The Weekend Lesson Learnt – R is Growing Up!

So after the London Chronicles…its weekend updates again!

Like I said in the title, R is growing up

IΒ  know I know..its not like a lesson in life..but generally its like you realise suddenly that your child is not like exactly an infant anymore and that kinda makes you feel old…what I am thinking of myself only πŸ˜‰

but seriously she is growing up…

On Wednesday when I am still pretending to be jet lagged RD calls me up in office

RD: What are you doing?
RM: What do people do in office RD?
RD: oh okie..
RM: !!!
RD: Acha anyways listen…D teacher called me up (D teacher is R’s school teacher..as in the nursery class teacher)
RM: A bit worried since this is a first time: why?
RD: To talk about R
RM: Yaa right (please note a tone of sarcasm here..I mean why else would a class teacher call up baba!)
RD: Well she had to say something about R.
RM: What?
RD: R hit someone is school
and my heart sank…I got so worried
RM: OMG! (Please note its not oh shit!) what..is the other child hurt? in hospital? what happened? is R still in school? what should we do…(note the hypertension here)
RD: laughing
RM: you are laughing..what kind of a father are you? are you crazy..your child hits someone and you find it funny
RD: calm down calm down..I was joking!
RM: What? and I say it so loudly that half the floor looks at me!
RD: okie..it was a bad joke..anyways D teacher called up to say that she wants R to say a few lines on Grandparents since Saturday is her Grandparents day in school
RM: WHAt ? Again half the floor is staring at me…must me wondering if What is some kind of a gaali which I give someone regularly!
RD: arey..we need to prepare her for a small speech
RM: and she tells up on Wednesday..that leaves us with only Thrusday and Friday..and Friday also we have work when do we write the speech and when do we make her learn it..thats so unfair (note the hypertension here!)
RD: its okie RM..we can give her just about 2 lines..if she says its okie otherwise also its okie
RM: how the hell are we going to make her learn it..blah blah blah
RD listens for about 5 minutes and he is like so are you going to write the lines
RM: me..no not me..call up Brc Appa..we will tell him to write something

and so we call up my dad and then ask him to write something and while I am getting hyper RD is calm and he says something in the lines of why are you getting so worried look at Rd..and I am like you are my father, support me dont support RD and both RD and Appa are laughing about it…whatever!

anyways so Appa comes up with about 5 variations and finally R comes up with her own variation which says

Grandpas are great
Grandmas are sweet
They give us chocolates and teach us to play
I love Grandpas and Grandmas
Thank you

and that kid actually managed to learn it in 1.25 days (friday was full day working for me and I couldnt really teach her) and as per amma (amma stayed back to attend the function where only grandparents were allowed) she said it well and with confidence…While I would not really believe amma, since she is an indulgent grandma, I asked D teacher as well who assured me that R was super confident and said it well…

*Pats self on the back* Wink wink!

anyways we did work hard on making her learn this….Amma, me and R played a game all through Thrusday (IT was holiday for Dusshera na) where we took turns to say it…Appa had written a longer version but R somehow shortened it to this one and finally we just stuck to this one….it was hard work but when D teacher said she said it well on stage..I was more thanΒ  happy!!!

Incident #2: RM goes to have a hair bath on Sunday morning..after an elaborate process of washing the bathroom and her hair..she realises there is no towel

RD, RD I shout

R: Amma, woh toh phone per hai..unke office mein kuch issue ho gaya hai
RM: Oh
R: Kya hua
RM: R can you get me towel
R: Where is it
RM: in my shelf..sabse neeche

and this girl actually goes, opens my shelf, takes it out and gives it to me…She is growing up isnt she 😦

===

the weekend otherwise was pretty thanda…we went to Grandparents day in the morning, dropped R to daycare after that..came back home to make a cake (Seema, thank you for the recipe!) and then watched Arakshan on DVD (ITs an okie movie), picked up R, took her to the doctor, shopped for veggies and came back home

Ma left on Sunday morning :(:(:(

and then RD and I went on this cooking spree where I made pakodam and RD baked another cake hehehehe πŸ™‚ we sent across the first one for my bhabhi and bro with ma to Ahm…and I felt like eating another cake…so RD was enthused and we made that…

I made pakodam since ma suggested I could do that with the rice flour which was getting wasted..tried it for the first time..it was slightly burnt and a bit under salted..but RD being RD said it wasΒ  yummy πŸ˜‰Β  I love this guy hehehe πŸ™‚ R on the other hand was very very honest and said ‘amma aacha nahi laga’ gah! for a swell head which I get from RD, I need an R to make come back to earth!

