The Weekend That Was

It was a pretty nice weekend..you know when you get to do a lot of things…not relax too much yet catch up with sleep..that kinds..where you take practical romantic train rides with the husband and ensure your baby helps you clean up the house…the weekend where you talk to delightful people and get great compliments..yes yes that kind

Saturday

R got up early Grrrrr…and said chalo amma brush karenge..hopeless girl…..so we brushed and then she was bored..so I gave her work to do…water the plants, change the pillow covers, put the bedsheet to wash, wipe the previous day’s patrams and keep them in the shelves and all that…What dont look at me like that…SHE wanted it..so much so that she made me put back a cover of a pillow because SHE wanted to remove it ..this girl I tell you!

made dosas for R for breakfast with the bacha hua atta while RD and I had chutney sandwichs..there is something nice about eating plain chutney tomato sandwichs without butter or cheese…you savor the tangy taste of the tomatoes and the spicy taste of the chutney against the lovely fresh bread πŸ™‚

We dropped R to the daycare and then came back home…I made some mexican daliya (yaa yaa I can make such weird stuff AND make RD eat it too ;))

Cleaned my clothes shelf…you know when you realised that you are NEVER going to get back to your pre pregnancy clothes and for the past 3.5 years have been just fooling yourself..thats what I realised on Saturday..went on a throwing cleaning spree and gave up new clothes as well to the maid/garbage lady..I mean boss…I am never getting that thin,…..whats the point of just wasting space!

We left for Bandra at about 2 in the afternoon..I was bugged at RD for making me lose my afternoon sleep..but then we had work to be done..so took a train from Bvr to Bandra…ran across the station to catch a fast train..got into the gents compartment 2nd class since it wasnt too crowded..and enjoyed the journey with RD..we didnt get to sit..but one man let me stand near the seat with support on my back with RD stood facing me..you know the protective types..actually not..earlier when we were married he would put his arms around me holding the metal rod..now a days he just stands holding the support over the head….so what does it show?

That

After 6 years of marriage, the dude has enough trust in you to travel by train without protection..I think he believes I am more a mumbaikar bai totally confident of protecting myself :):)

anyways, we got off at bandra…went to the place where we had to..

There one old uncle was also looking for the same place and he got talking to us

*Vanity Alert*

RD: Are you from Kerala?
Uncle (U): how did you guess
RD: oh uncle your accent
U: yes yes..so where are you from
RD: From Kerala and they exchanged the gaons from where they were and all that

RD and uncle kept talking for a while and that uncle realised he didnt ask me where I was from

U: and you where are you from
RM: Errr…actually from Kerala but I have been brought up in Gujarat
U: Can you speak Malayalam
RM: WEll he can pointing towards RD

What I didnt want to say I cant speak okie πŸ™‚

U: oh…
RM: He is my husband I blurt out
U: WHat..oh…I thought you both were college students

and this is the moment RM is blushing and very happy

RM: Errr..no no we are married and we have a 3 year old kid as well

U: oh is it…Santoor eh

RM stares at him as if he is a bit crazy while RD bursts out laughing

RM: What

U: you know santoor

RM: oh oh! Realisation that he is talking about the santoor ad…

RM: arey no no πŸ™‚

and all that…

*Vanity alert over*

We did our work and got back to the station…let go a Virar train and got into a Borivali slow which lived up to its name…RD felt we will reach home tomorrow :):)

For the first time, RD shared a fourth seat with me…for the non Mumbaikars..the fourth seat is the place which avoids you from standing…while the actual seat is for three people, 99% of the travellers sit on the fourth seat saying ‘bhai thoda ander jao na’ so we did the ander jaing and RD sat on the fourth seat with me πŸ™‚ oh we also share a sukha bhel in the train..you know just to get reminded of the good old days of early marriage where you share everything with the husband because its romantic..we did because the train was entering the platform and we had no time to buy the second!

