Jealous Downright

You people of Bangalore (never can call it Bengaluru) yes yes its you people I am jealous off

Your metro is starting on Sept 15th as per these reports

and here we are in Mumbai the supposedly financial capital of India (ya ya you are the IT capital or silicon valley or whatever!) stuck with the Metro construction since for ever…

The Calcuttans have it, the Delhiwalas have it and now the Bangalore walas have it…but we the poor Mumbaikars are waiting and waiting and waiting and no no we are not holding our breath at all

What, with the dates of completion postponing left right and centre and of course more, I am sure no one is holding their breath..we dont want to die you see…

And then guess what the trains on the metro in Bangalore are also ready..but we are stuck here in hope! that at least the construction will be over by 2012…and lets not even talk about the other corridor from Charkop to Mankhurd..as per RD who travels via a road which is supposed to carry this corridor, they have created blockades etc and put up the signs…which I think is the geotechnical study…so hahahaha if it gets over by 2016 as stated in this wikipedia link

and of course the Metro being my favorite topic, I have already blogged about it here and here

and like I mentioned earlier…I live in hope eternally because its
miles to go before I sleep and miles to go before I sleep

We wait and we wait and we wait..till its August 2012 and then you Bangalore walas we will stick our tongues out to you 🙂

and oh oh CM Saheb..my date offer still stands okie 🙂
=======

And in other news, chalo at least I am DEFINITELY not dying because of a heart disease

What…a girl has to maintain her health na 😉

Happy weekend everyone while I slog an additional day at work..

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Jealous Downright

  1. Sreetama says:

    You working on Saturday? So sad! I have to do it every week! Anyway, let me tell you, during the rush hours, metros, be it Kolkata or Delhi, are as good as Mumbai locals! Only relief is that the doors close and they have ACs and the ride is less jerkier. Otherwise, the pushing shoving etc. features are common. So I guess you are not missing out much!

  2. R's Mom says:

    @Sreetama: oh you do every week…babes, I travel by metro whenever I am in Kolkata..trust me people there are SO MUCH better than in the Mumbai locals…come to Mumbai and I will give a free ride of the locals 😉

  3. I don’t know much about metros. But working on Saturdays is terrible. I work every Saturday. How sad is that! 😦

  4. Tanishka says:

    You too working on sat…. Don’t worry you are not alone….
    Anways finally you shifted to WP…. Though I’am a lil late but congs for the new blog… 🙂

  5. abha says:

    oh ouhleeze! it like a miniscule stretch they are starting it off on. the work is sooo slow and the whole effing city is dug up and with terrible roads. if its not the metro its the flyovers!

    only thing you can be jealous about is how gorgeous the weather is! 🙂

    and wrt to Mumbai locals v/s any other city, dude look at the difference in population! there is no comparison!

  6. Prachi says:

    🙂 I am a bangalorean so happy at the news.. But Mumbai locals do have their own charm!

  7. Prachi says:

    Have a look at my post as well just started writing again.. Your blog is my daily dose of humor!

  8. R's Mom says:

    @S&S: You do every saturday! *Bows to thee*

    @Tan: Teri hawa yahan aa rahi hai..of doing too much work 🙂

    @Abha: What..and you just broke my heart..here I was happy to curse you Bangalorewalas..and see you come up with such a comment 🙂

    and Mumbai locals…lets not talk about those theek hai 🙂

    @Prachi: Welcome here 🙂 Read Abha’s comment above hehee 🙂

  9. RS says:

    Eh?! Dont hold your breath for this one either Darling! Its such a teeny weeny stretch and has been delayed enough. And Im not so sure that it WILL start from 15th either. I bet they will come up with something else and the whole thing will get postponed again.
    And I cry for the state of our esteemed MG road that has been the casuality for this metro 😦
    I guess we will alwayes have something to crib about na…

  10. R's Mom says:

    @RS: yaa thats what even Abha wrote…but I was already jealous by then 🙂

  11. Sreetama says:

    Yes, I completely agree with you regarding the accommodating nature of the Kolkata metro commuters. I used to travel by metro throughout my 3 years of college but never faced so much rush. But Delhi metros are too harsh & ruthless. I had to leave 3 metros as the ladies won’t leave an inch to let me stand. 😦

    • R's Mom says:

      @Sreetama: Somehow I feel Calcuttans have a lot more culture that ways..not that Mumbaikars dont..but when it comes to travelling, Calcuttans are more sober 🙂 Delhi ka pata nahi..never been there

  12. Vidya says:

    Hey R, Metro is happening in new routes in Chennai also.. my bit to get on your nerves;) but the work is causing a lot of traffic jams!

  13. R's Mom says:

    @Vidya: *Sticks tongue out* Gah! now the Madras guys will get it before us as well!

  14. Ashwathy says:

    Where the hell is the space to build a metro in Mumbai woman!! U tell me!!

  15. R's Mom says:

    @Ashwathy: Arey..didnt you visit the Andheri Kurla road..its under construction..and trust me its the stupidest decision ever…there is serioulsy no space to build a metro in Mumbai 🙂

Leave a Reply

