The Youth of Today

and since I crossed the 30 mark, I am entitled to write about the youth of today…

I often  hear people telling about how our generation or even the next (I think there is a generation gap every 7-10 years) is rude, dont care about elders, dont bother about anyone etc etc…of course there are exceptions and the whole point of this post is to get those exceptions in the lime light..again these are from personal experiences and I must admit I come out pretty mighty impressed!

#1

I am carrying R on my hip, her bag, my bag and her water bag as we get off the BEST bus in my bus stop when R’s bag falls from my shoulder…

RM: R, get your bag up na

R doesnt understand..she is confused

I see a young boy definitely in college, standing behind me, carefully pick up the strap of the bag, bring it up to my shoulders and give a super sweet smile to R…

I dont think she understood, thats why I did it…he says smiling at R and me

and I am happy 🙂

#2

I have taken R by the mumbai locals not during peak hours, but definitely in crowds where I have had no place to sit…one such time, I am standing with her in my hip and my backpack on my shoulders..when two college girls ask me

should we take her in our laps?

RM: I am not sure she will come
Girl: I will get up..you sit with her
RM: No its okie
Girl: arey its really okie…you sit…you cant carry everything right?

And I sit down…see…college going, and yet so much manners

#3

I am waiting for R’s bus along with R at the bus stop and there are these two college kids waiting to catch a rick..after a lot of effort they get one and they get in…suddenly the girl turns and looks at me and says ‘should we drop you anywhere, she shouldnt be late for school’

I am pretty surprised and say no we are waiting for the school bus thank you

they both wave to R and get going..now thats super nice manners aint it?

#4

I am shopping for some ear rings for RD’s friend when I see two college girls coming towards the shop laughing about something….an old lady is walking in their way..they try to cross her but are not able to…and then one of the girls say’ excuse me aunty java desho (excuse me aunty, can you let us go)

Aunty: oh sorry
Girl: its okie aunty…just that we have to catch the bus otherwise we wouldnt have bothered you

I think it was really sweet of them 🙂
=====

On a completely different note….whats happening I ask…what exactly is happening to the Mumbai weather!!!!!

Its raining…it rained like crazy day before yesterday and even yesterday evening…I mean isnt Navratri over and Diwali round the corner…did the Rain Gods forget to go somewhere and decide to stay here till the Metro got done…I hope not because apparently the Metro has been postponed to Sept 2012 now…Bhagwan baas yeh baarish bandh kara dijeye please!

RM messages RD: Its raining like crazy, I dont even have an umbrella, can you pick me up if I call you?
RD: Yes I will

See…the advantages of getting married!

and oh we ended up eating a vada pav each..what  RD the weather demanded it 🙂

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to The Youth of Today

  1. summerscript says:

    Nice post RM! I have also seen many such sweet incidents. Giving space for old people and young mothers , holding the bags/laptop bag of standing school students/ working people, helping elderly people tp cross the road etc. These are small small things but it never fails to please us.
    Once I offered to keep a girl’s shool bag, I happily tried to hold her bag in one hand and ‘thud’ I dropped it the next second she handed it to me.. it was like 19.999 kgs????

    I miss vadapav ! I want I want I want !

    • R's Mom says:

      Awww! arent you sweet to offer…I do remember something like this happening to me..only that I was the girl who was standing 😉 the other person told me baap rey ismein kya hai…stones? hehee 🙂

      come to mumbai, I will treat you with awesome vada pavs 🙂

  2. It’s been some time since I said this on this comment space RM – You really made my day with this post! 🙂 🙂 I mean, really really!
    Happy weekend okay and come back with all the weekend (skirmishes??! :)) stories!

  3. Sumana says:

    RM, no wonder some kids/teenagers are super nice. It just depends on how they are brought up i suppose. I have seen the elder kids in my daughter’s school as well who take care of the younger ones if they fall or happen to hurt themselves without anyone telling them.
    I think you would not need to learn driving (i.e if you do not know) if you have super nice husbands like RD.. Does R like the chaats as well? Have fun..

    • R's Mom says:

      oh yaa…thats so true..even my mom says that…just shows how they are brought up 🙂

      oh I do know how to drive…but I never drive in Mumbai….its crazy here…and of course R loves Chaats..arey she is RD and RM’s daughter..no choice 🙂

  4. Tharani says:

    Such sweet people you have met.
    And the weather, when are you planning to come to Chennai again, its crazy here. one second its hot and the next second the weather is pleasant. I hate this kind of weather. It either has to be hot or should rain know, Crazy.
    Have a great week end RM..

