Overheard or Eavesdropped

Whatever…but here is the gist of the conversation I heard in the train the other day…I was standing in the middle of the passageway in the train between Borivali and Andheri in the morning and was in front of these two girls and was just about done with my book reading πŸ˜‰

Two girls…one is doing her chemical engineering first year and the other is doing her medical first year…both of them used to go to the same college in class 11 and 12 (all this is a supposition by me based on their conversation – medical I deduced because she had a book on human anatomy in her hand and she was taking about taking rounds in the hospital, chemical engineering I deduced because she was pleading for a labcoat on the phone and mentioned that she was in the workshop for carpentry in the afternoon (labcoat usually worn only by chemical engg students!)

So here is the conversation which took place in Gujju which I am translating here

Medical Girl (MG): she is such a showoff yaar..I am never going to go out with her again
Chemical Girl (CG) : but she cant just take you for granted na! and you dont have to go out with her..go out with your medical group
MG: No..she irritates me and always has to comment on my dressing and stuff
CG: Why is she very goodlooking
MG: Thobda nu toh kai thekano nathi (Gujju translated crudely as there is nothing on the face..but its more effective in Gujju), but she has a good figure..yes she does have a good figure…and wearing such clothes na!
CG: okie..but that doesnt give her a right to comment on anyone else right
MG: yes she was also telling some other guy in the college that his clothes suck…how can you tell someone that…and she knows that he is from a very poor family and can hardly pay for his college fees…even if she tells someone like me who can afford its fine..but she shouldnt have told him na
CG: what a B****! anyways like I was telling you…you please dont let her spoil your relationship with your group..just ignore her but go out with them
MG: whats the point..she will keep commenting..
CG: yaa let her..ignore..but if you dont go out with them..it means that you have lost against her..and you dont want her to feel that right? and they are your friends also..so why would you want ot miss out on the fun
MG: No I wont go..
CG: See..if you dont go…they will ask you 2 3 times and after that they will also stop asking you..do you want that..do you want to lose out on good friends because of one B****! and trust me..we are in first year..we have to be with them for four years…why do you let that B**** bother you so much
MG: yaa maybe you are right…but you know she is so bad that she tells all Nonveg jokes to people and when I dont laugh..she laughs at me..I dont laugh because I dont understand them..
CG: hmmmmm
MG: and she says I am stupid..how can she claim my innocence to be stupidity…Its innocence only na..its not stupidity
CG: forget that ya..whatever she says..just take it with a pinch of salt..whats the point of brooding over a girl who is not even worth it..ignore her and she will understand eventually

and then Andheri came and I rushed out..

Why did I put up this post..well I didnt have anything else to write..and somehow I wanted to write about how two college girls converse and how a third girl can be a topic for about 25 minutes of the journey and how CG seemed to be a girl with her head screwed in the right place πŸ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Overheard or Eavesdropped

  1. I'll imagine you singing (in the tone of the original Amul milk chocolate Ad)I am too old for a pinaforeToo young for dentures, thereforeI shall listen to younglings vacillateAs I happily eat Amul Chocolate

  2. R's Mom says:

    @bitsofchoc: hahahahahah! oh my God you had me laughing so loud πŸ™‚ You seriously have one of the best sense of humor I know…amazing πŸ™‚ and just for the records…I did sing this song in the Amul Chocolate tune during lunchtime πŸ™‚

  3. Swaram says:

    LOL,I luvved that line in Gujarathi. Lemme learn it now, might help me sometime πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

  4. R's Mom says:

    @Swaram: Oh God Swaram..dont go and tell it to any Gujju..they will track me down all the way to Bombay and whack me πŸ™‚

  5. Tanishka says:

    Lol…. That thobda nathi was awesome πŸ˜€ :DI enjoyed reading the conversation… May be you can make a series of it where you can put all the interesting conversations of local trains… πŸ™‚

  6. Pepper says:

    I miss Mumbai!!! And the trains! And conversations like these! And everything else! Oh well you get it..Lol, I am sure you had fun listening to these folks. I always say a lot of interested people listening to our conversation when a bunch of us traveled to college by train everday

  7. R's Mom says:

    @Tan: yaa thats a great idea..but then after having said that…it means that I need to eavsdrop..err..I mean overhear more ;)@Pepper: You MISS Mumbai trains..darling..you are seriously homesick!!!! its fun listening college girls ya..their conversation is so much more interesting compared to the aunties who are usually either complaining about their kids not studying or their in laws not listening… πŸ˜‰

  8. Trish says:

    Reading this post,reminded me-how much I miss Mumbai!! and how much fun,college days were!!:DAnd the thobda nu like..classic!!

  9. R's Mom says:

    @Trish: heheheeh! come here for a visit n I will take you in the locals πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

