R tales

R and RM are coming in the rick back home


RM: Did you eat your dabba?
R: yes
RM: What was it? (The evil me, wants to cross check whether she actually ate, though I only packed it for her!)
R: Roti n beetroot subji
RM: okie good
a pause for a second
R: I threw away the subji in the dustbin
RM: too shocked to answer..spluttering What what..why why
R: mereko acha nahi laga (I didnt like it)
RM: So why did you throw it away
R: other wise N teacher (her daycare teacher) gussa karti na!
RM: but you dont waste food na
R: so give me bhindi next time
RM: too shocked to respond!
=========
R and RM are again coming in the rick back home
R: Amma, aaj khane mein kya hai (Amma, whats for food today)
She is worse than any MIL I tell you..God gave me a nice MIL and compensated that with the pint sized!
RM: Rajma and rice..appa is cooking rice at home
R: But I already had rajma in the morning na..same same kya khane ka! (Whats there to eat same same)
RM: Wondering if this is at 3, whats for me at 13…

===============
R and RM are again again coming in the rick back home
RM: Do you have homework today
R: yes
RM: What is it
R: sleeping line, mereko bore ho gaya hai sleeping line draw kar kar ke (I am bored of drawing sleeping lines)
and this when she has to draw just 10 sleeping lines!!! Wonder whats in store for me in the future!

========
R gets up in the morning and looks at me and demands ‘Appa kidhar hai’ (Where is Appa)
RM: gone to office
R: arey, mereko bye bolke jane ka na (Arey, he should have told bye to me and gone)

There my nani amma, next time Appa ko yaad dilati hoon!
==========
Every monday R has white uniform..Why would schools have plain white uniforms for children is beyond my understanding
But, we manage to convert the white into brown and grey, dont know how!
RM: R what do you with your uniform
R without batting an eyelid, “play in it!”
RM is too disgusted to even respond to that!
=========
RM: R go and get that book from the other room
R: I am not going
RM: why
R: udhar lion aa jayega (Lion will come there)
RM: ?????
========
RD sometimes does this thing of khud ke paao pe kulhadi (Its an hindi expression, I dont have the translation to that)
so RM and R enter the house and we can smell something mouth watering…RD says R will you have maggi today
R: yayayyayayay! maggi
RM sniffs around and is pretty sure its not maggi he has cooked
to his credit, he has cooked some yummilicous paneer subji and rotis (they are misshapen but made with lot of love, so lets not dwell on the shape size etc)
RD : R aaj appa made paneer subji and roti only for you (Liar, he made it for me bah!)
R: but mereko maggi khana hai (I want maggi)
RM rolls her eyes and RD is like but I made paneer for you
R admanantly I want maggi
RD: but roti with ghee..errr…
R: maggi, maggi, maggi and it turns into a full blown tantrum
This man I tell you, when will he learn!!!
======
RD, RM and R are sitting for dinner…RD has managed to make some yummy egg biryani and we have potato chips to touch with…which are less so RM takes out the banana chips..after all the hue and cry about egg and all…R eats only the chips
RD: R why are you eating only chips for dinner..thoda rice khao
R: nahi chaheye (dont want)
RD: why you wanted na egg
R: Theekhu che (Its spicy)
RM: no nahti
R : Che ne (it is)
RD: then you eat plain rice
R: uff..okie thoda daalo…(I put the rice) she looks at RD and says..bas le liya (Enough, I took it)

RD and RM stare at her wide mouthed!!!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to R tales

  1. varsha says:

    ROFL!! Amazing comebacks from R!!

  2. These posts from R makes me wonder what I have in store!! :)'So give me bhindi next time!' KIDS, I tell you!!!!!!And what's with all these MEN?? My husband and dad keep repeating the same thing. Right on time for dinner, they'll ask, 'Do you want to have a chocolate?' While I'll start screaming at them from the kitchen, the children will begin their non-stop tantrums!

  3. Why blogger is not accepting my comments .. hmpf… Last tryI love love love R… As funny as her mom..Love the lion bit..

  4. Anonymous says:

    Nice. The last one is super.Swarna

  5. Rohini says:

    Ha ha. Kids say the darnedest things πŸ™‚

  6. R's Mom says:

    @Varsha: bah! I need to get smarter than her now :)@sugar and Spice: Waiting to hear what they tease you with..and you toh have twins babes..that means two times the come back! *God please help S&S* that chocolate thing is so so bugging na :)@onarollercoasterride: and this blogger strikes again! you think RM is funny..awwww arent you the sweetest one :)@Swarna: thank u thank u@Ro: yes they do…hope you settled down well in hyd now πŸ™‚ missing mumbai?

  7. anu says:

