Early Lessons Learnt This Week

So we had a mid week holiday..well not exactly Mid week..but almost mid week…Thanks to the great Ganesh Bapa, we got the Thrusday off…

Lesson #1: Where there is a will there is a way

IΒ  had to make prasad before RD left for work at 6.15…more importantly before R got up because post that I was sure she wouldnt let me do anything

And people, please pat my back and burst some crackers for me because before 6.15 I had managed to

1) Make modaks the sweet variety typical of a Tambram community
2) Amani modaks (I cant spell what modaks are called in Tamil in English here..the word is too complicated) but these are bascially salty modaks
3) Til and Sugar ka powder
4) Sweet rice payasam called nei payasam in certain households
5) Vadas (called parappu vadas)
6) Bananas, pomegranates and apples (okie I didnt make them..but we are showing off here okie)

And now let me give you some pictures

The God with all his prasad...this murti was given to me by my former boss when I was going to Baroda for my delivery

God Ganesha with the flowers and the kolam which I had drawn

The Sweet Modaks - God Ganesha's Favorite and R's too πŸ™‚

Β 

The Vadas - RD's favorite..they were nice and crisp when hot but afterwards turned ek dum kadak..I almost broke a tooth trying to bite in!The Til and sugar powder

 

The Neyi Payasam - I over cooked it and it turned kinda blackish and the rice is like literally fried in ghee..but hey its gud, rice and ghee..cant resist it na :)the Amani Modaks that are made from the leftover rice covering of the sweet modaks

 

the Amani Modaks that are made from the leftover rice covering of the sweet modaks

Β 

and then let me get down to being downright honest and tell you how it worked

1) I made the modak ka filling the previous day after coming back from office
2) I kindified the modak atta which was got readymade the previous day evening
3) I made the til and sugar powder the previous day evening
4) I ground the vada ka atta the previous day evening
5) I bought the fruits the previous day evening

and so by getting up at about 4, I was able to do the needful prasad πŸ™‚

and this is how we show off in the R household

RD and I did the nevidya at about 6.15…and guess what..I just realised..we actually sang sukhakarta dukhaharta for aarti…Indianess to the highest level..in a TAmbram household, we did a Marathi aarti πŸ™‚ and it came so effortless to us, I wonder how strong the influence is
and of course then R got up and R and I also did the same aarti and much to my surprise, the pint size knows quite a bit of it okie!
Lesson #2: You have to eat your words some day

Remember, this post I did talking and ranting about dolling up dilemmas for my daughter…

It came back to me Smack!!

R went to our neighbour’s house and first came to pick up her rubber bands…then she came back to get a frock (which is shocking because she never wears frocks) and then again came back to get some bangles..

I was getting suspicious and I kept telling the girls who live there and aunty to send her back,but they were okie with having her around

So when I come back, the brat has nail polish in her left hand and on her feet, clips in her hair, wearing the new frock….I almost reeled in the shock and didnt even recognize her for a micro milli second

RM: R..yeh..yeh..what what
R: Preening and showing me those tiny fingers, nail polish amma, M didi ne lagaya
RM: Kya..why did you agree
R: She asked, and I said okie..no bolna aacha nahi hai na!

And this girl is only three okie!!!

I asked M didi and she said R wanted to do it..obviously I love the family and I didnt say anything…I called up my mother who asked me not to be a baby and just let her have the nail polish till Sunday since its not allowed in school…

but my mind is just not ready to accept the fact that some one painted my daughter’s nails ugh!

RD is not even talking about it..he is still under shock I guess!

Lesson #3: Having good neighbours is a blessing!

R of course spent like 1 hour at the neighbour’s house and then the next door neighbour was talking to me for a while

and then the neighbour whose house R spent an hour, she sent me

1) Idlis in the leaf
2) Mixed veg subji
3) Dal
4) Chana dal payasam
5) Patra
6) Sweet bonda

and said yeh thoda sa hai..

I was like aunty this is my whole lunch and so R and I had lunch with that only..

What, who asked RD to go to work and miss all this out..bah!

Lesson #4: The rains Gods are tracking you constantly

I am telling you boss…its getting scary..till the time I step out of my building..there is absolutely no rains..but its like I step on the building gate, and there is an automatic switch which starts the rains…its getting scary now!

Lesson #5: R has become a pro in gulanti

so who can do gulanti..I can…

Three days ago, R came and told me and RD and I cant do gulanti in my karate class…RD adn I told her to try it and RD helped her for two times…then she started doing it on the floor and now the kid manages to do three at a go…

And then we went to RD’s friend’s house in Thane (yaa we are crazy that ways!) yesterday for Ganpati and he has an almost 6 year old..and R was giving her lessons on how to put your leg over your head, and teaching her the nitty gritties of the perfect Gulanti! there!
and in other news, RD and R are spending their day together today…RD has a meeting till 9.30 AM today..so I came to work late while R the drama queen did her normal drama of not wanting to leave me, but RD managed her and now the father daughter duo are at a mall eating garlicΒ  bread!!!

and next post will have the pictures of the thank you card we made to for R’s teachers πŸ™‚

so long folks!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Early Lessons Learnt This Week

