Weekend Series – Chennai Chronicles – 3

Β 

And so read part 1 and part 2 here..we continue after the birthday post πŸ˜‰

Two things

1) This post is really really long!

2) Thank you everyone who sent me wishes, cards, e love and what not..phone calls and so much more…I am glad I am in the blogging world and it means a world to me!

and so in the afternoon on Saturday we went to Dakshina Chitra

Its beautiful…I am glad SIL took me there…Ratzz and Vidya did mention that it was great, it was…I loved it

here are few pictures of the place

Golu in anticipation of Navratri

Little Violins...they were adorable looking!

Β 

Some handpainted crafts..I think these are wall hangings

I shopped for some Chellapatnam toys and got two Tulika books in Hindi for R…Tulika books are not really available in Mumbai, so getting them was a bonus πŸ™‚

I wanted to buy a lot of them, but the weight to carry back would have been too much πŸ™‚

Highlights of the trip

1) Pottery…I actually sat on a potter’s wheel and did pottery – Sangi..when will you install that potter’s wheel in your house…I will come okie?

Here are some pics RD took

R peering in and wondering what ma was doing :)The final product

The final product

2) Puppet show – It was in Tamil and I had R asking me ‘amma woh kya bole puppet show mein?’ I didnt have an answer becuase it was very shuddh tamil..you know the Sun TV news Tamil…but both R and I got the gist that it was about Lord Rama killing Vaali and then Lord Hanuman going to search for Goddess Sita..so it was pretty interesting..the two old ladies who did the puppetry were pretty amazing too

The Puppet show in progress

3) The orange ice candy we ate there…yummm

4) The various houses depicted there from Kerala and Tamil Nadu

ITs a beautiful place to take your children espeically if they are 8-9 years old when they start teaching about various states of India and all…definitely worth a dekko

From there, we came back to Pondy Bazaar where we didnt shop anything practically except for few slacks for R thats it..nothing else! (I know I know we are sad :()

Ate food in a hi-fi place called Savera where I was too scared even to drop a sleeping R on the sofa..ekdum hi-fi i tell you..and like a bank, everything in a big hotel rattles me!

Came back home, slept through the SIL’s birthday celebrations! (Yes I am really sad that ways)

and then got up the next day at 6 thanks to R waking me up to drink milk

And then we went to this Ratna Cafe to eat idli sambhar…I hate idlis okie..but this one was super amazing…I LOVED the sambhar and the idli..R managed to polish off some two idlis and half a ton of sambhar along with nibbling eating some ghee roast from the sIL

me? I was in zen!

Then went to Guindy national park, saw some deers, actually touched some of them, went into the park and saw some snakes, crocs and turtles..thats it..

Check out RD and RM with R and the deers

RD and R looking at the deer

 

Showing the deer..and oh R is wearing the lovely skirt (waited I should say lovely divided skirt!) which Vidya gave

Came back home, and then I got to talk to my hero

Vidya: RM, you busy
RM: Nahi rey bolo
Vidya: here some one wants to talk to you
RM: Oh
Voice: hello?
RM: Vyas?
Vyas: errr.hello..I just called up to thank you for the book..I finished reading it yesterday itself

this guy is so so perfectly cute πŸ™‚

RM: What you finished already..but I gave it so that you can read it aaramse
Vyas: no but it was interesting so I finished

and then we went on to discuss the HP series, how he has watched all the movies, how he will come to Mumbai and we will go to watch the movie leaving R and Varun with Vidya and how he saw HP – 7 (part 2) on 3D and how I may get scared seeing the dementors if I go alone..aiyo he is so so adorable

That phone call was definitely one of the highlights of the trip..I kid not…he was awesome!

