Branded or Unbranded – In search for the Perfect Pair

I am a cheap person..you know someone who never wants to spend too much money..yaa yaa..thats me… I buy my clothes off the street…I think the best shopping place is street shopping where you buy stuff for 200 Rs..

wear for 2 months discard and buy again a new set…unless its innerwear…(I buy only good quality innerwear – proud look)

Most of my kurtas and tees would have been street shopped, if it was not for RD..

RD on the other hand, is a total opposite..he buys stuff WONLY from branded shops, and gets really good quality expensive ones which last for like years and years.. if you see net-net, we spend the same amount, only my wardrobe changes every 3 months and his changes every 3 years!

But, I get some kind of a weird pleasure in buying off the street and then thinking wah! kitnaย cheap mila!!!

Though here I must point out that most of my clothes are not bought by me…its either Amma/Appaย or RD…and Amma/Appa are like RD only..they buy only expensive stuff…and stop wondering where I got the cheap streak of mine from…thats RD’s favorite analysis tool in our relationship management ๐Ÿ˜‰

Though there are few things which I believe in buying from good shops

1. Innerwear (already mentioned above)

2. Western Formalsย – you dontย get good pants of my size L preceded by a couple of XX on the street eh?

3. Jeans…

Jeans…I miss the old jeans you know..the old fashioned one..where the jeans came up right upto your waist and then flared down a bit at the bottom…the new ones are all low waist and so tight on the legs that sometimes when I sit, I can hear the creases coming behind the knee…

Low waistย often results in the jeans threatening to fall (no it wont its soย tight na) and often showing body parts which I dontย think should be really shown in public…no I am not a prude..but I draw lines to certain things in life… Low waist means that I am not comfortable wearing short t shirts…I either tug the t shirt down or pull the jeans up much to my irritation

Low waist also means that you cant sit, run, sleep, walk at your comfort…I hate the low waist jeans..and trust me I have search around for high waist ones all around the world shops of Mumbai…

madam, thatsย no longer made!! I am like what the hell… May be I should try these maternity jeans..are they good, I have always worn salwarsย during my pregnancy, because I didntย want to ‘waste’ money on jeans then ๐Ÿ˜‰ (well I did mention I was cheap eh?)

The right comfortable pair of jeans is still escaping me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Anyways I digress.

The whole point of the post is to figure out what is better, branded shops or street shops…

When I think overall, it doesntย really matter you know. Moneywise, either you change the clothes often or keepย it for a long time depending on quality. Does it look and feel or the actual shine of the cloth really matter to me – not exactly.

I am know to wear babaย adamย ke zaamein ka looking clothes and just carry them off without any issues…

RD hardly comments on my clothes, unless it gets beyond a certain limit ๐Ÿ™‚ He does try toย buy me trendy smart clothes, but if his wife doesntย have that kind of a body to carry it, why blame the poor guy ๐Ÿ˜‰

ย and then of course, I have this thing about ‘its better to change clothes once in 3 months, than once in 3 years’ย so thatsย why the attraction to street shopping.. but on a very very serious note, if you know of any company which gives high waist, comfort fit jeans???

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

116 Responses to Branded or Unbranded – In search for the Perfect Pair

  1. AT says:

    oh RM don’t tell me that they stopped high & mid waist jeans in india…
    I wear mid-waist jeans not high, not low…. Here we get all types of jeans..skinny, flare, straight, boot with different rises…
    please please tell me that once I’m back I’ll get mid-waist jeans….I don’t like low waist for the reasons mentioned by you…

    I don’t buy clothes from street shops but neither do I break my bank..I mostly shop during sales with coupons..saves me money…
    sorry can’t help with you brand for jeans ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. anisnest says:

    me first? me first? yet to read the post.. ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. anisnest says:

    I dont know which category I belong to **rolls eyes** seriously.. I have hardly done shopping for myself RM.. It was always amma and she usually buys only branded clothes. After my marriage I would have just bought handful of clothes and that’s it.. whatever I carried from my pre-marriage are still sleeping in the wardrobe so why to buy more? But logically I guess its better to go for branded clothes.. yeah I HATE those low waists jeans too.. Luckily I have bought few high waist pairs from Chennai (I think Naidu hall) and they are still in good condition.. ๐Ÿ™‚ Did you try checking online stores?

