Risms

Seema, since I am scared of your anger love you too much..this one is once more for you πŸ™‚

===========

R gets up at 5.45 in the morning and I am trying furiously to scold cajole her to sleep

RM: you sleep girl, otherwise you will be sleepy in school

R is crying ‘amma you also sleep with me..’

and then I pretend to lie down for a second putting my hands around her when she snuggles next to me, opens one eye, opens the other, slowly smiles and says ‘Amma, aap meri ho na…’

I am stunned for a second and I say yes

Hmmmm she says and goes back to sleep!

Ah! Motherhood πŸ™‚

=======

We are sitting at the doctor’s place when a lady comes in with a small kiddo about 5 -6 months old wearing this fully covered dress which covers the feet as well

R: Amma, woh baby hai
RM: yes
R: nahi woh toh doll hai
RM: Smiling..no beta, its a baby..
R: Toh uska feet kyon cover kiya hai…(Why are her feet covered) – dont ask me what is her logic about human babies should have uncovered feet..she is MY child so I am not suprised with such weird logic!
RM: Because she is very small she will feel cold
R: Amma, apne ghar pe chotu baby ayegi toh usko bhi karoge feet cover (Amma, when chotu baby comes to our house, will you cover her feet)

RM: Errr…

Well this is why you become parents, because the demands are pretty unrealistic small

========

R seesΒ  me from her daycare playarea, comes running to me and tells me ‘Amma, aap ghar jao, aaj mein YSΒ  ke ghar pe jaao chu’ (Amma, you go home, today I am going to YS’s house)

Well, thats motherhood again

=======

R plans to go to Singapore with her friend YD..now YD and R are in the same school (not the same class) and same daycare so they are pretty close friends…YD’s parents are taking him to Singapore and apparently he has invited his best friend R with him

R: Amma, mein YD ke saath Singapore going (I am going to Singapore with YD)
RM: Errr…who is taking you people
R: His amma and appa
RM: But wont you miss me and Appa
R: no, uski amma hai na..woh roz pav bhaji cook karegi aur main khaungi.. (His mother is there, she will cook pav bhaji for me everyday and I will eat)

There, priorities people, priorities

========

I tell R that Baroda thatha is coming to meet you

R: Acha, toh ‘madasamastha jagadam’ bolke mereko wake up karenge na in the morning? (okie, so he will sing ‘madasamastha jagadam’and wake me up in the morning na?)

I mean boss, children ask what my grandfather will get for me, what time is he coming, how will he come..but the brat worries if he will be the one to sing ‘suprabhatam’ and wake her up! I give up on this girl..uff!

=========

RD showed R the video on youtube of the flash mob and after that there is an everyday demand for it..RD being the indulgent dad, lets her watch it

now she wants to watch the same video TWICE…which pakaos both of us..I mean same video two times everyday

Exasperated I ask her, why R why two times

Pat comes the reply ‘ Mereko acha lagtaΒ  hai’ (I like it)

Well, I cant argue on that one

then I hear her humming

Bandh de rasanti, bandh de rasanti

and I ask her, kya kya

she says kuch nahi

Now as I was writing this post, I realised that she is actually singing ‘rang de basanti’ heheheh πŸ™‚

=========

and oh you do know that your child is grownΒ  up when she refuses to sit with you in the BEST bus, goes and plonks herself against the lady who comes in your bus everyday and says ‘Amma, abhi aap back ma beso, hun aunty ke saath sit karti hoon’ (amma, now you sit at the back, I will sit with aunty) and she doesnt even look back once to figure out whether I am sitting or not behind her…and oh I am still sweeping up the broken pieces of my heart..

Gah! who am I kidding?

I am dancing in joy at her independence!!!

=========

The Ego is pretty up now a days…(even before the haircut)

R looks at me for the past one week and says ‘amma, aaj toh aap achi lag rahe ho’ (amma, today you are looking nice)

THIS folks,….This is why you should have children :):)

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Risms

  1. Seema says:

    Bandh de rasanti and madasamastha jagadam…. ROFL! She is such a sweetheart. Awww at ‘Amma… aap meri ho na’.

    Thanks for dedicating this post again to me. Please smother R with kisses from my end, will ya?

    When I used to travel with Mantam in the bus, they used to hardly sit with me. They knew which aunty had what in her bag. I would chill by outsourcing them all through the journey.

    So R is still giving hints about the chotu baby, eh?? And you conclude the post with “This is why you should have C.H.I.L.D.R.E.N”! I smell something fishy here. *Runs away before you throw rotten eggs and tomatoes at me*

    • R's Mom says:

      Yes…smothering will be done over the weekend…

      Mantam are smarties eh?

