Cooks, Whites, Recipe and Art Work

I have loads to write, but words dont seem to flow any longer…time to take a break eh?

I am dying to tell this on the blog though RD says I am behaving like a kid..but but…we spoke to a cook yesterday..a Gujarati lady who is ready to come in the evening and cook for us….and she says she will make enough rotis to last us the next day, ample bhaji, salad and dal…I feel I am in heaven or something..imagine not having to go home and cook..the very thought makes me so happy…

She said she will adjust the timings AS PER OUR WISH!! and cook…imagine someone else cooking…I seriously feel I am in seventh heaven…and on top of that a Gujju cook…God couldnt have been kinder eh? I am already imagining all the things I can ask her to do, Gujju dal, sev tameta nu shaak, dal dhokli, handvo, undhiyu, patra…hai bhagwan, someone pinch me..

and then I realised well, she has agreed to come..lets hope she lands up after the 15th and she gives me my freedom…yipeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!

While I am still wondering WHY I need a cook, both RD and my Amma of the opinion, there is nothing wrong in having one who is good…why do you have to be guilty asked my Amma…if you can afford and you are getting extra time in your hand, you dont need to be guilty at all…RD believes it will give ‘us’ some time together…otherwise our house works like clockwork he says :)

Ah! Well, that may put like a stop on the Julie/Julia project but I have weekends to experiment eh….

I am so happy today that I am dancing in joy!!

========

R and I looked like band masters today…white salwars and white kurtas..hehehee :) everyone in the BEST bus stop asked us to sing ‘jana gana mana’ before the bus came ;)

Only hoping in R’s case as well as mine, the white remains white by the end of the day *Cross fingers*

==========

Vegetable Dal Recipe

Julia/Julie Project – Recipe #12

yes yes, lazy people like me manage that as well!

So cut all the veggies you have around you…we did onions, tomatoes, barobotti, beans, peas, carrot, cabbage into not very big pieces…then on one gas, keep the dal for cooking in the pressure cooker (I used tuvar dal, but you can use either tuvar or moong dal) while on the other stove, add some oil/ghee (1 spoon) add jeera, hing, turmeric, add the veggies, add little water and add some ginger,curry leaves, red chilly powder, dhaniya jeera powder and let the veggies cook.

After they cook a bit, add the pressure cooked dal, add some dhaniya pata, salt, and let it cook for a while again in sim gas. switch off the gas and add a dash of lime.

and there, eat it with hot rice and a spoon of ghee…

you have the goodness of vegetables and the protiens of the dal and look at the energy saved. No two kadais to wash, you dont have to waste energy to mix the dal and the veggies and the rice…etc etc ;)

=====

Inspired by A, Sandhya’s super talented daughter, this is what I did on Sunday and Monday evening…

Sandhya, I know its not upto A’s standards, but for a total non-artistic like me, I think its a good first attempt

Errr…before you click on A’s link, see my attempt first, because once you see hers you will laugh at mine..and she is almost 20 years younger to me ;)

RD says ‘Oh, you were good eh’ Always the note of surprise eh?

 

I hope the text is clear…

Happy Independence Day in advance!

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Cooks, Whites, Recipe and Art Work

  1. The Bride says:

    What do you mean why do you need a cook? So that you can sit on the couch canoodling with RD or on the floor colouring with R or with a book all on your very onesome, that’s why. And I’m betting the Julie/Julia project will only get better because you will be cooking purely for enjoyment. Just because you have a cook doesn’t mean that you won’t cook, only that you don’t need to cook if you don’t feel like it. What’s not to like?

  2. I very happy that u got a cook.. much to ur liking… so ek big hug.. perhaps.. u don’t hv to feel guilty abt hiring one.. u definitely needed one.. as ur household works like a programmed device..
    Now u will share sm time with ur hubby, R and hv sm time to pamper urself :)

    • R's Mom says:

      yep…thanks :)

      Lets hope the Julie/Julia project keeps going on..the very thought of a cook is making me so happy that I dont want to cook at all :)

  3. Ohh i forgot to wish u, happy independence day!! Indeed freedom frm cooking ;) but don’t want ur julie/julia project to on hold, u must continue it with more vigour n enthusiasm… and also post with pics.. hey too much of expectations ;)

  4. My Era says:

    Congratulations on finding a good cook who can cook all you love eating :D

    Your post reminded me to make patra…love them :D

    I am with your mom in being OK with having a cook to help you get some free time to do things you enjoy, spend more time with R and enjoy variety of foods after a hectic day. You definitely need some rest after the toll all the fatigue has been having on your health.

    I like the t-shirt :D perfect for a Harry Potter fan ;)

  5. WOW. A Gujarati cook!! That is like a piece of heaven. :) You are so so so lucky, RM! I am so J! And I am happy for you, too. Judging by your blog, I know you lead quite a stressful life… So it is great if you have a cook to make your life a bit easier. No need to feel guilty for that! And I totally understand your excitement.. You aren’t being childish. I would have reacted the same way, if I were in your shoes. :)

    That T-shirt looks lovely!