    • R's Mom says:

      These Ammas and Hubbys spoil us na ๐Ÿ™‚

      Naidu hall in Chennai *Check and report to RD*

      online stores and all nah rey…I have to try and fit into the jeans na…abhi in my online image in am only L..but in my real image I am XXL ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  4. ‘May be I should try these maternity jeans..’ – Ahem.. Ahem.. Some clue hidden there? ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. My era says:

    I dislike shopping in general. Dislike as in doing it often and not when I should shop, I don’t. But the strange streak in me is, when I actually decide to go shopping you can see me going to n number of shops to get the best of whatever I want so that I can sit at peace for a long time, which in some cases is close to a decade and even a hefty fraction of a decade.

    Coming to your question on Jeans, I haven’t shopped for jeans in India for a long while, but I agree with the goodness of waist length jeans ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      Arey even I dont like shopping..why do you think RD is the one buying me clothes ๐Ÿ™‚ He cant stand my indecisiveness…

      I love the way he shops, go in, buy, come out..me…well I get confused and confounded and wonder which one will make me look thinner and all that ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. RS says:

    Oh Man-O-Man-O-Man!!! I LOVE you for this post. I was thinking only I am this old woman wanting to wear high waist jeans and you wont believe it-I havent bought a single pair in more than 5 yrs now because I just dont find high rise and something thats not ‘stretch’, or its all tapering off at the bottom – which means my own bottom looks HUGE ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I did buy 1 maternity pair of blck jeans that I wore every friday to work. Rest of the days I wore all chiridaars only – Im also cheap like that-whats the point when you know you wont be wearing it beyond those 9 months,But I actually wore my maternity jeans well after delivery also until it became loose enough to fall off ๐Ÿ™‚

    And hey! I do go buy branded stuff but not necessarily branded all the time-I love doing shopping on Commercial street side gullies where I know I can get a unique piece for a lot lesser price than buying soemthing in shoppers’ stop and realise people of all sizes are wearing the same thing!

  7. varsha says:

    And what willya say if i tell u i got amazing full-elastic jeans pant for just Rs 50. .. ๐Ÿ™‚ And the same thing my friend got for Rs 700 from a textile showroom .. The quality is the same .

  8. Kanchan says:

    So agree with you RM on being smothered by low waist jeans all over. Low waist also makes the tummy tyres more visible ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Another thing to add to the list of quality stuff to be bought should be footwear. I am always tempted to buy the ones on the street for 100 Rs. But my usage is extensive and they break off in less than a week…and then the search for the cobbler begins. Do you know how difficult it has become to find cobblers these days?

  9. Seema says:

    Oh My Gawddd! I could’ve written this post verbatim.

    I have been hunting like crazy for high waist jeans but to no avail. I end up bashing the sales person when he says they don’t make it any more! Grrr…. The other day I saw my only pair of surviving high raise which is older than Mantam creaking and I dread the upcoming Friday!!!

    Hugs RM hugs, good luck for our high waist jeans hunt. Whoever finds one first will buy an extra pair for the other one, thik hai? *Sob sob*

  10. Jay says:

    R’s mom, I feel you! I went on a desperate spree myself, looking for the THAT right sized jeans. After 6 months of trying-i finally got one pair which actually fitted me well. There wasn’t another for me to buy.

    I don’t mind the low waist-it is current skinny jeans which adds on to my misery. My legs are so far away and away from being skinny and at the try outs, some of the jeans went up slightly above my knees only. *eyes rolling*

    • R's Mom says:

      AFter 6 months you got!! – Congrats rey…idhar toh 6 years and still trying Gah!

