Chai or Coffee

So what person are you someone asked me randomly the other day…

I dont know actually…

I mean, I like chai and coffee equally….If we go out of station, I often get confused what to order..or even in the train, you know how you get up in the morning, go to that wash basin to pretend to brush your teeth and wait eagerly for pantry fellow to come with that hot water flask and ask you chai or coffee…errrr..I look at Appa/RD/Amma/RMB whoever is accompanying me and let them decide…

Its easier when its theΒ chaiwala/coffeewala to announce ‘chai-eee, chai-eee’ or ‘kapi/kapi’Β depending on whether you are travelling to Calcutta or Madras…at leastΒ  you dont have to choose…

But honestly, I dont know whether I am a chai person or coffee person…

When my in laws or parents are around, I have filter coffee in the mornings, but when its only me and RD, I have tea in the mornings..

All through my childhood in Baroda, I wouldnt even open my eyes (I can brush with my eyes closed! okie..open my eyes slightly to form slits to see if the toothpaste was hitting the toothbrush) till Amma’s filter coffee with the perfect amount of decoction and sugar and milk entered my system…this was the case till I got married…AFter that, it was my own coffee…
I reserve the right NOT to describe it at all πŸ˜›

Then I switched to tea after my fissure problem after R’s birth…so now its tea that wakes me up…(Gah! whom am I kidding, now its the alarm that wakes me up…I have my tea AFTER my bath AFTER all the cooking of the dabbas gets done)

But this is how my ideal drink would be

CoffeeΒ – Definitely filter coffee which the MIL/Amma/Patty makes…theirs are the perfect combination of decoction, sugar and milk…I love the smell of the filter coffee which fills the morning air when Amma/MIL are around…they pour the hot water into the fresh coffee powder in side the filter and the smell permeates throughout the house which is bound to wake up anyone…I love it when they add the perfect amount of sugar depending on our tastes and the lovely white milk and make this brown coloured magical tonic which drives away my sleep and laziness…same way in the evenings, when I come back tired fighting the day’s demons of work and travel, MIL/Amma create this absolutely amazing glass of filter coffee which drives away all the tiredness….

Chai –Β Definitely masala chai exactly the way the GujjusΒ make it..and sadly no one around me makes it perfectly…my aunty who expired (She was a Gujju) used to make the BESTEST masala chai in the world…she would add this special homemade masala into it (She died before I could record the recipe – I can ask her daughter though..Good I blog, see how such brainwaves hit me πŸ™‚ )Β and her chai would be something RMBΒ and I would never refuse..with the perfect amount of water, sugar and milk, boiled to perfection into that goldenish brown liquid which could create a heavenly effect on your senses…absolutely superb!

now I just settle for a simple ginger tea which I make myself πŸ™‚

But that would be my ideal coffee/chai
Or if I go to someone’s house..obviously, people ask whether you will have chai or coffee…

my standard reply nothing nothingΒ dont bother..and yet if the person insists (especially if they are older) I say ‘ kuchΒ bhi’ or ‘jo sabΒ le raheΒ hain’ and if there is no sab…I will say ‘whichever is easier’ which is a stupid reply…I mean, whats the difference, it takes the same effort and time to make coffee or chai na!! *Rolls eyes*

So what are you? Chai or Coffee?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to Chai or Coffee

  1. Sumana says:

    I am a tea person. But as you said love amma’s coffee and will not mind having it once a week that i go there. Amazing na, the smells of fresh filter coffee…. I certainly hate the chai masalas that i get in the shops, i have still not found a perfect chai masala and i find the ginger too strong so now it is just tea without any additions. Let me know if you get the exact chai masala recipe. I will try it out.

    • R's Mom says:

      You meet your mom once a week…Gah! so jealous :):)

      Arey I am going to email my friend and ask her, her mom’s recipe..will keep you posted πŸ™‚

  2. Ashwathy says:

    I generally do not take chai or coffee from other people’s houses (except certain very close relatives who know my tastes).

    For me there is no confusion. I take one cup of coffee in the morning (absolute must…since my brain does not wake up without the caffeine in my system…..if it is Bru then all the better! πŸ˜€ ) and one cup of tea in the evening. So depending on the timing I choose whether to have coffee or tea. If I land up at someone else’s house at some other timing like say 11am mid morning or something like that, I ask for water or juice. Pretty sorted, don’t you think?