We went to an aunt’s place to get haldi kumkum for navratri (we are slow na!) and then came back, slept for a while..took R to the park for her to play, packed some egg fried rice and manchurian and pav bhaji for R, came back, ate and then slept..

That was my weekend… πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to The Weekend Lesson Learnt – R is Growing Up!

  1. Hah.. The much awaited weekend post! And should I say that I loved it.

    That too, the recitation by R! And you pat your back for her efforts, is it! How unfair! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ R is such a sweet kid and you ask RD if some one is in the hospital ‘cos she hit them! 😦

    Err.. if I can ask, what is ‘pakodam’??

  2. Batul says:

    the lines are so beautiful and so very true.. my kiddo has grandparents day in school really soon and im churaoing these lines for her to say.. hope u dont mind it…
    kids grow up really fast.. my kid, who is 5 has been behaving so maturely that it surprises one and all @home… enjoyed reading ur London Chronicles…

  3. summerscript says:

    Grandparents day at school ! – wowww I like it
    That was a very very cute speech πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    “for a swell head which I get from RD, I need an R to make come back to earth! “- LOL

  4. RS says:

    Another packed weekend huh? Wow! Did you take pics/record her on stage? The school should give you something na? Do post the pic of R on stage – please! And nazar utaardena uski πŸ™‚ Kala tikka…

    “and I am like you are my father, support me dont support RD and both RD and Appa are laughing about it…whatever!” – Why is it that the Son-In-Law is always considered more mature – bah!

    You baked cake like Seema? I bet it was suuuper yummmmmmmm…. Man! The thought of Seema’s cake makes my mouth water…AND you even have time to bake a cake? You have a convection oven at home and all? :-O Cook,write,play,work – multi tasking women ka first prize for you! πŸ˜€ seriously…

  5. Ashwathy says:

    Ok let me bring you down to earth some more then. R is growing up, yes. She also has a brain and uses it. She was smart enough to learn the lines fast and also shortened it to the version she was most comfortable speaking.
    In other words, don’t take credit and pat yourself on the back for what your kid did…she deserves all the praise!! πŸ˜›

  6. Scribby says:

    full to avitivty filled weekend that and you say it was thanda? aaahhh

    we literally took it as a weekend! did nothing but were at home all the time and lazed around,watched movie,played with Chirpy..and that’s about it πŸ™‚ oh and I made paneer parathas to swell our stomachs and put everyone to sleep πŸ˜‰

  7. VJ says:

    The lines she spoke is soo heartfelt and sooo true !! It must have been one proud moment for the paati !
    Its perfect for a 3 year old ..total innocence personified !

    and its so hard to accept our babies growing up.. I have been thinking the same for last few days as my little one turns 4 this Sunday.

  8. R's Mom says:

    @S&S: Glad you liked it…I got worried okie? you should have heard RD’s voice..ekdum dramatic tha…and my imagination ran wild πŸ˜‰

    pakodam – arey you are from Madras and you dont know pakodam..abhi how to explain..arey that ribbon like thing made from basen and rice flour..you make an atta out of it..put it inside the machine which you press nad you get the ribbon like structure and you deep fry it..like how you make sev..like that this is made..arey pakodam S&S pakokam!!!

    @Batul: of course you can take it *Preens a bit that a writer wants to borrow the lines and all* hehehe πŸ™‚

    @Summerscript: yaa cute speech..

    @RS: What..pictures..nahi rey..not allowed πŸ™‚

    I know..the Son in law is older in most cases I guess thats why πŸ˜‰

    errr…Seema gave me the recipe…so lets not compare it to the cooking queen…we are talking about a basic baacho cake here πŸ™‚ but the recipe was easypeasy..errr..multi tasking kuch hai rey…aise hi πŸ™‚

    @Ashwathy: If I ever had a real sister, I would want her to be like you πŸ™‚ will that be enough to describe my feelings for you πŸ™‚ Muah!

    @Scribby: it was pretty thanda okie πŸ™‚ and you panner parathas..wowowowow! recipe? *Looks hopeful*

    @VJ: your little one turns FOUR! awesome awesome…party hai kya?

  9. Ashwathy says:

    What!! 😯
    Gee…. 😐
    Aww…. πŸ˜₯
    Hugsssss!!!!!!!!!!

  10. Seema says:

    I guess you mean Ribbon Murukku by Pakodam right? That’s what it is called in Tamizh, I guess.

    You finally made the cake. You made it thrice???!!! I feel so nervous when I give recipes to anyone and can’t wait to know the results… Thanks for trying it out. Photu nikalna tha na? I’m no cooking queen and all *blushing*. However, you and RS made my day!!!