      All low waist are skinny no?

      skinny – hahahhaa! imagine an elephant wearing skinny jeans…imagine karo karo!!! – then you have imagined RM ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. summerscript says:

    I like street shopping too. Once I bought a kurta and everyone in office said it looked very nice.When I said I got it from street for Rs.150 they were shocked!! ๐Ÿ˜€
    And changing the wardrobe every 3 months is a beeeeg advantage!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  12. Like you I am also quite fastidious when it comes to buying innerwear and jeans– I like only expensive ones :-)–but my kurtis and tees are quite inexpensive, though not really street-shopped because there just aren’t any street-shops in Chandigarh! I just take care to shop in the few shops that offer reasonably good quality stuff at relatively modest prices–because once a buy something, I feel compelled to make it last at least a couple of years ๐Ÿ™‚
    I too don’t find these low-waist jeans any good. Will keenly follow the comments, just in case somebody knows of brands that offer comfort-fit.

    • R's Mom says:

      I just take care to shop in the few shops that offer reasonably good quality stuff at relatively modest pricesโ€“because once a buy something, I feel compelled to make it last at least a couple of years – Thats my Mom’s line!!!

  13. DI says:

    I am pretty ok with low waist jeans, though the comfort is definitely missed! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Ooh, and I love getting kurtas for cheap, I love it when I can get something for 300 bucks! Sigh!
    Ok, now for the enquiry, I have one pair of comfortable high waisted jeans which I got from Marks and Spencer. Now I know thats not the best brand for jeans per se, but they do have a variety of cuts to pick from, so check it out. Plus they are SUPER comfy! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Oye! you got before Zoe or after Zoe (Valid Q na ๐Ÿ™‚

      M&S is very expensive na?

      • DI says:

        Hehe, very valid, but that is the beauty of the pair! I got before Zo, and they fit me till I was 6 months pregnant, and now I am back in them. I am telling you very comfy!
        They cost me 800 bucks ๐Ÿ˜ M&S is not as expensive as we think! You only need to look right!

  14. Very interesting :)..things are literally same here… even i prefer changing wardrobe every 6 months… I tend to buy kurtis from commercial in bangalore.. & if I buy anything from shoppers stop & westside.or any other mall..i am sure .the next day..for sure will find another copy in office :(..so, i generally avoid shopping in malls…

    For jeans.. even I am not comfortable with the low waist jeans… if its too tight .. i am uncomfortable.. if its a bit loose.. after wearing for 1 hour ..it will start clinging….so.. for past 1 and half year ..I have been wearing a so called jeans.. but its actually legging with very good material jeans ..& it’s really-really comfortable…gives a great look of jeans.. if ur top is long enough..u know what I mean ..;)
    i believe in mumbai .. u may get it in a street style shop where they sell..western tops ( something like bhutani..or tibetan markets)

    • R's Mom says:

      even I am not comfortable with the low waist jeansโ€ฆ if its too tight .. i am uncomfortable.. if its a bit loose.. after wearing for 1 hour ..it will start clinging – THATS THE THING perfectly said!!

      Lemme check out..thanks for the info ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. vethal says:

    but lot of younger ones in work come dressed in W brand what not… sometimes you are forced to dress well too. looking at others. these days am in kurtas and jeans any day anywhere

    • R's Mom says:

      hahhaa! arey Vethal, you havent seen my dressed…I look like an Amma anyways ๐Ÿ˜‰ so its not about comparison or anything..its just that I am looking for a comfortable pair to be in ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Why do you call yourself cheap? its not so.. you’re being wise in spending money on clothes.. ๐Ÿ˜‰ cos that’s what I tell ppl who tell me i’m stringent spender especially when it comes to clothes ๐Ÿ˜› I agree with you on the buying off the street thing… I am no big fan of branded shops.. I do go there but somehow feel I shop to my fullest only if its from the street side shops… all my clothes somehow last for an year or so.. I have never had issues arguing with ppl on these terms:) The best shopping experience always is to carry around 2000rs in hand.. go to t.nagar with my sis…talk/laugh/scream loudly (have fun) raid every shop out to spend the entire amt on kurthis and dress materials.. come home, cherish those moments of bargain together ๐Ÿ˜› This is never obtained from going to a branded shop with the husband.. picking a few.. no bargain… trying to maintain the pin drop silence prevalent there.. coming home to find the only kurthi bought… it can never bring that happiness on my face…