Picked up R, took her to the doctor and came back home…

Made some yummy kothimber vadi for the first time..and then some pulav

ate dinner and went to sleep πŸ™‚

Sunday

Since it was Tirivadirai, got up early, had a bath and made the prasadam..kalli and curry…

RD came back from his run and refused to eat maggi…gah! so made some hot hot yummy cabbage parathas for all of us…

Then R and I went out shopping..you know when you go to buy something and come back with everything but that…yaa…I went out to buy dahi and came back with a million things but that…so went down again…

and then the delightful RS gave me a call and we ended up chatting for over 40 minutes..RD is like who is this…I told him arey RS my blogger friend..after 2 minutes he tells me ‘aaj kal you have more virtual friends than real ones eh?’

hehehehe πŸ™‚

R also spoke to RS asking her to bring her ‘chotu’ baby with her to Mumbai..so when are you coming RS???

We ate lunch of sambhar, the curry made for prasad and rice…

and went to snoozeland

Got up and washed a truckload sinkful of patrams and then decided to go to the mall to pick up some kurtas for RD for a wedding we plan to attend…which is like the stupidest decision ever…I mean who goes to malls on a Sunday evening…the whole of Mumbai and their cousins…baap rey it was so crowded…I mean boss where is the recession and all that people are talking about!!!

Got some fab kurtas for RD and t shirts for R…didnt buy anything for myself…

I know I am a good girl! Honestly I think FabIndia is very expensive..nothing below 600 Rs for ladies stuff…and I find it expensive!

Ate dinner at the mall…some yummy corn, pav bhaji, french fries, burger and RD had some thali..it was yummmmmm πŸ™‚

came back home, kept all the patrams in the shelf…which is when I realised that I HAD used up all the patrams of hte house!!!

Went to sleep πŸ™‚

and then two things…first a question and then a Rism πŸ™‚ *Seema dont scroll down directly okie!*

So in the mall, we were going down to the car park in the lift…it was full…from the 2nd floor, it stopped at the first floor and one man spoke to everyone in general in the lift in accented english saying ‘we have been waiting for a long time with lots of kids here…could you all get down, so that people with children can use the lift?’ he was rude…point blank rude…

But I realised he was just very frustrated..with a child in a stroller who was fidgety, I could connect to him…so I got down..and RD followed him..R asked me kyun amma, car toh nahi aya…I told her, uncle has small kids na..let him use the lift…we were the only ones apart from two other ladies who got off..no one else did…we walked down the rest of the two floors with RD telling me ‘ I didnt like the way he spoke, he was very rude’

RM: But RD he was totally frustrated
RD: I understand RM, but he had no right to be rude..he could have been polite right?
RM: Yes, but sometimes when you are frustrated you dont understand that you are rude
RD: but thats not right na..what if we had told him sorry dude, yourΒ  bad luck and no one got down..and waise bhi RM, only you,me, R and one more person got down, no one else bothered
RM: well, I do agree he was rude, but I have been through that phase of small kid, fidgety, not wanting to carry the child because you are tired
RD: Well, let me tell you, I know that guy, he used to work in my company, his kid is OLDER than R and he didnt have the right to be rude..since you got off, and R did, I got off..no one else bothered…and funnily, you also had a kid with you, how come the people who didnt have kids, didnt get off…

Well, I couldnt argue on that…RD was right, that guy was definitely RUDE..but I got off because as a parent, I know how frustrating it is…RD usually goes out of his way to help people who have kids and stuff, but he was upset about the guy’s attitude…

What would you have done?

Ending the post with a Rism….

On Sunday morning, R gets up and says ‘amma you kulichi’ (amma did you have your bath)

I tell her yes

R: Aaj school hai kya?

RM: no baby, but amma made prasad..today is tirivadirai

R: oh……what prasad

So I proudly show her the two prasads which I managed to make before she got up all proud of myself

R: baas..only two…when it was Ganesh machis birthday, aap ne kitna sara banaya tha..aaj only two! (When it was Ganesh Bhagwan’s birthday, you had made so many, today only two)

RM: !!!!!

Tell me..no seriously, tell me, why, why, why me??

