I Passed the Test…

…of being a true Mumbaikar….no one absolutely no one can drive me out of this place for not being a domicile…
the TEST: Losing BOTH the chappals while boarding an ultra crowded train at kandivali station when there was 1324.62 ladies trying to board the first class compartment at 8.30 in the morning
The consequences: Bare footed walking at Andheri station and reaching office by rickshaw with the bare foot

The realization: No shoe shop is open in Andheri east and west at 9 in the morning…trust me NO SHOP…No bloody shop!!!!
The problem: Office is an engineering firm that does NOT encourage bare foot walking
The embrassment: the watchman actually refused to let me go up the lift while the head of one of the departments was standing alongside me…I had to explain THE TEST to him and he asked me to buy a new pair during lunchtime
The happiness: that I have a friend in this office who is ready to lend her pair of NEW shoes (her old ones which she has as backup have pencil heels) to me after seeing my face crumble…though the new shoes are a tight fit!
The best part: I get a pair of new shoes today
The results: Passed out the Mumbaikar test with flying colours…
So anyone wants to take this one now?

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I Passed the Test…

  1. Average Jane says:

    I can't even imagine! You lost your shoes while getting on the train and still had your sense of humor around?!?! You are as mumbai as they come. πŸ™‚

  2. R's Mom says:

    @AJ: Nah..I was in tears while it was happening and then when I told people in office, they all were laughing at me, and I found it funny too, but afterwards!!! since the morning I have been teased and teased adn teased to no end…by everyone around me…so you can well imagine how funny people think this is…thanks for the compliment though πŸ˜‰

  3. Jay says:

    I drove to work once without wearing shoes. And I had no spare shoes in the car. Would that make you feel better? πŸ™‚

  4. Anonymous says:

    the true mumbaikar test – ur friend who gave up the shoes too!Dee

  5. R's Mom says:

    @Jay: Thank you that DEFINITELY made me feel better..hehehe :)@Dee: You did!!! when and where?

  6. crazy mumbai life!!! Hugssssssss. can't imagine. i would have gone back home.

  7. R's Mom says:

    @Shruti: hahahah! nahi rey…no leaves left to indulge!

  8. Shruti says:

    no WFH either????

  9. R's Mom says:

    @Shruti: Nah…no such stuff in this new office :(:(

Leave a Reply