    agree agree with you on the low waist jeans… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I do have the same feelings…

  17. Smita says:

    Hmmmsee I as such I have no major issues from buying street stuff but the main reason for not buying from there is that there is no option to try clothes and the shape that I am in right now doesn’t allow me to buy things without trying.
    Besides that yes I do have few fav brands like ‘W’, FabIndia (though the clothes are horrible expensive & not worth it), I also like ethnic clothes from Pantaloons and I prefer buying from here only because yes I do feel that the quality of clothes makes a difference.
    But at the end of the day it is a totally personal thing no.
    And jeans?? hahaha I have never really liked & don’t feel comfortable wearing them, infact i prefer the softer material waali jeans! So no idea about your query dear!

  18. Archana says:

    Yes! I searched high and low for the mid-waist comfort fit jeans and finally found it in Inorbit Malad Marks and Spencers. It is a boot leg, but it doesnt flare out stupidly… and is nicely mid-waist!
    It is a rarity I tell you – totally annoyed with the tight-fitting ultra low-waist.. what gives?! And yes, lines should be drawn – above the bum crease showing.

  19. Sreetama says:

    I am with you in this! I completely agree with you on buying clothes from the street for much lesser price & change it in 3 months rather than spending money to buy durable clothes & get bored with it! You can get your jeans stitched, if you can’t find the high waist ones.

  20. lifesong says:

    I think street shopping is an art. You must be smart enough to find the right stuff (there are no trial rooms ๐Ÿ™‚ ), should be able to bargain (there is no street shopping without bargaining)… yes but the thrill of getting something really cheap is always there ๐Ÿ™‚
    But I don’t prefer the hifi branded shops as well. They are too overpriced. I was once shown a pair of jeans for my daughter worth 2000/- Can you believe it?
    I look for shops that offer quality stuff at reasonable prices ๐Ÿ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      arey totally agree on that…thats why I never go street shopping alone…always with someone who bargains :):)

      I know, kids clothes ARE expensive na??

      I look for shops that offer quality stuff at reasonable prices – Thats my Amma’s line ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. Swarnalatha says:

    Hi,

    During this sale I tried every brand of jeans. There is no size bigger than 34.can you believe. Salesman told me that I should try men’s section if my size is beyond 34!!

    • R's Mom says:

      WHAT!!! seriously..baap rey..toh people like me..what will they do ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I am trying the men’s section next time ๐Ÿ™‚

      Welcome here by the way ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. garima says:

    I believe we should wear clothes which are comfortable and have a good fitting
    Ill fitted clothes puts me off….Also the quality of fabric must be kept in mind…some times off street clothes tends to make skin allergic and causes rashes.
    Aap mid waist jeans try karo..they are just perfect neither too low nor too high.
    Ya those flared jeans are not that easily available these days may be you can try in ‘Flying Machine’ they might be having it.
    I so agree with you that inners and western dresses must be brought from good store.Also socks must be a branded stuff coz that is something which people wear for a long time (8-9 hrs) and due to sweating the skin on toe may get infected.

  23. Same pinch on the street shopping! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I street shop for a lot of stuff too; I am not particular about buying branded stuff. I go for branded stuff only when I am shopping for electronic items, cosmetics, inner wear or perfumes or such like. I don’t find footwear in my size on the streets (I have HUGE feet ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ) so I sometimes have to resort to buying branded ones. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I love street shopping – yay to it!!