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to The Weekend That Was

  1. Smita says:

    I want to be first! SO here I push *enter* & wish that mine is the 1st comment!
    *Now goes back to read*

    • Smita says:

      Why you? Because when it is pay back time it happens here & now only πŸ˜€

      As far asthat lift situation is concerned…hmmmm….I guess I wouldn’t have come out for few reasons
      1-I too have a kid
      2- See I agree that he might be frustrated or irrtated but it isn’t like that I got into the elevator by pushing him out, yes I shud be empathitic with him but for that the guy should be asking nicely not behaving as if we were wrong in entering the elevator or rather as if we had pushed him out of it.
      Yes, I am very khadoos this way!

      And your travelling with RD reminded me of a couple we had seen while we were travelling to Bandra. The girl was standing near the door with her back supported on the seat and the guy had his arms around her (of course he too was holding the seat) and the girl was playing with his hair, wiping something off his face basically finding a reason to touch him. Though initally I found it cute but later I felt they were going over borad with PDA. I hope u guys didn’t indulge in any such thing πŸ˜‰ no no I have read that RD had his hands up but u never know u r telling us half truth πŸ˜‰

      And the Uncle complimented u by saying u look like a college going girl & u say u r fat? Come on come out with ur Vital sats bole to Height & Weight, now!!! And sigh!!! I have clothes from my Ahmedabad wishing that I will fit into them one day. And I am sure I will! So happy Hoarding days πŸ˜€

      • R's Mom says:

        I know I know..even my amma says that…iss janam mein everything comes back πŸ™‚

        no you are not khadoos…you and RD share the same logic!

        oh you know what…while RD was acting all prim and proper and I tried to brush a speck of dust from his hand he is like dont touch me and all that *rolls eyes*
        and next to us were a couple + 1 girl and the guy was managing to do everything that youngsters in love do :):) *Errr…that makes me sound so old*

        no seriously I am wondering why he thought we were college kids…1. I think our clothes 2. I think our bags (RD had a school bag, I had a jhola) 3. I wasnt wearing any signs of marriage you know mangalsutra, bindi, etc etc

        hahahha on the hoarding πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahah! yes you are first πŸ™‚

  2. Sumana says:

    So R understands prasad needs to be made in variety RM. Nice to hear inspite of the crazy schedules you manage to do. After moving back, we either have our parents/inlaws and i am only a supporting character when it comes to kitchen stuff. All i do is eat and feed. Bad bad me.

    RM, now you sure need to post a pic for the blog world… Santoor ad and all that. RD must be all fida and that is why all the romance on the train haan….

    I can understand when the lift goes full all the time and you never get to board the lift. I am not too surprised, but i have seen people doing that all the time. But then this happens with parents of really small kids what with strollers and diaper bags etc.

    600 rs. Fab India, hmmm expensive, but then even stores like reliance trends and that boast of 699 rs kurthis.

    • R's Mom says:

      Arey R is total nautanki…I was pretty surprised when she said this you know πŸ™‚

      Arey see what I wrote to Smita the reasons why that uncle got confused πŸ™‚

      oh yaa..fab india has gotten expensive..though their stuff is pretty nice

  3. Just before your Vanity Alert, you said you threw out clothes which don’t fit you anymore. Next, you look like a college girl! Hah! Now, whom should we believe? You or the old man?! πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    No burgers or maggi during the weekend?!! Seema – Are you around?! πŸ™‚

    **Looking at RS, Seema and RM** When are your plans for Hyderabad?

    Errr.. What is kothimber vadi??

    Some people are like that guy, RM. They think their problems and frustrations are way bigger than others. What would I do? I really don’t know. These days, I simply have a convenient excuse – You have just one kid. I have TWO!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But never have we taken the elevators anywhere. It is always ‘Nada-raaja-service’, ‘cos our little ones love to climb stairs! πŸ™‚

    You should have made some thing more for that little girl R for Thiruvathirai apart from the bland kali and kootu! **Stern look at RM**
    **Looking at R** Don’t worry R. Seema aunty will come down and make loads of stuff for you! **Runs**

  4. Vidya says:

    When in school, the sis and i would love this ‘hand-me-down’ phase, getting from my older-cousin, passing mine to my sis, her’s to a younger cousin etc:) This makes me want to do a whole post about it:)

    R is so responsible, arranging patrams and all that! no no, i’ll not hold this against you.. i need similar support you see;)

    Yaay!. to romatic train-ride an all that.. So Santoor is the secret is it;)?