      Errr..no I am still not pregnant πŸ™‚ and yes R is BEEEGG on dropping hints for a sibling πŸ™‚

  2. First of all, thanks to Seema – we got Risms today! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    And RM – Lovely post this one. Okay.. Now, the learnings from the post –
    – Chotu baby could well be on the way.
    – RM needs to learn to make ‘Paav Bhaaji’ and sing ‘Suprabhatham’!
    – RM actually looks way way nicer than what she portrays on the blog. πŸ˜€

    R wants to see the flash mob video only twice no?? Keer and Kau watch the Kolaveri video some 17 times a day! 😦

    • R's Mom says:

      ‘un’learings of the day

      – no I am still not pregnant
      – RM can sing Suprabhatam but not as well as her Appa to please the brat’s ears…RM also makes Pav bhaji but thats like once in an year πŸ™‚
      – RM doesnt look that great…RM has a daughter who loves her to bits πŸ™‚

      oh lets not even start on Kolaveri..I am going to spank RD one day for that! Thats another post babes

  3. summerscript says:

    Love love love and loads of love to my little R darling πŸ™‚
    This post made my day RM πŸ™‚
    ** starts her work singing Bandh de rasanti ..bandh de rasanti .. **

  4. Seema says:

    R ki Amma… I swear I’m not after your life but with well-meaning intentions, wanted you to know that the Title is mis-spelt πŸ˜›

  5. RS says:

    Hey look – the first and the last are more than enough to out number and outshine everything else said in the heat of the moment.Muuaaahh to R. And Babe! How do I teach Chutku the suprabhatam? tell me,tell me…

    • R's Mom says:

      I dont know when and where R learnt suprabhatam..she doesnt sing the whole thing..(I dont think anyone but MS Subhalakshmi sang that) but she does sing the first two paras ‘much to my surprise’

  6. vandana says:

    yeah kids do make ur day …especially if they give nice comments ..but its sometimes annoying when they ask for same thing again and again ..like my son keeps asking for one song again and again for past 1 year

  7. what a joy this child is to us, RM! Reading her antics brings a huge smile every time! πŸ™‚

  8. Smita says:

    lol @ Band de basanti!!

    My L’lle brat is fond of Kolaveri & can listen to it as many times as possible. :D\

    And R is adroable!!! Trust me she will be a fiercely independent kid and few years down the line you would feel she doesn’t need me for these things?

    So when are u giving the L’lle baby to her?? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    And seriously these sudden hugs & acts of endearment by kids make our day na??

  9. Loads of love to the star:-)
    She is SO adorable! πŸ˜€
    Such an intelligent and warm child πŸ™‚

    Good job RM, good job. πŸ˜€

    Ps: this is why we should have kids or this is why *you* want to have one more kid? πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

  10. Seema says:

    Hey, I wanted to write a post for Indian Moms Connect. I am able to login using my wordpress credentials. But I dunno how to post. Tell me no, plz?

  11. U know what I will catch on. So we want r2. Just coz u can make the baby wears socks! And r Uff is too cute

  12. Comfy says:

    The first one is just too sweet. Heart is overflowing with love for our cute R.

    I can make Pav Bhaji and play Shubhprabhatam on Youtube along with the flash mob thing so send her over I say. Added bonus I have a baby who wears clothes that cover her feet as well. Live demo for our sweetheart πŸ˜€

    PS: Please to listen to R on R2. She is giving hints right, left and center. πŸ˜€

  13. Ashwathy says:

    This is one truly heartwarming post πŸ™‚ If I ever need reasons to start a family, I’ll come to you ok? Or I should say “okie” since you always seem to spell it like that πŸ™„

    R is adorable….she’s a brat, but she’s adorable….but then you already know that don’t you? πŸ™‚

    Oh, and one more thing. If you want more kids, why do you want to try convincing us?? Don’t belt out reasons n excuses….just go right ahead!! πŸ˜‰ :mrgreen:

    runsss as Rsmom chases in hot pursuit with chappals to throw!….

  14. Smita T says:

    It tugs my heart everytime… when N says to his dad… Mom is mine dont trouble her… isnt he protective but too protective….

    N too insists on watching the videos on FB / youtube atleast 4 times… its irritating…

  15. Laila says:

    R is such a sweetheart… Will wait for more Risms πŸ™‚

  16. Swaram says:

    Aww I luv her version of Rang De Basanti πŸ™‚
    What give up on her RM? She is the sweetest!:D

  17. “Risms” sounds so chic!

    I wanna have kids too *makes a puppy face*

  18. Pepper says:

    Awww the first incident made me melt. I wanna curl up and sleep next to my mama now.

  19. Tharani says:

    RM you seriously can’t say no to R. So when is Choto baby coming???
    loads of love to R. She always makes us laugh πŸ™‚

  20. Vidya says:

    1. Now I want to all awwwww… on her snuggling up to you and asking if you were hers:)
    2. Hint, hint… she is thinking like an older sister now:)) (i don’t need to tell you that I love to ruffle your calm feathers, do i ;))?
    3. You offer to make double-cheese pav-bhaji na?! This girl I tell you.. yeah, she has her priorities right:)
    4. lol! on bandh de rasanthi:)
    Hmmmm.. kids grow up so fast..!

    • R's Mom says:

      oh yaa..she is all set to be an elder sister…but am I set to be a mother of two kids is the question :):)

      double cheese pav bhaji..sahi Vidya..what an idea πŸ™‚

  21. Writerzblock says:

    LOL R’s Mom, I was smiling all the way πŸ™‚ Mereko achha lagta hai πŸ™‚ So cuuuuteee!!!!

  22. Tanishka says:

    LOL at bandh de rasanti… She is such a sweetheart… πŸ™‚
    Don’t remind me of the flash mob RM… I so wanted to be there….
    Awww @ ‘amma app meri ho na’ and ‘aaj to aap achi lag rahi ho’… She is sooo cute… πŸ™‚

  23. Shruti says:

    How cute πŸ™‚ .. pass a hug to R from me pls..

  24. Rajani Ram says:

    soo cute!! ur R is just adorable!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

