Smack!

Yesterday morning I dressed up R in a frock. (Yes its an event worth recording on the blog because it RARELY happens!) and I realised it has become short for her. I mean, when RD bought it (Yes the father shops here for his child) it was upto her knee and notice below how short it has become (See I have discovered the art of uploading pics on the blog, so just indulge me okie ;))
I clicked the pic because I was feeling extremely proud that my child has become tall and will not remain a shorty like her mom

When…

in the evening, I take her to the doc and there is a lady with a 14 month baby who is crying and R shares her kismis with that child (after much explanation from me) and the mom asks me, How old is she?
RM: Proudly remembering the short frock – nearly 3
Lady: oh! she is rather small for a three year old na!

There my bubble burst!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Smack!

  1. Well i think she is fairly tall for a 3 year old …but then i dont know how tall 3 year olds are meant to be πŸ˜›

  2. Smita says:

    Hey you should dress her up in cute clothes more often… I wish I had a girl… i would have never dressed her in those boring unisex t shirts and pants… cute little shorts and the little girls Tshirts are ok..

  3. R's Mom says:

    @Nuttie: thank you thank you…though I really doubt your knowledge on the heights of 3 year olds ;)@Smits: the unisex t shirts and pants are the easiest to put on in the early-morning-2.5 -seconds-left-to-leave-home rush πŸ™‚ This frock took me bloody 5 minutes with its zip + hook + belt bah!

  4. Swaram says:

    People have something to say all the time :PU ought to be proud and ofcourse, we will indulge u πŸ˜‰

  5. R's Mom, You cant do anything except ignore such folks. They not only comment on how someone is small for their age, but even when they think someone is looking big for their age. (personal experience in daughter's case). This constant comparison even continues in school, and if your child is doing well academically, they come and ask you in an accusatory manner as to who "takes the child's abhyaas"…. This parent variety feel they are very smart, and always get upset easily. I can tell you worse stories. But the smartest thing to do is not get too friendly with such types. Every child has its own timetable for development. 30 years ago, my son didnt start walking by himslef till he was 18 months. There was this lady who actually called him lazy to his and my face. he probably was. But one doesnt pass remarks like this on other;s kids. πŸ™‚

  6. Pepper says:

    You can never say at that age. I was always among the taller children in my class. I always sat on either the last or the second last bench. And then I suddenly stopped growing after the 8th grade. I haven't grown an inch since then :(So you never know.. in this case, R might just shoot up without you knowing..

  7. Just ignore what the lady said, as far parenting goes always stick to the rule;"you know your kid best" so if you feel R is doing fine with her age and height she is πŸ™‚

  8. R's Mom says:

    @Swaram: heheheheh:) thanks @Suranga-ji: WHAT someone told you right on the face that your son is lazy…I would not have taken it lightly….I really get upset when people pass such remarks on other people's kids..and oh my mom has heard a lot about my looking *big* looks…at one point of time, I used to look older than my elder brother who is 3 years older to me, and what remarks!@Pepper: hahahahha! I was among the shortest in my class and yet always sat on the last bench..what does that tell about me πŸ˜‰ But praying that R inherits RD's genes on the tallness factor @CB: I totally agree to that rule…I would think R would do better if she ate a bit less πŸ˜‰

  9. Ratzzz says:

    the shortie me shudnt comment. but yeah R looks super sexy (err cute? ) πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

  10. Vidya says:

    Arre yaar, just ignore the lady and the other wise people who keep wanting to share this bit of gyan all the time! Am tired of being told that Varun is tiny/puny while other kids his age are perfect cherubs and fairly tall.. Now I tell them I'm not married to a 'Bachan' gene and that am okay with skinny kids as long as they are active. And btw, your angel looks fairly tall for her age:)

  11. R's Mom says:

    @Ratzz: hehehe! only you could comment on R's cuteness this way ;)@Vidya: muah! you think R is tall for her age..yayayyayayay *does a small jig* LOL on the bachchan gene hehehe πŸ™‚

  12. weourlife says:

    I like to wear short forks for Chucky and R is dead against it. He wants till knee.R definitely looks tall for 3years, I can say this coz Chucky is much shorter compared to R. And Chucky seems to be in average percentil here interms of height..weight she is in the lowest perecntile..I am loving your picture posts..

  13. R's Mom says:

    @LF: heheheh πŸ™‚ short frocks look cute na πŸ™‚ and already R wants till knee lenght..I wam waiting for Chucky to become a teenager and look at his reaction πŸ™‚ Did I mention you are my inspiration for the picture posts πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

