Dear RD

Its six years and we are still together…well technically and legally together….actually you are in Australia enjoying the sun and the sand..(what I know I know conference and all that!) and I am in Mumbai enjoying the dirt and the rush πŸ™‚

We spent six years together can you believe it?

…your extremely number calculating mind is furiously trying to actually calculate the years since we got married and just to tell you, for a change, I am right…we actually did six years okie πŸ™‚

We did manage to create R together…seems to be a pretty decent featΒ in six years eh?
Β 
Last year, I did the thingie posts inspired by SueΒ  …but this year, I think I am going to make this a non-thingie post….I am going to write stuff which I get bugged at you about..okie..so stop reading further NOW, though this is the first letter I wrote to you in the blog okie? πŸ™‚

– your habit of being correct with numbers…I HATE that about you..okie lemme tone it down and just say I AM JEALOUS..while I manage to calculate stuff WRONG even after using excel, here is a guy who can do bloody mental maths like its his birth right…gah!

– your habit of responding faster to the phone than to human voice..no seriously…I have realised with experience (after all six years is no mean feat) that the easiest way to wake you up (of course we are not discussing launching R on you with a vengeance!) is to call you on your phone..no seriously!

– yourΒ  habit of watching sports..AND the re-run of matches…I mean boss, I can understand watching something live (Actually I cant, I am just trying to pretend to be nice to you since its our anniversary and all that) but watching re-runs..again and again..too much yaar!

– your habit of watching that stupid movie ‘Suryavansham’ with Amitabh in it…how many times RD, how many times???

– your habit of answering me AFTER 10 minutes of my giving you instructions and all you say is ‘huh, what?‘ why whyΒ why, am I wasting my breath bolo bolo?

– your habit of passing me the phone when you dontΒ want to talk to relatives..very smart eh?

– your habit of doing every thing the last minute, especially packing (yaaΒ yaaΒ referring to last week’s Australian packing) and then saying ‘well, it works for me’ yaa right!

– your habit of buying expensive clothesΒ  and jewellery for R and me..we dontΒ even wear it rey!

– your habit of folding clothes ulta..no sorry, I dontΒ buy your logic that we can make it seedha while wearing it…it doesntΒ make sense AT ALL okie?

and so much more I want to write, but then six years and nine things are enough na to write :):)

and of course I do love you..you know that right…

In six years what I cherish the most is that we give each other our own space…we know where to draw a line and where to cross it..we realise that we dont HAVE to spend every second together and you going out with your friends is equally important as me going out with my friends…

The total faith and trust we have in each other is something I relish and makes me believe that the six years will go on to sixty hopefully πŸ™‚

We believe in strict quotas of fights every week and I am glad to tell you that we are meeting the numbers every week πŸ™‚ (What? I keep a book of fights which I havent shown you)

Yes we both lose our tempers and talk nonsense, but in six years, I have realised that the bottom line is love…(no, I am not going to forget what you told me about my chacheriΒ mama ke mameriΒ bhaiΒ ke wife ka step sister okie πŸ˜‰ )

I am so glad that you have FINALLY realised that what makes me happy is an egg roll from HanglaΒ and Harry Potter from flipkartΒ and not that scary big diamond necklace from Zaveri…it took you six..okie lets make it 5.5 years to realise that..and all the jewellery you bought for me in the meantime are resting their asses in the bank locker *rolls eyes*

I, of course, have my moments, of ‘why did I marry this guy?‘ but then they are sure to pass of quickly πŸ™‚

We are a team together, working on the cracks and strengthening the links..lets keep it this way na πŸ™‚

Happy Anniversary RD!!!
PS :oh yes, just get me that back pack from Australia will ya…what man, anniversary gift wonly I am asking πŸ™‚

PPS – no, I am not giving you anything this anniversary, I gave you R na..enough to last you a lifetime, and obviously wrote the first letter to you on the blog for the records purpose πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

142 Responses to Dear RD

  1. summerscript says:

    Happy Happy Happy Anniversary to RM and RD!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    love and love and loads and loads of love!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Wishing you both a lifetime of happiness!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. Batul says:

    Happy Anniversary. Wishing life filled with happiness and joy for both of you.

  3. This post brought a beeeg smile on my face! Happy Anniversary RM and RD. Wishing you more of such happy days to come.

  4. suranga date says:

    R’s Mom,
    Sending you some wonderful anniversary wishes ! Great post !

  5. Chaitali says:

    Congratulations for Completing Six years of togetherness…
    Happy Anniversary!!!

