Mayil Will Not Be Quiet

I first read about this book on GB’s blog…I am a pretty recent follower of her blog and I think started following it sometime around when this book was about to be released..


I loved the title, the cover page, the eyes of Mayil (I have such big eyes that RD calls me a frog eyed!) and the entire concept


I sent across the book for my mom’s neighbour ( a girl turning 9) for her birthday via Tulika (Its available now on Flipkart)…mom read the book and told me that may be her neighbour was still a bit young to read it and we could perhaps gift her the book next year or so…


She got the book back to me and then GB had replied to my comment asking me to buy and read the book as well..

So I read Mayil


I read it in about 2 hours flat…and I loved it..totally loved it

*Minor Spoilers Ahead*


I loved the way Mayil talks about her friends, the interactions with boys in her class yet finding boys gross..her talks about her thatha, the way she is mature enough to understand her thatha missing her thathi, her parents pride in her and of course her relation with her younger brother Tamarai, the way she wants to be a writer..

I like the way, the book is sprinkled with lovely illustrations which make you smile


The way Mayil says her mother talks to her about ‘stuff’, the movie seen and the mature way her mother handles the whole thing

It a book that makes you think that keeping a diary would be so much fun πŸ™‚


I think its a book every Mother should read because in some subconscious way, the book gives you the insights of a child’s mind, especially a growing child who is at the threshold of her teenage…


Both Soumya and Niveditha have come down to the level of a 12/13 year old and give such wonderful anecdotes which make you reminisce your teenage days and the fun you had then


Its a book, I think I can re-read..and actually read again..because its happy, makes you feel warm and makes you want that it just continues forever and you get to learn about Mayil more

Thank you Soumya and Niveditha, I loved the book and am definitely looking forward to next part (if there is any and I hope there is)

 
My only complain (It just covered an year 😦   ) could have been longer….

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mayil Will Not Be Quiet

  1. GB says:

    Thank you so much!! Makes our day totally πŸ™‚

  2. R's Mom says:

    @GB: Arey the pleasure is totally mine πŸ™‚ Loved the book

  3. starry eyed says:

    Oh, I really want to get a hold of this book! Been tryin to get Div to keep a diary…and I secretly want to read it too!

  4. starry eyed says:

    LOL, I secretly want to read Mayil, not Div's diary!!

  5. Bikramjit says:

    Seems to be a lovely boook πŸ™‚ maybe i will buy it and present it to my niece.. Bikram's

  6. R's Mom says:

    @Starry: Baap rey when I read your first comment, I must admit I was kinda shocked…:) oh you should make Divs write a diary…I started when I was about 9, stopped when I was 12 and now re started when I was 28 πŸ™‚ though this one is online…@Bikram: if she is above 12 years, I sure do recommend it

  7. Smita says:

    Sounds like a good boo. Will buy it soon πŸ™‚

  8. Sounds interesting…now am sure I want to read this book!

  9. R's Mom says:

    @Smita: yaa its pretty interesting..though it doesnt fall into the league of high profile books which you usually review..but read it with a fresh mind and you will end up enjoying it :)@Swapna: oh you should buy it πŸ™‚

  10. Got hold of the copy in Landmark. Must say there were only very few copies available. Yet to start reading it.

  11. Bikramjit says:

    she will be 12 in october πŸ™‚ will it doBikram's

  12. Smitha says:

    I so want to get hold of this book! Will pick it up when I am in India in July:)

  13. R's Mom says:

    @Bikram: go for it rey..she will love it..and totally relate to it@Smitha: oh you should…where are you going to land in India? Mumbai???

  14. Pingback: Mostly Madly Mayil – GO BUY IT NOW! | R's Mom

Leave a Reply