And then we got back home, ate food, went to meet up with my chittappa and my cousin..and finally boarded the plane…

so we went into the chennai airport, where as soon as R entered she said amma su-su…I am telling you..this girl has something with the aeroplanes and her urinary system..and no I didnt take any flights when I was pregs with her..so dont tell me anything okie?

anyways we went to the loo, managed to go to through the security check and then R went rampant in the silent airport sitting area screaming, amma, amma and apna aeroplane aa gaya, chalo chalo jaldi karo (this was by looking at some random aeroplane landing!)

When we stood in the line, the man behind her told her, where are you going..she said to Bombay city..woh abhi aeroplane se jane ka…like a typical buddhi amma!

anyways we got into the plane..there was no su-su session then….we tried colouring but she seemed too busy dropping the crayons than colouring! the guy sitting behind us must have got an excellent abs excersise bending down again and again to get her crayons

Acha uncle, abhi ek brown colour bhi gir gaya hai..zara dekhenge…

and I went red…and mumbled some apology

and then the food came…

As soon as RD finished his food, I was still eating mine, R said the dreaded word

RD: Wait till they take away the trays
R: Zor se aa rahi hai appa
RD: but you went three times earlier
R: but phir bhi aa rahi hai appa
RM: okie lets go
RD: but there are trays here, how will you go
RM: Glaring: so what should we do?
RD: resigned..okie theek hai

he got up, took his tray to the next seat which was empty and then told me to give my tray..for a second I didnt react and he was like give your tray

and I gave him my tray, so he had two trays in his hand…I picked up R onto my hip and he tried to give us space to move while there was a steward with some hot tea in that sophisticated flask of his coming

RD told me to move and CRASH!!!!

All the trays came tumbling down..the glasses, the food bowls, the spoons, forks, napkins..sab kuch

F*** RD shouted loudly

the whole aeroplane STARED at us…

I didnt know what to do…I started laughing when R announced loudly ‘Arey sab gir gaya’ you know just in case someone who wasΒ  busy reading a nice romantic novel with some racy scenes missed that loud noise!!!!

I just picked up something and RD said…go go go she wants to pee

I tripped over a glass, and went with my head down while the whole plane (we were in 18 so had to walk the entire stretch) STARED at me!

I made her pee, tripped an airhostess, R tripped by herself and we went back to our seat

RD: I am not taking you guys ever again
RM: What nonsense
RD: it was so embrassing
RM: but she wanted to pee

and so this started our fight!

There nuttie, we did the fight for you as well πŸ˜‰

anyways, we managed to land without any further incidents, stood in the queue for a rick for about 45 minutes (midst which R wanted to visit the loo again!) and then got home all dead nad exhausted…!

That was our Chennai trip πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Weekend Series – Chennai Chronicles – 3

  1. The Bride says:

    Hahahahaha! Ok sorry. Bringing all the trays down with a crash is so what I would do – even minus the 3-year-old – so just glad it happens to other people too.

  2. Dakshin Chitra, Ratna Cafe, Savera, Guindy Park and PONDY BAZAAR!! – Why are you doing this to me, RM?? You really make me Madras-sick! 😦

    I think you can write a novel with R’s aeroplanic-susu anecdotes. It will make a fun read! Hilarious! πŸ™‚

  3. RS says:

    Bwahahahahaahahahaah Bwahahahahaahahaha….
    Im sitting at my desk and trying to control my laughter but still the giggles are escaping… What to to? Sorry sorry! but still… bwahahahahahaha
    Poor R yaa – I dont know if its possible but atleast thru the flight journey maybe you could’ve put her a diaper na? Loved her juttu in the pic – where she is peeping in to see what you are upto πŸ™‚
    You did pottery? Nice…when I was in chennai for a month way back in ’04 I didnt know any of these places, nor I think I was interested in them. But this time when I visit Im sure I will try my hand at all these.
    No Shopping in Pondy Bazaar? Arey! how come? And you ventured to Pondy bazaar on a sunday?!! :-O in that crowd and heat?

