The Story Teller in Me – 3 – The Fish (Again *rolls eyes*) and The Tiger

And so R is in the Fishy mode which makes me very fishy about what she is fishing for…

Well, but once a mother always a mother right?

so here is the story of the fish and the tiger….I mean fish and tiger..what is common between them?

Bolo bolo! Its R!!! and her weird logic of wanting such stories…this girl I tell you…I have never taxed my brain cells so much not even during  my final year engg exams as I am taxing them now 😦

So we begin the story of the fish and the tiger.

Once a tiger wanted to cross a river to meet his cousin…

R: What cousin amma?
RM: arey like how you have N&N..like that
R: Acha…why only one cousin..why not one girl and one boy like N & N
RM: acha acha…two cousins
R: (Satisfied) okie aage

so the tiger had to cross the river…but he didnt know how to swim..

R: Amma, bridge nahi tha udhar
RM: no the river didnt have any bridge
R: Kyun
RM: kyun ki no one made it
R: Kyun
RM: Errrr…I dont know
R: okie…aage bolo (Expressions as if, my mom doesnt know everything in life)

RM: okie..so the tiger was getting scared to get into the water..when he hears a fish calling him ‘Tiger Tiger what are you doing here’

Tiger says ‘arey fish, I am glad to see you, you know I have to cross the river to meet my cousin brother AND cousin sister, I dont know how to do that’

fish says ‘you can cross the river by swimming na’

Tiger says’but I dont know how to swim’

fish – But its easy..come into the water

So the Tiger puts one leg into the water and then comes out saying ‘no no no’

fish says arey come na..dont worry nothing will happen and I am there na

so then the tiger puts his one leg and then other leg inside and then comes out saying ‘no no no no’

Fish tells him arey chalo na…I am here to save you

tiger says yes yes fish you are my friend and I trust you..and then slowly goes into the water and DOOBOOK put his head into the water..(The key word here is DOOBOOK which needs to be said in the right way for R to laugh her head off)

and then he gets his head out of water gasping ‘haa haa haaa haaa'(as if gasping for breath) when the fish says arey dont worry..just relax and you will float in water…

(Here is where the scientific mother in me wanted to introduce buoyancy to her little Einstein but decided against it because the kyuns would become unbearable!)

and oh I must add that R is now staring at me totally into the story with her mouth gaped open and one more thing R is basically scared of water!

so the tiger slowly puts one hand up and then second hand up and slowly slowly learns to swim with his friend fish edging him on…

and he crosses the river…he is very happy..he turns to fish and says ‘fish thank you very much, I wouldnt have done this without your help..swimming is so much fun’

Fish says come here everyday we will swim together

So tiger comes everyday and swims with the fish and both of them become good friends….

R: Phir

RM: Phir kuch nahi..story pati gayu (story finish)

R: na na amma, thodu tell na (no amma, tell some more na)

RM: So one day they decide to race..and then on ready steady go both of them start swimming fast fast and then they both reach the other side together and start laughing..

R: First kaun aya

RM: dono

R: Two people first come? (Basically she wants to ask if two people can come first together)

RM: Of course, everyone comes first..even if you dont come first, its fun to swim na

R: hmmmm okie

and so they both start laughing and always are friends for ever!

and finally R’s eyes close and she falls asleep!

I tell you, this story telling is driving me crazy

I am wondering why I dont start reading some children’s books and just repeat those stories to R!

 

=====

ETA : No disclaimer added because anyways non parents who read my blog seem to like the stories I spin!!! *Vanity moment here*

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to The Story Teller in Me – 3 – The Fish (Again *rolls eyes*) and The Tiger

  1. Wow this is such an adorable moment. Loved the way you built the story. Waise bhi, with the kind of fairy tales we have, we are not left with many options but come up with something on our own. .

  2. uma says:

    wow..a tiger swimming..actually when I got to the ‘don’t know swimming part’, I was half-expecting the fish to offer a ride on its back and thought that would be so preposterous! Thank god RM, you are not me…you carried the story very well…:-)

  3. summerscript says:

    Your stories are cute RM. I am enjoying it. Really 🙂
    DooBook – hehe 🙂

  4. RS says:

    Hehehehhe…What a story! And these kids are never happy with the ending -they always want more na? Thats where I start to loose my patience because then I have to use my already dead brain cells! 🙂

    But a Fish and Tiger friends – is such a unity in diversity message 😀

  5. Loved this story too RM 🙂 but how can a small fish help tiger to swim and save?!?! How did R miss this question huh 😛 and I like the DOOBOOK expression, I use this word lot of times just way you mentioned 😀 Even if you read story books to her, continue spinning these stories once in a while – we are enjoying them too and R gets to learn a lot of things 🙂

  6. garima says:

    Wow amazing ‘fishy fish’ story .Loved your first sentence 🙂
    Creative mother daughter duo..daughter comes up with creative topics and mum comes up with creative stories 🙂

  7. Seema says:

    Hahaha… Yeah the keyword was certainly DooBook.

    You must really consider writing a story book and don’t post ’em here any more. Plagiarism is at its peak all around the blogosphere. For all you know, you might pick up a bestseller children’s story book one fine day to see a compilation of all your stories.

