Snooze and Sleep

When you get married, you will lose half your sleep and when you get a child, you will lose all your sleep

These famous words are by the way my mom’s….and trust me I think I am inclined to believe her in this one πŸ˜‰

I have always been a heavy heavy heavy sleeper…you know the kinds who wont even get up if there is an earthquake..or the types who cant hear an alarm kept right next to their ear…yes I am one of those…
My mom must have spent half her lifetime after I was born, trying to wake me up…imagine the rush in the morning and on top of that I dont get up..ugh! I was a bad child!
 

my cousin K who came to live with us during our engineering days had sworn never to wake me up everyday but the poor girl would still do it the next day morning..we would make these grand plans to get up and study at 4 in the morning…sleep early and then she would get up, spend half an hour trying to wake me up and then give up and just study by herself! yes I am sad that ways…
RD is as heavy a sleeper as I am..Is sleeper the right word??? *Thinking* anyways you get the drift..we both can sleep through earthquakes, volcanoes, etc etc etc and both of us are extremely cranky if our sleep quota is not fulfilled…
My dad incidentally has this weird way of waking up people….ma used to call us once and then give it a break and then give a call again and then lose her temper and shout…dad had a more horrid way of waking up…he would come and call your name continuously ‘RM, get up, hey RM hey RM, hey RM’ like a million times..finally you would get so so frustrated that you wouldnt have a choice but to get up just to stop his constant calling…even after I got married, he would wake RD and me like that..that too at 7 in the morning..yes that romantic he is!
uff! and he would never never let us sleep beyond 7 in the morning..can you beat that? even on sundays…

I have had the luxury of sleeping till 9 in the morning only after I got married to RD…I think I state that the number 1 reason why I love RD…he lets me sleep hahahah πŸ™‚
And after all the sleep and its luxury..R happened!


Seriously I wonder how people have so many kids…I mean can you imagine having like 3 kids and they all getting up early!
I havent slept continuously for more than 3 hours after R has been born…earlier it used to be feeding and knowing R you can well imagine that the brat would feed for like 2 hours continuously so much that my MIL thought I wasnt getting any milk at all..but I swear I was…she would just feed and feed and feed…and then after I was successful in weaning her, she would get up after peeing in the bed like 6 times through the night..the traditional mom that I am, I refused to use diapers for her..which meant getting up everytime she did su-su..and then change her…
even now though she is completely potty trained during the day, she does wet her bed in the night…and for reasons unknown and weird, I get up..I get up the moment she wets the bed despite of her sleeping in another bed in the same room as ours..I dont know how it happens, but something wakes me up…so there I dont get more than 3 hours of sleep continuously…

and then lets not talk about mornings, weekends or otherwise…the pint size has to get up by 6…wake us up using her hands on our eyelashes to open our eyes and say amma du-du..and she is so smart or rather RD has trained her so well that she refuses to go to him…she wants only her amma!!


So did I mention the reason 1 why I loved RD..this is reason 1 why I would spank him bah!

All in all, my sleep has gone for a toss..gone are those days of continuous sleep and constant dreams…I dont even dream now a days 😦

So all you people who are unmarried, enjoy the sleep while it lasts..and all those who dont have kids, enjoy it till you get kids..and all of those who have kids..well my heartfelt sympathies…
About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Snooze and Sleep

  1. Acho! Sorry RM, but you are just so superb in writing that I can't stop laughing knowing well that it's not something you want πŸ˜‰ I can't even laugh aloud, bcoz I am at work bey!

  2. Sumana says:

    LOL and i have 2 imagine my plight. Thanks for the sympathy and accept mine as well.

  3. The Bride says:

    But as you said, married you end up getting more sleep na? No parents to institute discipline… well, unfortunately I married an early riser who has this tendency to wake up even earlier on weekends (think 5 am) and after one hour of pottering around gets bored and then would come and wake me up, not to do any work but to 'hang out'. He would even fix breakfast and all. However, after literally yelling at him, I managed to cure him of that… then I got pregnant! We are trying to con Benji into sleeping longer by having really thick blinds but 6 am is his daily wake-up time 😦

  4. 'Seriously I wonder how people have so many kids…I mean can you imagine having like 3 kids and they all getting up early!' You can imagine, right?:( It was difficult in the initial stages 'cos each of my twins had their own routines and I had to get up twice the normal number of times to feed them. But, once they got into a schedule, things got better. Actually, both my children are pretty okay sleepers, but again, in line with most other children I've heard of, they wake up late on weekdays and early on weekends! But, the only solace is that I'm an early riser as well! And so, it is my poor husband who gets bugged with the early-morning atrocities of the troublesome threesome! :)My heart felt sympathies to you and RD too! πŸ™‚

  5. Jay says:

    Dream R's mom? Is it even possible to think of dreaming once you have kids? hahaha

  6. varsha says:

    Hey RM how dod you do it!! Excellent post !!

