Passport To A Healthy Pregnancy – Womensweb Contest

And so I am always the only one who has consistently entered EVERY WW contest and never won any, I, being the eternal optimist, am trying again ๐Ÿ™‚

Gah! whom am I kidding!I just love the contests they come up with and cant help but participate…so to all those mommy bloggers go ahead and visit this page

This is my entry ๐Ÿ™‚

 

I discovered I was pregnant when RD was in Australia….yaa I know everyone laughs about the timing..and oh do you know (I didnt know till last to last week) that most Tambram women go back toย  their parents house in the month of August/September (its some month in the Tamil calender, I am not too sure about!) so that they dont have babies in May…apparantly its too hot to deliver…ask me people R is May born..may 31st..

obviously RD and I werent really ‘aware’ of such rules..am sure RD still doesnt know ๐Ÿ˜‰

anyways so I didnt tell anyone but waited for RD to come back and did the home pregnancy test again..and voila we got pregnant ๐Ÿ™‚

We went to a doctor (an extremely sweet old man) who was known to RD’s cousin and he looked at both of us..

RD: Err..hello doctor we have been referred to you by S Anna
Doc: hello
RD then looks at RM very expectantly as if you carry on the conversation
RM: er…I think I am pregnant
Doc: okie…and
RM: WElll so since I ‘think’ I am pregnant I want to confirm it
Doc: how old are you?
RM: 26
Doc: and you?
RD: 29
Doc: So do you want the child?
RM: WHAT?
RD: WHAT?

Doc: Do you want the child or do you think its too early
RM: Errr…
RD: of courseย  we want the child wondering what made RM even start errrrring!

anyways so my pregnancy got confirmed by the doc as well..and we decided to ‘have’ the baby ๐Ÿ™‚

Four things the doctor told me at the start of the pregnancy which made a LOT of sense to me

1) Maintain your usual routine…if you are working, go ahead and do whatever you have been doing, albeit a bit carefully thats all..because if you start changing your routine,ย  your mind will always be working overtime and you may not like that too much!

 
2) You can travelย as normally as possibleย but ensure you dont get kicked around the stomach! (Valid advice)

 
3) Eat whatever you want but dont over eat


4) Listen to your body…it gives out the right signals dont do things during your pregnancy because someone asked you to do it…just do what you feel is right!
I followed the first advice to the T…I was working till May 26th, went to Brc for delivery only at the second week of my 9th month and till then running to catch the bus and train and R was born on May 31st!

I didnt follow the second advice very much until I got kicked on my stomach in the third month by a lady boarding the train at Goregaon and I was screaming dont touch me dont touch me I am pregnant and she thought I was crazy or something…After that scare (the doc scolded me like no man’s business even my mom hadnt done so much scolding!) I followed that advice very very carefully..waiting for 20 minutes for the ladies special train etc etc

I never followed the third advice…worst mistake! I am still repenting! eating for 2 is never never the case…eat for 1.25..or rather just one..its enough! I still carry around the fat as if I am twice pregnant again!

I went to eat pizza once with my former boss and ended up eating so much that my tummy started aching and boss had to make me walk around the office like a 100 times!

the second time , I ate out something and suffered from such severe loose motions (In my 7th month) that RD thought I am going into labour or something ๐Ÿ™‚

But after that I was very very very careful about what I ate..fruits, veggies..and nariyal pani…(R’s head is like a nariyal you know it hurts when she butts you with it!…I blame it on the nariyal pani RD used to get for me EVERY DAY!…)

and in case of the fourth advice despite 100 people giving me 200 different suggestions, I followed what I thought my body liked..and it worked… I had the most amazing pregnancy anyone could have asked..no vomitting, no nausea nothing…

I think following these four advices is definitely at least a part time passport to a healthy pregnancy ๐Ÿ™‚

and then of course you end up with a brat like R ๐Ÿ™‚

About R's Mom

Not-so-new-mom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Passport To A Healthy Pregnancy – Womensweb Contest

  1. Sreetama says:

    So sweet! I think there are many years to go for me to get pregnant & I completely freak out at the very thought of it! But your post is really sweet! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Once I boarded the metro, a lady started pushing me off her & then I noticed that she is pregnant. I was like, why didn’t you tell me? She said, what will I say? I’m pregnant so stay away in this crowded metro? I said well you should have, somebody would have definitely given you her seat!

    Another instance I remember, me and my colleague saw a full bloomed pregnant lady in the metro station. My colleague suggested, let’s go and tell her that go by auto, don’t board the metro. I said, no, the metro ride is much smoother and people will definitely offer her seat and auto rides in Delhi/NCR road would be jerky as hell. She got a seat! B-)

    • R's Mom says:

      Awww! thanks for the compliment….

      In Mumbai locals its impossible to get a seat unless you are in the first stop and I was never in teh first stop..standing without hurting your tummy is something I learnt..I practically used to scream every day…’I am pregnant, please move, please move :)’ but then after a while I realised it was irritating to other women so I used to wait for the ladies special train which was ‘comparative’ less crowded!