    BTW I made Gujarati dal yesterday, too. The OH loves it with rice, and I do too. It’s quite easy to make as well. I just skip the sugar or gud, which Gujjus usually add.

  6. Smita T says:

    About time you had a cook… I have been behind you for ages…. good… it will give immense relief…

  7. garima says:

    Hip hip hurray..R’s mom got her independence from cooking :-)
    I get my maid cut veggies for me and knead the dough,a big task taken off my head,plus saves a lot of time.

    3 cheers to healthy eating,you are really doing great :-)

    Happy 66th independence day :-)

  8. Scribby says:

    @Cook: YAY. you know I’ve been told by so many people around that I must think of hirring a cook for at least one time. But somehow the idea of asking someone else, a total stranger, doesn’t click…any way as of now, till I’m not convinced to hire a help, what I do is to cook the entire days meals in the morning only so that when I come home in the evening I have to cook nothing except rotis :)

    I’m glad you got a great cook, at least the commitment that she is making sounds great no? :) Good luck on that and now you can enjoy the time with R…in cities like Mumbai I think it is a great idea to hire help and save family time!

    @T-paintng: It turned so cute re :) what? it of course doesn’t look like the first timer and all…IT IS LOVELY period ! and I checked the link you provided..A’s done a great job indeed :) so many artistic people we have around :)

    @Recipe: sounds so easy…you know the best part of your project is easy and doable recipes which doesn’t take much….love you for this :)

    • R's Mom says:

      Aiyo, now that you are talking about stranger..hai bhagwan…I am confused..but anyways, I am hoping she comes :) It definitely will give me some time

      You liked the T Shirt..yayayay! because you are one of my idols in art and craft..if you say its good, it must be good eh?

      Thanks thanks…try the dal, Chirpy should like it as well

      • Scribby says:

        don’t pay heed to my blabber RM…by stranger I meant someone you don’t know starts cooking in your kitchen…but of course you’ll know her in sometime and the feeling,if there is, will vanish…I’m a maniac..don’t think about what I said ;)

        • R's Mom says:

          arey you dont feel guilty…I have had these thoughts all the time…I am like just to make one roti bhaji why am I pretending I need a cook and all that!!!

  9. Sreetama says:

    Hey congrats on the cook! Happy eating & indulging! :-) The t shirt is cute! :-)

  10. Actually RM, I had often wondered why you don’t hire a cook. I thought you probably couldn’t find someone with suitable timings. I am really, really happy that you have found one and a Gujarati one at that. Hugs!! Hope everything works out well. And the Bride is right–the Julie/Julia project will only get better because you will be cooking only when you feel like it :-)

    And cute T-shirt, that!!

    • R's Mom says:

      I had issues with timings..you are right…

      I hope this lady comes :):) I am definitely counting my chickens before they hatch..but hey..I am estatic :)

      You liked the T..thank you thank you

  11. Amit says:

    Cook is so great. I will also take that path soon. :)
    I have never read a HP book because I love the movies. And I think I will fall out of love with them if I read the books because books are always better. :(
    I’ll give you an egg recipe:
    Take potatoes and fry them till golden brown. Put some salt and pepper in them. keep them seperate.
    Take mushrooms and fry them seperately in butter till all the water has evaporated. Add some salt and pepper here too.
    Take some peas and microwave them so that they become soft.
    Mix all the potatoes, mushrooms and peas together. Check for salt.
    Now take a microwavable plate and fill the base with the mixture. Make two holes and break two eggs and fill those holes with the yolk. Tilt the plate here and there to spread the egg white over the mix. You can use spoon too but try not to break the yellow.
    Put in the microwave and depending on how you want your eggs, turn it on for 2/3 minutes.
    Dish ready. Put some mint on top.

    • R's Mom says:

      Good boy Amit…I was going to ask you about the recipe today :)

      Errr…this shall be made in the house, when we all are calorie deprived…I am sure you and Geet dont weigh more than 50 kgs EACH! to even attempt multiple butter coated egg food..gah!

      but I am passing on this recipe to my Appa who thinks eggs fall in the list of one of the best things invented by God (Well leading the list is his wife gah to that as well!)

      on the HP thing – Read the books Amit, they are WAY more rich than the movies (errr..I havent watched the movies at all :) ) but I dont think they can do justice to the books in a 2 hour movie..the books are AMAZING!

      • Amit says:

        Its only the mushrooms which you have to make in butter. :P
        And it is ok to eat such food once in a while. :) And it is not very heavy on stomach.
        Geet and I am very calorie conscious but we give in to temptations at times.
        Yes, yes, I know I have to read the books. It is one of my long term goals.

        • R's Mom says:

          okie okie..agreed..Gah to both of you for being calorie conscious..I am jealous :)

          Please do read…also if you check Sandhya’s blog she is doing a series on the HP books for this week..so check that out…you will love it :)

  12. Mathangi Vijay says:

    Its perfectly alrite to get a Cook and I am Happy that you have got one. See any extra time we can spend with our family away from the usual job is great right!! What more can you expect than hot roti and sabzi after a tiring day at work (include the travel in your case)
    The painting is damn cute.. All the favorite words of HP in a T-Shirt I would simply love to wear it everyday :)

  13. Ashwathy says:

    Why are you even asking, why get a cook? I am saying why not? If you can afford it, then why not?? It will save you so much time and hassles. I feel my life is blessed because i have reliable part-time help to fall back on. Else with my work timings we’d have to eat out on all working days.
    Have fun NOT cooking :)

    • R's Mom says:

      Thanks Ashwathy :) made me feel better..like I told Scribby, I am in the dilemma to have or not to have..but reading your comment, I guess you are right!

