Long Pending Book Review – By Us, For Us

I received this book ‘By Us For Us’ a couple of weeks ago from a lovely lady (thank you Smita Banerjee) who asked me to review it on the blog.

The book interested me right from the start and let me tell you that I finished reading it in one go.

29 stories, this book is treasure house for children…, I think its a must have in a household with kids between 9 to 99 and above..no seriously…

The book is published as a part of the Hewlett Packard Write and Read initiative (http://hpwriteandread.com/) and Katha books (www.katha.org) Prasoon Joshi was the mentor to the creative workshops held across India to a bunch of students who were exposed to the various interactive sessions on creative writing…and boy oh boy..what a superb result!

Like I was saying, its a book, by kids for kids..and gosh! what stories…I was bowled over by the superb narration, usage of words and vivid imagination of each of the story teller….aged between 9 to 15 these kids are superb…I doubt at their age, I even thought of such things..

Apart from that, the look and feel of the book, the lovely illustrations..(very very eye catching) the large print everything, is in favor of the book.

There are introductions by Prasoon Joshi (the mentor), Neeraj Sharma from HP and Geeta Dharamarajan from Katha…

I think I saw our GB’s name in it as well…is that you GB or someone else???

Some stories are extremely funny, some stories are a bit dark which made me wonder how kids can think of such things and some are just plain fun stories…The children have let their imagination run riot!!

Stories are from a myriad of topics from environment to earth hour and wildlife, mundane things like tooth paste and brushes, dragons,Β  suitcases full of money and pollens and flowers, chemistry labs and chemicals, dreams and lands, journey to the centre of the earth…..it was a total fun read…

Few stories stuck out like that of the last tiger, the dragon, the bus ride with a pass, the blind girl,the suitcase telling its story… …

infact it would be wrong to say that few stories stuck now..now when I writing the review and thinking back, I think all the stories in one way or the other were special….it makes me proud that we have such wonderful young creative and imaginative mindsΒ amongs us in India…

I think the initiative proved its worth and came up with an excellent book which is sure a ‘must have’ in all households..

Go ahead and buy it and read it. I am sure you wont beΒ  disappointed!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Long Pending Book Review – By Us, For Us

  1. Sounds interesting. Will make a visit to Crossword tomorrow, okay?!

    And you are posting on a Saturday? 😯 On seeing your post, I checked the calender twice to make sure it was indeed Saturday!

  2. My era says:

    Sounds like a very interesting book πŸ™‚
    Wonderful review RM πŸ˜€

  3. Vidya says:

    Thanks for posting this! Will get a copy soon!

    • R's Mom says:

      Try from flipkart vidya…it may be cheaper..the book is actually pretty expensive at 375 Rs..so you would want to buy it for Vyas on his bday or a special occasion?

  4. For kids between 9 to 99, did you say?*rushes to see if it is on flipkart*
    Thanks for the reco, RM:-)

  5. Tharani says:

    Am i first here..
    Know what I am yet to buy something from the landmark coupon. I will be doing it tomorrow. Will buy this one if available. Thanks for the review

  6. Ashwathy says:

    What are you doing here (on the blog) on a Saturday???

  7. Deeps says:

    Sounds like an interesting book to read. And I liked this write and read initiative, what a wonderful way to encourage young writers! I will surely pick this up in my next visit home :). Thanks for the review, RM πŸ™‚

  8. RS says:

    Hey! What were you doing at Work on Saturday? Sounds like an Interesting book. Will check flipkart today πŸ˜€

  9. Seema says:

    Just when I finish Reluctant Detective (recommended by you), you recommend one more! But I already have another book which I bought along with it that I need to finish first.

  10. Smitha says:

    That is such a wonderful initiative. So needed at a time when more and more children seem to be disinterested in reading. I hope they come out with more books like this.

    Will definitely pick it up.

  11. Yup, that’s me πŸ™‚ I was one of the resource people who conducted the workshop for the kids in Pune.

    • R's Mom says:

      yayaya! I thought so..oh THIS was the workshop you were talking about is it? Superb rey…I loved the way the children have expressed themselves…amazing!

Leave a Reply