    As for the jeans, I was in a position exactly like yours. I do not like wearing low-waist or skinny jeans, and I couldn’t find any suitable ones. So, I went in for a pair of men’s jeans. They have a high waist, fit me wonderfully and are just the right shade of blue I wanted. Look good too. ๐Ÿ™‚ If you are OK with shopping for yourself from the men’s section, maybe you could give it a shot?

    I blogged about my experience too: http://thegalnxtdoor.wordpress.com/2011/05/08/the-one-where-we-shop-from-the-mens-section/

    • R's Mom says:

      hahah! babes, you dont know my HUGE FLAT feet (whats with southies brought up in Gujarat, we all have huge feet is it?)

      I am going to the men’s section for sure….will hop on to the link ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. meeta panicker says:

    Street shopping is best, esp when we ‘d like to change our wardrobe every few months. shoes are the best on the street, wear it for a month or less and change and u dont feel the pinch.

    jeans – u do get high waist and mid waist jeans, i recently bought mine from lifestyle sale. the salesman was like why’d i want a mid waist tho. he had hunt enough but am happy.

    love the post. the branded vs unbranded is i think all couples story ๐Ÿ˜€

  25. Shweta says:

    Hey RM .. Try Wrangler for Jeans .. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have heard its good.. ๐Ÿ˜‰ and might offer Mid-waist jeans if not High Waist..

    waise Mid waist jeans are the ones which are near to the navel a li’l above or a li’l below.. like that i guess…

    for jeans i am pretty much comfortable with all kinds that wud suit me… but I used to wear Mid – waist trousers which now i had to stop due to my tiny miny si pot belly.. so If i buy trousers that fit me at tummy they are loose otherwise (I have too thin legs ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ) so after much searching the shops – branded or non branded I got a couple of them stitched and they fit like heaven… Problem Solved .. Phew.. ! Not to forget I got the material from Chandni Chowk (wholesale Market in Delhi) Got it stitched from a Jaan-pehchaan ka tailor giving him the latest designs and all .. so they look branded but are more than 50% cheap and more than 200% durable..

    There are shops in delhi whr they stitch jeans too.. am sure mumbai mein bhi hongi..

    • R's Mom says:

      yes, asking RD to take me to Wrangler ๐Ÿ™‚

      I dont know if there are tailors rey in Mumbai, I will need to check ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Shweta says:

        RM —- Wake Up Call… Its Mumbai the Fashion Hub… Designers and stuff… am sure honge kahin na kahin.. not sure near ur place or not.. all u need to do is.. Find out… ๐Ÿ˜€

        • R's Mom says:

          hahhaha! yep you are right…just that I cant afford designers ๐Ÿ˜‰

          • Shweta says:

            No baba.. I didn’t mean that…. neither can I… i meant thr r plenty of tailors who imitate the designer stuff at very cheap rate.. and if u don’t want designer looking clothes.. even better…
            All I was saying – Mumbai mein bhi aise tailors honge.. fr sure.. dhundhna padega.. may b u can ask ppl/ladies in office or R’s frnds’ moms.. or ur frnds …. like that… ๐Ÿ˜‰ o

  26. Nithvin says:

    I have been reading about this ‘Levi’s curve id’ thing..not yet checked it though..
    here’s the link:
    http://www.leviscollections.in/Women

  27. Pingback: My Shopping Style.. « refreshmemoirs

  28. I also prefer high waist comfort fit jeans. Recently I bought a pair of denim, comfortably stretch Jeggings, the fabric is thick and the pair fits so well that even though the waist isn’t high, it’s a pair to sleep, eat (and eat and eat), run, walk, shop, party – in ๐Ÿ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      You know IHM, someone did mention Jeggings to me…similar to Leggings na…but honestly I prefer a salwar to leggings..so I was a bit apprehensive about jeggings…lemme check them out

  29. archanaksh says:

    totally do agree with you RM, but street shopping is i do not go for (earlier i used to) because of my size, as one can not try cloths there na… i jst feel very bad when i see other slim girls wearing street kurtas, and i can not ๐Ÿ˜ฆ you can have multiple options to wear buying them na…. where as u can not buy so many branded kurits as they are expensive……even i m searching for the perfet fit jeans from years.. stopped wearing them now ๐Ÿ˜ฆ , u can search for designers (tailors) who can stitch it for you, i have heard they do stitch it……..