    I can so relate to the ‘R: Amma, bridge nahi tha udhar’ and the Kyun’s that followed. In my case it’s Keno’s 😀

    Hey RM, on a totally different note, have you ever checked this website starfall.com? I stumbled into it and it’s a good one to teach kids phonics re. I taught Mantam to move mouse pointer and click just yesterday. They are enjoying it now and are clicking and dragging mouse pointer away to glory. Try showing it to R. She might like it 😀

    • R's Mom says:

      Are you kidding me Seema..who will even look at these stories *rolls eyes* best seller children’s book – you had me laughing out loud..arey you know why I am putting on the blog..so that when R grows old, she realises how much she troubled me to use my brain cells 😉

      No I wasnt aware of the website..thanks for the info..will try it…honestly I dont let R touch the laptop yet..may be now is a good time to start 🙂

      • RS says:

        Hey! No no no – you *should* try writing a book of all these stories. Really – I would be the first one to buy a few and gift it to others too – like I said – Im toh copying your stories bindaas – why not take the credit?

        • R's Mom says:

          hahahahah! you dont bother doing all that..just take a print out of my blogposts nad give it to parents who was weird stories for their kids 🙂 and anyways no publisher will ever look at these stories 🙂

  8. SreetamaS says:

    Like R even I want to say thodu more tell na! I want to read more!!!

  9. My era says:

    Superb tale…seeing to the lessons of friendship, trusting friends, trying to learn one dreads (as R fears water) and enjoying life with a sportsman’s spirit 😀 😀
    Well done R’s Mom…you are doing very well.
    I am e-mailing you something shortly, hope that’ll help you in future 😉

    • R's Mom says:

      baap rey ME…you are such a sweetie…you actually came to conclusions on what all one can teach a child with such a story *falls at feet*

      Waiting for your email…if its a story, I will put it up on the blog after your permission 🙂

  10. Ashwathy says:

    I’ll let you enjoy your vanity moment for once 😉

    You are beginning to make up good at making up ‘nonsense’ stories na!! 😀 Practice makes perfect I guess 😉 He he

  11. Ramya says:

    Story at the right time… Thejas has been hearing the fox and fish story atleast once for the past one week.. And he wants to hear it for more than once a day!!! Was thinking I should I ask you to post some new story and bang goes RM with a story 😉 So nice of u… Now I have something new to say him 🙂

  12. Gayu says:

    DOOBOOK….DOOBOOK….and I am laughing here….still smiling….
    I narrated the Elephant and stone wala story to Samu…and told my friend told this to me…and now she wants to go and stay with the friend of mine (that’s you).

    Samu: Mama, mujhe aapke friend ke ghar leke jao na…woh mujhe aache and new story bolegi…
    so when can i drop her…:P 😀

  13. Vidya says:

    You know what? this is amazing.. you are not only ‘creating’ stories, but you have inspired one more mommy.. earlier, it was always the squirrel coming in search of varun for several things.. but last night, l told him a story which had a monkey and a crow in it.. will blog it with due credits to RM:)))
    I like this swimming story and am going to tell this tonight!

  14. Bikram says:

    doooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooobbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbooooooooooooooooooooooookkkkkkkkk

    made me smile too

    it is funny what word would make some laugh so much word, you know when i was young (yeah i was once upon a time 🙂 ) .. we wer 7-8 kids in same house my cousins all had come ot city to study and I still remember the word .. Sooogar ( sugar) .. pronounced sooooo gar ..
    would have us on splits , I dont remember the story behind it , But i am sure if i call my sis in canada or another in india and say Sooooo gar we both would burst out laughing …

    SO you did not forward my message to “R” haaaan the last time I said and gave ideas for stories …

    wonderful story you shud be the story-Teller for all of us tooo Write a book 🙂

  15. Laila says:

    Of course RM… We all love your stories :)…
    I really admire how you spin stories around two really different characters. But, I guess motherhood generates all these qualities…

  16. zephyr says:

    Next time we meet, you are going to tell me a story too, ok? Doobook sounds too cute 🙂

  17. anisnest says:

    vah reh vah RM.. you are an awesome story teller.. I wish I can lapet such stories for Aditi.. she loves stories. R is a gifted girl with such a sweet mom.. 🙂

  18. NBose says:

    waiting for the Bhindi story now…:)

    Like this DooBooK…in that elephant & stone story …where u say Wheeeeeeeee..I had added Wheeeeeee..Yipeeeeeeeeeeeeee….and this makes Mishti giggle like anything…:)

  19. Tanishka says:

    Doobook… 😀 You know I actually said that word thrice with different effects… 🙂
    I liked today;s story a lot… Coz it had a very good msg… Its not always important to win… You conveyed such an important thing in such simple and a sweet way… 🙂

  20. Shruti says:

    haha.. great idea for tonight’s story. .. did I tell u? I tried ur elephant and stone story and fish & fox story to Lil p and she loved it… 🙂 keep sharing.. n i love the doobook & hahaha part the best.

Leave a Reply

