Why Didnt Someone Warn Me?

That I shouldnt have conceived when I did because then my child is born on the last day of the month of May 😦

R, I am really sorry baby, when you are 18 and read this blog, I want you to know that I am extremely sorry

Sorry because you will NEVER get to celebrate your birthday in school. It will be always summer vacation. I know you can always do it later, but then its not as much fun as doing it ON YOUR BIRTHDAY

Sorry because its always going to be hot hot hot during your birthday and you cant really go out and enjoy the whole day. Just pray to God that it becomes a bit cool in the evening for you to go and enjoy with your friends

Sorry because you cant have piping hot food which includes soup served in your party. It has to be cold food which is not too spicy 😦

Sorry because no one will gift you pretty sweaters and jackets and mufflers for your birthday. You are always going to be a summer baby

Sorry because you will always be the middle girl in your class, neither the eldest nor the youngest

Sorry because you will never be able to say an exotic number for your birthday. Its always the last day of the fifth month (Bah!) Nothing like the twenty third day of the eleventh month or something!

People who are planning to have kids, if you really feel strongly about the above mentioned stuff, ensure you dont get a MAY baby πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Why Didnt Someone Warn Me?

  1. Anonymous says:

    I have a May born too.. And had the same feelings as yours.. Till we moved to KL. So thats a not so subtle hint.. Move in to kl..it will always be school days….btw my closest frnd shares R's bdayRS

  2. mine is on 29th of dec 😐 I was supposed to be born on 25th(which is incidentally vijesh's b'day) but I was late. Mine ALWAYS was during half-yearly holiday. but is okay, i think. 31st of May is just as special!

  3. Dont Crib . You may be actually ideally situated for school admissions. Say, compared to september types, it seems. Besides you can have another party for her in December , just like that too.

  4. R's Mom says:

    @RS: move to KL..hmmm..sounds like an interesting thought…@SmartAssBride: arey 29th of december is such an exotic date…just two days before the end of an year..and V's bday toh the whole world celebrates..I remember your post on 'ennakku 25, onnakku 26' heheeh πŸ™‚ and in Mumbai there is no break for X mas so you are born on a pretty nice date :)@Surangaji: Dont Crib reminds me of my mom :):) no the admissions in Mumbai means that she is right in the middle between 2.5 to 3.5 years for nursery.which is why I wrote that she will neither be the eldest nor the youngest..how boring πŸ™‚ and yaa party in December seems to be a pretty good idea πŸ˜‰

  5. chandrima says:

    If you go to Scotland, there summer holidays starts in June. In May it is so nice cold and windy that soup can be an ideal dish for Birthday, but R might choose fresh baked Pizza also. I just ant to tell you that life is a big place, full of exotic surprises so we should never say never!! I pray and wish your may born grows up with lots of health and positivity!

  6. Is 23rd Nov your b'day??BTW did any mother ever had a choice with picking the birth month for their child?? (I didn't say picking the date, cause many people these days ACTUALLY do that)I gotta a solution to this problem, move to Aus cause here the sessions start in January so R will be right in the middle of the year on her birthday :)Before R turns 18 and actually reads this post you got time to make a move ;)Don't stress dear {{{hugs}}}

  7. R's Mom says:

    @CB: nahi rey baba..mine is the twenty first day of September (cool na!) of course you have a choice to pick up the birth month na…concieve karoge toh count 9 months and beyond…I learnt it now πŸ˜‰ Coming to Aus na..good idea…should tell RD about this πŸ™‚ thanks for the hugs πŸ™‚

  8. Smita says:

    lol!!! My B'day falls in Dec and we used to have Winter vacations in school and I COULD NEVER celebrate my B'day in school. Not that I wanted to share chocs with my frenz nah! My issue was I lost the opportunity to wear civil dress in school :'-(

  9. R's Mom says:

    @Chandrima: Scotland huh! Awesome…one blogpost and I am looking at KL, Aus and now Scotland as options..super cool! thanks for the lovely wishes for R πŸ™‚ hugs to you

  10. R's Mom says:

    @Smita: Smita commented on my blog! *gasp* wow..did I mention that I love your writing, I love the fact that you read AND review so many books and you are an awesome writer! okie got back my breath! Sad na these december vacations..in Mumbai its not there so thats good..chocolate sharing is obviously tough..but yaa..not being able to wear civil dress is definitely disappointing!