    For me, tea and coffee have to have a certain taste the way they are made…..south Indian cuppa coffee in the morning and normal milky tea (better if flavoured with elaichi! πŸ˜€ ) in the evening. If the people in the house I am visiting make it some other way, then I prefer not to have it. Priorities are clear boss! :mrgreen: πŸ˜›

    Have to admit, only you can make a full post out of a simple thing such as tea and coffee πŸ™„ πŸ™‚

    I repeat….you have the NERVE to blame R for speaking in multi-tongues. Look at your title itself!!! πŸ˜› It’s chai (hindi) and coffee (english)!!! πŸ˜› Ek title bhi teek se bolna nahi aata …. shame on you!! 😑

    • R's Mom says:

      Water or juice..wah wah you are a good girl πŸ™‚

      Bru is it…my MIL prefers Narasu’s pure coffee powder, while mom is okie with anything…MIL doesnt like chichory in the coffee powder

      I like elachi tea as well… πŸ™‚

      I know…I cant believe I made a full post out of tea and coffee *rolls eyes*

      Errr…i choose to ignore your last line gah!

  3. summerscript says:

    I am a Ginger tea,clove tea, coffee, maltova, chocolate complan, chocolate horlicks person!!
    hehehe πŸ˜€

  4. Filter Kaapi!! I am filter coffee’s biggest fan. And there are specifications attached to it. I’d refuse to drink the kaapi if there is no froth on top of it. Or if it is too milky. Or too sugar-y. Or cold. I am so so finicky about it.

    I go to certain restaurants just for the coffee. There is this ‘Southern Spice’ restaurant in Taj Coromandel Madras. During my internship days, our team would go there (at the client’s expense, of course!!) just to watch the way those waiters ‘aathi-fy’ the filter coffee from one tumbler to another. It is such a pleasure watching them and they’d do it in front of our eyes. And the taste would be awesome. I miss those days. (P.S. – Can’t go there now as there are no clients to sponsor it for us and it will dig a deep hole in the already-empty pocket of the CH! πŸ˜€ :D)

    I began drinking tea only after I got married out of the sheer laziness to make one tea (for the CH) and one coffee (for me). But it is coffee for me, any day! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      you are like RD…RD loves filter coffee though he settles in for Chai when I am around and alone..when the mothers are here, its always filter coffee for him πŸ™‚

      Taj Coromandel – Wah wah!

      I know its irritating to make two things in the morning rey..in our case, RD adjusts to chai because of my fissure problem which aggravates if I have too much coffee in the morning πŸ™‚

  5. uma says:

    hmm..filter coffee for me, like how you described, in the mornings and masala tea in the evenings.
    and yes, my filter coffee does taste good..:-)

  6. VJ says:

    Filter coffee for me !!
    Typical madrasi I am !
    I can make awesome tea (according to everyone in the family).. but I dont drink tea.. cant even stand the smell of tea.Strangely though with this pregnancy, I like tea but its only from this malayali restaurant.

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahah Filter coffee is very nice…I can understand the love…

      Glad the baby inside likes tea…who knows some amount of Gujjuness is passed from here to her πŸ˜‰

  7. RS says:

    I Love milk – given an option I will have milk anytime of the day! πŸ™‚ For me its always been the complan that Mom makes in the morning – I know – dont laugh okie? My cousins all tease me for it even today… AND now that Mom is here-I have her make complan for me even now πŸ™‚ I can JUST not make it that way no matter even if I put the same amount of sugar and complan in to the same tumbler of milk!

    Between coffee or tea – I love filter coffee in some restaurants all frothy on top and gives some kind of a kick! Tea – Iced tea sometimes or masala tea when I have a bad cold – it depends on the mood actually if I need to choose between the 2.

    Bah! What a big silly comment to such a simple topic – RM – you make me think too much rey!

    • R's Mom says:

      and you are like my Amma as well..just like SS…my mom still drinks a glass of milk in the night after dinner before sleeping *rolls eyes*

      Iced tea – aiyo I cant understand how people like it..but RD tells me you need to acquire the taste *rolls eyes again* he likes it πŸ™‚

      Arey for a silly topic you need a simple comment eh?

      • Vidya says:

        Am like you mostly- tea or coffee. Was a coffee person until the fissure came to haunt me:| Well, a nice kadak adhraki chai is great too:) Sometimes, its difficult to resist the aroma of ‘Kumbakonam-degree-kaapi’ aroma at home and I succumb to the pressure:) The filter coffee powder is specially sourced from Kumbakonam for last 2 yrs:) Am Serious.. And I have a glass of milk before going to bed:) Love plain milk, without sugar or other added flavors:)

        • R's Mom says:

          what….you get coffee powder from Kumbakonam…kya enthu hai

          and yaa..my mom also has a glass of milk/boost/bounvita/ whatever available before she goes to sleep πŸ™‚

  8. deethi says:

    this is so good to read.when i go out i drink tea,as i cannot take the coffee they make outside and then when at home it is tea.but,filter kofee leads the race anyday

  9. Sreetama says:

    I am a complete tea person! I find it much closer to my heart & soul! Coffee is a luxury for me! As you said, not that it takes any more/less effort to make either! Tea is more special for me as I learnt how to make tea before I could learn to make coffee! N tea is an everyday affair at my house. I remember, the first question my mother asked my dad when he came back from office, “Cha khabe?” (Will you have tea?) After that, all the other things would follow.

