Some Visits…

…make you feel so warm…Yesterday..visited my aunt and uncle at Mankhurd…..They are the sweetest people to be with..when you want to chillax..not get involved in anything and just have fun..it was so much fun..
We met R’s doc in the morning at Chembur..and she assured us that there is nothing to worry about her cough..though R coughs like an old lady..all the time…but nothing to worry..she changed the medicines and gave…
Then we went to aunt’s house from there..to have lunch…R was initially very unsocial..clinging onto me..but eventually opened out to my cousin bro and his cousin who had come over….Aunt’s mom was also there..and it was total fun..it was a south indian food feast laid out for my hubby…sambhar, aloo curry, tondli ( i dont know what its called in tamil…its called tondli in gujju), palak dal south indian style, payasam, sweet..and what not….aunt was so sweet that she packed for us to take home so that i didnt have to cook in the night…
My aunt is one of the those ladies..you look upto in life..born and brought up in Kerala..she came to mumbai at the age of about 20 after doing her graduation in physics….to join BARC…Her parents were really forward to send a girl all alone to Mumbai that too..to work..anyways she joined in BARC..staying at hostels in Dadar living by herself and managing to commute from there to Mankhurd…she got married to my uncle and then they came to stay at Mankhurd itself..after that..ever since I know her..and my mom tells me..she is one of the most hardworking people she has ever met..
getting up at 3 in the morning to cook food for her children and hubby before going to siddhivinayak mandir every tuesday…(she would get up, cook, go all the way to dadar to the temple and then come back to attend office)
getting up early to make sweets and savories for my cousins when they were kids…..everything she has done…
even today she manages to cook a full meal before she leaves for work…its amazing to see how much energy she has
When I was going to start leaving R at the daycare and was feeling very down about it..she became my inspiration..she has left both her kids at the daycare..infact my younger cousin bro from the age of 7 months..and both my cousins have turned out to be the sweetest people I know…she asked me to spend quality time with R saying that kids whose parents are always at home need not turn out to be better than kids whose parents leave them at daycare..what is important is spending quality time with your kids and letting them know that you are always there for them..
She is a great lady..my aunt..am so always proud of her 🙂

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Some Visits…

  1. How wonderful! 🙂 Hope R recovers from her cough soon. Lil p is sick too!

  2. R's Mom says:

    @MM: Oh God…I hope Lil P is better…this cold and cough bug seems to have hit everyone 😦

  3. Very sweet, I felt like meeting your aunt after reading this post, hats off to their energy and good spirit, touchwood.

  4. Mama - Mia says:

    thats real sweet of your aunt. such women are always an inspiration!

  5. R's Mom says:

    @Swapna: Yaa she is a great lady @Mama-Mia: She is really my inspiration in life…to stay in Mumbai, work, leave my baby in day care..everything…:):)

Leave a Reply