    just wanted to share this article with u..Chetan Bhagat’s Article in TOI: Specially for Indian Women…. DoRead it girlsβ€¦β€œ Alright, this is not cool at all. A recent survey by Nielsen hasrevealed that Indian women are the most stressed out in the world: 87% ofour women feel stressed out most of the time. This statistic alone hascaused me to stress out. Even in workaholic America, only 53% women feelstressed.What are we doing to our women? I'm biased, but Indian women are the mostbeautiful in the world. As mothers, sisters, daughters, colleagues, wivesand girlfriends – we love them. Can you imagine life without the ladies?For now, i want to give Indian women five suggestions to reduce theirstress levels.One, don't ever think you are without power. Give it back to thatmother-in-law. Be who you are, not someone she wished you would be. Shedoesn't like you? That's her problem.Two, if you are doing a good job at work and your boss doesn't value you -tell him that, or quit. Talented, hard-working people are much in demand.Three, educate yourself, learn skills, network – figure out ways to beeconomically independent. So next time your husband tells you that you arenot a good enough wife, mother or daughter-in-law, you can tell him to takea hike.Four, do not ever feel stressed about having a dual responsibility offamily and work. It is difficult, but not impossible. The trick is not toexpect an A+ in every aspect of your life. You are not taking an exam, andyou frankly can't score cent per cent (unless you are in SRCC, of course).It is okay if you don't make four dishes for lunch, one can fill theirstomach with one. It is okay if you don't work until midnight and don't geta promotion. Nobody remembers their job designation on their dying day.Five, most important, don't get competitive with other women. Someone willmake a better scrapbook for her school project than you. Another will losemore weight with a better diet. Your neighbour may make a six-dabba tiffinfor her husband, you don't – big deal. Do your best, but don't keep lookingout for the report card, and definitely don't expect to top the class.There is no ideal woman in this world, and if you strive to become one,there will be only one thing you will achieve for certain – stress.So breathe, chill, relax. Tell yourself you are beautiful, do your best anddeserve a peaceful life. Anybody trying to take that away from you ismaking a mistake, not you. Your purpose of coming to this earth is not toplease everyone. Your purpose is to offer what you have to the world, andhave a good life in return. The next time this survey comes, i don't wantto see Indian women on top of the list. I want them to be the happiestwomen in the world. Now smile, before your mother-in-law shouts at you forwasting your time reading the newspaper.”Cherish Womanhood……

  8. vidya says:

    ROTFL!! Trust R to throw away beetroot subji, munch on the chips alone for dinner, and expect to be told when dad leaves home!!! I like girls with opinions and a bit of recklessness:) R, stay the same, will ya?!!:)

  9. R's Mom says:

    @Anu: Errr..I did a whole post on this yesterday…check my yesterday's post πŸ™‚ thanks for sending across though :)@Vidya: What….and invite her mother's wrath! you girl..stop encouraging her okie πŸ™‚

  10. Bikramjit says:

    yesssssssssssssss.. THats the girl.. BHINDI my favourite , do make it please for her she likes it πŸ™‚ and thodi se mere liye bhi πŸ™‚ yes ji same same nahin .. change .. change is good na πŸ™‚ made me laugh and what is this LION ka chakkar . you better go and check kahin "R" has a pet CUB in the room hidden under the bed .. he he he he white uniform hmmm yeah i rmemeebr being told off all the time by mum coming back home with dirty shirt etc πŸ™‚ and theek reply kiya na "Playing in it" to aur kya karennn … πŸ™‚ nice ones R's Mom and yayyyyyyyyyyyyyy to R.. because of her we get to laugh and smile all the time .. Bikram's

  11. R's Mom says:

    @Bikram: hahahhaha! your comment is so funny πŸ™‚

  12. wow that's one little fire cracker you have there..I really want to come see her talk like this, sounds soooo cuuuute.Totally Hillarious!!!!

  13. R's Mom says:

    @Mayborn Gemini: So is R πŸ™‚ Thanks πŸ™‚

  14. Ashwathy says:

    HAHAHAHAHAH!!! Priceless comebacks!!!OMG!!

  15. Hip Grandma says:

    Hugs to R for being the cutie that grandmas love. A merry mixture of Bombaiya Hindi and Gujrati eh? and pao par kulhadi…… can be translated as axing one's own leg.

  16. Smita says:

    She is a total riot no?I Loled at "play in it" :DAnd Men are total experts in FIM!!! My hubby did something similar few days back and it resulted in a full throttle crying & tantrum throwing!!!

  17. Pepper says:

    Rotfl..R is such a brat πŸ˜€

  18. Tanishka says:

    LOL….Btw I also love bhindi and I also don like beatroot…. Same pinch R…. You rock gal…. πŸ™‚

  19. Rohini says:

    Yes. Still missing Mumbai. But starting to get used to living here πŸ™‚

  20. Lol….r is sooo smart…throwing away beetroot, eating bhindi & chips!!! way to go R Baby!!! She is really smart R's mom and at 3..i think u should be gulping hard at the years to come :DOn as aside…where did u find RD…am so jealous that he cooks so much and now i want egg biryani…Sobs!

  21. Anu thati says:

    acho.. it happens when you don't read the post regularly. :). nosecut for anu.. πŸ˜›

  22. R's Mom says:

    @Ashwathy: Yaa right bah!@HHG: Arent you the sweetest πŸ™‚ I loved that translation hehehe :)@Smita: She is becoming a really smartass…at nearly 1, lil'one understands is it…awesome :)@Pepper: oh she is!@Tan: Long time no see..where are you dear??? remind me to cook bhindi for you when you come home..we should meet after the rains :)@Ro: awww! I am sure you will settle fast :)@Nuttie: dont scare me okie? RD – arey I had a proper arranged horoscope seeing wala marriage…we are sad that ways πŸ™‚ but yes he does cook great…;) come home will make super egg biryani and nice boondi raita for you :)@Anu: ayio what nose cut and all…I think it was really sweet of you to remember me and send it..I was touched πŸ™‚

  23. weourlife says:

    I love her attitude :)She is very clear on what she wants πŸ™‚ I think she is right, how many times can you draw same boring sleeping line. She is smart I am telling you..

  24. R's Mom says:

    @LF: you also support her..bah!

  25. Gayu says:

    Hehehehehe…I can so relate to this, even my 4-yr old is the same. It was really fun…though I know there is no fun for parents:)I guess i should also start Angel tales, what say???Muahhhhhhhhh to R:)Gayu

  26. R's Mom says:

    @Gayu: oh you should do some Angel tales..it will be fun πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