  7. Smita says:

    There u were reading through my mind too lady! God knows when will I get to sleep properly!!Loads to say but too much work in office! Will be back soon to commenting properly πŸ™‚

  8. R's Mom says:

    @Melbournemangai: thanks for the rich compliment πŸ™‚ @Sumana: *Bows to thee* to have the courage to have a second child!@The Bride: True..the sleep time did increase on weekends after marriage but week days was tough because of early shifts of RD and stuff..so all in all, loss of sleep after marriage πŸ™‚ oh and RD is like V…week days waking him is like a big task (I have given up) and weekends he is rise and shine and all that bah! and no Benji is not going to get fooled..even at 3, R is not improving :(@Sugar and Spice: Shastang namaskarams to you for the twins…I can NEVER imagine what you have been through! Please pass on my sympathies to your husband and tell him that I can so understand his problems!@Jay: yes..I am an idiot to even think about dreaming :)@Varsha: thanks darling@Smita: come back fast πŸ™‚

  9. Anonymous says:

    Hehhehe nice light read post :-)Ur dad still was polite in waking u up.On hot summer day at 8 in the morning,sun shining brightly my dad would switch off the cooler and we would get up sweating heavily :-(This was the scenario of entire summer vacations.Me and hubby are later risers hence as of now enjoying every bit of weekend mornings.Scared to think of life after kids (read it as kid) :-)~Garima

  10. RS says:

    Sigh! You are soo right! I dont even remember when I have slept continuously for 6hrs. These days its just about 6hrs of sleep every night and even in that get up a tleast once to give him milk…How I wish… I think this would be the case for another coupla years? Put up a post too…

  11. swarna says:

    Hi,It is 8 years of irregular sleep for me. Once I moved my 1st son into his own room 2nd one was born. Now all the potty training and night routine is all set, kids are sleeping peacefully. Aim unable to sleep properly. I don't get sleep till 12. I think it is become a habit.Nice reading your blog. Recently moved from Mumbai to Bangalore. Reading your blog to keep in touch with Mumbai.

  12. Scribby says:

    I can so relate to this RM…I'm a sleep lover and I can sleep anytime of the day πŸ™‚ and I don't know how but Chirpy has got this getting-up-early-at-5.30 am habit instilled in her by birth,sigh !and she does not only wake up but she insists on we taking her to the lawn !!!

  13. venus says:

    LOL!!!! But you know my case is totally opposite!I have always been a light 'sleeper' ..Thanks for coining that term πŸ˜‰ In fact before marriage i could hardly sleep for 5 or max 6 hours.. even a wall clock's ticking sound was enough to wake me up! In my hostel days I had to take down requests from girls to wake them up in the morning, though am very bad at actually waking them up..But after marriage, just coz hubby dear loves lazing arnd and sleeping late (read 9AM ) .. i have successfully managed to sleep for 8 long hours and occasionally even 10!!! That’s like an achievement for me :DSo, for those who don't get enough sleep, marriage can sometimes help you sleep for longer hours!!!

  14. R's Mom says:

    @Garima: arey even my dad…imagine a hot summer morning in a place like Baroda and there appa will come and switch off the fan..grrrr!@RS: Couple of years! kya RS…I was hoping it would end like end-2011 or something..nahi kya?@Swarna: *Falls at feet and asks for blessings* EIGHT years! baap rey! you sure are scaring me now@Scribby: hugs darling hugs..these girls are bent on greying our hair early!@Venus: bah! I am just plain jealous of you…light 'sleeper' are you? my cousin K is like you..even if there is a slight noise she is awake…Super nice of your hubby to have influenced you…sab acha hai now πŸ™‚

  15. I have mastered the act of sitting and sleeping and with eyes wide open :)What else do we learn in college.. Does that by any means helps after marriage???