  30. Well, I rarely bought clothes from the street but then again, never really fell for branded things either. For me it is about comfort and low price. Even here, I will go to Target or K-Mart which are considered the cheapie shops and that too, only during sales. And low waist jeans are nice! Recently high waist ones came back into fashion…don’t like them…too uncomfortable especially when you eat a lot! ๐Ÿ˜›

    • R's Mom says:

      yep…my cousins told me the same thing..eat too much and you cant sit in comfort…now I like this idea of mid waist jeans then….next buy is going to be a mid waist thing ๐Ÿ™‚

  31. Bikram says:

    Jeans I have a problem with , I think I am a bit waywardly made my body structure is confusing .. so no jeans seem to fit me properly but when i find one I just buy it … I bought a jean from bangalore when i had come one from levis and one from some shop and they have fitted nicely ..

    I love wearing those kurtas or kurtis waist length and have millions now , I go for anything whatever I like .. No prefference of brand or unbranded ..

    moreover cant afford branded stuff ๐Ÿ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      you came from UK and bought jeans in Bangalore!! heheheh ๐Ÿ™‚ you are funny

      • Gayatri says:

        Hey, It’s not funny. You can get lot more variety in India. I do most of my clothes shopping (90%) from India. Even jeans because you can get them altered to your size for free. Here it costs around ยฃ12 to get waist of length altered. Sometimes I bought trousers in sale and paid more to get it altered (just to get it shortened). If you are not a low-waist/skinny jeans/tight and short T-shirt wearing/fashionista sort of person, the best place to shop is India!

  32. Ramya says:

    Not sure if I can really comment on this post… am also behind low cost clothes… basically i hate shopping, even if i have to, i shop low cost ones for which hubby spanks me with his eyes n finally decides he will buy for me… and the Jeans – God save me.. I have a 28″ hip even I get only low hip – no mid waist no high waist.. help me too in case u get in bangalore or chennai

    • R's Mom says:

      you have a 28 hip and you are a mother!!!! hmpf!!!! I have half a mind to come and spank you..Gah!!! and you have a 28 ka waist (see how many times I am saying it!)…I am so so so so so and more so jealous!!!

      • Ramya says:

        Yeeeee…Yippeee… For a change RM is jealous of me… (am in cloud nine) ๐Ÿ˜‰ Anyway RM I am one of those souls who really really tries to put on weight n still doesn’t succeed ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you gimme some tips ๐Ÿ˜‰

  33. Smitha says:

    Oh dear, I wish I could help you. We are slightly better off with jeans in this country – we get a lot more variety. But for me, I still have one problem – I need petities and even the petite in some stores are too long for midget sized me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Luckily Dorothy Perkins, Next and M&S do stock my size.. I think I should buy a 15 year supply of jeans before relocating ๐Ÿ™‚

    As for street shopping – I love it too! Here as well, I prefer the cheaper shops -mainly because I can throw them away when I get bored of them ๐Ÿ™‚ Like you, work wear, and inner wear – I always buy good quality. And shoes as well.

