Rictionary

On CR’s threat request, here are the first set of words/phrases from the Rictionary
killify –
meaning: pinch
Languages used : Tamil + English
Usage: amma, mereko P mama ne killify kiya (Amma, P mama pinched me)

Humka –
meaning: Hamara
meaning in English: ours
Languages used: Hindi (thankfully only one)
Usage: Amma, humka ghar kabhi ayega che (Amma, when is our house going to come)

cholify

meaning: tell
Languages used: Tamil + English
Usage: amma, mereko yeh story cholify karo ne? (Amma, tell this story for me na)

choringify

meaning: itch
Languages used: Tamil + English
Usage: Appa, mane choringify thai che, cream lagao (Appa, its itching, put cream)

Pooing

meaning: going
Languages used: Tamil + English
Usage: amma, Y and I are poing to Singapore (amma, Y and I are going to Singapore) ya yaa the brat talks about going to Singapore!!! as if her parents are Ambanis and Birlas gah!

Mereko

meaning: Mera/ Mujhe
meaning in English: mine/ I
Languages used: Hindi (thankfully only one)
Usage: Amma, mereko schoole jau che (Amma, I want to go to school)

Khaing

meaning:eat
Languages used: Hindi + English
Usage: Amma, zara chocolate khaing kare (amma, lets eat chocolate)

Thirsting

meaning:Thirsty
Languages used: English (Phew!)
Usage: Amma, mein thirsting hoon, juice buy karishu (Amma, I am thirsty, shall we buy juice?)

you go not

meaning:You dont go
Languages used: English (Phew!) with a literal translation from Aap mat jao
Usage: refer above!

Chapdofying
meaning:Eating
Languages used: Tamizh + English
Usage: Mereko bhi sev chapdofying karna hai (I also want to eat sev)

and so we end part one here…

There is definitely more to come 🙂

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Rictionary

  1. Poing takes the cake for me.

    Super R. Way to go! Don’t you worry girl.. We’ll have all these words added as a part of the Oxford dictionary in a separate section called Ringlish! 😀

  2. RS says:

    I LOVE the addition of ‘fying’ after the tamil words – she has picked that up so fast – infact there are times that even now I add ‘fying’ to some word to convert it to english 😀
    More than that – her sentences are such a mixture of languages that I love the ‘feel’ of it 🙂 RM – I want to meet R more and more for that now… 😀 Im going to make her talk talk talk and enjoy listening to her 😀 Muuuaaaahhh and a BIG squeezy huggy to her…

  3. Seema says:

    Loved the way you described each word along with usage. So so loved this post. (Anyway, I am biased with all R related posts)

    Give 3 mmuahs to R from me, Man and Tam okay? I wish I could listen to her speaking 😦

  4. A-kay says:

    If any of these languages had a mouth, it will cry (vaai iruntha azhum) 😀 – but it is too cute though. I like the way you blend 3, no make it 4 languages in a single sentence.

  5. Swarna says:

    Wow 🙂

  6. Sam says:

    He he:).. all these Tinglish (Tamil+ English) words.. reminds me when we used them too!

  7. summerscript says:

    This is the best dictionary ever 🙂
    Pick of the day :- Chapdofying and you go not 🙂

  8. DI says:

    ROFL!! Love her lingo! I especially like her combo sentences showcasing her knowledge of all possible languages! 😀 Mwwaaah!
    Mereko part 2 venum, postify karo!

  9. suranga date says:

    Wow ! just wondering why Gujarati is not mentioned, with all her creative use of “che”, “karishu” etc ? 🙂

    • R's Mom says:

      arey but che and karishu is like proper gujju words na…actually surprisingly her Gujju is not very polluted as of now..she speaks Gujju words with hindi/English but doesnt mix a particular word as such!

  10. garima says:

    R and her multi-lingual conversation.I am loving it 🙂
    She has mini India embedded in her 🙂

  11. Smita says:

    hehehehe…Even I have many such words that I use often.
    For e.g., Aao huggain, which actually means lets hug but if you start thinking in Hindi then…:D 😀 😀 😀

    P.S. Got your mail but couldn’t reply as was in a trg for last 2 days. Today have come to work after 3 days so loaded with work, will call you soon.

  12. smitha says:

    R is such a smart girl to combine languages so well:) I can’t stop laughing at her words:)

  13. Ashwathy says:

    😐
    I am seriously beginning to worry about that kid’s language issues.
    And what kind of mother are you anyway??? What are you doing to rectify this?
    Nothing!! Coz you are where she inherits all of it from anyway 😛

    Nothing to blame R for. 🙄 Kids learn from adults. The sooner you un-learn your habits and set a good example, the better it is for R. 😛

  14. chanceless! she knows so many languages + the one that is exclusively hers! what genius she is. RM, you dont correct her and deprive us of this joy, okay?

  15. anisnest says:

    ROTFL… I am happy that most of the words has Tamizh in it 🙂 love you R
    don’t worry RM.. she is going to master many languages in future.. she will be alright soon..

  16. AT says:

    ha ha…that’s cute….
    you go not, khaing 😀

  17. 🙂 J also has such sets of word, using English and Bengali in same word like why are you “boking” me? (BOka – in Bengali means to scold). There are several such words. Hope they will get sorted out with time!

  18. She is super cute and I love the way she mixes languages and speak, we should seriously think abt patenting these ??

  19. Oye confused tu hai! I asked you to make a separate PAGE for Rictionary. 😐

    Ashwathy pls take her case for me and scoldify her 😀

    As for R kutty, itni chamattu che 😀
    Muah 😀

    • R's Mom says:

      WHAT Separate page! Oye…you seriously want me to do too much work eh?

      And what telling Ashwathy to take my case..already she is behind my life gah!

      Tereko bhi R ki hawa lag rahi hai..bhagwan..its like a viral or what!

  20. What a post to land on the first time I decide to visit the Fainting Mommy from Nu’s place 😉

    I think i love the usage of choringify, coz err as a kid I used to say that too 😳 Btw don’t try to track my comments to see how my language skills developed; I warn you that you might get a konjum dilattack :mrgreen:

    R is adorable and I need to read more about her adventures 🙂

  21. Scribby says:

    the best one: amma,jara chocolate khaing karein 🙂

  22. Swaram says:

    Ha ha ha! She is super cute!:) Hugs R!

  23. Tanishka says:

    R is soo cute…. You should post this series on at least a weekly basis…. Plzzzz……

  24. Pingback: Rictionary Part 2 | R's Mom

  25. ROFL

    I love ‘humka’. Reminds me of ‘Humka peeni hai, peeni hai, humka peeni hai’:P

Leave a Reply