    R is sure growing up and like Ashwathy says, all credit goes to her. Coz as they say “You can only take the horse to water but cannot make it drink” Pass on a huge round of applause to her from my end. Mmmmuah to her.

    LOL on “for a swell head which I get from RD, I need an R to make come back to earth!” – R to lagta hai apni amma ke upar hi gayi hai *wink wink*

    • R's Mom says:

      yes yes that only is pakodam πŸ™‚

      Are you crazy..you think if I make cake at home, we will wait for photus and alll…we just attacked and ate! oh you are definitely cooking queen

      oh totally apne ma pe gayi hai πŸ™‚

  11. I am so addicted to your weekend posts..I wanted to read before I go to Bed..R is indeed growing so fast and she is sweetheart πŸ™‚

  12. Vidya says:

    Hey, do a nazar-utharofying for R:) How cute of her to pick the right towel and all that:)

  13. Smitha says:

    R is awesome! She even managed to make her own lines πŸ™‚ What more can you ask for! Hugs to the little darling!

    You know what, I have been trawling the web in search of cake recipes to bake. Sigh! I so want to bake. And now after reading that you guys baked two cakes, I want to bake too! And I need some people to feed it too πŸ˜‰ Or it will all go down my tummy 😦

    R is sure growing up! She is a smart, smart little child! How our children surprise us! I guess, as parents, they are still our little babies πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Well..she almost managed her own lines..she cut about 5 words in each line Appa wrote and came up with this version πŸ™‚

      oh Seema sent me this recipe by email…I will forward it to you πŸ™‚

  14. Smitha says:

    And yes, am hopping over to Seema’s to check out cakes πŸ™‚ Atleast I can drool over them, if not eat them, no?

    • R's Mom says:

      Errr…I would advice you not to hop to her blog..the whole thing is so damn droolworthy that I spend half the time staring at pictures, get hungry and then binge…so Seema is indirectly responsible for my weight gain πŸ˜‰

      • Smitha says:

        I did just that! Went to her blog, found a recipe I liked, baked a zebra cake, wolfed down half of it, and ate way too much dinner, and now, am too stuffed to move 😦
        And now, I am off to hide the half that I had reserved for a friend, incase I polish it off:(

        • R's Mom says:

          YOU MADE ZEBRA CAKE…wow….I am impressed…totally impressed..woh Seema ke feet ko touch karke let me try that next time πŸ™‚ I h ope your friend got a bit..or else you can always courier it to mumbai!

          • Seema says:

            Thanks for trying the Zebra Cake Smitha. I have a couple of more cake recipes which use oil. Will send you the links.

            And RM, no feet touching madam, just follow the recipe verbatim and you’ll be impressed with urself. Everytime I made it, people went ooh, aah and thought I slogged over getting the pattern. But it’s actually very very easy to make!

            • R's Mom says:

              Easy!!! RD and I made two cakes over the weekend and we are moving around as if we won masterchef or something…I am sure its not easy…you just are talented πŸ˜‰

  15. Swaram says:

    Oh my! I so wanna meet her before she grows up some more and has not time to meet me πŸ˜›
    Lovely lines there, how sweet of her to say them well πŸ™‚

    LOL at pakodas not being good for R πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  16. Grrrr! R baby is so chamatu and you have not given her the credit of being a chamatu kozhande at all! You just said she has grown up 😐

    Mmuahs to her πŸ™‚

  17. Bikram says:

    BLess Indeed R is growing up.. and I so wanna come over ot meet her now..

    and grandparents are exactly what she learnt πŸ™‚

  18. AT says:

    “but generally its like you realise suddenly that your child is not like exactly an infant anymore and that kinda makes you feel old” – very true… I am experiencing this…
    your weekends are full of activities…mine are lazy πŸ™‚

  19. anisnest says:

    isn’t she cute to pick up those lines so fast? that shows her love for grandparents.. may be she would have struggled if it was parents (rather mother’s) day.. what can she do if she is asked to talk about a confused lady? LOL **running away**
    Awww on picking up the right towel.. aren’t girls cute… Mine cleans the house if I am mad to make me happy πŸ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      You are the only one who has understood R well..heheheeh πŸ™‚ I am not confused okie *gives stern look* hehehehe πŸ™‚ yours cleans your house when you are mad…baap rey…please give her a big hug from my end and tell her that I am sending R to her for some lessons πŸ˜‰

  20. Smitha says:

    R’s Mom, I was in Mumbai for a day in Aug – now, I curse myself! Why, why, why did I not think of mailing you to try and meet you guys 😦

  21. Pingback: This is the way we bake a cake, bake a cake, bake a cake … | Any Excuse to Write…

Leave a Reply