  1. Hey RM!! Just mailed you asking where you had disappeared and there you are with this wonderful post! πŸ™‚
    You got up at four and made all these stuff?? Whattay!! I made modaks for the first time in my life and none of the others you’ve mentioned and still showed off! So, believe me, you are just awesome! Really awesome!! πŸ™‚
    Even Keer surprised me yesterday by wearing all the bangles, paavadai, hair-clips and other accessories, which she generally takes them off the moment I put them on her! And hey, wearing nail-paint is a ‘kutti’ wish by the ‘kutti’ R! Just let it be, no? (P.S.- I haven’t worn nail polishes all through my life!)
    Can I have your neighbour as mine, please?? Pretty please!! πŸ™‚
    The rain Gods have been tracking me too! I got drenched at least four times last week trying to commute to and from office on my two-wheeler. But its fun no?? πŸ™‚
    And err.. what is ‘gulanti’?

  2. RS says:

    Finally! You have no idea how many times I came here since morning! And your last sentence explained why the post was so late today. I was so bored and I was missing your post. You have me hooked!

    You woke up at 4am?!! that too on a holiday? Where are those feet of yours – show me fast *bows doowwwwnnnn*. and here I was cursing that Chutku decided to wake up at 5.30am yesterday 😦

    Chotu sa Ganesh ji ki murthi and so many items for him to eat – they are all bigger than Ganesh ji himself πŸ™‚ And I like that the pictures are coming in more frequently but where is the pic of R all dressed up?

    And Err…what is Gulanti?

  3. The Bride says:

    1) Idlis in the leaf
    2) Mixed veg subji
    3) Dal
    4) Chana dal payasam
    5) Patra
    6) Sweet bonda

    Vs. Daughter’s nails painted.
    A fair trade-off I’d say. πŸ™‚

  4. R's Mom says:

    @S&S: Just replied to your email babes..so sweet of you to ask πŸ™‚

    I am not awesome…some days inspired πŸ˜‰

    Keer wore all that is it…isnt that awesome πŸ™‚ Pics kidhar hai πŸ˜‰

    Arey nail polish ka toh main..I will remove it today evening *Mentally shakes her head in anger*

    Arey my neighbours are sweet people..thank God for that!

    and two wheeler mein..aww Muah for that babes…Praying that the rain Gods take a break and go to kullu manali for a holiday

    Gulanti is..well..you know how you roll from head down and pick up your legs and come down on the other side..aiyo wait..lemme search for an English word..

    nope not getting any english word rey!

    its basically cartwheels but done from your head…I will see if I can take a pic of R and put it up!

    @RS: *Blush and all* I hope you had a good read πŸ™‚

    I woke up early anyways because RD had to leave for work

    Pic of R all dressed up couldnt get rey..I was so shocked that I didnt even click her photu πŸ™‚

    and Gulanti…aiyo what language is gulanti…I dont even know that..will go home ..ask RD for a translation and put it up…meanwhile check what I wrote to S&S

    @The Bride: yep…totally fair trade off….meanwhile this is the millionth time I mention to you that THIS is why I love reading you πŸ™‚ You think and write like such a pro πŸ™‚

  5. By gulanti, I think you are talking about ‘somersault’ (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Somersault), which is btw, ‘kuttikaranam’ in Tamizh. Am I right??

  6. suranga date says:

    R’s Mom , gulanti=somersault

  7. R's Mom says:

    @S&S: yes yes that only..I dont know the Tamil name rey…is it called that in Tamil…and how do you spell Modaks in the Tamil name???

    @Suranga-ji: thank youuuuuuuuuu πŸ™‚ I was literally searching for Gulanti in Google heheeh πŸ™‚

  8. Tharani says:

    Wow….
    Even I made Modaks yesterday .. It was ok for the first attempt. but yours look all in shape and yummy. BTW modaks are called kolukattai in tamil.. (See i have started with my lessons, now you record that song and send me OK)
    R does somersault.. great. You know, we have to do something like that in Yoga class (Not exactly somersault) and all I can do is lay on my head like “n_”. (you get the shape right ??) I just can’t lift my leg and the whole time will be doing namaskaram to the yoga master 😦

  9. Modak is called ‘kozhukattai’. Haa.. Of some use my Tamizh knowledge is!! πŸ™‚

  10. Bikram says:

    yeh kya baat hui.. BANA to liye .. KHILANE kab hainnnn.. parsaad to baant-te hain sara khud hi nahin kha lete πŸ™‚ get the hint .. hint hint ….

    he he he and seekhiye chothe bache se NO nahin kehte πŸ™‚ bless the little one…

    and what is this Gulanti I dont think I know that tooo …

  11. modak in Tamil – kozhukattai πŸ˜€

    Why did you do this to me! Do you know how home-sick i felt after seeing the pics!

    R got her nails painted! 😯 Is the nail big enough?

  12. Nitya says:

    Kozhakattais! Thats the Tam word for modaks., it has to be my fave sweet in the world. Next only to appams!