  34. Gayatri says:

    M&S does good high-waisted boot cut jeans and they are not very expensive. They cost around ยฃ10-20 in UK so you should be getting similar rates in India too. They are also quite comfortable. My problem sometimes is the length but in India you can get them altered quite easily. You can also try GAP boot cut range and Levi’s 515. I stick to Levi’s and get them from US as in UK the franchise is different and so they don’t have my preferences. If you look for stuff during sale time, then they work out cheaper and mine last at least 5-6 yrs (would probably be less in India as they dirty quicker), so it is reasonably economical. When I find my size and fit, I just buy 2-3 of them, if possible in different colours, so that I don’t have to hunt for them :). Delhi is the place to get them stitched and you can have a variety or material and styles done too..There is a market place called Mohan singh place near Connaught place-Regal theatre and there are multitude of shops that do it adn can give in matter of few hours if necessary. You can even get jackets stitched too.
    Good luck ๐Ÿ™‚

  35. TPL says:

    My MIL bought denim material and got a pair of custom jeans stitched by a tailor. It looked very nice. Why dont u consider that option? You can get all your requirements satisfied ๐Ÿ™‚

  36. Tanishka says:

    Street shopping or the branded one but I always buy in bulk… ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know why but shopping irritates me and so I like to finish it off in one go…

  37. Ohh you get only low waist Jeans in India now? ๐Ÿ˜ฏ here tho you can get all sorts from chest size to those dangling almost from the knees where the boys show off their boxers ๐Ÿ˜ก ๐Ÿ˜ณ I do wear low waist jeans but always with long tops or kurthis coz am dead scared of flashing my ahem ahem to unsuspecting people ๐Ÿ˜‰ Do let me know if you need awesome not so expensive high waist jeans from here ok? I promise to not post your size on my FB :mrgreen:

    err I am a Shopaholic and can blissfully shop for hours in malls or out in the sun on the streets. ๐Ÿ™„ Let me loose in an area with any kind of shops and the poor husband is sure to feel the lightness in his bank account ๐Ÿ˜› The husband even says that he is going to get me those things they make a horse wear near its eyes during a race so that I will not be able to see the rows and rows of shops on my sides when we walk ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

    But all said I am a smart shopper and don’t spend on an impulse but usually wait for sales and deals to get things I have an eye on.

    Ps: I miss shopping on the streets of Delhi and Bombay ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

  38. Hi, so I am finally delurking off here as well….
    You know they do have high waisted jeans in some shops in Pune which are of Indian brands and are pretty good waise dekha jaye toh…My older cousin sisters prefer mid waist, because they say high waisted jeans make them look like having a big waistline…hehe… You should look into the stores that arent very big like malls, but not even streetish….they usually keep such stuff….
    This time when I was in India, I went shopping with my parents…My dad later told us that he saw a middle aged woman bend down and if the jeans would have been thoda more lower, he would seen her excretory opening **in his words**…Her hubby was either too busy with their toddler or trying to ignore, god knows…Dad was like, its never good to show your bum, its disgusting…..
    Personally, I wear low waists, but longer slim fit tops…so I take care……

  39. I dislike shopping!! Most of my shopping gets done when mom visits me here as she loves to shop :D. The husband hates shopping too, so our wardrobe stays the same most of the time!
    The thing with shopping n me is, I love the “idea” of shopping, but the moment I go to the malls, something turns me off, and I come back straight home!! I mean seriously, I have just driven to far-away malls and returned without entering the mall ๐Ÿ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahah! thats why I married RD..he does all the shopping

      Well, I can relate to that going and coming back…it gets overwhelming at times to see the crowd ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  40. Mathangi Vijay says:

    RM, your post gave me an itch to buy a comfortable pair of Jeans and I got one in Marks & Spencers.. Mid Waist, Boot Cut and I just love it!! I stay in Singapore but I have heard that M&S in India also has a good collection of very good jeans..
    I prefer M&S solely for the huge sizes they provide. I need not nit pick on the clothes which are available in my size. I can get the T-Short I Like, in my size.. Cool na.. In Singapore, I do not find fat people at all.. And in normal shops, you wont find ladies Jeans/Pants in sizes more than 34. You have to look only in mens section. But there are a few shops like M&S which are saving me from embarrassment.
    Even I found it easier to get good Jeans in India rather than Singapore.. I found good Jeans in Pantaloons as well..

Leave a Reply

