5 Mommyhood Lessons



The Bride, the super blogger who writes on everything from books, to writers to HK, tagged to write about what mommyhood taught me

The tag originated on Kiran’s blog which is an idea between Kiran and Monika
Kiran writes that

It’s been a while since us Mommybloggers came up with something to celebrate, well, mommyhood, so the lovely Monika and I came up with this. A tag that has us list out five lessons of life that Mommyhood has taught us, these could be sweet, bitter, funny, touching, whatever. These could be survival tips or cooking tips, or something as simple as the best thing to get puke smell out of hair.


So, the rules are simple. Put the badge up. Write out five lessons that Mommyhood taught you. And tag five mommybloggers.




So here is what mommyhood taught me πŸ™‚
1) You can cook with one hand…seriously except rotis, you can cook everything with your right hand with a 10 kg weight stuck like glue on your left hip…

2) You can sleep with your eyes open..no seriously..I have mastered that art..and of course like a true Mumbaikar working woman, yyou can sleep standing with 100 people squeezing you like toothpaste out of a tube…you can hang at the edge of the bus and sleep with your eyes open

3) You can apply for the next weight lifting championship or maybe rugby….by carrying 12 kg live load (I repeat. live load which moves, shouts, screams, pulls your earrings and showers slurrpy kisses on you) on your hip and walking miles and miles as you finish shopping dodging yourself and your child from the millions of people shopping on the streets of Borivali at 6 PM in the evening on a weekend..yes I have accomplished that

4) You can eat poochka/panipuri/gol gappa with one hand…and what I mean is holding the plate and eating with the same hand..

5) Your hidden talents of painting (not!), cutting (not!), pasting (not!) come out as you finish your child’s stuff

No but on a serious note


these are 5 lessons I learnt after I became a mom


1) I have learnt to appreciate my mother and father..what they did for me is priceless
2) Its scary that I are responsible for someone and that too for a lifetime..having a child is literally a LIFE changing decision…I just get more careful about crossing roads and jumping trains…because I know there is someone back there waiting for me expecting me

3) I have learnt to prioritize..family over work..child over career or whatever suits me

4) I learnt that I can do many things if I want to..if 10 years ago someone had told my mom, that her child could manage a house, keep it relatively clean, cook two times a day, bring up a child, and go to work, she would have laughed out loud and called that person insane..but after I became a mommy, I am doing all that and my mommy is sure a proud lady πŸ˜‰
5) A child learns everything from you, the good, the bad and the ugly..she imitates you in everything and you need to be really really careful about each word that you utter, each action of yours and each thought of yours because thats what you are teaching your child!
And of course a lot more which cant be covered in five points πŸ™‚

And I tag


Shruti


Little Fingers


Momo’s Ma (who is absconding from the blogging world for like ever..and hope this inspires her to COME  BACK!)



About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 5 Mommyhood Lessons

  1. Smita says:

    Glad u tagged me πŸ™‚ I rarely like tags but I will try to do this!I was laughing hard at the 1st five points πŸ˜€ Golgappa to we can eat in any & every circumstances!!! :DAnd yes Motherhood taught me to appreciate my parents! I keep remembering how much I had pakaoed them!!! I guess somethings are learned the hard way :DLoved the tag1

  2. Wow! what a fantastic tag :)I can totally understand and relate to each and every point you said (even at this stage,when I am yet to experience parenting first hand).Indeed mommy-hood is a life-changing experience πŸ™‚

  3. The Bride says:

    What! The first five were serious too… well, at least the 3) is to me. I used to wonder how mothers did it; when I carried a baby for like half an hour I'd be tired but mothers just seemed to do it for ages. Well, now I know. It comes partly from having no choice and the muscles that develop as a result. And 5) is so important to remember.

  4. R's Mom says:

    @Smita: Great do take up when you get time since you are a new new mom πŸ™‚ yaa we both are pretty crazy about pani puris na…when we meet, now we dont have to decide on the menu at least πŸ˜‰ and parents rock totally@CB: Arey! I forgot to add a disclaimer 'not to be read by CB' dont take the first 5 literally okie *PRays to God that CB forgets that before she delivers*@The Bride: See you are a gal after my own heart! First five are serious issues na..but most people just laugh at me when I tell them that THIS is what motherhood taught me πŸ™‚

  5. dipali says:

    Yes, I remember waiting for the peon to come and hold the baby while I made rotis for the tiffin!And the weightlifting, and the walking to sleep….

  6. Hip Grandma says:

    Both parts were good but the fun part was better. I've forgotten what it is to be a mom and what motherhood taught me. Your post took me back in time.

  7. R's Mom says:

    @Dipali-ji: I need to really master the art of rotis with one hand…work in progress hai abhi :)@HHG: Glad I could take you there…call up your children and tell them how much you miss all this :):)

  8. Smitha says:

    Loved all your points – even the first five πŸ™‚ Motherhood certainly teaches us to become one-handed πŸ™‚ And yes, motherhood certainly has made me appreciate my parents so so so much!

  9. So basically mommyhood has made u a one limbed coolie who is a zombie?? Very promising R's momBut seriously so my thoughts "Its scary that I are responsible for someone and that too for a lifetime..having a child is literally a LIFE changing decision"

  10. R's Mom says:

    @Smitha: heheheh one handed na :)@Nuttie: you got it babes…now you know what you have in store if you ever decide to become a mommy :)@Chandirima: thanks πŸ™‚

  11. Ashwathy says:

    Eye opener of a post, I must say!! Will keep in mind before I plan to have a kid! πŸ™‚

  12. weourlife says:

    R's Mom it was fun to read this post, especially the first 5. I will try to take this tag, my first tag, Thanks πŸ™‚

  13. amusingveracity says:

    hahah R's mom.. that was a fun read. πŸ™‚

  14. Pepper says:

    Lovely lovely. And I really salute you for cooking two meals a day, maintaining a house, handling a job and a kid. Here – * Bows down in respect *

  15. R's Mom says:

    @Bikram: Haas lo bhai…when you get your kids I will have the last laugh ;)@Ashwathy: arey baap rey I should write a disclaimer seriously before writing these mommy posts :)@LF: oh do the tag I am sure looking forward to yours@Amusingveracity: thanks@Pepper: Awww! arey millions of ladies do this in Mumbai and much more na…your mom used to do it as well hai na πŸ™‚

  16. Swaram says:

    Loved both the funny and the serious points πŸ˜€

  17. Anonymous says:

    Holding the plate and eating with the same hand is a talent I need to master πŸ˜€ WOW!JLT

  18. R's Mom says:

    @Swaram: thanks dear@JLT: oh now sonny boy is too old for you to hold him and eat πŸ˜‰

  19. Thanks a million for tagging me – you've got me thinking!

  20. Comfy says:

    I laughed at the first 5 point as I nodded by head along. True all 5 of them.Again true all 5 that come later. Such is motherhood. Life changing and yet we go on with a smile on our faces because the little ones make it worth it most of the times πŸ™‚

  21. R's Mom says:

    @Swapna: I would love to hear your take on this@Comfy: heheheheh πŸ™‚ totally and I guess LF has tagged you so looking forward to your views πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

