The Inauguration

ย Comfy wrote in a comment on my previous to previous post hoping that there would be stories on the new hand mixer I bought..

Babes, here is one, no two infact just for you ๐Ÿ™‚

So R household was all excited about the hand mixer at about 9 in the night on Sunday..

R kept jumping up and down saying, mereko milkshake veenam, mereko milkshake veenam…

ย I told her, no milk = no milkshake…

yes, I am an evil mom that ways ๐Ÿ˜‰

So it was decided we inaugurate the mixer on Monday…ย 

Now RD being the lazy benevolent types said, arey we should do it on your birthday na…

ย But I was like no no RM R needs her milkshake

ย and we decided to make the milkshake..

before that when I came back home on monday, RD has kept tomato and onions in the microwave for the soup which comes to Incident #1

RM: RD just use the hand mixer na to blend that…

RD: arey you should use it first na..its your birthday gift

RM: Glaring

RD: okie okie I will do it..

ย and proceeds to elaborately take out the mixer from the carton box and examine it as if its a piece of gold or something

ย RM *screaming from the kitchen* not that our house needs any screaming, take a step and you can cover the distance between the kitchen to any room..but thats not the point of discussion na

ย RM: arey are you getting it

RD: which attachment should I use proceeding to come into the kitchen with just ONE attachment (toh poocha kyu!)

RM:Glaring again, mereko kya pata, read the instructions na

RD: there are no instructions..chalo let me just try

RM: How can there be no instructions, its aNEWmixer

RD: yaa..but then lets just try

ย and the best cook of the R family proceeded to just whip the onion tomato soup without removing the excess water..

ย RM: Screaming again, arey you didnt remove the water

RD: What water

RM: the excess water

RD: looking apologetic…oh! abhi kya karu

RM: kya karu..what kya karu do somethingย 

and as RD used the mixer, some of the water soup fell down…ย 

RM: arey thats falling down

RD: wait wait, I have an idea, lets transfer the contents to ANOTHER bowl (which means another bowl to wash!) and then boil it!

RM: totally frustrated and irritated that she has to clean the platform, do what you want..

ย and so RD utilised the law of evaporation (if there is one) to boil away the excess water which for the records please note took about 20 minutes in HIGH gas…and then looked at me and said abhi yeh thoda better hai na!ย 

Incident #2ย 

So R is chewing our brains after the soup incident and oh did I mention that R managed to drop her entire plate of curd rice for dinner that day on the floor and the chair and says ‘amma gir gaya na’ grrrrrr!ย 

which means cleaning happened AGAINย 

anyways so since she is chewing our brains…I tell RD to make the milkshake..see how much faith I have on this guy..despite the cleaning sessions…I trust him NOT to spill anything…ย 

So R and RD proceed to make the milkshake…I ask him RD do we need to transfer the contents into a different tall column shaped bowl they have given..but he says arey nahi nahi..lets just do it in the doodh ka patram…ย 

so I am like okie..ย 

and then after two minutes I hear ‘oh-oh’

And go there to see that the milkshake has gone from the patram to the floor to the wall to the cupboard to God knows where allย 

RD sheepishly – only a part of it fellย  you know

RM – glaring (my eyes hurt with all the glaring) but since R was around, decided NOT to shout – its okie

RD: errr…it also fell on the platform

RMย  – its okieย 

and then proceeded to clean the entire thing again!!!ย 

The milkshake tasted good by the way, but we are not talking about that are we?ย 

and so the hand mixer has been inaugurated with all fan fare and spilling and cleaning sessions!!ย 

Comfy., hope this satisfied you ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

aage aage dekho hota hai kya?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to The Inauguration

  1. I kept smiling all the way through your post and when I came here – ‘my eyes hurt with all the glaring’, I was literally laughing out loud! LoL:) Hilarious post, lady! Way to go!

  2. Comfy says:

    Waah RM waah! Kya story hei ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ See but it is not RD’s fault since you should have done the moharat on the hand mixer. Once your hands touched it no spills would take place ๐Ÿ˜›

    Oh and you are oh so nice to clean up all the spills. In our house the rule goes ‘if you make a mess, you clean up’. Works like a charm I tell you ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Sumana says:

    LOL I am still laughing and can imagine how it would have been for you. Some hard work to get to taste the milkshake??? I cannot stop laughing but believe me, it happens so much at our place that we keep the mop at stone’ s throw.

  4. wondernoon says:

    Felt like I was watching the whole scene happening! ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoyable post! Here’s to many more such sweet (milk shake) memories!

  5. RS says:

    Hey Bhagawan! the very thought of so much cleaning is virtually causing me a back ache! How are you doing Babe?!!
    ” doodh ka patramโ€ฆ” ?!!!
    And by the way – WHAT milkshake did you do? ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Tharani says:

    I was smiling throughout the post..
    RD is smart know…LOL at, “mereko milkshake veenam”
    Make more milk shakes and write more stories Okie ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Seema says:

    A hilarious post all in all from a reader’s perspective. But I know how much a pain all the cleaning can lead to. Nowadays I give wiping cloth to the kids and let them wipe to the best of their abilities. Optimum utilization of resources, u c? Good that the milkshake tasted good, happy for R ๐Ÿ™‚ I too have a hand mixie but use it only during my baking stints. Rest of the day to day grinding – Preethi zindabad!

  8. Hahahaa…R’s mom, the hand mixer turned out to be quite a villian huh?….U know what i do to avoid cleaning spills – i act so inefficient about it that the Tall one gets irritated and takes over ๐Ÿ™‚ So cleaning spills is his department.