  2. Ashwathy says:

    Thanks…. I will keep these tips in mind and follow it when the time comes ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Scribby says:

    I so agree on the 4th point and my doc said the same to me…she was so supportive and an awesome doc…made my pregnancy all the more beautiful experience ๐Ÿ™‚

    and hey what are you serious? the home going in the month of Aug/Sep? ROFL ๐Ÿ˜› I wasn’t aware! haha so it’s like there are contraceptives but you never know… “ghee agar aag ke pass rahega to pighlega hi” ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

    • R's Mom says:

      Its so great to have a good gynac yaar..makes a lot of difference

      yes yes there is something like that in the Tamilian thing..I am not sure..and I am sure my parents dont know about it as well ๐Ÿ˜‰ and well contraceptives..ahem ahem..this is a family blog..lemme not get into details ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Bikram says:

    Ab main is pe kya likhooon.

    All the best…. Theek hai..

  5. Those are some awesome tips and I too stuck to #1 and #4 they are amongst the most practical advises any expecting lady can ever get ๐Ÿ˜€

    • R's Mom says:

      The Era I Lived In – Have I got your name correct! baap rey..kitna bada naam hai..can you chotuify it..welcome here!

      and thanks for the compliment ๐Ÿ™‚ hope to see you around

  6. Chatterbox says:

    Wow! what a contest and some awesome tips there RM…your post got me scratching my head, maybe I too can spread some of my recently learnt tips ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰
    You are one daring woman RM..love all your posts ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. anisnest says:

    hey that is “aadi” tamil month and guess what Adi is May born (May 13th)… No vomitting no nausea you lucky girl… I step out of the house and then run inside straight to bathroom to puke at 8:15am and then run to catch office bus at 8:30.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Man.. wondering how did I manage it !!!!

    • R's Mom says:

      yaa yaa thats aadi masam ๐Ÿ™‚ you are right…WHAT Adi born in may..gah! you girl no regards for customs ๐Ÿ˜‰

      oh god….hugs for the nausea thing…

  8. Padma says:

    Ha, ha!! The doctor scolded you for getting kicked in the tummy. and why not?? I would have done that too. Nice narrative. Had me in splits.

    • R's Mom says:

      HHG you are here..yayayayayayayay! I thought you didnt realise my WP move ๐Ÿ™‚

      Glad to make you laugh…errr..but thats not very positive on the contest is it ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Smitha says:

    I totally agree with the ‘keep your regular routine’ and ‘listen to your body’ bit ๐Ÿ™‚ I fell ill when I took time off from work :)The last three weeks that I was at home was torturous – until then I had a ball ๐Ÿ™‚ Worked late(my boss used to get worried, at times :)), walked all over town, even shifted houses, one month before Poohi was born ๐Ÿ™‚ And we survived it all ๐Ÿ™‚

    The one thing I did was carry my bible – ‘What to expect..’ and another pregnancy book – everywhere ๐Ÿ™‚ I used to consult every little symptom! Crazy me! I also stuck to a very careful diet – the only time in life when I was able to diet. All healthy stuff – no sweets, fruits and veggies were consumed like never before ๐Ÿ™‚ And as soon as Poohi was born, gave up, and hogged ๐Ÿ™‚

    • R's Mom says:

      Awesome Smitha..

      you know I never read any book (I should have!) I just didnt have the time in this busy mumbai routine…

      no sweets *Gasp* I hogged like crazy..I put on about 24 kgs during my pregnancy and then R was only 2.8 kg when she was born..the rest…I am still carrying around ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. Umm Dont get kicked in the stomach – good advice ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love doctors who give practical advice and dont act like getting pregnant is some sort of a disease !

    • R's Mom says:

      oh yaa…this guy is a real real sweetheart…I used to be a bit scared of him initially but then the way he used to handle my craziness…I loved that ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. RS says:

    If you end up with a brat like R then you must’ve done everything right na? ๐Ÿ˜€ The advices were all almost the same for me too… Let me check the contest page…

  12. Zephyr says:

    All the best to you for the contest ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. AT says:

    ROFL at going back to parents place in Aug/Sept….
    but you know that kinda makes sense in Chennai…Chennai’s summer for pregnant ladies would be too much to bear…
    and all the best for contest…

    • R's Mom says:

      Thanks rey ๐Ÿ™‚

      oh Baroda heat is crazy as well….its hot and dry and your skin burns like crazy if you step out between 10 in the morning and 6 in the evening!

  14. sia says:

    Love the way you wrote it !!!
    agree on all the advices! It is obviously not a disease and we should enjoy it thouroughly and lead a normal life! I ll try n follow this in my second pregnancy! I was too paranoid for my own good in the first one.

  15. Pingback: Passport To A Healthy Pregnancy โ€“ Womensweb Contest | A journey called life…

  16. Sahana Rao says:

    Lol.. Err-ing? Wonder what went on in his mind?? LOL..
    So many things to learn, despite being a mother.. There are a lot of things to learn from others’ experiences as well..
    Liked the way you have taken on the topic. All the best for the contest!

  17. Pingback: Passport To A Healthy Pregnancy « Anecdotes of Two-riffic Twins

Leave a comment