CSAAM April 2011 – For Parents Who Leave Their Kids at DayCare

In my previous post, I had written about the CSA initiative.

I leave my daughter at a daycare.

There are 40 other kids there ranging from 1 year to 10 years. There are loads of ayahs and four teachers apart from the other helper guys who come and do odd jobs here.

When you leave your child at a daycare, the questions of her safety, physically, emotionally and sexually always run through your mind.

No, I completely trust all the teachers in the daycare, I even trust all the other people there.

But there are few things I definitely do to ensure she is safe. I write this to let other parents of who leave their children in the daycare, that even if leaving your child there is inevitable, these are few pointers which may help in ensuring the safety of our children.

1) Talk to her EVERYDAY about what she did (Now that she is almost three, I definitely get responses)

2) Ask her who all she played with, did she get hurt (did she hurt anyone also)

3) Ask her if she did potty in school and if yes who washed it for her? did it hurt when that person washed it (Yes I do ask such questions to her, however stupid they sound)

4) Talk to her teachers EVERYDAY. I know its stupid that I give a call to the daycare at 1.30 EVERDAY, but I do that, ask them if she is fine, blah blah blah

5) Tell her that she can say hello, good morning and bye to her friends,the helpers etc from a distance and avoid her from kissing or hugging anyone unless its someone I trust and that too in front of me

6) I always ensure that I get to know the new people in the daycare, the helpers, teachers everyone so that I have a level of confidence and trust in them to take care of my child

7) Tell her everyday since she is about 2.5 years, that no one except her mom, dad, grandparents and two didis in the daycare are allowed to touch her su-su place or bum. If anyone else does, she HAS to tell me (How much of this she has understood, I dont know, but I am sure she will get the idea in a while)

8) Ensure that she is never naked anytime. She definitely has a chaddi on and in the nearly 2 years I have kept her at the daycare and gone before time or after time, I have never seen any kid there naked meaning that the teachers are very particular about that

9) I make it a point that its either me or hubby who drop or pick her up (except for about 3 months last year) so that we interact face to face with the teachers. When I go to pick her up, I often stand outside just watching her interact with other kids or teachers. This is my weird way of ensuring whether she is comfortable there or not.

10) I look for any signs of hurt on her body and always ask her how she got it and from where she got it (She is a playful child who gets sratched and stuff over her body and I want to ensure its just hurt while playing and not abuse)

I dont have an alternative to daycare, these are some things I do religiously to ensure she is happy and safe.

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to CSAAM April 2011 – For Parents Who Leave Their Kids at DayCare

  1. Sue says:

    Very good precautions, all of them. I would call the daycare at a different time each day if that is at all feasible. Just so that nobody can know for sure when I will call and be prepared.

  2. Thank you RM for sharing these vital tips :)Though they appear to small and things out of general practice but being cautious and attentive to every sign that our kids show go a long way in ensuring their safety.

  3. weourlife says:

    That's a good checklist..I will follow these soon..

  4. R's Mom says:

    @Sue: thanks for that tip..we are usually allowed to call between 1.30 to 3.30…changing times does make sense@CB: Yes..guess you are right..its the least we can do to ensure our children's safety..hope you are doing well healthwise :)@Seena: Good you agree..anything else you want to add please let me know..will add to this post

  5. Hip Grandma says:

    good tips.They are bound to be very useful.

  6. R's Mom says:

    @HHG: thank you πŸ™‚

  7. starry eyed says:

    So, basically, you're saying stay involved, which is right…because I think kids whose parents are very much 'around' (not just physically present, if you get my drift) are likely to be judged as 'unsafe' as potential targets by potential predators. Good going! πŸ™‚ I esp liked how you observe her with the care-providers…that goes a long way in honing your instincts.One thing, tho', at the risk of sounding preachy. I feel asking leading questions to a child on a regular basis is not ok. A very very occasional question about "did it hurt when your bum was cleaned" or "has anyone ever touched you there" is ok, but not frequently. If you've got the communication lines open with your child on all matters, not just CSA, trust that she will come tell you about it. My fine line between caution and paranoia πŸ™‚

  8. R's Mom says:

    @Starry: no you are not at all preachy..infact I think you are right and thank you for pointing it out…I shall definitely be more careful on this…yes the fine line between caution and paranoia…very true..thanks Starry πŸ™‚

  9. Thanks for an useful post, R's Mom.

  10. R's Mom says:

    @CSA: We should be thanking all of you for the wonderful initiative. THANK YOU!

  11. Mugundhan says:

    My cousin recommended this blog and she was totally right keep up the fantastic work!Kids Day Care

  12. R's Mom says:

    @Mugundhan: Thanks for the compliment and thank your cousin as well πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