    During winter morning, after a lavish breakfast on Sundays, mom used to make coffee! Hence that is special in another way, a kind of luxury!

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahaha! I know Bongs love Chai, Moodi and Adda..its the best part of being in Calcutta na πŸ™‚ I love the morning scenes of people drinking hot tea with the steam coming out of the cups and eating some moodi with it and chatting about everything under the sun πŸ™‚

      Loved the way you wrote it Sree πŸ™‚

  10. A-kay says:

    Well, being a tamilian who grew up in Madras, no one believes me when I say I have not tasted kapi in my life πŸ™‚ Although I make a good kapi, so I hear… (well, everyone who has had my kapi say that although I cannot vouch for that πŸ˜‰ )

    I was a Viva/Boost person till I went to college and then, got into the habit of drinking Chai – so, now, yes a chai person. But that is just once a day in the afternoon. Morning routine, well there is no routine, it changes and it has been “badam milk”, these days…

  11. My era says:

    I love tea a gram more than coffee if you were to weigh the two options. In train, /i love both equally…if it’s from road-side vendor then it’s tea and at anyone’s place…plain water or anything they offer except a carbonated drink πŸ˜€

  12. Seema says:

    I can drink tea or coffee anytime. But my mornings usually begin with tea only! You know Bongs and Tea have janam janam ka naata. So I prefer to have coffee at office or outside coz at home it’s tea always!

    Before marriage, my Amma never gave us kids tea or coffee. Only once in a bluemoon after begging and pleading, she would agree. It was always plain milk. And I love milk so much so that I used to drink my sister’s share of milk too as she hated it πŸ˜€ Later when Amma discovered our secret ‘setting’, she either chose to sit in front of sis till she finished it or keep a close watch while she went about kitchen chores. I used to sit besides sis and drink sip by sip without letting Amma know. I could gulp the whole glass of milk bottom up but then Amma would catch us as it was too obvious that sis couldn’t finish at such a pace.

  13. Definitely coffee…still partial to the filter kaapi but have had to do with other forms in the last 7 years since moving out…

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahaha! you can get a filter at Aus na PB…then you can import coffee from India everytime some one visits..or wait..its not allowed na..to carry food material into Aus without proper certification and all

      • That’s the thing I still don’t know…apparently some people have told me I can bring in the coffee as long as I declare it but I’m worried about taking the risk…I don’t think I could stand seeing them throw it away at customs!!!

  14. Coffee in the morning for me, to wake me up.
    Green tea(1-2 cups) at work.
    Chai after coming home if AB makes it, or I don’t bother.

    If I were to go to other’s houses I strictly ask for tea as I am anal about how wonderful my coffee should be or I don’t drink it at all.

  15. kirti says:

    Some years back(20 to be precise) , i would have answered “ofcourse coffee , and filter coffee much more” but after marriage I started taking tea , boiled a bit to match the hubby’s taste though I must admit for years my requirement for a cup of tea was more symbolic- like i used to make half a cup for me , willing to part with it asa an unexpected guest arrived , or left it in hurry in one corner and forgot only to discover it next day which was by then the death valley of flies .
    And then one fine day my dad made tea for all of us , a dash of ginger , no boiling , steepled to perfection ,to match my dad’s taste and I just got stuck to the formula .I have converted my husband also to my taste and , if host willing, Irefuse to take tea .
    You have stirred my emotions so much on this subject that i must write a post about it.

  16. Bikram says:

    coffeee man .. ME… but my coffee is different its in pure milk πŸ™‚ and Tea too IF made in pure milk as they called in college times in the mess .. DUDH PATTI πŸ™‚ yummmyyyyyyyyyyy

  17. shaktii says:

    Hi RM,
    Lovely topic dear!!
    Our thoughts are very similiar… i can relate so much to this topic actually, even i confuse what to order when i go out and leave it to my hubby most of the times when dining outside… at home also i ask him what he wants to avoid my confusion..
    At my moms place, since she makes filter kaapi, i go with them and i just love having it.. wow that smell wakes me up..
    On weekends, after a full lunch and a nap i prefer having a tea in the early evening.. weekends see our appetite the most na??
    so tea or coffee.. whatever seems the drink for the day, i just love it..