  5. RS says:

    I do see a lot of young people ready to help me – even the auto drivers 🙂 if I am with Chutku. That is something that I still feel good about – there IS still some care and concern ingrained in the youth today…
    And you enjoy the drive and Vada Pav as long as the rains last na… 😛 (runs away scared that RM will be ready to hit her now)…

    • R's Mom says:

      Wait till I come to bangalore..will have to come and spank you for the last line!

      • RS says:

        “Rims post…well lets see if she does anything worthwhile to blog ” – Why are you making such statements today?

        The blog and space is all about reading thru ‘R’s mind and R is the daughter not the mommy! 😛 We want R-isms… Now little R, im sure, will have plenty to tell us…

        • R's Mom says:

          baap rey RS..you plan to come to Mumbai and hit me or something..ekdum fultu mood mein ho aap 🙂

          yes yes RM blog is mainly because of R…and yes R has plenty to say..how about checking my reply to Swarna’s comment 🙂

      • RS says:

        Why why? Drives in rain and Vada Pav with husband is like everyday romance Okie??? I will let you knnow when it will NOT rain in Blore ok? – then you come, lets test your rain love theory then 😀 What say?

  6. Seema says:

    I just love the way you remember so many happenings and the way you manage to classify them under different heads. All the instances are sweet. And I have a long way to go till I hit the 30 mark, so lemme continue to count myself among the youth ;-D

    I had had Vada Pav during my last visit to Mumbai. But the best thing that I had was garam garam Bhakarwadi… Mera fav anytime. You know my Bong family cant pronounce it well and they prefer to call it ‘Bhaater Haadi’ (Pot of Rice)

    Long time no posts on Risms! Miss them a lot.

  7. Swarna says:

    Hey R’s mom Nice post.
    People who travel by city bus I think will see such incidents.
    You have narrated them well.
    Why don’t you come and stay in Bengaluru for some time?
    We can also enjoy some rains and vada pav 🙂
    Hope R is back to normal now
    Take care and have a great week end
    Swarna

    • R's Mom says:

      Thanks rey 🙂

      Yaa I should come to B’lore na 🙂

      R is fine..thanks for asking..just a normal flowing nose..all part of the game *I am not revealing that my skirt is full of her nosey since by the time I got the hanky out while we were standing at her bus stop for the bus, she wiped her nose on my skirt and said ‘amma aapka black skirt white ho gaya dekho design ke saath’* *Rolls eyes*

  8. Vidya says:

    I waaant vada pav! like right now!! and the weather is pleasant here from the morning.. like the other day when we met:)) see, i ignore the main point of the post… don’t bring food in here RM… it takes away the due credit from the awesome youngsters:) but then, because you are nice, you meet nice people:) those who always sulk and crib will ‘SEE’ the same kind:)

  9. Ashwathy says:

    You have been lucky to meet some very nice kids I say 🙂 And as for the generation cussing, every generation says the next generation is useless. Nothing new there. There is good and bad for each. Exceptions as well. Why don’t people just understand it and move on?! 🙄

    On a different note, yes, the weather’s been nuts. But I’m not complaining. It’s a welcome respite from the humidity and heat. Hmm speaking of which, I need to have a vada pav and introduce hubby to the concept also! 😀 Thanks for reminding me!

  10. Youth of today- you mean people my age right? 😛
    Yeah yeah we are all mostly well mannered 😉

    But seriously, I am glad this was not a whiny post. While there are a few insufferable teenagers in every culture which makes you want to research on their hormone samples, it is good to talk about the majority of pleasant teens 🙂

  11. Sreetama says:

    Aww! Sweet people! 🙂 The goodness in u attracts such good people around you!

  12. All these comments have inspired me to make vada pav today…

    I think about the older generation saying that the younger one is rude, does not respect the elders etc, goes from generation to generation, I think the generation before us also heard the same things, since the def of caring, civility (if there is such a word) evolves with the time… dont you agree

    • R's Mom says:

      MAKE VADA PAV!!!

      darling..you will get it as soon as you get off your building…dont make it *rolls eyes*

      May be its about the generation gap as well

  13. Smitha says:

    I so so agree, RM! I actually wonder where are those badly behaved youngsters? Once I was traveling with a 5.5 month old Poohi -alone. At Bombay airport, I was struggling with a daiper bag, and a baby who was fascinated by the floor. There were so many people around, but the one who came forward to help me with the bag, was a young man – barely out of college, and I was so touched!

    There are plenty of great youngsters around!

    Vada pav! Now I want some vada pav too!

  14. AT says:

    Nice post…This shows good exists 🙂 I don’t know any of them but I’m proud of them 🙂

  15. anisnest says:

    vada pav on a rainy day… super RM… I want it I want it… About the youngsters aren’t they cute? See all this happens only when you are with R so all the credit goes to R 😉

  16. Scribby says:

    of course these exist these humble souls around and generalizing people in any category is unfair to the rest of the lot!

Leave a Reply