  16. Richa says:

    This issue really terrifies me. I love my 10-12 hour sleep. I sleep after hubby leaves for work till my stomach aches for food.What will happen to my sleep when I have kids. oh my gosh. Very nicely written. πŸ™‚

  17. Anu thati says:

    this is exactly the post i wanted to write today.. its just like you borrowed my words from my throat..* my dad used to call to landline or to my cell phone and say somebody important called. so i used to get up with phone ringing near my ears.* i had the same situation yesterday night,Advi not sleeping, getting up after she does su-su( same here mom nt allowing me to use diaper). mom complaining saying i dont hav enough milk etc etc that is why baby is till crying..* more than sleeplessness, what irritates more is , when i see my Husband sleep peacefully with his daughter shouting next to him with her high volume.

  18. Swaram says:

    Advice taken! Will njoy till we hv ours πŸ˜‰

  19. Anonymous says:

    LOL R's mom. Nice.My son also tortures πŸ™‚ me the same way R does.When Amma is too sleepy, he refuses to go to any one else. They want to show all their love at that moment only. He just refuses to sleep until 12 and on top of it he wants us to play with him :-(Hope things will improve for us very soon.SwarnaP.S: My sis is also a sleep lover like you but she has got a daughter who has to wake up latest by 6 πŸ™‚ (Just like R and you). So I can empathize with you completely in this case.

  20. Bikramjit says:

    We got a hockey stick on our backside if we did not get up.. I am not joking .. the bell wud ring and then 5 minutes later house master would come and oooh aah ouch .. then running all the way to get ready for PT. You had it easy being woken by ur parents :)and see she needs her amma you shud be proud she loves you so much .. stop blaming RD for that πŸ™‚ he he he and as such they say early to raise is good I get up at 6am each day πŸ™‚ Bikram's But hey wetting at night .. get some Night short/pants to be on safer side .. that way you wont have to get up.. I guess slowly R will learn a few more months or weeks I guess ..

  21. Gayu says:

    I can relate to it…each and every thing…My dad used to get up at 5.00 AM..even on Holidays and Weekends…7AM was the max…Bt now I sleep till 9..sometimes 10 on weekends:…esp after the afternoon shift.Thanks to my in-laws and hubby:)I guess all the kids are the same. Samu my 4 yr old will be cranky on weekdays…and will take time to get up…bt on weekends…she will be up at 7:P

  22. R's Mom says:

    @onarollercoasterride: errr…yes I think that does help :)@Richa: Girl I didnt mean to scare you…generally warning hehehe :)@Anu: hahahaha…your dad is cute πŸ™‚ isnt that the most bugging thing..that kiddo is crying and the husband is snoring away to glory…I used to shake him and wake him up hehehe πŸ™‚ @Swaram : Good good@Swarna: thank you for the sympathies..hehehe πŸ™‚ Hope your son learns soon@Bikram: Baap rey…and here I was getting bugged at my dad…*going to go and hug dad the next time I meet him*

  23. R's Mom says:

    @Gayu: Samu is a sweetie isnt she πŸ™‚ heheeheh πŸ™‚

  24. Anonymous says:

    Hey RM,I have been a regular reader – I can associate very well with ur blogs – I'm a working mom of a soon to be 3 yr old Boy…"The Child care tales and tantrums…"Believe Me – You said it !- I'm truly amazed when I see families with 3 kids or more..So amazed that I keep staring at them thinking abt how these people can handle more than one!May be becoz of the lazy bum I am , the sound sleeper i have always been…The liesure i'm deprived off with just 1…ohh my I can't even imagine 2 kids :-(..Cheers – Keep ur blogging going !

  25. R's Mom says:

    @Anon: thanks dear…keep commenting πŸ™‚

  26. Vidya says:

    Talking about waking up a dozen times in the night.. I've contemplated making Varun sleep inside the loo:) And he'll insist on drinking gallons of water only after 7 PM while he'll go about with just a teaspoon of water during the day!!! Am with you, am with you:))

  27. R's Mom says:

    @Vidya: and did Varun and R meet up with each other in space before they were born to us!!! even R is like that only…only in the evenings she gets thirsty!

Leave a Reply