    Do a food-blog na! Will email you abt this..ok?

    Ummm.. abt the lift episode.. i think its ok.. anyway you didn’lose anything.. bad for him if has chosen to be rude:)

    • R's Mom says:

      oh yaa yaa…I am still a ‘hand me down’ fan..totally..

      Glad you understand the keeping the patrams problem πŸ™‚

      Gah!

      Food blog…you must be crazy..the day I start a food blog the whole world will come to an end..no seriously!!!

      yaa..guess you are right πŸ™‚

  5. garima says:

    R is such an independent girl…..she helps you so much:-)
    Hahaha now that everyone assumes you being a college girl,I so want see you.Kab aa rahe ho app bangalore?

    Yeah you did the right thing getting down from the lift.Though that guy was rude and all that but you did what you felt was correct inspite of you having a kid too.
    The others who did not get off must feel guilty.

    And RM its good to know we still have some good people like you who so understands others..Hats off you to lady!!!

    And Rism as usual was mind blowing πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Like my mom says…once she gets a bit older dont expect anything..till then use to the fullest heheh πŸ™‚

      Errr….bangalore is a pending trip I guess

  6. uma says:

    have been at each other’s blog at the same time i guess..only, i couldn’t comment immediately…
    ha, could relate to the cupboard cleaning thing..
    hmmm..santoor thing happened to me too..so, *sticks tongue out*
    nice of you to understand the lift guy’s predicament, although he was rude..
    lol@ Rsim..maine toh sirf kali banaya and R didn’t touch it!!..well…

  7. VJ says:

    I am back !!!!!
    I seriously need to see your pic !! U seem to get lot of college girl compliments. I think u r being too modest about your looks!! So when are u sending the pic?. When u send it, send it as a family pic ok… That way I can see R !!

    Can I send my brat for some training to help me around the house ?

    Wow u did prasadam for thiruvathirai !!
    U r too chamathu RM. no wonder R is such a darling !

    • R's Mom says:

      hey good to see you πŸ™‚ hope all is well and all that πŸ™‚

      Errr…no…check out what I wrote to Smita πŸ™‚

      of course send him here I will train him well..if not me, at least R will for sure πŸ™‚

      oh yaa…I am chamathu and all that hehe πŸ™‚

  8. Santoor mom and dad eh? πŸ˜€

    Anyway, answers to
    1) elevator situation – there is no right or wrong thing to do, how you react depends on how tolerant you are to rudeness. You were empathetic, RD was not ok with his attitude.

    To be honest, I normally give up seats, make way or accommodate the elderly, children and other such deserving people, but I guess this time, I would have not stepped out. Simply because I don’t want to set an example for that guy as well as my kid that you can get things done by being rude.

    2) why you made more Prasad for Ganesh umachi – because he has a bigger tummy than all Gods. Duh! πŸ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      1) Oh I never thought it that way! now you are making me feel guilty about stepping out 😦
      2) You are the bestest…thank you for the wonderful answer…I am giving that to R today evening I am definitely a duh!

      • Ayyo sorry RM. I didn’t mean to make you feel bad or guilty. And honestly I have no business commenting on what you should be doing. Sorry, I only saw how rude I sound after reading your reply. I didn’t mean to be preachy or rude. Was just showing you a pov.

        Like I said, there is no right or wrong way. What you did shows how kind you are, what I said shows how stuck up I am πŸ™‚

        • R's Mom says:

          arey like I wrote to you..come on..you have every right to your opinion and its only when people tell whats in their mind, our mind broadens right? and guess what, RD will agree to you 100%

          hugs hugs hugs..okie?

  9. Ramya says:

    When will Thejas help me in household chores…. God!
    Nice santoor ad πŸ˜‰ So RD is the secret of RM’s santoor look? RM looks like santoor mom while with RD?!!! Thats so nice πŸ˜‰ RD don get angry on me (puppy face) and how come u know to cook all the right dishes for every pandigai?