  6. AT says:

    wish you a very happy anniversary πŸ™‚

    I was laughing over those little complaints πŸ˜€

  7. My era says:

    Awww….what a beautiful, mush filled anniversary greeting letter πŸ™‚
    Anyone would love to be madly in love with a sweetheart like you RM…I mean it πŸ˜€
    Here’s wishing you a very very Happy Anniversary and cheers to many more to come πŸ˜€
    ( P.S. – Wow! we actually got married just four days apart….that’s cool πŸ˜‰ )

  8. RS says:

    Happy Happy Anniversary RD and RM!! Oh Man! I have this stupid BIIIGG Smile on my face and my friend sitting across is staring at me πŸ˜€ Aww sooper-o-soooper post RM

    And pls plz can we know what RD thinks of this too? Pretty please?

  9. Nithvin says:

    Hi RM,

    Happy Anniversary!
    I have been reading your blogs since the last few days and must say that I really love them!
    I told the story of the stone & elephant to my daughter (who is the same age as R) while she was having her bath today and she just loved it! of course, the stone had to be taken up some 10 times over two days and rolled down before my DD could finish her bath. Do you know what she told me in the end? ‘Will you roll me also down from the hill like that?’ LOL . Thanks for that cute story.
    Keep writing and I’ll continue reading πŸ™‚

  10. “your habit of passing me the phone when you dont want to talk to relatives..very smart eh?”
    Hehehe, its the same with everyone it seems πŸ™‚

    Happy Anniversary RM and RD. Wishing you many happy returns of the day πŸ™‚

  11. NBose says:

    Happy anniversary RM….Hugs to u πŸ˜€

    That watching re-runs part is same in my household….that too with same zeal as the live one!!!

  12. Happy Wedding Anniversary RM πŸ™‚ Its such a cute post!! I was having a big smile throughout. The way you have written the things you hate about RD, seriously.. I can so related to many things here.. but these things sure spice up our lives right?

    “your habit of watching that stupid movie β€˜Suryavansham’ with Amitabh in it…how many times RD, how many times???” – Complete LOL here, but I am the one who does it all the time, I keep on watching my favorite movie everytime I gets aired and S really gets bugged.. haha πŸ™‚

    Its gonna be my first anniversary too in 4 days πŸ™‚

  13. VJ says:

    Happy Anniversary !!
    To many many more years of happiness and insanity !

  14. Ramya says:

    Hey RM & RD… A very very happy anniversary…
    And to RD.. Though RM seems to be saying this is a nonthingie post, looks like she is missing u looooooottttssss atleast on ur anniversary πŸ˜‰

  15. Iyoo kadavale…your anniversary too in Feb?? I guess both of us might have been blinded by all that Valentine stuff floating all around….in agreeing to get married πŸ˜‰

    Except for watching Suryavansham (but then my man watches other equally stupid movies on repeat mode), folding clothes (he has no idea that clothes can be folded instead of looking like Harry Potter’s Invisibility Cloak in a heap, after he stepped out of it) and buying Jewelry (infact, the man can’t buy anything coz he has not stepped into a shop, other than electronics, for years)……..I think RD and my husband are kumbh ke mela wall bros!!! πŸ˜₯

    Congrats for the anniversary and may we all see more such complaint filled pyaar bari anniversaries in the future πŸ™‚ πŸ˜›

  16. lifesong says:

    Happy Anniversary RM & RD πŸ™‚ ….
    You are such a great pair πŸ™‚

  17. piyali says:

    That was really hilarious.
    Happy anniversary to a lovely couple.God Bless you.

  18. Seema says:

    A total Awww post – this! And Kala tikka to the great camaraderie and companionship you have going with RD. Lots of wishes for the same to continue for many more decades together.

    You got an advance anniversary gift already, didn’t ya? You still want a backpack eh? When you had been to London, you did too much nakhra to get the ManU T for him.

    ‘what makes me happy is an egg roll from Hangla and Harry Potter from flipkart’ – I’m totally with you on that. Although Abbas had already discovered this before getting married to me and we didn’t have the need for a locker at all πŸ˜€

    ‘What? I keep a book of fights which I havent shown you’ – You do? Really?

    Suryavansham:RD :: Shivaji: Abbas. Men, I tell ya!!!

    Is RD coming back tomorrow?