  18. Deepsi says:

    Hey Even I am a little confused when it comes to Tea/Coffee…

    I just love my Mom Made Filter Coffee… Till my hostel days I hadnt actually tasted Tea….
    After marriage here it is Tea..so it is Tea now @ home.. I prefer my ginger tea that the normal Tea..
    When it comes to choices, Even I am equally bad as you are.. when @ someones house I just say “Anything will do” or “Whatever u are preparing for the others”

    In one such incident where me n hubby were invited to my Aunts house, For husbands sake I said we shall have Tea and witnessed that the tea was pathetic (Sorry Aunty but ur coffee is just amazing) so we hv made a mental note never to ask for Tea next time we visit her.. πŸ™‚

    So I am a 50% Coffee and a 50% Tea person right now.. πŸ˜›
    Oh BTW I am ur new Reader, hopped here via RS’s posts.. πŸ™‚

  19. Smita says:

    This one is easy!! Am a coffee person and this even reminds me, need to get a cuppa hot hot coffee to control the pain in the throat πŸ˜€

    Ciao!!!

  20. ” I wouldnt even open my eyes (I can brush with my eyes closed! okie..open my eyes slightly to form slits to see if the toothpaste was hitting the toothbrush) till Amma’s filter coffee with the perfect amount of decoction and sugar and milk entered my system”

    Absolutely love these lines as they describe the way I used to wake up in the mornings too πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    I’m a coffee person all the way πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    LOVE LOVE LOVE filter coffee !! And filter coffee, WONLY πŸ˜€

  21. Tanishka says:

    I don’t drink coffe as well as tea so no confusion i life… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  22. anisnest says:

    coffee anytime but you know that I have stopped tea/coffee now.. I mean totally and surviving for the past 2 months..
    Till my marriage I am a coffee coffee coffee person.. If I have to wake up at 5am I will set alarm for 4:30 so ma can wake up, make coffee and wake me up.. πŸ˜‰ I was a bed coffee person till the day before marriage technically 4 days after marriage as we stayed at my native place for 4 days after marriage ;).. amma’s filter kaapi is the best always.. I cannot survive without 2 cups of coffee a day.. I will start getting headache.. I was so much addicted.. I had headache for 3 days continuously after I stopped but somehow overcame it and now stopped completely..

    I started drinking Tea only after marriage that too I make ginger/masala chai on weekends or holidays..At my mom’s place its always coffee and at M’s house its coffee for morning and tea for evening but who cares now..

  23. ARP says:

    Hi RM,

    Thought provoking post πŸ™‚ I usually have milk in the mornings and am a big fan of Bonvita/Horlicks.
    But between tea and coffee i think it would be tea, though its coffee at mom’s place in the mornings. I love to have tea at 4 in the evenings though. It seriously gives the much needed charging.

  24. DI says:

    Hmmm. I am also confused. I love both tea and coffee. I thin for me it depends on where and when. So mornings, it is tea by The Dude. Office, it is coffee from the machine. At mom’s it is tea in the morning, and filter kaapi in the afternoons. Abroad it is only cappuccinos. So like that. πŸ™‚

  25. Smitha says:

    I keep oscillating between tea and coffee. I am in a coffee phase right now. Can’t bear to even look at tea. When I am in my tea phase – I can’t even bear to look at coffee- yes, I know, I’m crazy. πŸ™‚ And I have tea/coffee just once a day(mornings) – unless I come down with a migraine – in which case I might have another cup. I used to love the masala chai we used to get in Ahmedabad! Those were delicious!

  26. Scribby says:

    I’m a both person too πŸ™‚ In fact barring winters I don’t take both cause I’m a milk person actually πŸ™‚ yeah milk with bournvita πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ *go ahead call me baby drink adult or whatever :P*

    so I think people like us who have no problems taking in chai and coffee both makes the host a happy person cause then the host doesn’t have to face a problem like my neighbor aunt…she recently came to our place in rush with a katori in hand asking for some coffee πŸ™‚ she said we only stock tea since we have only chai and such situation has not occurred yet,also stocking up coffee eventually spoils it 😦 so there!

    also my maternal uncle doesn’t take chai at all and my MIL too is like that..not even a sip…so while on travel they face problems cause coffee is seldom available in train and road journeys!

    • R's Mom says:

      arey what baby drink adult..my mom is 57 and STILL does it :):)

      hahaha πŸ™‚ LOL about your neighbour πŸ™‚

      oh yaa 😦 thats sad na..and often chai is more easily available than coffee na 😦

  27. RM I am so much like you, till 22 I never had tea or coffee and when I started work I slowly got into those habits. Now if someone asks me what my favorite is even I get puzzled, my story is same like urs when in laws around we drink amazing filter coffee, when R and Im we make tea. And when we are outside we drink coffee because in US you don’t get a good tea, well unless you go to Indian restaurants..

Leave a Reply