    • R's Mom says:

      hahahaha give him time dear πŸ™‚

      arey my MIL and Amma tell me na what to do…I dont know anything…I ask them for the recipe EVERY YEAR hehehe πŸ™‚

  10. Seema says:

    ‘so much so that she made me put back a cover of a pillow because SHE wanted to remove it’ – I can totally empathize with you, what with me putting back the cover TWICE πŸ˜›

    I follow the same funda as your mom said. As long as I can get things done from them, why not??

    What is this Mexican Dalia? Recipe please πŸ˜€

    I can still fit into my pre-pregnancy clothes. I lost a lot of weight post delivery but regaining now.

    Awww at the train journey. First time in your blog, I’m coming across a situation like this where RD travelled in train.

    Is Kothimbir Vadi steamed cousin of a fried Bhakarwadi?

    You gotta post a pic for your readers to decide whether to trust you or not πŸ‘Ώ

    I dunno what I would have done in the lift. But even if I wanted to, I’m sure Abbas would’ve pulled me back. In a way, RD was right. But I really admire you for having actually walked off, RM.

    LOL at the Rism. In R’s defense, it certainly is a genuine doubt that she had in mind.

    • R's Mom says:

      Twice!! hugs darling hugs

      Mexican Daliya recipe..errr…okie…will do it in sometime

      WHAT you lucky gal…fitting into pre pregnancy clothes..me…I have lost hope!

      RD never travels by train *rolls eyes* despite him telling me how much he used to earlier on and all that..we always fight on that πŸ™‚

      no no Kothimber vadi..check out the link I replied to Sns..its super nice πŸ™‚

      hahahaha! you want me to lose the few readers here?

      Errrr…I didnt give RD too much choice na πŸ™‚

  11. hey,
    you are seriously amazing to do all this over just TWO days. Reading about your day only makes me feel exhausted. Guess that shows me up for what I am which is essentially a somberi πŸ˜€
    I have blogrolled you,hope you don’t mind R’s amma ?

  12. Hyboin says:

    Just to say your post made me smile πŸ™‚ Sply the differentiate in ‘Just married’ and after a while.

  13. Bikram says:

    COLLEGE STUDENTS .. yah mara .. kya baat hai .. uncle is great πŸ™‚

    yes and why only TWO .. no this is not fair on Ganesha’s you made more and no only two , R is right favouritism in Gods too haan πŸ™‚ he he he he

    Now on serious note.. why does it make a couple who have a child the right to do so, I dont want to be mean but having a child is not wrong or a disease or something ..
    now when i read your posts you are good with R and i have never read you doing anything wrong or being bad.. so why did that uncle have ot be rude.. he is frustrated so that’s not anyone else problem .. so he shud keep his frustration to himself. RD is right …

    and listen you please ADOPT me I promise to be good all that food and all the fun you have .. πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      no Bikram, its more to do with the fact that carrying a kid especially older than 1 year may get tiring…thats why πŸ™‚

      hahahah come to Mumbai and we can eat as much as you want πŸ™‚

  14. RS says:

    1 . Your voice sounds like a ‘santoor’ mommy πŸ™‚
    2..Did R eat rice or other stuff – and let the poor girl eat ok – and let her enjoy it!
    3. I NEED to see your pictures NOW – and how could u throw away so much stuff (crying) – I could fit into all my pre-pregg clothes – unfortunately not anymore which is why Im getting worried! Putting on weight at all the wrong places…
    4. R-ism – so what;s wrong with that? Isnt she right? Why didnt you prepare more variety?
    5. And you STOP taking advantage of that little angel – I will teach her the next time I talk to her. Hmmppphhh.

    • R's Mom says:

      1. hahahahah

      2. she had rice babes…she is my daughter…and you know whose the mother here na πŸ˜‰

      3. hahahahah! you can fit is it…awesome babes..awesome

      4. errrr..okie if you say so

      5. Gah!

  15. zephyr says:

    Now don’t go and eat THIS one up!
    ‘Got some fab kurtas for RD and t shirts for R…didnt buy anything for myself…’
    Why this budget veri di? Don’t you know you ‘are worth it’?
    Enjoyed this lovey dovey post. And RD seems to be like me — even I go on talking about something that I am made to do when I don’t agree with it. Rude people will be rude, so we have to take our own decisions. For the records, I would have behaved like you did too.