  19. hehe! happy anniversary!
    Actuallly, me too do the same about passing the phone to the husband when relatives call! Works like a charm πŸ˜€

  20. RS says:

    Happy Anniversary to both of you.
    err…the passing the phone part is done my me most of the times…

  21. Swarna says:

    Happy anniversary R’s mom.
    God bless.
    Have a nice week end with RD’s gift (R) πŸ™‚
    Swarna

  22. caroline says:

    Happy Anniversary to both of u… We both have a common thing in our anniversaries.. hubby’s missing hahah .. My hubby shud meet RD .. both r similar in so many ways.. especially jewellery, listening to wife’s instruction and waiting till the last minute to pack.. anyways.. have fun.. if u want we can come over to celebrate your anniv..anyways hubby’s r missing agn hahhahah

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahah! you just had yours na..Jan 26th right? no wait, its Jan 25th πŸ™‚

      come any time yaar…you and my little hero are welcome anytime here πŸ™‚

  23. Ashwathy says:

    And such relationships are what give hope…realistic and balanced…..to the fake and floundering marriages we see around us all this while.

    God bless you and RD….for so many years to come…. er…and more R1, R2, R3… what? I m just suggesting!! πŸ˜› :mrgreen:

    Hahah even you prefer egg roll over jewellery eh??? See this is why we are sisters!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    Having said that, I know plenty of women who would die to be in your shoes and be able to receive so much jewellery. What are they going to do with it, I have no idea!!! πŸ™„

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahah! LOL on your first line…RD and I are going to move around with swell heads for the next one year after reading that first line of yours..

      R1, R2, R3…..you want me to come and spank you is it πŸ™‚

      I know…I always wonder why diamonds are considered a woman’s best friend…I would rather have a human πŸ™‚

  24. AA_Mom says:

    Happy Anniversary RM and RD

  25. Happy Anniversary, RM!!! I want an egg roll now 😐

    • R's Mom says:

      hey GBM doing well? errr…come to Mumbai and I promise to treat you with a home made yummy egg roll..RD makes the omlet and I make the accompanying roti…it will sure be superb…deal?

  26. Swaram says:

    Hap hap happy anniversary!:)
    Tell me abt the not listening for 10min part, and then following it up with just a ‘huh’ πŸ˜‰ Su and RD should def. meet each other! Oh well, he watches the re-runs too, and with Tata sky+ they are even kept recorded now πŸ™„

    • R's Mom says:

      hey thanks a ton …good to see you back..now start updating the blog will ya?

      Gosh Tata sky hsa recordings!!! I hope RD doesnt read this πŸ™‚ or wait may be he already knows…

  27. uma says:

    Happy Anniversary to RM and RD!!!!
    loved this post…wishing you guys many many more years of togetherness (and may I add some more Rs??? πŸ˜‰

  28. Happy happy anniversary RM πŸ™‚ Here’s to another year of happiness,hope ,some fights(but of course), more cuddles and LOTS of love πŸ™‚

  29. You funny woman πŸ™‚

    Wish you both a lifetime of happiness. πŸ™‚

  30. zephyr says:

    Hugs RM. What a beautiful letter. At first I was mad at you for listing all the wrongs first and then realiised that if you were going to do it anyway, it is better that the complaints come first and then the validation of the love. Wish you both many more such anniversaries and er,,can I second Ashwathiy’s wish for R1, R2 etc.? *runs away before being clobbered*

  31. Vidya says:

    All I want to say is, What a post! Rest was said on phone na?!!! πŸ™‚ Happy Anniversary!

  32. Sreetama says:

    Happy Anniversary RM & RD!!! Many happy returns of the day! And your post err letter is soo aww!!! Hugs!

    P.S: How come RD likes Suryavansham so much??? :O

  33. Great to read a happy post like this!
    RD is much better than I!
    As a battle-scarred veteran who has survived 36 years of matrimony here are my comments point wise on the situation at our end.

    1)Doing math. I come a poor second. She is way faster.
    Stands to reason. She worked in bank behind a counter for 19 years!
    Adding up columns of numbers comes naturally to her. Those were the Pre Excel days.
    No online banking, no core banking. Just huge dusty ledgers, and dull bank clerks poring over registers and handling all kinds of forms and paying in slips, passbooks, cheque books etc.

    2)It’s just the opposite here at our end. She has three phones to play with.
    The family land line, a cordless phone and her personal cell phone.
    I have lost count of the number of times there have been concurrent or partially concurrent calls for her on all three!. Often she is busy holding two of them and taking turns to talk when the third phone rings and she gives me that old familiar look that tells me she expects me to pick it up even when I know that I never get calls on the land line. I am expected to keep the person on the third line entertained while she fields two callers on the the other two. Her phone circle is way bigger than my internet friend circle.

