnt know’, Mantam have a trademark style of saying it. ‘Amake pata nahi’ shrugging shoulders and popping lower lip out πŸ˜€

  10. Ramya says:

    Wow… Story time again… Thanks RM πŸ™‚ and lend me a bit of ur creativity na so that I can also make stories and tell Thejas… And kudos to R for telling you sternly not to cut potato’s chilka… sometimes they remind us to follow what we teach them.. Hmmm πŸ™‚

  11. RS says:

    If Bribing is just by story telling- then you are blessed – I see kids today being bribed with Barbie Doll play sets, Play stations and these huge battery run toy cars that the kids can sit and ride and all the expensive things!

    I wouldnt mind bribing Chutku with story telling or fruit eating or even for that matter an ice cream eating bribe πŸ˜€

    By the way RM – Can you please seriously consider writing this all down in a book and getting them published? I promise I will be the first one to buy it. Really, I cant even remember the stories my granny told me as a kid so I can repeat them for my own child and here you are writing amazing stories on such simple things in such a straigh forward-child understandable ways – Im really in awe of you today.

    In one word – Wonderful!

  12. My era says:

    Superb trick to make kids learn so much about fruits ….that too out of a story made on the peel πŸ˜€

  13. You know RM…you d make up adorable little stories πŸ˜›

    sigh!! an interactive Chilka eh?? How I wish I could have someone like that to answer all those million questions the Brat asks me on a daily basis πŸ˜₯

    Are R is right no?? why why do you peel off the skin from potatoes? πŸ™„

    LG said β€˜amma amma chilka is speaking???…..god I am laughing mad at that one sentence coz it kind of reminded me of the malayalam movie Ramji Rao speaking πŸ˜† πŸ˜†

  14. Smita says:

    awww!!! this such a cute & helpful story re!!!

  15. Swaram says:

    This is such a cute way of teaching kids R’s Mom. Loved the story πŸ˜€

  16. Awwwww this is so cute! πŸ™‚
    Nice way to teach your li’l one the names of fruits and vegetables and educate him/her about the er…. chilka! πŸ˜€
    Interactive too!

    I should take parenting tips from you down the line. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  17. garima says:

    Am speechless..RM you are so talented in churning out such cute stories,.
    Aap sach consider the option of writing for kids…

  18. Ashwathy says:

    Hahah thank God R didn’t ask how will Chilka come and check after if it is eaten and gone!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    And u got too smart and carried away with your own story…and added potato to the list! πŸ˜›

    BTW if I ever want to hire a story-teller for my kids someday…I know where to look! πŸ˜‰

  19. Smitha says:

    πŸ™‚ You are a master storyteller πŸ™‚ I wish I could get Poohi to listen to these sort of stories again – but she is suddenly too grown up – and laughs at me and says, ‘Amma, now you are being silly, fruits and veggies can’t talk ‘:(

  20. Seema says:

    Where are you??? I’m worried 😦 Hope things are fine at your end RM

  21. Pingback: Tag you’re it!! « My attempt to write

  22. Loved the story … really a nice way to let your child learn their fruits and veggies … way to go RM !

  23. shail says:

    You are a genius story teller. How about a book fro kids? Just imagine! πŸ™‚

  24. Tanishka says:

    Its such a nice way to teach kids…. Me thinks you can make a vry cute n good teacher to… πŸ™‚

  25. hitchy says:

    you have been tagged… !!!! chalo abhi… shrug off the laziness and get on with it πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