  16. NBose says:

    I first thought that uncle mispronounced ‘sindoor’ as ‘santoor’!!!…But then related it to that ad of soap…..itzzz really coool….:D nice compliment u guys received from him…:)

  17. Scribby says:

    oh I just did the same…stopped dreaming that I’ll be that slim gorgeous 20 something looking girl,that I was,and I’ve admitted the fact that the wardrobe needs to be cleaned immediately with new big sizes clothes filling in πŸ˜› *how shameless,huh*

    Any way heres wishing you loads of happy and cleaning weekends πŸ˜‰

  18. Tanishka says:

    Ohhh the santoor gal…. Kya baat hai… :whistle:

    For the elevator situation I think I would hve stepped out too but before doing that I would have told the man that he is being rude and he could have asked for help politely too….

    And now a very important question for you – “Why only two prashad today RM” πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      Actually even RD said that…at least I should have told him to be a bit more polite about the whole thing and I would have stepped out…guess you people are right πŸ™‚

  19. anisnest says:

    You know how to make your readers smile don’t you? The Rism was cute.. why you RM why you? same Q.. I have a girl here who questions me even if I try to cook the same food in 2 days 😦

    did that Uncle wear glasses RM? May be its time for him to go for an eye checkup? lol.. **running away**

    abt the elevator episode I am not sure my reaction would have depended on my state of mind too.. If I was also exhausted I would not have got down.. If I was with full energy and fresh mind may be I would have got down.. you see my reaction will not be the same always..

    • R's Mom says:

      Glad to make you smile πŸ™‚

      Adi does it as well eh?

      I know that uncle was pretty old rey..so I guess he would be needing to get his glasses checked πŸ™‚

      well, I guess thats true..just because we had a brilliant dinner, we were ready to get off and walk πŸ™‚

  20. Ashwathy says:

    R woke YOU up early on Saturday??? πŸ˜† Serves you right! πŸ˜› And you took revenge in return anyway πŸ™„

    After 6 years of marriage, the dude has enough trust in you to travel by train without protection..I think he believes I am more a mumbaikar bai totally confident of protecting myself
    LOL! πŸ™‚ I loved that explanation of yours!
    * makes a mental note to check one’s own marriage after 6 yrs and see what haalat it is in *

    ame back home, kept all the patrams in the shelf…which is when I realised that I HAD used up all the patrams of hte house!!!
    HAhaha!! So I am not only the one to whom this happens….especially during weekends! πŸ˜†

    LOL!!! πŸ˜€ God save me if/when I have a daughter!! Two prasadams are not enough for her eh??

    BTW I also observed tiruvadirai as per my MIL’s suggestion :mrgreen: * preens*
    It is a far easier vrath to take than karva chauth πŸ™„ * shudders * Eeks!! That one is not for me please!!! πŸ˜›

    • Ashwathy says:

      And gah!! You can’t even approve YESTERDAY’s comment πŸ™„ 😑 πŸ˜›

    • R's Mom says:

      Waise R wakes up early every day *rolls eyes*

      I know..I really dont use so many patrams..pata nahi that day I was on a rampage..and not that I cooked anything elaborate..some days are like that I guess πŸ™‚

      I didnt know if you do upvas for tiruvadirai..we just eat the kalli and curry and then go ahead eating everything else in the world..the MIL does upvas I guess…I dont πŸ™‚

      • Ashwathy says:

        We are not supposed to eat rice or rice-based stuff (no idli, dosa also), and also non-veg. That’s the main restriction.
        I really don’t mind….since it’s not so hard to follow πŸ™‚

  21. i was wondering what was wrong with my day and then realized i hadn’t read R’s mom posts yet πŸ™‚

    Why no fight btw?

    • R's Mom says:

      Awwww! thats so sweet..

      Errr…I have decided to stop putting the fights on the blog..we are doing too much of it now a days πŸ˜‰ but dont worry…after every fight we do think, arey nuttie ko bolna padega πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