    3)Here it is she who watches re-runs of TV serials.
    She follows about half a dozen serials and the time between 8:30 pm and 10 pm is her “quality” time and I dare not try to catch her attention unless I enjoy getting a dirty look. If I need anything, I have to fend for myself. Answering calls, opening the door when door bell rings is expected to be my duty during that “do not disturb” time slot.
    Thank God I have the Ipad, my laptop and the internet and the world of blogs to allow me to survive those curfew hours at my household.

    4)Instead of Survansham, it is usually any Hrishikesh Mukherjee film in my case. She tolerates it as long as it does not overlap with her TV serial prime time.

    5)She is smarter. After every minute she asks “Kya Samjhe?” and unless I respond she won’t proceed. She knows my attention span is only that much. She knows that unless she checks on where my mind is wandering, I will be thinking of what to say while commenting on the most recent blog post I have been reading.

    6)Ah!I am lucky. At our place, she grabs the phone from me whenever I pick up the receiver.

    7)Packing is never my responsibility. She does not trust me to include everything that is needed. She needs my help only while closing the suitcase. She has mastered the art of packing the contents of two suitcases into one using special zipping techniques and I am finally called to sit on the lid so that she can buckle it firmly. When I try to open the suitcase at our destination, the lid “springs” open. That is how tightly she packs the suitcase.

    8)Expensive jewellery is a passion with her. I don’t have to buy it for her. She buys it herself without waiting for my approval. If I challenge her, she silences me with impeccable logic. What is the current value of that old Dos computer, that old Camera, that old VCR, that old DVD player, that old black and white TV, that old laptop, that old Music System, that old Motorcycle, etc etc? she asks.
    She then waves her mangalsootra and flaunts her earrings and bangles that were bought in the early seventies when gold prices had not yet sky rocketed and asks me “Do you know it’s value today?” I am protecting your money, not spending it she says. I have to beat a hasty retreat.

    9)I am worse. Not only do I fold clothes wrongly, I have been known to wear my vest “ulta”. The buttons on my shirt don’t line up. Either the top most or the bottom most button has no hole to go into. My Bermuda shorts or track pants too have been occasionally worn the wrong way. Since there is no fly opening, I don’t see any difference between the front and the back but she seems to know which is the right way to wear them I have to oblige her to buy peace. She does not like her husband to look like a cartoon, is the dialogue she mouths to make me fall in line.

    Yes, I too could go on and on. Since you stopped, let me stop too.
    Believe me, 6 years is nothing. Be assured it will only get better as the years go past.
    I’ve been married 36 years and all the signs indicate you will follow us!

    Happy Anniversary

    GV

    • R's Mom says:

      loved loved loved your comment..

      Can I please ask aunty for some training..she is superb eh…

      1) Bank for 19 years * falls at feet*

      2) THREE PHONES…how does she manage??? *Falls at feet and does shashtang namaskarams* I mean three phones..here toh I cant even handle one properly 😦

      3) hahahah! she is a sweetheart πŸ™‚

      4) oh RD loves Hrishikesh Mukherjee movies as well…

      5) I loved this idea…I am definitely going to try this on RD from tomorrow once he comes back from Aus…and I am contacting aunty directly for better tips πŸ™‚

      6) Lucky you!

      7) hahhahah! nope with RD and I, he packs his and I pack mine…R’s packing we just fight about it and mostly forget the most important parts πŸ™‚

      8) Wah! kya super logic…basically I dont wear ANY jewellery AT ALL except a thin gold bangle of my patty which my amma gave me…..not even my mangalsutra after it got broken at the local train station when someone tried to grab it..so I guess RD is like aunty, making long term investments..

      9) oh thats my dad for sure…he can wear things inside out in the college, go and teach and come back and yet not be aware of it πŸ™‚ heheeheh πŸ™‚

      thanks thanks and more thanks for the lovely comment…I loved responding to it as well

    • GV your comment cracked me up equally the way RM’s post did. “As a battle-scarred veteran….” I could even imagine the boating accessories in your DP morph into Battle gear :mrgreen: πŸ˜› 36 years eh? and you sound so sane and romantic. I hope my guy will be at least able to save his sanity by the πŸ˜₯

  34. Shruti says:

    haha.. πŸ™‚ I love love this post.. n i Love u & ur family!! *touch-wood*
    may u be this crazily in love for a long long time..