  11. Vidya says:

    There! Vyas's b'day falls in April, during the holidays!! It could have been me doing this post:)

  12. weourlife says:

    I am May born too, so I can tell you I really didn't care about anything except celebrating birthday in school, college , hostel etc. I really missed that part. But Once I started working it was all fun. R can where nice summer forks instead of covering nice dress with a jacket πŸ™‚

  13. Smita says:

    Hey Rakhee… i will come and celebrate R bday with you… and I think R will agree icecream is much much better than the hot soup you are talking about

  14. Pepper says:

    My birthday is in April. It would always end up being on the last day of our final exams, just before summer vacation began.So I didn't have regular school adn classes to celebrate in. But it never bothered me. Mint's birthday is in the 3rd week of May and he has never celebrated it in school either. And he hasn't grown up with any regrets πŸ˜€ While growing up, Bdays for me have usually been about cake and chips extravaganzas with our building friends in our small Bombay flats. I have only happy memories :DAnyway, if you think these things matter and R would like to celebrate in school, move to the US! Summer hols are in July/Aug. Don't go to Australia or KL okay? πŸ˜›

  15. Hip Grandma says:

    We Tamilians have a custom of keeping wife and husband apart during Saavan to avoid childbirth in April. May be we could extend it by a month to include May??

  16. R's Mom says:

    @Vidya: Vyas my darling..please read this letter when you are 18 and ensure your mom feels guilty enough to buy you that expensive phone ;)@Seena: you are may born too..lovely kab hai bday! yaa summer frocks are a good idea πŸ˜‰ @Smita: come come..was planning to call you guys anyways πŸ™‚ Err..icecream..now I am thinking of re writing this post!@Pepper: Last day of exams is such a fun day to have your bday..fast fast write the paper and then enjoy! Mint..are you sure you had no regrets or just being nice to pepper ;)cake and chips…yummmm! and moving to the US…well if you offer to babysit R for about 2 hours and survive the trauma..I will definitely think about it :)@HHG: hehehehehe πŸ™‚

  17. RS says:

    R's Mom: I completely agree with knowing the people who work at the daycare. I leave my son in the office day care and make sure I interact with them everyday and make unannounced visits whenever I can. We also insisted that no child – not just my 15 month lod – should be dressed in public view – they HAVE to be taken inside an existing partition to be dressed. Small things – but we hope no abuse touches our baby at any time!

  18. R's Mom says:

    RS: Am sure you meant to post this comment on my previous post…Firstly *jealous jealous jealous that your office has a daycare!* it does make sense to make un announced visits..and good thing on the dressing inside the partition..hugs to you πŸ™‚

  19. Timepass says:

    aree myself and Punch both r May born…and till date i regret not getting the bday card from my school whereas my sis used to get it always as she is sept born…

  20. R's Mom says:

    @TP: nahinnnn..how could you do this to little Punch…you were may born, knew the disadvantages and still had Punch in May πŸ˜‰ hey me Sept born as well πŸ™‚

  21. In R's support, it's cool to be born on that day. In fact, I was too! Ok I didn't get presents for my birthday nor got to distribute chocolates in the class but but but we last day of may babies are as sweet as the mangoes you get in summer πŸ˜€ And we are also totally modest πŸ˜›

  22. R's Mom says:

    @Celestialrays: okie..you have made me HAPPY! If R can write like you, well I dont want ANYTHING else..glad she was born on may 31st :):) you may babies are sweet as mangoes and modest…Errr..I am praying and hoping on that πŸ˜‰

  23. hello! This is my first visit here, and you wrote about a topic dear to me πŸ™‚ My b'day is on May 3rd. All my school life even I used to feel sorry for myself that I could never celebrate in school. But I made up for that by inviting all my friends for a get together at my home at the end of every school year. My mom patiently indulged me, cooking for the whole gang of hungry adolescents!! I think summer babies have all the fun. I don't know if your kid comes under the taurus sign, but I think Taureans are the best πŸ˜€ I am sure R will also figure out how to have fun with her b'day. All the cool things we May people can do – we can roam around in the skimpiest of clothes, no need to cover up with sweaters, jackets and shawls and all the best fruits/flowers/desserts are at our disposal. πŸ™‚

  24. R's Mom says:

    @RohiniP :hey belated happy happy birthday πŸ™‚ I loved your logic of skimpy clothes hehehe πŸ™‚ your mom sure is a sweetheart πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