    I am a regular reader. Delurked to say that I think you are awesome. Its not easy to get up at 4 and laze around, forget cook such a wonderful meal. No matter, how much of that has been prepped earlier. Its still a pain.

    I am a Bombayite settled in the US and while I get what Pepper means about missing the rains, I also know what a pain in the ass our Bbay monsoons can be πŸ™‚

    Will be back for more!

    -Nitya

  13. Mayborngemini says:

    Hats off, Mouth wide open… R’s Mom. No wonder R is soooo active takes after her MOM.

  14. Sangitha says:

    Kozhakattai. You inspire….if only I didn’t like to sleep better! ;-D

    Happy Ganesh Chathurthi!

  15. Tanishka says:

    This was like such a yummylicious post… I’m off to kitchen…. πŸ˜€

  16. RM, you always amaze me with your energy and enthusiasm, what you said is very true, where there is a will there is a way.And R and I lazy we didn’t do anything, evening we got an invite we went an hogged till there was no space, I couldn’t breath, later after we got back home I had to vomit to get some space to breath. I ate like as though I have never seen food..I am so liking you picture posts. I am glad you doing it πŸ™‚ You made all those by 6:15 hats off to you..Prasadam looks yummy, wish I could come to Mumbai and grab some..

  17. Comfy says:

    You got up at 4:00? That too 4:00 in the morning? That is like middle of the night for me.

    such good food RM. I am drooling all over my computer here. I need neighbours like that and like you of course. So that I don’t have to worry about anything πŸ˜€

    I think I would be very very angry if someone was to put nail paint or any kind of makeup on Buzz. To my mind she is too little to have any of that on her. So I can understand where you are coming from. Hugs.

    Go R, show them all how gulanti is done. Rock on sweetheart πŸ™‚

  18. Sreetama says:

    Firstly, wish you a very happy Ganesh Chaturthi! May lord Ganesh always shower his blessings on you & your cute family! Kudos to the little one who can do somersaults! She’ll be good in sports n dance for sure! Mommy genes! And please don’t get so paranoid if she likes to dress up a bit! It’s fine! Make sure the quality of nail paint, especially the nail paint remover is good. And once in a blue moon to chalta hai na! And please take & post her pics next time? Have a happy weekend! And I missed your posts too!

  19. Sreetama says:

    Oh ya, forgot to mention, the prasad you made looks awesome! Wish I could taste some! And the salty modaks are looking like ‘phoochkas’! :p

  20. Ashwathy says:

    You made all that??? 😯 *Bows to you in revered silence*
    But a lot of those sweets are South Indian. Even my aunt made modak that day. It was yum! Of course my job was only to eat.

    Hmm I wouldn’t be happy if someone painted my daughter’s nails red.

  21. R's Mom says:

    @Tharani: You made modaks and all awesome..and you are not even married! baap rey too much enthu babes…

    thanks for the translation πŸ™‚

    Hey I can do somersaults…*Preens as bit and shows off*

    @S&S: thank you thank you

    @Bikram: When do you make your trip to Mumbai? Gulanti is somersault rey…

    @CR: thanks for the translation! Yep R does have enough nails for one drop of nailpolish on it..which of course I removed

    come to mumbai and I will give you vadas and modaks

    @Nitya: welcome here πŸ™‚

    Thanks for the translation πŸ™‚

    @Mayborngemini: heheheh πŸ™‚

    @Sangitha: Thanks thanks..same to you

    @Tan: and what did you make..those yummy sabudana vadas?

    @LF: its good to laze around..we just show off πŸ˜‰ Come to mumbai on your next trip to the desh

    @Comfy: I get up at 4.30 or 4.45 everyday rey..so theek hi hai πŸ™‚

    Yep the nailpaint did bug me a bit..but like The Bride said..for all the food aunty sent ‘fair trade off’ I got the paint removed πŸ™‚

    @Sreetama: Thanks for the wishes…yep I am a bit paranoid I guess..RD did mention it to me.. πŸ™‚

    Dont even talk about poochkas here…I am so missing Calcutta

    @Ashwathy: The R household does show off a bit…I am a Tambram rey πŸ™‚

  22. Sreetama says:

    Aww! Sowiieee! πŸ˜› When r u visiting Calcuta?

  23. ashreya says:

    i too made kolukatti for first time and got compliment from hubby too.. just learning all dishes before advika asks me/” dont you know to cook this also”. :). hey,with leftover vada’s you can make curry na.. so, you save time and make a dish for evening.. you worked on a holiday?? so R is in karate class?? :). even i would like to see R’s pic with all accessories yar…i am planning buy pattu pavada for advika for diwali. πŸ™‚

  24. R's Mom says:

    @Sreetama: I usually do once an year…in laws ko visit…will do it next year for sure πŸ™‚

    @Ashreya: Awesome babes…I dont think Advu baby will ask you such Qs…leftover vada curry…sounds interesting..lemme search for the recipe..I dont remember Srivalli posting something on that…

    R has got some teacher coming in the daycare who teaches the kids something…I think they bascially do a lot of physical excerise in the name of karate πŸ˜‰

    Pattu pavadai for the Advu..isnt she tooo young???

Leave a Reply