  35. Bikram says:

    A very happy anniversary to you and RD .. many many manyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy more to come

    and what do you mean in the first line STILL TOGETHER.. whats the STILL for .. haaan .. you both ARE together .. shaky shaky hello hello … ..:)

    The re runs are for a reason .. To enjoy that SHot again and again .. and also sometimes to impress the other friends who might be sitting and then saying “Abhi Dekho , Chauka lagega ” and what happen .. CHAUKAAAA … a few balls later Now this guy will hit a six .. and what happens Sixxxxxxxxxxxx…. the other guy is mighty impressed πŸ™‚

    I record too all but then i have a reason I am mostly working when the match is coming so have to record and watch later πŸ™‚

    and answering after 10 minutees well my dear .. cause for the 9minutes and 59 seconds its the same thing being said so on the 9min and 60th second when it changes you get the HUH..

    I better shut up and run away now … πŸ™‚ before you make sure the next time you are in Uk I am dead meat ….

  36. Falak says:

    Happy Anniversary guys. God Bless

  37. Smita T says:

    Happy Anniversay dearie….

    Loved the comment about the clothes and last minute packing …. my hubby just rolls the clothes….. and at last min finds out that the shirts he is supposed to carry are not washed….

    About the movies… its ulta at our home…. I can watch some movies N number of times…

    And dont to dare to say anything about RD’s shopping… he has damn good taste in everything…

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahah! thanks Smita…..

      LOL on S’s funny way of packing…

      oh yaa..you do *rolls eyes*

      yep RD is good at shopping really really good…but he spends too much πŸ™‚

  38. Scribby says:

    awww a very happy 6th anniversary to you both πŸ™‚

    ROFL @ Suryavansham and PPS πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    not the husby but my friend whom I visited at B’lore has the same logic of folding the clothes inside out…huh!

    Lubly post RM πŸ™‚

  39. Smitha says:

    Happy Anniversary, RM and RD! Here to many, many, many more years of RM and RD’s love πŸ™‚ And posts like this πŸ™‚ Hugs!

  40. Timepass says:

    happy anniversary RM and RD

  41. Laila says:

    Happy Anniversary to you both… :)))

  42. Jazz says:

    Wow congratulations to Rs super cool amma and appa !!

  43. vidya sethuraman says:

    happy anniversary raks…njoy

  44. CA says:

    A very Happy Anniversary RM !!

  45. Happy Anniversary to you guys!! πŸ™‚ By the way, if he’s in Sydney or Queensland at the moment, he’s not getting any sun and sand…it’s rainy and cool! Gah!

  46. anisnest says:

    and they lived happily ever after with less and lesser skirmishes πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    I feel so so so happy for you RM.. Happy happy anniversary to both of you..

  47. BongMom says:

    Happy Anniversary RM. That is so sweet that RD must be taking the next flight out of Australia

  48. Smita says:

    Belated Anniversary wishes to the cute couple πŸ™‚

    And RM this is such a personal post that I dunno what I can add here besides Awwww!! which sounds so cliched. So all I will say is *kis ki nazar na lage :)*

  49. Gayu says:

    COngrats…sixer mar diya…oye hoye…..badiya hai:)

    Happy Anniversary….!!!! I completed SEVEN..*pats on back*:D
    Loved ur post….I can relate to many things…”Suryawamsham”…and we have many such movies here”Mass”, “Indra the tiger”, KungfuHustle” and the “Predators”…”Superman”…etc…etc….
    daily dose of fights is must ya…..to maintain the chemistry…the spark in the relation:P

    May this Tom & Jerry relation last till eternity:)
    GOD BLESS U BOTH!!!
    Gayu

  50. Sangitha says:

    Happy Anniversary, RM. It gets even better…and you can read that both ways and still be on the dot! πŸ˜€

    Have a lovely day, trip and year ahead!

  51. orczy says:

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Liked ur PPS..Happy years of Togetherness..By the by introducing myself..Some who was inspired into writing by u..
    Luv, Orczy.

  52. varsha says:

    Belated wishes to RM and RD.

  53. Seema says:

    Miss your weekend post on a Monday morning. *Jhula hua face*

    But I know you will be back today afternoon. Waiting for 2mrw to read your Trivandrum stories and how you celebrated your anniversary. πŸ˜€

  54. garima says:

    Belated wishes RM and RD,so sorry couldnt wish you guys:-(
    Wishing you countless years of love and skirmish πŸ™‚

    Stay happy and healthy ,loads of love to R πŸ™‚

  55. ARP says:

    Happy Wedding Anniversary to RM and RD. You guys rock πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