  4. snowdrop says:

    RM.. You hair is very nice and shiny!! Forget things that parlor ppl say !!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Very nicely written post! πŸ™‚

  5. Batul says:

    U guys are funny… ROFL at the plane episode…

  6. Jay says:

    R’s mom, how do you do it? I could just so visualise you, RD & the lil R in the plane. πŸ˜€

  7. garima says:

    Hhehehe very cute post ,hilarious.
    When I read/hear something I quickly visualize the same.
    So ur flight narration I was visualizing and it looked like some Akshay Kumar’s comedy movie (Plz dont mind)
    I actually kept smiling till my colleauge asked me the matter.
    I made an excuse that some joke on official chat window πŸ˜‰
    I made a note to make my husband (Lamp,english meaning of his name :-)) read it today evening.
    Good u enjoyed so much and hope u had a gr8 time yest on ur bday.
    Take Care

  8. Seema says:

    Haha… I almost fell off the chair laughing at your flight scene. Specially when R said ‘Arey, sab gir gaya’. R and her su-su calls! Superb timing… Also ‘Bombay city… aeroplane se jaane ka’. Muah muah muah to her.

    On point 4) The various houses depicted there from Kerala and Tamil Nadu. There was Karnataka too. You forgot to mention *fumes* . By the way what are Tulika books re? (at the cost of sounding dumb)

  9. Tharani says:

    Dakshinachitra is a beautiful place know.. A must see place in chennai. Glad you went there..LOL @ β€˜Arey sab gir gaya’

    P.S. : Am not going to believe you anymore R’s mom. I have read Vidyas post already. You have lovely hair (as seen in the picture) and you are not fat as you claim..(again as seen in the picture). If I resend the pic with spects I am sure its going to match you.. Err..

  10. Bikram says:

    You are not going to forget thus trip.
    R is adorable areee look at all the excitement she generates by wanting to go to th loo … Thats a girllll πŸ™‚ makes sure all are put to task… Yayyyyyy

    And fooood and yes sambhar is also my favourite….

  11. R's Mom says:

    @The Bride: you would…so did RD without the child..the child was in my hand na πŸ˜‰

    @S&S: Aiyo sorry…I finished the series..promise I wont trouble you anymore..theek hai?

    I can write a novel and then pigs can fly hehee πŸ™‚

    @RS: you are laughing so much is it πŸ˜‰ RD was mortified! seriously!

    I am trying to get her out of diapers rey…she is pretty much day trained…night training seems like a million years away..but still πŸ™‚

    yes…I think that was the most dissuading thing..the heat and the crowd at Pondy bazaar

    @snowdrop: Muah..did I mention I love you πŸ™‚ thank you thank you…

    Pssst..the shiny was because of the super nice lighted camera RD has πŸ™‚

    @Batul: thanks..long time no see..hope things are fine

    @Jay: yaa..we are really one crazy R family na!

    @Garima: dont you visualise too much..it would have been crazy na! I know your husband’s name now hehee πŸ™‚

    @Seema: arey..it was hilarious to hear R say that..sab gir gaya..bechara RD was shell shocked and this girl said it so loudly with action and all that..

    The karnataka and Andhra households were under renovation..so couldnt see..sorry I missed them out!

    Tulika books are from Tulika Publications..check out this website (www.tulikabooks.com)

    @Tharani: you are back! hope you had a good trip πŸ™‚

    lovely hair and not-fat figure due to RD’s trick camera and superior clicking skills heheeh πŸ™‚

    @Bikram: R is definitely a terror!

  12. Batul says:

    R’s mom… u rber me πŸ™‚ cool.. i read each post of yours diligently, but i am just to lazy to comment… just could not stop myself today…
    my laziness is apparent in the fact, that my blog which i started 3 years back inspired by reading Kiran’s blog is in ruins :).. i would so love to write again, but i just cant get myself to write about myself, family or issues you address on your blog, though i speak out my views and opinions in my mind… And top it all… i am a writer by profession. Lastly my everyday life isn’t as interesting as yours :)..

