Making Fun of Reading to Babies????

Why do people laugh when I buy books for R…I know she is only 1.4 years and there is absolutely no way that she can understand what the whole thing ‘reading ‘is about..but then its okie na…Whats wrong in buying books for kiddos…infact I feel I started late at 9 months..After reading all the mommy blogs I follow, I think I should have started reading to her at 3 months…I dont find anything wrong in reading to my child..infact the 15 minutes in the night we read her ‘Mimi’ book is perhaps the best bonding time we have together..just mother and daughter..yaa I agree that even hubby knows the entire book by heart now and if you wake him up at 2 in the night and start…’ Each night…’ he can finish the entire book for you…but its okie na…R doesnt sleep without me reading the book for her..she is not always paying attention..but she is sucking her thumb…she is hitting the book with her leg and what not…but then when I finish and say the last words ‘…Sweet dreams all night’ she points at the picture and says ‘aaaa’ (her form of good night???) I have a couple of other books for her as well..and I feel in a whole tub of toys she has..she loves her books the best..she brings them to us and makes us read it for her…though she doesnt let us finish even one line before turning the pages..but thats okie..at least something that keeps her quiet and occupied…so I guess nothing wrong in reading to a baby even if she doesnt understand anything!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Making Fun of Reading to Babies????

  1. Anonymous says:

    Please keep at it, u can laugh at them when baby R surprises everybody with her vocab and her ability to string perfect sentences together!:-)Dee

  2. AverageJane says:

    Reading at any age is good. No two ways about that. πŸ™‚

  3. R's Mom says:

    @Dee: Thanks for the encouragement..the only drawback as of now is that R hardly says anything except Amma and Appa..so hopefully all my reading will make her speak properly later on…@AverageJane: Thanks thanks Am going to continue doing it anyways πŸ˜‰

  4. apu says:

    Hey – keep reading – I think it's one of the nicest gifts you can give your kids…

  5. R's Mom says:

    @apu: Yes I do plan to do that..:)

  6. Anonymous says:

    The talking is like a switch going on in their brains. Both my kids used to say words(the usual, mamma, daddy, milk etc), then one day they suddenly they just started speaking in perfect sentences. Still can't figure it out. I still remember my son around 2 years old asking me "Do you think we should go outside? It seems cold.". My mouth fell open :-). I tell you it is the reading and you speaking to them. So keep at it :-)Dee

  7. They understand more than we think they do, and if we don't read to them then how will they ever understand, right?Ash has around 40 books and I still feel sometimes that they aren't enough, she is always craving for more, even after getting books regularly from the local library. She has her toys too, but books are what she loves best!You keep it up!

  8. R's Mom says:

    @memyhubbynbaby: Yaa guess you guys are all right..she definitely understands more than what we think..:) Look how Ash reacted to your "TWO" heheh πŸ™‚

  9. Anonymous says:

    I think we under-estimate kids… I went the other day to my friend's house and the kid who was in II standard got out his monopoly and told me to play with him… Guess my surprise when he doled out the exact amount needed to start – knows the rules perfectly and is smart to know that we need to get Mayfair!Man, I didnt figure all this out till my board exams!

  10. R's Mom says:

    @anon: Wow thats smart πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

