Bus Talk and Grease

Conversation in the bus today morning between R, me and the lady next to me..
R: aagguuuuugguuuu heheheh 🙂 (Smiling with her thumb in her mouth at the lady next to us)
Me: R…dont go and fall on that aunty..you will hurt her 🙂 (Looking sheepishly at the lady)
Lady: You take your child to your work everyday…?
Me: No no..I drop her at the daycare
Lady: I see you in the bus most days with her…You are really struggling na?
Me: Smiling
Lady: When do you pick her up? and where do you work??
Me: At about 6.30 to 7….Work at Andheri
Lady: oh my God..you leave your kid for almost 10 to 12 hours at the daycare…
Me: Smile faltering a bit
Lady: How can you..dont you feel guilty?
Me: Not knowing what to answer so just smile…
Lady to R: Baba you are a good boy!
R: (Sucking her thumb): Papapapappappa
Me: Eh..she is a girl…
Lady: Oh is she…looks like a boy with her haircut…
Me: Yaa…
Lady: I think you should think about leave a baby for sucha long time in the daycare..how much do they charge
Me: (A bit uncomfortable now) Rs. X
Lady: Oh..thats very expensive..anyways you think about it..you wil feel guilty otherwise later
Me: (Smiling brightly) Okie and thats my stop (Rush to get off the bus with R in tow waving ta-ta to everyone in the bus)
So…do I feel guilty?? I really dont know…..
———
R’s deed of the day: She goes and touches the silencer of a bike while her poor mom is running around for a rick…Her ma nearly faints thinking she has hurt herself…..but thankfully R just rubs the grease on her Tshirt and waves to Ma…(By the way..she had jerked herself free from me when I was searching for a rick) Ma tries to wash her hands and she rubs it on ma’s dress as well!!! and then smiles at ma and shows her hands to ma as if to say ‘see Ma..my hands are clean again!!!!’

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Bus Talk and Grease

  1. Monika,Ansh says:

    the woman in the bus sucked!

  2. R's Mom says:

    @Monika, Ansh: You too think so..thanks 🙂 Even if I wasnt guilty earlier, now I am really thinking whether its worth traveling and working and leaving R at daycare for 12 hours…really confused!

  3. AverageJane says:

    I get that reaction too. I smile and try to forget about it as I'm comfortable with my decision to work.

  4. Anonymous says:

    If you think you will be happier staying home with R then do so. But if you are frustrated that you have to stay at home and miss work, don't do it. R just needs a happy mom, the rest usually fall in place.

  5. R's Mom says:

    @AJ: Thanks for the support :)@Anon: I think you are the same person who has been commenting earlier on as Anon…Can you give your name??? Yaa I agree R needs a happy mom..but Mom is happy with her and happy working as well :)So the confusion does persist 🙂

  6. apu says:

    Wow. Crazy woman. What gave her the right to sit in judgement? And don't you give up your job if it makes you happy. Enough moms who do that and feel resentful, and believe me, kids know.

  7. Usha says:

    We all try to do our best for our kids in our respective situations but there will always be someone who would try and make you guilty. There is no single rule for being a good mother to your child – make your own rules.From what you have written it seems that you have a happy and friendly child. So you must be doing what is right for her.All the best to both of you.

  8. R's Mom says:

    @Apu: Yaa you are right I know of a couple of my friends whose moms blamed them (well not directly!) for leaving the jobs and then my friends had ended up feeling guilty…so as long as I can…I am going to continue!@Usha: Thanks for dropping by…yes my mom tells me the same thing…always you know your child the best…and if you think your child is okie..then go ahead and work 🙂 So as of now…I am going to continue 🙂

  9. Anonymous says:

    Yeah, the Anon above was me.:-)Dee

  10. R's Mom says:

    @Dee: Oh okie…hehehehehe:)

  11. starry eyed says:

    Oh, puhleez…I hate these free dispensers of advice. Getting good at guessing when it's coming up and cutting off the stranger with a freeeeeezing stare! Isn't it sick when you smile with nothing but friendliness in mind, and get crap in return?!The choices you make for your child are your business…you go girl!

  12. R's Mom says:

    @Starry Eyed: Thanks for the support…after all the comments you guys all gave me..it just made me feel that I think I have made the right choice for my baby and I dont feel guilty any more..though there are times when I really feel bad about leaving her..but seeing her enjoying at the daycare..I think I am doing the right thing!

  13. SS says:

    What a stupid woman! Just do what suits you and your child the best. I have so many working moms in my office (and I am one of them). All of them have taken up different options. Parents @ home, nanny @ home (that's me), half day care, full day care, even sending off the kid to grandparents place. Its really your choice and you know the best.

  14. R's Mom says:

    @SS: Good to know another working mom 🙂 Makes me feel better that I am not the only one doing this 🙂

  15. Seena says:

    I am traveling to India and I am sure everyone is going to ask me..Here no one asked me this ever…But I am happy with my decision to work and as an individual she is better than most of kids of her age(she is 14 months) She plays her own and feed herself..And she is very happy in the day care..I am wondering why others are more worried abt our children than we do…You are doing great, I am amazed how well u manage ur daughter , work, cooking etc..You doing…you rock..

  16. R's Mom says:

    @Seena: thanks a ton..its great to know that she is so independent :):)

Leave a Reply