  13. Your flight experience sounds like the climax of a comedy movie πŸ˜€
    What is RD moaning about? πŸ˜€

    Brown wala crayon nikalke do? πŸ˜›
    Who does this kid take after!?

  14. R reminds me so much of this friend I had at college – Every now and then, she’d scream su-su(terribly unrelated stories – R is 3 and my friend was 17) and when we rolled our eyes, she’d say “what do I do? I have a kuttttttttttti(meaning tiiiiiny) urinary bladder”(complete with the animation) and we’d go ROFLing

  15. Vidya says:

    R is going to sue you for all the su-su stories that you have put up here (its my time, my time.. he he!).. Poor you and R.. Hope you girls didn’t get hurt!!

  16. R's Mom says:

    @Batul: of course I do..you were among the first people to comment on my blogspot wala blog..and I know you are a write..and a famous one too πŸ™‚

    @CR: hahahaha! ask RD πŸ™‚ I swear…I wonder who she takes after πŸ˜‰

    @SAB: Kutti bladder..hehehehe πŸ™‚ well in R’s case I think its just more of testing-your-amma-appa’s-patience-and-irritate-them

    @Vidya: Arey I will password protect them boss! once she is like 8 or 9 πŸ™‚
    nah we didnt get hurt or anything…just the pride took a fall πŸ™‚

  17. RS says:

    RM, If my hubby were anywhere near – he would’ve been mortified too and so would I be! But this narration is so good and I can imagine myself in such a situation not too far from today!

  18. Sreetama says:

    Oh all these things happen with you!!! ROFL! R is soo pretty & u’ve decked her up so beautifully! Show the pics to her day care teachers!
    How was b’day celebrations?

  19. anisnest says:

    can’t stop laughing on R’s su-su incidents.. why do you have to embarrass this little poor girl with her su su stories? wait till she grows old. she is going to be all red on reading this..

    and you make me feel terribly homesick with this post.. I MISS chennai…

  20. AT says:

    sounds like a action packed trip…it must have been very fascinating for R to see pottery, puppet show and deers πŸ˜€

    And that airplane incident is funny (yeah not for you at that moment) but it really is…. Traveling with kids isn’t easy (I am thinking about my future πŸ˜‰ )… keep on sharing your travel diaries , I’m taking notes about various activities you do with R in plane….

  21. Rajani Ram says:

    Hi RM… You blog was recommended by my SIL, Ash, who is a blogger like you and boy! i am glad she did that. Now I am soo hooked on to wat you write… Its hilarious – no hard feelings..I mean I am laughing at stuff happening in your life, but then its normal… Happens here too. I got Two boys who does all this mischief.. The su-su part reminds me of my son’s fasicantion with trying out the restroom in every restaurant we go. LOL… I keep wondering wat happens with his system when we are in a hotel or restaurant. Good read! laughed a lot… keep writing… Love it!!!

  22. Sangitha says:

    Another hilarious su-su post. Honestly, only a mom would say this sentence! πŸ˜€

    Welcome any time – it is installed and running! We’re planning overtime work over the holidays. Gollu will see several home made, hopefully recognizable ‘artefacts’ because of course we don’t just make junk. We swallow dictionaries and talk of ‘artefacts’! πŸ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      Already? Wow…where are the pics then? artefacts is it hehehehe πŸ™‚
      of course you dont make junk..no one makes junk Sangi..every piece is a piece of art πŸ™‚

  23. Smita says:

    You what? I mean really? All those trays just went down? boom? hehehehehe…..u seriously are something my dear πŸ™‚

  24. Ashwathy says:

    ROFLMAO!!! I haven’t laughed so hard in recent times!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m so sorry you fell…but…but… muahahahahahah…………

  25. Aishwarya says:

    Wow that was a fun trip RM..I so want to go to Chennai now..;(

Leave a Reply

