Why I love Calcutta?

– Its the place of my birth
-My mom is from there
-My mamas-mamis and nani stay there
-My hubby is from there
-My in-laws stay there
-My friends A & Pwhom I can meet up with
-Its the most amazing place for street food and street shopping
-You get the best poochkas there
-The jhalmoori is to die for and so are the egg rolls
-The momos are amazing and the loochi aloo dum is great
-The yummy egg chow and the lovely torka
-The amazingly low priced stuff you can buy there..be it the house wearing pants or the low cost t shirts..the low priced earrings and the lovely bags you get there
-The slow moving trams, the lovely buildings, the fast fast metro!!!
I have been going there almost every 2 years since my childhood and my perception of the city hasnt changed a bit..though after my marriage..my hubby introduced me to the new facets of Calcutta..but ylove for the city never ceases…
Wow I could write a poetry on Calcutta…..I am going there December end yipeeeeeee!!!!!
Edited to Add: Oh how could I forget the wonderful college street my dad used to take me during almost every visit of ours…hubby has promised to continue the tradition this year as well yipeeeeee again !!1

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Why I love Calcutta?

  1. Monika,Ansh says:

    Yipeee!!!I agree with every word. Calcutta is indeed a wonderful city & even after staying here for 12 years, I am yet the explore so much.

  2. R's Mom says:

    @Monika: Isnt it???? :):)

  3. AverageJane says:

    Nice. Haven't been North of Bombay myself and wish to rectify that.

  4. You're coming here?!?! WOW!! You must get in touch! Promise?

  5. R's Mom says:

    @M4: Yaa yaa we will meet up..I am meeting Monika,Ansh as well..can you give me your email id…Will write to you 🙂

  6. Hey! I couldn't find your mail id here to mail you. Can you pass it on to me please…I'll mail you and we can make plans with Mon! Oooh! This is going to be so much fun 🙂

  7. Awesome, I've always been fascinated by Calcutta. Your post is fantastic.

  8. R's Mom says:

    @Swapna: Thanks…make a trip there in end of december..we can meet up 🙂

Leave a Reply