  9. snowdrop says:

    he! he! he! watte grand inauguration ! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. Chatterbox says:

    Hand blenders can be pretty messy that ways, but the results they produce are always awesome ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€
    Let’s forget the mess and remember the yummy taste of the milkshake ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. ashreya says:

    congrats.. so finally inaugurated and 2 recipes made..so next time uwill know which vessels to use and how much water to add.. so, weekend cleaning made on weekday itself.. so take a break on weekend.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. Sreetama says:

    This is an awesome post! You can make even simple things so amusing, that’s what I love about your blog. I totally loved & heartily laughed the way you scratched words like ‘lazy’ and made it benevolent, RM to R! I can totally understand your agony about the cleaning part! ๐Ÿ˜› And congrats for the Sri Ganesh of the new member of your kitchen!

  13. R's Mom says:

    @S&S: glad I made you laugh..trust me when I was cleaning up, I was so so bugged!

    @Comfy: Glad to be of service to your request…arey even in my house, you spill, you clean policy is there, but in this case, the cleaning would have been so superficial, that I would rather do it myself (RD would be too excited about the milkshake..so he would just take the cloth and pretend to wipe…hypothetical situation which I am sure would have been true)

    @Sumana: Trust me, ek milkshake and the clean up after that uff!

    @wondernoon: Hello and welcome here ๐Ÿ™‚ hopefully sweet milkshakes ๐Ÿ™‚

    @RS: Lets not talk about backaches here…thoda sensitive topic hai…and doodh ka patram is milk vessel (patram is vessel in tamizh…we speak a mixture )

    we had chocolate milkshake..added sugar and coco powder to the milk and someone in the household pretended to be the lord of cafe coffee day..you know who ๐Ÿ˜‰

    @Tharani: seriously this girl’s language needs to be cleansed!

    @Seema: glad you enjoyed..oh I also make R clean up..of course you need optimum utilisation rey..two girls phew! aap seriously great ho!

    How do you use a hand mixer for baking stints..batao na please please….I will email you to ask you

    Preethi – nah in our case its Sumeet..

    @Nuttie – dont ask..seriously villian..but its my birthday gift okie..so I am not going to crib! Wait, did you instruct RD to do this spillover..wait till I meet the Tall one…your secret will be out *insert evil grin*

    @Snowdrop – interesting eh?

    @CB: yep…the milkshake was awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

    @Ashreya: hahahahah! tomorrow is Onam babes…so definitely weekend will be spent catching up on the sleep ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Smitha says:

    I can’t stop laughing! And you are an angel to do so much cleaning up ๐Ÿ™‚

    The language you speak is what I speak to my brother and cousins ๐Ÿ™‚ We mix up English, hindi and Malayalam, and doodh ka patram made me laugh so much ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Bikram says:

    aree I thought it was the milkshake R wanted .. this turned out to be something to do with tomatoes .. Or am i confused now .. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    ohhh the milkshake was after the first debacle.. hmmm Alls well that ends well Na.. you got to have tasty milkshake Thanks to RD ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Vidya says:

    This must be the most eventful inauguration of any gadget;) While my sympathies are with you for cleaning over and over again, its still nice of RD to persisit;)

  17. chandni says:

    He he…full drama happening at the RM household I’d say!

  18. R's Mom says:

    @Sreetama: thanks thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

    @Smitha: I should make RD read your comment about the angel part ๐Ÿ˜‰

    You speak malayalam? awesome

    @Bikram: Thanks to RD..hmph…thanks to all my cleaning ๐Ÿ™‚

    @Vidya: I will disown you…he had to persist..koi choice nahi tha ๐Ÿ˜‰

    @Chandni: yep full time drama ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. anisnest says:

    what an Inauguaration… may be the hand mixer live long with this happy family making more and more delicious food for them with little spills here and there.. I recently experienced this spilling incident.. onions spluttered all over my counter top, microwave, wall, toaster et all when I had to finish my cooking in half hour to make it to an appointment.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  20. Hahahaha …. even though I am laughing reading your post, I know how much irritated you’d be on the day the mixer was used. Cleaning up twice… arey baba … thats exhausting !!!
    But, you now know how to avoid that… don’t you ? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  21. Bhavani says:

    LOL….my hubby likes to use all these gadgets in the kitchen once in a while and leave a big mess around…these men:))

  22. R's Mom says:

    @Ani: Aiyo the onions spilling is horrid yaar..cleaning would be such a pain ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    @CA: Cleaning up thrice babes…R drop the entire bowl of curd rice as well…

    @Bhavani: oh does he hehehe ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. RS says:

    And When IS your Bday – we should all wait and see na what special gift you will get on that day then! ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. You can write dram scenes..I love the way its narrated, get full picture very clear ..doodh ka patram you really speak like R now ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. Bikram says:

    cleaning to aftermath hai .. Pehle SHAKE aya na …

  26. R's Mom says:

    @LF: oh my God..you are right…seriously thats so Rish…I didnt even realise that !

    @Bikram: *Sticks tongue out*

  27. Scribby says:

    lol whatta cracker inaugural story I tell you ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. Swaram says:

    Ha ha ha! Classic!
    And on this side too, milk overboils and spills every single time when we hv too much work at hands or are just dead tired ๐Ÿ™„

  29. R's Mom says:

    @Scribby: you went on a reading riot is it…I saw so many of your comments..thanks rey for commenting I think its really sweet of you

    @Swaram: okie so milk over boiling is a every third day phenomenon here..so much that we dont even bother about it anymore ๐Ÿ™‚

  30. dipali says:

    You guys are classic!

  31. Rajani Ram says:

    I absolutely enjoy reading your blog….. soo good.. soo funny… a good laugh…. Keep it up!!!

  32. Pingback: Its That Time of The Year | R's Mom

Leave a Reply

