Observations Before You Get Hitched

Before agreeing to marry a guy, see if you can note the following
(In reality, I am no authority, because I met my hubby only ONCE for about 1 hour before agreeing to marry him and he is the only guy I met!! and I am the only girl that he met!, yes rare breeds like us do exist in this world!)
1) Seek a guy who has a working mother, they are always better trained for household work
2) If the guy has been in hostel, its a plus, they can digest anything edible
3) Check if the guy’s mother lets him do small tasks like bringing you water when you visit him, or pick up his plate by himself..this will go a long way in life after marriage
4) Always pay attention to how he addresses his mom…it really helps because you know how you will be treated after marriage…he need not call him mom ‘aap’ but if he has respect in his tone, means you will be respected after marriage!
5) Pay attention to how he addresses people who help us, like a bus conductor, rick driver or waiter at a hotel…respecting them means he is a decent guy!
6) Check if the guy shares the same interests as you, of course you should have varied interests as well, but having some interests in common will be good when you grow old with him 🙂 for eg, I realized that hubby likes to read as well, though his genre of books are different from mine, but we both read, which means that we can spend time without speaking to each other just reading 🙂
7) Ensure that he knows how to cook, at least maggi, because in case you get late from work, or just feel lazy on days, he will do the honours
8) Notice his reactions with kids…he need not drool over them, but as long as he can keep a child engaged for about 2 minutes, he is okie husband material
9) Note his punctuality and respect for other people’s time…I think it goes a long way in a relationship
10) and of course, note how tall, dark, and handsome he is 😉

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Observations Before You Get Hitched

  1. MiM says:

    2) is a v. valid point.both of us didnt go to hostels and we really are suffering

  2. I particularly liked points 1, 3 and 4.

  3. Ashwathy says:

    Lovely post 🙂 My fiance fits into every description. Except for entering the kitchen bit 😦 He can't boil water without burning it 😛 I certainly don't intend to bring up our kids that way!Having said that, he's flexible…he can eat out and order for me also…and I've told him that I can't be cooking everyday since I'm working (we get a maid or order out once in a while or whatever). He's fine with that. Some amount of flexibility goes a long way 🙂

  4. R's Mom says:

    Ashwathy wrote: Lovely post 🙂 My fiance fits into every description. Except for entering the kitchen bit 😦 He can't boil water without burning it 😛 I certainly don't intend to bring up our kids that way!Having said that, he's flexible…he can eat out and order for me also…and I've told him that I can't be cooking everyday since I'm working (we get a maid or order out once in a while or whatever). He's fine with that. Some amount of flexibility goes a long way 🙂 @Ashwathy: Awww..you are lucky gal..and not boiling water..that toh you can teach him na 😉

  5. R's Mom says:

    IHM wrote: I particularly liked points 1, 3 and 4.@IHM: thanks thanks 🙂

  6. Shweta says:

    Nice Pointers… 😉 will keep in mind.. !!

Leave a Reply

