Guilty Mom!!!!

I am upset with myself..how could I do this to her L Yesterday (This post was intended to be posted Last Wednesday Feb 17th) R was in the worst of her moods and I really couldn’t help but scream at her…It took me all my patience not to whack her!
She just wouldn’t have a bath…and kept crying and crying and crying I was getting late for office and she was screaming her head off…I tried lovingly calling her, cajoling her, bribing her (eeps!!), and then finally ended up shouting and screaming at her..the more I screamed, the more she cried…and louder was our battle…I felt so horrid after the whole thing..she wouldn’t just get into the bathroom..screaming shouting squirming like an eel…
After all that, I forced her to have a bath and then finally dressed her up…and then put on my dress..and after that she was still screaming..so I picked her up and then..she got bugged and peed all over me…we were really really late by then..and I screamed more and she screamed more…I changed her dress and my dress..and then still scolding I took her out of the house..and then she refused to go out..refused to let me lock the door..or do anything..she kept sitting down on the flooring and bawled her lungs off!
I finally picked her up and she promptly put her thumb into her mouth and stopped screaming….we went the whole way like that till the daycare..and imagine at the age of 28 I have no maturity…to even speak to her or show her my love…I am feeling like such a dreadful mother..anyways once at the daycare…she looked at me and smiled through her thumb and said ‘amma’ and that’s it…after that I have felt so horrid about the whole incident ….
These instances really make me feel if I am doing the right thing by leaving her and working…is she obstinate because I leave her and work the whole day..does she feel that she can throw tantrums and get away with it because her mom is guilty about leaving her the whole day…life is so confusing….!!!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Guilty Mom!!!!

  1. Average Jane says:

    Please don't second guess yourself. Kids can be stubborn and there are good days and bad days. This too shall pass.

  2. R's Mom says:

    @AJ: Thanks ya 🙂

  3. Don't feel so guilty, well, maybe you can feel guilty for the screaming but not for working. Screaming NEVER works. And these kids ARE going to throw tantrums as they are at this age, its just a phase, a long long phase, but we just have to deal with it. Maybe you can think of ways to deal with her better without getting upset yourself.All the Best! 🙂

  4. R's Mom says:

    @Priyanka: I hope this is a phase ya..and you are right..screaming leads to no where….absolutely no where 🙂

  5. apu says:

    oooh, don't feel so guilty. If this makes you feel any better – my mum was a housewife when I was young and I believe I used to throw the biggest tantrums ever!

  6. Usha says:

    Days like this are the worst times of bringing up a baby. But dont flog yourself. It happens to all of us. Children have a way of bringing out the worst in you and then smiling angelically as if nothing happened and you are the one who has to live with the guilt. You are allowed to lose your temper once in a way.

  7. R's Mom says:

    @Aps: You are just being too nice na…I cant imagine you throwing tantrums..you are way too good mannered hehehe :)@Usha: Yaa thats the most bugging…she will bug the head off me and then smile as if its her birth right..and I end up feeling guilty!!!

Leave a Reply