  14. Swaram says:

    Ohhh RM U make me wanna eat Patra now .. I so luv it. And Su luvvvvs sev tameta nu shaak :) So u know what we will take when we come over lolz ;)

    And I luv the tee … sacchi mein :D

  15. I wake up at 5.15 everyday complaining about the early hour.And you were an inspiration who woke up almost an hour earlier to do the day’s cooking.
    So glad that you finally have a cook.Always wondered why you didn’t keep one earlier.

    • R's Mom says:

      arey 5.15 is early enough!!! please, I am no inspiration rey :) koi choice nahi hai thats why I do it :)

      Timings ka issue tha..now I guess it will work out…*fingers crossed*

  16. techie2mom says:

    Hey Congratulations and celebrations, you found cook to cook your meals!!!!
    I am sure your Julie/Julia project will work and go on higher levels as you will have more time on hand to think of, plan and cook new exciting dishes :)
    That T-shirt looks great!!! are taking requests?!?! then i want one ;)

    • R's Mom says:

      oye, I am not a cook at all rey..for thinking exciting new recipes..but I plan to keep the project on..lets see :)

      Arey, tell me your size, I will send across one…you are in Gurgaon na?

  17. meenamenon says:

    Only one q – wht happens to the julia project!!!

  18. lai why would you feel guilty, If i can afford a cook here I WILL DO IT ASAP.. I am sure there is a lot of things you can do if you get someone to cook for you.

    and its good now when i come after i eat all that food, you will have time to take me site seeing tooo he he hehe .. there you go one advantage .. ok ok now dont cancel the cook .. I am just pulling ur leg :)

  19. Vidya says:

    Just close your eyes and hire a cook! Its bliss I tell you! Trust me! I have engaged one from last April and life has been more peaceful:)

    • R's Mom says:

      and you are back :)

      thanks Vidya..in some ways I look up to you..you are like one of my idols..and the yes from you seems to make me feel better (Err..that sounds really childish but still!)

  20. deepM says:

    Hello RM,

    Congratulation!! u got a cook. We are looking for one since long time.

    I have tried all dishes you have mentioned here. Only undhiyu was the disastrous dish i have ever cooked in my life. :(

    btw i didn’t tell you that i am maharashtrian girl married to Gujju guy. :)
    I would love to see undhiyu recipe here on your blog.

    T-shirt is cool.. sachii mein!!

    • R's Mom says:

      married to a Gujju guy..LOL….Undhiyu is not very tough rey…lemme do one thing, I will put up a easy short cut recipe theek hai…and let you know :)

      Err…thanks for the t shirt cool :)I painted another one heheheeh :) will put it up and show off :)

  21. Tanishka says:

    Congratulations on finiding a good gujju cook…. :)
    The t-shirt looks cute… :)
    Lol at R and RM looking like bandmasters in white :D I’ am so sure R would be lookin g adorable in white salwar kammez… :)
    Happy Independence Day….

  22. sandhya says:

    Lovely, RM! A is thrilled that you have taken inspiration from her and done the T-shirt. It looks so professional. Have you seen those Tantra or Urban Yoga T-shirts? Looks like one of those, and I would have thought it was one of those if I didn’t know you had done it. :)

    And that quote is so apt!:)

    • R's Mom says:

      yayayyayayya! *Does a little jig* A liked it too…yipeeeeeeeeeeee!!!

      you think it was like Tantra ka t shirt..wah wah!! so now that you guys praised it so much, I painted another one yesterday :) Will put up the pic tomorrow…the official photographer and I didnt have time to interact yesterday ;)

  23. pixie says:

    oh wow! A cook! :)
    Awesome!! :D
    Keep dancing for joy!! The t-shirt is fab as well!
    Happy Independence Day RM! :D

  24. Shweta says:

    Wow! The artwork is so cute! Awesome:)

    And RM, did you try out any new dish on Aug 15th for your Julie-Julia project? Asking because it was Julia Child’s 100th Birthday that day:)

    Hope you enjoy the delicacies your cook has to present:) Bon appetite!

    • R's Mom says:

      thanks rey..glad you liked it

      oh I tried Methi Dal from Bongmom’s blog..I will put up the recipe tomorrow :)

      Errr..cook is yet to come :(

      Thanks for the trivia on Julia :)

  25. Smita says:

    The T Shirt looks good re & did the cook come??

  26. DI says:

    I like KJo. He is very very witty, and like you said he can really take jones on himself well. Intelligent guy. I used to like his comments on Koffee with Karan too.
    Boman Irani also, I like him a LOT. Very cute, and as always witty! Witty is the coolest thing to be!
    Wow, and you are churning out these HP tees huh? :D

Leave a Reply

